Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 827- US Fed announces second interest rate cut in the year

2019-09-23 04:26
Share
  • Share

23 September 2019, Issue 827

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: The progress of Sino-US trade negotiation is unclear. The Chinese agricultural delegation canceled the scheduled visit to the US agricultural state of Montana, which weakened the market’s optimism towards the Sino-US trade negotiations, dragging down he stock markets. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 1.05 percent to 26,935.07. The S&P 500 index fell by 0.51% to 2,992.07. The Nasdaq fell by 0.72% to 8,117.67.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank announced to cut the interest rate and to restart the quantitative easing policy. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.31%, the German DAX index rose by 0.00%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 0.62%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.30% for the week, to 392.95 points.
  • Asia: The progress of Sino-US trade negotiation is unclear. The Chinese agricultural delegation canceled the scheduled visit to the US agricultural state of Montana, which weakened the market’s optimism towards the Sino-US trade negotiations, dragging down he stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by  0.41% to 22,079.09. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.37 percent to 159.38.

Bonds

  • United States: The Fed has injected funds into the market for two consecutive days. It is the first to launch a repurchase operation within last 10 years. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 17 basis points to 1.722%.
  • Eurozone: ECB President Draghi urged governments to increase spending last week. The market expects the government will introduce fiscal stimulus measures and funds flow into the stock markets. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 7 basis points to -0.523%.

Commodity

  • Oil price: The oil production facilities in Saudi Arabia were being attached, which reduced the global oil supplies by 5%, triggering market concerns about the oil supply . Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 6.00% to close at $58.09 a barrel.

Currency

    • US Dollar: The Fed reduced the interest rate by 0.25% as expected, but it did not clearly indicate that it will cut interest rates again this year. For the whole week, the Dollar Index rose by0.261% to 98.513.
    • Renminbi: The Chinese delegation suddenly canceled its scheduled visit to the US agricultural state . It is speculated that the progress of Sino-US trade negotiations is not optimistic. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.114% against the US dollar at 7.088.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: The Fed will cut interest rates by 25 basis points for the second time this year and will cut the excess reserve rate. However, policymakers have different options over whether monetary easing is still needed. Chairman Powell said that “moderate” policy actions should be enough to sustain the growth of the US economy.
  • United States: Trump instructed the US Treasury to substantially increase sanctions against Iran and said it would announce its decision within 48 hours.
  • United States: Trump hinted that he would not end the trade war with China by only reaching a partial agreement. The Chinese delegation suddenly cancelled its farm visit plan. However, the Chinese Ministry of Commerce claimed that the trade consultation between China and the US was “constructive”.
  • Eurozone: Chief Economist of the European Central Bank (ECB) claimed that the ECB can implement quantitative easing (QE) for a long time before reaching the upper limit. It is still far from the buffer that set previously.
  • Eurozone: Europe reiterates that it will retaliate against any of Trump’s vehicle tariffs. According to Kyodo News, in the US-Japan trade agreement that will be signed this week, the United States will continue to retain tariffs on Japan’s automobile components.
  • Eurozone: Sky News reported that the European Commission believes that the UK government’s latest draft Brexit proposal failed to meet all the goals of Ireland’s reserve plans.
  • Japan: The Bank of Japan kept interest rates and asset purchase plans unchanged, policy rates remained at -0.1%, while 10-year Japanese government bond yields remained at around 0%.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Japan’s August Consumer Price Index (CPI) slowed from 0.5% yoy in previous month to 0.3%, in line with market expectations.
  • Taiwan: According to statistics from the Statistics Department of the Ministry of Economic Affairs of Taiwan, Taiwan’s August export orders fell by 1.2% month-on-month to only US$40.05 billion, and the decline rate was unexpectedly expanded to 8.3% year-on-year, much higher than the market expectations of 2.6% decrease.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• According to CCTV reports, Chinese President Xi Jinping requested to strengthen major infrastructure constructions during his inspection in Henan Province.
• US Federal Communications Commission officials claimed that there are serious security loopholes in the equipment that produced by Huawei and other Chinese manufacturers, the United States “may” have to remove Huawei devices from the communication network.

US Fed announces second interest rate cut in the year

The Fed cut interest rates again by 25 basis points on Wednesday, continuing to stimulate economic expansion, but hinted that the threshold for further interest rate cuts will increase. The decision to cut interest rates was opposed by three voting officials, two officials called for no interest rate cuts, and one official wanted to cut interest rates by 50 basis points.

Powell believes that the US economy is good, and interest rate cuts are only for prevent current risks, including weak global growth and trade war risk. However, the Fed will rely heavily on data to make interest rate decisions on a case-by-case basis. When the Fed believes that it has done enough, the Fed will stop cutting interest rates.

