Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 824- How can make profit from negative yielding bonds?

2019-09-06 10:35
Share
  • Share

2 September 2019, Issue 824

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: Tension between China and US on trade issues have cooled down. Trump said that Sino-US trade negotiations will begin soon and reiterated that China hopes to reach an agreement with US on trade issues. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 3.02% to 26,403.28. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.79% to 2,926.46. The Nasdaq rose by 2.72% to 7,962.88.
  • Europe: China and the United States will have trade talks in September. Besides, the Italian political situation has improved, driving up the European stock markets. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 1.58%, the German DAX index rose by 2.82%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 2.88%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 2.19% to 379.48 points.
  • Asia: Tension between China and US on trade issues have cooled down. The two sides will meet and have talks on trade issues in September. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 0.03% to 20,704.37 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.49% to 153.13.

Bonds

  • United States: Tension between China and US on trade issues have cooled down. However, the two-year and 10-year US government bonds’ yields are inverted, causing the market worried on the economic prospects. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 4 basis points to 1.496%.
  • Eurozone: Market worried the UK will leave the EU without an agreement. The EU’s Brexit negotiator, Barnier, said that the EU will not change the Brexit agreement with the UK, and he is not optimistic about avoiding No-deal Brexit. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to -0.702%.

Commodity

  • Oil Price: Tension between China and US on trade issues have cooled down. The two sides will meet and have talks on trade issues in September, pushing up the demand for crude oil. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 1.72% to close at $55.10 a barrel.

Currency

  • United States: US President Trump said that the euro is “crazyly falling” against the US dollar, giving European countries an advantage in export and manufacturing. At the same time, Trump criticized the Fed for doing nothing and raising the dollar to a high level. For the whole week, the Dollar Index rose by 1.307% to 98.916.
  • China: Under the Sino-US trade war, the renminbi fell significantly and fell below “7” . For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.939% against the US dollar at 7.149.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: The United States imposed a 15% tariff on about $110 billion worth Chinese imports, which came into force on September 1. The Chinese counter-measures also took effect on the same day, including a 5% tariff on US crude oil and a 10% tariff on agricultural products such as pork.
  • United States: US economic data showed that the University of Michigan’s Consumer Confidence Index fell by the largest extent within the last six years in August. Moreover, the personal consumption expenditure accelerated faster than expected in July, and inflation indicators remained sluggish.
  • United States: US Treasury Secretary Mnuchin claimed that the Trump administration considers the issuance of ultra-long-term government bonds very seriously. If there is any action, it will prefer to coordinate with the Fed and global allies.
  • Eurozone: The Queen of England approved the request of Prime Minister Johnson of adjourning the parliament from mid-September to mid-October, which may trigger a constitutional crisis that the opposition may launch a no confidence vote on Johnson next week.
  • Eurozone: European Central Bank official Knot claimed that there is no need to implement a new round of quantitative easing measures now, and there is still room for further decline in deposit interest rates below zero.
  • Eurozone: The United Kingdom and the European Union began to increase the frequency of talks in September in an effort to break the deadlock before the Brexit day on October 31. According to a spokesperson of the British Labor Party, the parliament hopes to vote to pass legislation to prevent No-deal Brexit.
  • Japan: According to data from the Bank of Japan, the growth rate of the Japan’s Corporate Service Price Index slowed from 0.7% yoy to 0.5% yoy in July, which is lower than the market expectations of 0.6%.
  • Japan: Nikkei/Markit data showed that the final value of Japan’s Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) fell unexpectedly in August, falling from 49.4 in July to 49.3.
  • Philippine: Nikkei/Markit data shows that after seasonal adjustments, the Philippines’ Nikkei Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) ended its growth of the last three consecutive months, dropping from 52.1 in July to 51.9 in August.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The State Council Financial Committee’s Saturday meeting pointed out that it is necessary to continue to implement a sound monetary policy, maintaining a reasonable liquidity and a growth of social financing scale.
• The People’s Bank of China demanded that the newly issued loans can base on LPR as soon as possible, breaking the implicit lower limit of the loan interest rate. The meeting also required financial institutions to further increase financial support for the economy.

