iFund- How does the fund’s timing affect the return of investors?

2019-09-11 03:57
Share
  • Share

Investors may not be able to create excess returns when they time the market. From the data point of view, herd immunity may not be able to bring excess returns, investors need to think and act independently. Funds are long-term investment vehicles, and the different volatility environment and expense ratios will influence the effect of investors' timing.

featured

The Morningstar Research Department publishes the “Mind the Gap” research report every year, which reports the difference between the total return of investors and the total return of funds through the flow of funds. Analysing the impact of time-based entry on investors by determining the average price of the fund over a certain period of time. Morningstar collect the United States’ fund data for everyone to study in the first phase.

From the overall data of the 10-year annualized return, investors can get 5.53% of the income after timing, which is 0.26% lower than the 5.79%. From the perspective of different types of assets, alternative investments, balances, and sector funds can earn excess returns. In contrast, international stocks and bonds recorded an additional loss. Comparing the five-year annualized data, the timing effect has improved, and the overall income difference is positive, 0.45%.

10-Year Annual Investor Returns by Asset Class Compared to Annual Asset-Weighted Returns


Source: Morningstar

What factors affect the timing effect? Morningstar believes that volatility and fee ratio will affect the outcome of investors’ timing effects.

How does volatility affect investors’ timing gains?

Morningstar will divide the fund’s different types of funds into five equal parts according to the standard deviation. The group with the lowest volatility had a significantly higher excess return than the group with the highest volatility. The results of this survey indicate that “boring” funds operate stably and they are unlikely to provoke investor fear and greed. Therefore, when the fund’s volatility is low, the timing effect has less impact on the investor’s return.

How does the cost affect the income of investors?

The costs also clearly reflect the gap in investment performance. Low-cost funds tend to bring higher total returns and investment returns. First, the cost will be directly reflected in the fund’s return, and the cost is a factor that directly affects the investor’s return. In addition, low cost actively attracts more smart investors and institutional money. Low-cost investors have higher returns, and as the fund costs rise, the gap will increase. Therefore, cost factors play an important role in fund selection.

In a nutshell, investors may not be able to create excess returns when they time the market. From the data point of view, herd immunity may not be able to bring excess returns, investors need to think and act independently. Funds are long-term investment vehicles, and the different volatility environment and expense ratios will influence the effect of investors’ timing.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

無搜索基金結果

iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

我的賬戶

啟動iFund賬戶
須提供
個人資料及啟動資金
iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

iFund- 基金擇時如何影響投資者的回報

2019-09-11 03:57
分享
  • 分享

投資者擇時不一定能夠創造超額收益。從數據來看,跟隨羊群走向大概率不能夠帶來超額收益,投資者需要獨立思考。基金是長線投資工具,不同波動率的環境和費用率會左右投資者擇時的效果。

featured

晨星研究部每年都會公佈“Mind the Gap”研究報告,報告透過基金資金流向分析投資者總回報和基金總回報的差異。透過確定基金在一定時間內的平均價格,分析擇時進場對普通投資者的影響。晨星第一階段整理美國的基金數據,供大家研究。

從10年年度化回報整體數據來看,投資者擇時能夠獲得5.53%收益,較不擇時5.79%低0.26%。從不同類別資產來看,另類投資、平衡和行業股票基金擇時擇時能夠獲得超額收益。相反,國際股票和債券則錄得額外跌幅。對比5年的年度化數據,擇時效應有所好轉,整體能夠獲得0.45%的超額收益。

不同資產類別10年年度化投資回報和總回報對比


資料來源:晨星

是什麼影響了擇時的效果,晨星認為波動率和費率會影響投資者擇時效應的成果。

波動率如何影響投資者的擇時收益?

晨星將基金不同類別的基金按照標準差分為五等分。波動率最低的組別超額回報顯著高於波動率最高的組別。這個調查結果表明,“無聊”基金運作穩定,它們不太可能激發投資者的恐懼和貪婪。因此,當基金波動率較低的時候,擇時效應對投資者的回報影響較小。

費用如何影響投資者的收益

費用同樣清晰反映投資業績的差距。低成本基金往往會帶來更高的總回報以及投資收益。首先,成本將會直接反映在基金的收益上,成本是直觀影響投資者回報的因素。除此之外,低成本積極吸引更精明的投資者和機構資金。低成本的投資者回報較高,隨著基金費用的上升,差距亦會增大。因此,成本因素在基金選擇中發揮重要的作用。

總括來講,投資者擇時不一定能夠創造超額收益。從數據來看,跟隨羊群走向大概率不能夠帶來超額收益,投資者需要獨立思考。基金是長線投資工具,不同波動率的環境和費用率會左右投資者擇時的效果。

相關文章