Hawks interest rate cut action

The market believes that this week’s interest rate cuts are slightly hawkish. The median interest rate projections of the Fed policymakers show that there will be no interest rate cuts this year, although some officials hold different opinions. However, traders in interest rate futures still bet that there will be another 25 basis point cuts this year.

US consumption is the backbone of the global economy

There are more and more warnings about global economic activities. The German economy is under pressure from recession, and the Japanese economy is about to face the challenge of consumption tax. Personal consumption in China and India continued to decline, and Chinese auto sales recorded a year-on-year decline for 14 consecutive months. In the face of the downside risks of the global economy, why is the Fed still emboldened? The answer is consumption.

Consumption is the backbone of the US economy and even the world economy. US personal consumption expenditure reached 14.5 trillion, accounting for about 68% of GDP, and accounting for about 30% of global personal consumption. The total wealth of American households reached 108.6 trillion. The current low unemployment rate, average salary growth, and low savings rate make the US personal consumption expenditure higher than other countries.

Year-to-date, US consumption still maintains a strong trend. First, US gasoline prices have fallen sharply from 2018. As of September 9, a gallon of gasoline was $2.56, down 11.1% from the same period in 2018. Falling energy prices ease the burden on consumers and make more disposable income available in other consumer sectors. Recently, the Saudi oilfield may cause energy price shocks, but the US local shale gas supply can further increase production and maintain domestic supply.

The US home sales market is also showing signs of warming. With the fall in US 10-year bond yields, US home mortgage rates fell to their lowest level since October 2016. The current 30-year mortgage rate is 3.49%, down more than 1% from 4.54% a year ago. The decline in housing refinancing rates will not only benefit home sales, but also help consumers get more loans and increase consumption.

英國脫歐鬧劇愈演愈烈

英國國會下議院在上星期通過阻止無協議脫歐法案。法案要求政府於10月19日或之前,除非國會通過脫歐協議或准許無協議脫歐,否則……

歐央行減息 銀行股得益有限

本週四,歐洲央行進行議息會議,宣布減息10個基點,至-0.5%,符合市場預期。同時,基於歐元區GDP增速下修至1.1%,歐洲央行重啟資產購買計劃,11月起每月購買200億歐元資產……





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第827期)- 美聯儲局宣布年內第二次減息

2019-09-23 04:26
分享
  • 分享

2019年9月23日 第827期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易局勢氣氛不明朗,中國農業代表團取消原定訪問美國農業州蒙大拿州的行程, 削弱了市場對中美貿易談判的樂觀情緒, 利淡股市氣氛。全週計,道指跌1.05 %,報26,935.07點。標普500指數跌0.51 %,報點2,992.07。納指跌0.72 %,報8,117.67點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲央行宣佈降息並重啟量化寬鬆政策。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.31 %,德國DAX指數升0.00 %,法國CAC40指數升0.62 %。STOXX 600指數全週升0.30%,報392.95點。
  • 亞洲:美中貿易局勢氣氛不明朗,中國農業代表團取消原定訪問美國農業州蒙大拿州的行程, 削弱了市場對中美貿易談判的樂觀情緒, 利淡股市氣氛。全週計,日經225指數升0.41 %,報22,079.09點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.37 %,報159.38點。

債券

  • 美國:美聯儲局連續兩日注資,是10年來首啟動回購操作,為市場提供資金。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌17個基點,報1.722 %。
  • 歐元區:上週,歐洲央行總裁德拉吉敦促各國政府增加支出,市場預期政府或會推出財政刺激措拖,資金流向股市。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌7個基點,報-0.523%。