How can make profit from negative yielding bonds?

Two weeks ago, the world’s first 30-Year zero coupon bond at negative yield flops in Germany with a total value of 824 million euros, causing the whole of Germany’s yield curve to below zero. Effectively, the government of Germany is now being paid to borrow out as it only needs to repay 795 million euros when it expires in 30 years, which means that investors of the 30-year German Bund would actually get back less money than what had been invested if they held through to the maturity. Sounds weird?

Today, negative interest rate bonds are increasingly common and approximately $17 trillion of bonds are now paying negative interest rate amid global economic concerns and speculation of central banks easing across the globe. That represents more than 30% of a total global bond market value of $55 trillion. The trend is actually creeping into Emerging European market, such as Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic, with their outstanding euro bonds are all trading at negative yields. Now the question is, who in the world is buying all these negative yielding bonds?

Owning negative-yielding bond could make sense if an investor expects future capital gain (e.g., negative interest rate to dip further) or is financing the positions at even more negative rates, which make it possible to earn positive carry. Indeed, with European Central Bank largely expected to restart their asset purchasing program this or next year, negative-yielding European bonds buyers are speculating the bond price will go up further as a result.

Besides, Negative yields don’t necessary mean negative return for some investors too. For example, U.S. investors are buying European or Japanese debt and hedged back into USD as it offers a yield pick-up opportunity. According to interest rate parity, a currency with a lower interest trades at a higher exchange rate in the future. Therefore, U.S. investors of the negative-yielding bond (e.g., two-year German Bund yielding -0.9%) will enter into a forward or swap as the one-year implied forward exchange rate for the EUR vs. USD currently is about 3 percent higher than the spot exchange rate. With 3% return from forward currency hedging together with the -0.9% negative yield from the German Bund, U.S. investors effectively earns a 2.1% hedged yield from this kind of carry trade strategy. This is a typical example of using a derivative contract to take a long-term low yielding asset into a high yield. For instance, a lot of US bond ETFs or currency hedged indexed bond funds are buying negative-yielding bonds and earn a decent return on a currency hedged basis.

Another way investor can make money from the negative yield is to take advantage of the yield curve’s slope. The yield curve represents the gap between shorter-term yields and longer-term, with a steep curve indicating a large difference. As such, very negative short-term yields (e.g., -0.7%) result in positive carry for a 20-year bond (e.g., -0.25% yield) internal European investors as the bond rolls down and the price of the long-term bond should generally rise as it moves closer to maturity. However, this is only a short-term strategy as yield curve’s slope could change drastically.

All in all, the rise of negative-yielding bonds could eventually turn into a bubble for the bond market, in particular today’s easy monetary policy has pushed a lot of money flow into the passive indexed bond funds and ETFs, which many of them are mandated to buy the bonds according to the weight in the index, but regardless of price or future return. Investing in negative-yielding bonds is like playing the musical chair and no one really know when the music will stop. The sudden collapse in interest rate differentials, flattening of yield curve’s slope or upward shocks to forward exchange rate may create substantial loss in negative yield bonds. Therefore, it is always important for bond funds investors to monitor what their funds really invested in and not to have too much exposure on negatively yielding bonds.

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30 年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊。夢碎了,代價不菲,如今疤痕未退……

港元恐被狙擊?港府打大鱷技術攻略

近月有對沖基金經理危言聳聽,警告香港聯繫匯率制度正面臨崩潰,早前已撰文駁斥。話說回來,以1998年香港政府入市計起,金融風暴轉眼已經21年……





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第824期)- 投資負收益率債券能獲利嗎?

