Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 825- Star Fund Manager in a hard time

2019-09-11 08:52
Share
  • Share

9 September 2019, Issue 825

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: The Sino-US trade tensions have shown signs of easing, the White House economic adviser Kudlow said that China and the United States will have meeting in early October. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 1.49% to 26,797.46. The S&P 500 index rose by 1.79% to 2,978.71. The Nasdaq rose by 1.76% to 8,103.07.
  • Europe: The market expects the European Central Bank will introduce an expansionary monetary policy as a result of the PBOC’s broad RRR cuts and targeted RRR cuts. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 1.04%, the German DAX index rose by 2.11%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 2.25%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 2.02% to 387.14 points.
  • Asia: China announced a broad RRR cut and targeted RRR cut on Friday, which will release long-term funds of about 900 billion yuan to stimulate the economy and alleviate some of the concerns about global economic growth. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 2.39% to 21,199.57 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 1.99% to 156.18 points.

Bonds

  • United States: Sino-US trade tensions have shown signs of easing, China and the United States will meet in early October to negotiate on the trade issues. Besides, the market expects the Fed will cut interest rates again this month, causing funds flow into the stock markets. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond rose by 6 basis points to 1.659%.
  • Eurozone: The market expects the European Central Bank will introduce an expansionary monetary policy, causing funds flow into the stock markets. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 6 basis points to -0.640%.

Commodity

  • Oil Price: US Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said the Fed will take appropriate action to maintain the US economic expansion. Besides, according to the US government report, the US crude oil supply has decreased for three consecutive weeks, stimulating oil prices to rebound. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 2.58% to close at $56.52 a barrel.

Currency

  • United States: The US employment data is worse than expected, and the latest comments made by Fed President Powell are being perceived as dovish, which caused the dollar exchange rate to fall. For the entire week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.528% to 98.394.
  • China: The Sino-US trade tensions have shown signs of easing, China and the United States will meet in early October to negotiate on the trade issues. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.515% against the US dollar to 7.12.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: The White House economic adviser Kudlow said that the Sino-US trade war may need a long period to resolve. He also claimed that China has not yet requested to postpone the implementation of the tariffs that came into effect on October 1. There are no preconditions for the upcoming negotiations.
  • United States: The Trump administration tried to call the IMF to attack the renminbi. However, the IMF allegedly rejected the US Treasury’s allegations on China of manipulating the renminbi exchange rate.
  • United States: After an American soldier was killed, Trump canceled secret talks with the main Taliban leaders and the Afghan president and stopped the peace talks.
  • Eurozone: British Prime Minister Johnson claimed that he would rather be dead than ask for a delay on Brexit. If Labour leader Corbin is willing, he plans to hold a general election on October 15.
  • Eurozone: According to informed sources, the opposition party will reject Prime Minister Johnson’s early general election motion in the British Parliament meeting on Monday, with an aim to prevent Hard-Brexit.
  • Eurozone: Eurostat announced that after the seasonal adjustment, the final growth rate on the Euro zone’s total employment in the second quarter of this year slowed from the previous value of 0.4% to 0.2%.
  • Japan: The Cabinet Office of Japan announced that after seasonal adjustment, Japan’s real GDP growth in the second quarter of this year slowed from 0.5% in the first quarter to 0.3%.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Finance announced that, Japan’s July current account surplus increased from 1,211.2 billion yen in June to 1,999.9 billion yen, but it is still below the market expected surplus of 2,046 billion yen.
  • Russia: The Bank of Russia cut interest rates for the third time, implying that following by the inflation falls by nearly 4%, monetary policy may be further eased in the future.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The People’s Bank of China decided to cut the benchmark interest rates by 0.5 percentage on September 16 and it will also cut another 1 percentage to some of the city commercial banks in October and November, which will totally release about 900 billion yuan to the market.
• China’s US dollar exports unexpectedly fell by 1% in August, while imports fell by 5.6% year-on-year, with a trade surplus of USD 34.84 billion.

Star Fund Manager in a hard time

The star fund manager cannot win every battle, and this sentence has been confirmed again in the past month. Manager X is a well-known fund manager in the industry, managing corporate bond funds. During his tenure, he successfully seized different opportunities and brought rich returns to investors. However, things have changed in the past year.