商品

  • 油價:沙特阿拉伯有石油生產設施遭襲擊,令全球石油供應減少5%,引發市場對供應前景的憂慮。全週計,紐約期油升6.00 %,收報每桶58.09美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:聯儲局雖如預期減0.25厘,但並沒有明碓指引今年會再度減息。全週計,美匯指數升0.261%,報 98.513。
  • 中國:中國代表團突然取消部分訪問行程,外界推測中美貿易談判進展不太明朗。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.114%,報7.088。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:聯儲會今年連續第二次降息25個基點,並下調超額準備金利率。但決策者對是否需要進一步寬鬆存在分歧。主席鮑威爾稱「適度」的政策行動應該足以維持美國經濟成長。
    • 美國:特朗普指示美國財政部大幅增加對伊朗的制裁,並表示將在48小時內宣布決定。
    • 美國:特朗普暗示不願以達成部分協議來結束對華貿易戰,並且中國代表團突然取消農場訪問計畫 。不過,隨後中國商務部稱中美副部級磋商開展了「建設性」的討論。
    • 歐元區:歐洲央行首席經濟學家:歐洲央行在達到上限之前可長時間實施量化寬鬆(QE)。現在距離以前設定的緩沖區還很遠。
    • 歐元區:歐洲重申將對川普任何的汽車關稅實施報復。另據共同社報導,在將於本週簽署的美日貿易協議中,美國會繼續保留針對日本的汽車零組件關稅。
    • 歐元區:天空新聞報導稱,歐盟委員會認為英國政府關於新脫歐協議的最新提議草案未能滿足愛爾蘭後備計畫的所有目標。
    • 日本:日本央行維持利率及資產購買計畫不變,政策利率維持在-0.1%,而10年期日本國債收益率亦維持目標在0%左右。
    • 日本:日本總務省公布,日本8月消費物價指數(CPI)按年升幅由前值升0.5%放緩至0.3%,符合市場預期。
    • 台灣:台灣經濟部統計處數據顯示,台灣8月外銷訂單金額按月轉降1.2%,僅400.5億美元,按年跌幅意外擴至8.3%,且已連續第11個月錄得同比下降,市場原預期跌幅續收窄至2.6%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 據央視報導,中國國家主席習近平在河南省考察時要求加強重大基礎設施建設。

• 美國聯邦通訊委員會官員:華為和其他中國製造商生產的設備存在嚴重的安全漏洞,美國「可能」必須移除通信網絡中的華為裝置。

美聯儲局宣布年內第二次減息

美聯儲局本週三再次減息25個基點,繼續刺激經濟擴張,但暗示進一步減息的門檻提高。減息決定遭到三位投票官員的反對,有兩名官員呼籲不減息,而有一名官員則希望減息50個基點。

鮑威爾認為,美國經濟良好,減息僅為防範當前的風險,包括全球增長疲弱和貿易緊張的局勢。但是,美聯儲局將高度依賴數據,逐次會議作出利率決定。當美聯儲局認為已經做得足夠的時候,美聯儲局就會停止減息。

鷹派減息行動

市場認為本週減息行動略為鷹派。美聯儲局決策者的利率預估中值顯示,今年不會再減息,儘管一些官員持有不同的意見。不過,利率期貨的交易員仍然押注今年還會再進行一次25個基點的降息。

鷹派減息行動源於經濟的前景。美聯儲局對經濟的預期幾乎沒有變化,他們預計今年美國經濟增長率高於2.2%,2020年失業率將為3.7%。今年通脹率為1.5%,明年將升至1.9%,低於美聯儲局2%的目標。

美國消費是全球經濟的支柱

全球經濟活動越來越多警號。德國經濟面臨衰退的壓力,日本經濟即將面臨消費稅的挑戰。中國和印度個人消費連續下滑,中國汽車銷售更是錄得連續14個月按年下跌。面對環球經濟的下行風險,究竟美聯儲局為何還有底氣?答案是消費。

消費是美國經濟甚至世界經濟的支柱。美國個人消費支出達到14.5萬億,佔GDP總量約68%,亦佔全球個人消費約三成。美國家庭總財富達到108.6萬億。當前低失業率,平均薪金增長以及儲蓄率較低都令美國個人消費支出高於其他國家。

年初至今,美國消費仍然維持強勁的趨勢。首先,美國汽油價格相對2018年大幅下跌。截至9月9日,一加侖汽油為2.56美元,較2018年同期下跌11.1%。能源價格下跌減輕消費者的負擔,令更多可支配收入使用在其他消費領域。近期,沙特油田可能會導致能源價格造成衝擊,但是美國本土頁岩氣供應可進一步增產,維持美國本土的供應。

美國房屋銷售市場亦有升溫的跡象。伴隨美國10年期國債收益率下跌,美國房屋抵押貸款利率跌至2016年10月以來最低水平。目前30年房屋抵押貸款利率為3.49%,較一年前4.54%跌超過1%。房屋再融資利率下跌不但有利房屋銷售,亦有助消費者獲得更多貸款,增加消費。

英國脫歐鬧劇愈演愈烈

英國國會下議院在上星期通過阻止無協議脫歐法案。法案要求政府於10月19日或之前,除非國會通過脫歐協議或准許無協議脫歐,否則……

歐央行減息 銀行股得益有限

本週四,歐洲央行進行議息會議,宣布減息10個基點,至-0.5%,符合市場預期。同時,基於歐元區GDP增速下修至1.1%,歐洲央行重啟資產購買計劃,11月起每月購買200億歐元資產……







相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。