2019-09-06 10:35
分享
  • 分享

2019年9月2日 第824期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美貿易緊張局勢降溫,特朗普稱中美貿易談判將會很快展開,並重申認為中方希望達成協議。全週計,道指升3.02%,報26,403.28點。標普500指數升2.79%,報點2,926.46。納指升2.72 %,報7,962.88點。
  • 歐洲:中美9月將會面進行貿易談判,意大利政局趨明朗,帶動歐洲股市。全週計,英國富時100指數升1.58%,德國DAX指數升2.82%,法國CAC40指數升2.88%。STOXX 600指數全週升2.19%,報379.48點。
  • 亞洲:中美貿易緊張局勢降溫,雙方將於9月會面,並舉行談判。全週計,日經225指數跌0.03%,報20,704.37點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.49%,報153.13點。

債券

  • 美國:中美貿易緊張局勢降溫,但近日2年期與10年期美國國債孳息率倒掛,令市場擔經濟前景。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌4個基點,報1.496%。
  • 歐元區:市場擔心英國「硬脫歐」,歐盟的英國脫歐談判代表巴尼耶表示,歐盟不會改變與英國達成的脫歐協議,而他對避免英國無協議脫歐「並不樂觀」。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報-0.702%。

商品

  • 油價:中美貿易緊張局勢降溫,雙方將於9月重啟會面,原油需求上升。全週計,紐約期油升1.72%,收報每桶55.10美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國總統特朗普指,歐元兌美元正「瘋狂地下跌」,令對方出口及製造業有優勢,同時批評聯儲局無做任何事,令美元升至高位。全週計,美匯指數升1.307%,報 98.916。
  • 中國:在中美貿易戰下,人民幣顯著下跌,跌破7心理關口。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.939%,報7.149。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:美國對約1100億美元中國進口商品加征15%關稅於9月1日生效。中方反制措施也於當天生效,其中包括對美國原油加征5%關稅,對豬肉等農產品加征10%關稅。
    • 美國:美國經濟數據顯示密歇根大學8月消費者信心指數創六年來最大降幅。另外,7月份個人消費支出超預期加速成長,通膨指標保持低迷。
    • 美國:美國財長姆努欽:川普政府「非常認真地考慮」發行超長期國債;目前不打算干預美元市場,情勢可能在未來發生變化,如有任何行動,將更青睞與聯儲會和全球盟友協調行動。
    • 歐元區:英國女王應首相約翰遜的要求批准議會在9月中旬至10月中旬期間休會,此舉可防止議員阻撓無協議脫歐,但可能觸發憲政危機,或迫使反對派於下周對約翰遜舉行不信任投票。
    • 歐元區:歐洲央行官員Knot:目前沒有必要實施新一輪量化寬鬆,存款利率在零下還有進一步下降空間。
    • 歐元區:英國與歐盟9月份開始加大會談頻次,以求在10月31日脫歐日之前打破僵局。另據英國工黨發言人,議會有希望投票通過立法阻止無協議脫歐。
    • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,日本7月企業服務價格指數按年升幅由前值0.7%放緩至0.5%,市場原先預期為升0.6%。
    • 日本:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,日本8月製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)終值意外下降,由7月49.4,回落至49.3。
    • 菲律賓:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,經季節調整後,菲律賓8月日經製造業採購經理指數(PMI)終止連升三個月,由7月的52.1,回落至51.9。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 國務院金融委周六會議指出,要繼續實施好穩健的貨幣政策,保持流動性合理充裕和社會融資規模合理成長。

• 中國央行要求儘快實現新發放貸款主要參考LPR,打破貸款利率隱性下限,會議還要求金融機構進一步加大對實體經濟的金融支持。

投資負收益率債券能獲利嗎?