Argentine bond crisis

The Argentine presidential first election had unexpected results, and the opposition won, and it is highly likely to win in the second round of voting. The market is worried that Argentina will return to the political environment before 2015, and local bonds have plummeted. The Argentine government immediately restarted capital controls and delayed repayment of bonds, further triggering market worries. At present, the Argentine government has begun negotiations with the IMF to change the conditions for the previous issuance of debt.

Emerging market bond assets recorded a sharp decline due to the crisis. Since Argentine bonds were included in the main bond index, most fund managers failed to escape this round of decline. Manager X overweighed in Argentine bonds, and the losses were even more devastating. Among them, a fund he manages holds more than 10% of Argentina’s bond positions, and his net asset value has dropped significantly.

Short duration drag performance

Manager X and his team have been bearish on the bond duration. From their media interviews, they believe that the Fed is too concerned about the external environment and ignores inflationary pressures in the United States. However, the market did not follow Manager X’s forecast direction. Year-to-date, the Fed turned to doves and started to cut interest rates, all pushing up bond prices. It’s not surprising that Manager X’s fund’s performance is lower than the benchmark index and peers.

Investor’s lessons

Chasing star manager is not a rational choice. The higher degree of freedom allows Manager X to deploy in bonds and currencies in different regions and countries to achieve excess returns. The probability of success of these strategies is not necessarily consistent, and investors must understand the source of risk for the fund to seek excess returns.

Excessive concentration is a nightmare for investment. If the bet is right, the centralized position can bring more benefits. However, investors need to pay attention to risk management. Asset diversification is the easiest way to manage risk. Therefore, in asset allocation, investors need to pay attention to whether their assets are excessively concentrated.

Finally, holding non-mainstream (strategic opposite to market views) assets may lead to pain and loneliness. However, the fund is not related to the mainstream bond index, or even negatively correlated, which means that it is an investment tool that enjoy diversification effect.

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30 年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊。夢碎了,代價不菲,如今疤痕未退……

深圳難挑戰香港國際金融中心地位

早前,中國國務院發布《關於支持深圳建設中國特色社會主義先行示範區的意見》,倡議深圳成為中國特色社會主義先行示範區,以更好實施粵港澳大灣區戰略,豐富「一國兩制」事業發展新實踐……




Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

無搜索基金結果

iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

我的賬戶

啟動iFund賬戶
須提供
個人資料及啟動資金
iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

御峰通訊(第825期)- 明星基金經理遭遇滑鐵盧

2019-09-11 08:52
分享
  • 分享

2019年9月9日 第825期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易緊張局勢出現緩和跡象,白宮經濟顧問庫德洛稱中美雙方將於10初會面進行磋商。全週計,道指升1.49%,報26,797.46點。標普500指數升1.79%,報點2,978.71。納指升1.76%,報8,103.07點。
  • 歐洲:由於人民銀行普遍降準和定向降準以刺激經濟,市場預期歐洲央行亦會推出寬鬆貨幣政策。全週計,英國富時100指數升1.04%,德國DAX指數升2.11%,法國CAC40指數升2.25%。STOXX 600指數全週升2.02%,報387.14點。
  • 亞洲:中國上周五宣布全面降準及定向降準, 將釋放長期資金約9000億元人民幣刺激經濟, 緩解對全球經濟增長的部分憂慮。全週計,日經225指數升2.39%,報21,199.57點。MSCI 亞太區指數升1.99%,報156.18點。

債券

  • 美國:美中貿易緊張局勢出現緩和跡象,中美雙方將於10月初會面。另外,市場預期聯儲局會於本月再次減息,資金流入股票市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升6個基點,報1.569%。
  • 歐元區:市場預期歐洲央行會推出寬鬆貨幣政策,資金流向股票市場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升6個基點,報-0.640%。