兩週前,德國首次以負收益率發行了一筆總值8.24億歐元的30年期國債,亦是全球首個30年期國債以負收益率發行,令德國的收益率曲線全面跌至負值。 由於國債的出售價格高於票面價值,德國政府在30年後到期是時只需償還7.95億歐元,意味著投資者在持有30年德國國債至到期日2050年時將收回少於其投資的金額。這情況對不少投資者來說實在是有點匪夷所思?

今天,負利率債券可謂越來越普遍,在擔憂全球經濟衰退及預計全球各國央行將大幅放水下,全球負利率債務的規模已超過17萬億美元,大約佔全球總值55萬億美元債券市場的三成。 而這一趨勢在近年已蔓延至新興歐洲市場,如波蘭,匈牙利和捷克等。 那麼,究竟是誰在購買這些負收益債券?

如果投資者預期未來的債券價格繼續上升(例如,受負利率進一步下降所致)或者能以更負的利率來融資,那麼持有負收益債券將變得合理。 事實上,市場預期歐洲央行有很大的機會將在今年或明年重啟其資產購買計劃。因此,投資在負收益歐洲債券將可能因債券價格上升而獲利。德國10年期負收益率國債在過去一個月便上漲了接近4%。

此外,隨價格可能上升外,負收益率也不一定等同於負回報。例如,很多美國投資者大幅購買負收益率的歐洲或日本債券,在對沖美元後以賺取不俗的正回報。根據利率平價理論(interest rate parity) ,利率較低的貨幣將在未來以較高的匯率進行交易。因此,負收益債券的美國投資者(例如,2年期德國國債收益率為-0.9%),將會同時透過遠期或掉期合約進行投資。目前,歐元兌美元的一年隱含遠期匯率 (forward exchange rate) 大約高於即期匯率 (spot exchange rate) 3%。因此,在賺取遠期貨幣對沖回報的3%,並扣除投資於2年期德國國債的-0.9%的負收益率後,美國投資者實際上在這種套利交易策略 (carry trade) 下將獲得大約2.1%的回報,表現甚至高於投資在美國國債,可謂是典型使用衍生合約將長期低收益資產轉化為高收益率的例子。現時許多美國債券ETF或貨幣對沖指數債券基金正正在購買負收益債券,並在貨幣對沖基礎上獲得可觀的回報。

另一種從負收益債券中獲利的方法是透過收益率曲線的斜率。 收益率曲線代表短期收益率與長期收益率之間的差距,陡峭的曲線表明存在較大差異,有更大的獲利空間。 因此,當非常負的短期收益率(例如,-0.7%)出現時,投資20年期債券(例如,-0.25%收益率)將有很大機會獲利。在固定的收益率曲線形狀下,債券將向更負的短期收益率下滑,長期債券價格將隨著時間過去而上漲。 然而,要注意的是這是一個短期策略,收益率曲線的斜率可能會隨時發生劇烈變化。

總體而言,負收益債券的崛起十分值得市場關注,而通常收益率越負的情況下代表著債券價格越趨昂貴,最終甚至可能會演變成債券市場的泡沫,特別是在今天寬鬆的貨幣政策下,大量市場資金流入被動式的指數債券基金及ETF,其中許多是強制性地根據指數中的權重而購買債券,不論價格或未來收益是否合理。 現在,投資負收益債券就好比玩音樂椅一樣,沒有人真正知道音樂將在什麼時候停止。 利差突然收窄、收益率曲線斜率變平或遠期匯率沖擊皆可能導致負收益債券價格突然大幅下挫。 因此,無論是投資股票或債券基金,投資者都需要經常注意這些基金是投資在那些地方,而投資負收益債券的風險可能實際上可能比大家想像的更高。

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30 年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊。夢碎了,代價不菲,如今疤痕未退……

港元恐被狙擊?港府打大鱷技術攻略

近月有對沖基金經理危言聳聽,警告香港聯繫匯率制度正面臨崩潰,早前已撰文駁斥。話說回來,以1998年香港政府入市計起,金融風暴轉眼已經21年……







相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。