商品

  • 油價:美國聯儲局主席鮑威爾稱,聯儲局將採取適當行動來維持美國經濟擴張。另外,根據美國政府報告顯示美國原油供應連續三週減少,刺激油價回升。全週計,紐約期油升2.58%,收報每桶56.52美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國就業數據較預期差,加上聯儲局主席鮑威爾最新發表的言論被指「偏鴿」,令美元匯價下跌。全週計,美匯指數跌0.528%,報 98.394。
  • 中國:美中貿易緊張局勢出現緩和跡象,中美雙方將於10月初會面。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.515%,報7.112。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:白宮經濟顧問庫德洛表示,美中貿易戰可能需要很長時間才能解決,並稱中國尚未要求推遲實施10月1日生效的關稅,即將舉行的談判沒有預設條件。
    • 美國:特朗普政府試圖拉上IMF來攻擊人民幣,IMF據稱回絕了美國財政部對中國操縱人民幣匯率的指控。
    • 美國:特朗普稱,在一名美國士兵被殺後,他取消了與塔利班主要領導人和阿富汗總統的秘密會談,並停止了和平談判。
    • 歐元區:英國首相約翰遜:寧可一死也不會答應推遲脫歐。如果工黨領袖科爾賓願意,他計畫在10月15日舉行大選。
    • 歐元區:知情人士透露,反對黨將在周一英國議會表決中拒絕首相約翰遜提前大選動議,以防止無協議脫歐。
    • 歐元區:歐盟統計局公布,經季節調整後,歐元區今年第二季總就業人數終值升幅由前值0.4%放緩至0.2%。
    • 日本:日本內閣府公布,經季節調整後,日本今年第二季實際國內生產總值(GDP)按季增長由首季0.5%,放緩至0.3%。
    • 日本:日本財務省公布,未經調整,日本7月經常賬盈餘環比由6月的12,112億日圓擴大至19,999億日圓,但仍低於市場預期盈餘20,460億日圓。
    • 俄羅斯:俄羅斯央行連續第三次降息,表示隨著通膨下降接近4%的目標,未來可能進一步放鬆貨幣政策。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國央行決定於9月16日全面降准0.5個百分點,並將於10月和11月額外對部分城商行定向降准合計1個百分點,合計將釋放約9000億元資金。

• 中國8月份美元計算出口意外下滑1%,進口同比下降5.6%,貿易順差348.4億美元。

明星基金經理遭遇滑鐵盧

明星基金經理並非常勝將軍,過去一個月再次印證這一句話。基金經理甲是業內出名的基金經理,長期管理公司多隻債券基金。在其任期內,他成功把握不同的機會,為投資者帶來豐厚的回報。但是,過去一年,事情發生了變化。

阿根廷債券危機

阿根廷總統選舉初選出現意外結果,反對派獲得勝利,極有可能在第二輪投票中獲勝。市場憂慮阿根廷重返2015年前的政治環境,當地債券錄得暴跌。阿根廷政府隨即重啟資本管制和延遲償還債券,進一步觸發市場的憂慮。目前,阿根廷政府已經開始和IMF談判,改變之前發行債務的條件。

受到危機拖累,新興市場債券資產錄得大幅下跌。由於阿根廷債券被納入主要債券指數中,大部分基金經理都未能躲開這一輪下跌。基金經理甲超配阿根廷債券,損失更為慘重。其中,他管理的一隻基金持有阿根廷債券倉位比例超過10%,資產淨值出現顯著下跌。

短存續期拖累表現

基金經理甲及其團隊一直看空債券年期。從其接受媒體訪問可知,他們認為美聯儲局過於關注外部環境,忽視美國通脹壓力。但是,市場並沒有遵循基金經理甲的預測方向。年初至今,美聯儲局轉向鴿派,直至啟動減息,都推動債券價格上升。由於基金經理甲旗下基金存續期低於基準指數和同業,表現落後亦不足為奇。

投資者的經驗教訓

追星並非理性的選擇。較高的自由度令基金經理甲能夠在不同地區和國家的債券及貨幣中調配,爭取超額回報。這些策略成功的概率不一定具有一致性,投資者必須了解該基金爭取超額回報的風險來源。

過度集中是投資的夢魘。如果押注得對,集中倉位能夠帶來更多收益。但是,投資者需要重視風險管理。資產分散是管理風險最簡單的途徑。因此,在資產配置中,投資者都需要留意自己的資產是否過度集中。

最後,配置非主流(與市場觀點相反的策略)資產可能會需要經歷疼苦和孤獨。但是,基金與主流債券指數並不相關,甚至是負相關,意味這是一種帶來資產分散的投資工具。

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30 年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊。夢碎了,代價不菲,如今疤痕未退……

深圳難挑戰香港國際金融中心地位

早前,中國國務院發布《關於支持深圳建設中國特色社會主義先行示範區的意見》,倡議深圳成為中國特色社會主義先行示範區,以更好實施粵港澳大灣區戰略,豐富「一國兩制」事業發展新實踐……






相關文章