iFund- The Potential Impact of Latest Tariff and IEEPA

2019-08-28 09:28
Share
  • Share

Invoking the IEEPA is no different from declaring China as the top enemy of the US, and its impacts to the two countries, or the global economies would be more substantial than any policy we have ever seen. Investors should stay cautious despite we still believe the IEEPA risk is minimum at current stage.

featured

Financial markets are having a roller coaster ride over the past few trading days as news flow regarding US-China trade developments continues to dominate the market. First, the Trump administration announced last Friday that it would increase the existing and planned Section 301 tariffs by an additional 5% on almost all US imports from China in response to Chinese Government’s plan to impose additional tariffs on approximately $75 billion in annual U.S. imports. What’s more, the President Trump then threatened to invoke the US International Emergency Economic Powers Act (IEEPA) to curtail US companies’ transaction with Chinese entities. However, to calm things down, the President made some conciliatory statement on Monday that suggested the US and China are poised to head back to the table.

Figure 1. Latest US Tariffs details

Source: Noble Apex/iFund

What would be the Impacts to US and China growth?

The most recent tariff escalation adds more uncertainty to the US-China trade talks and bilateral economic relations, and obviously it will hurt the two economies more. According to UBS, the additional 5% tariff will likely lead to another 20bps and 30bps drag on US and China’s GDP growth respectively over a 12 months period, but not including the secondary effect of the uncertainty on business confidence and supply chain shifts. Overall, China’s real GDP growth may slow to 5.5% in 2020F, despite accounting that the Chinese Government is likely to provide more easing support this and next year, e.g. 100bp of RRR cuts by end-2019 and another 50bp of RRR cuts in 1H2020.

Is IEEPA be the next feasible tool for Trump to threaten China?

IEEPA is a 1977 federal law that allows the US President to declare a national emergency, and to use that context to regulate economic transactions with foreign countries. The law permits a president to “deal with any unusual and extraordinary threat, which has its source in whole or substantial part outside the United States, to the national security, foreign policy or economy of the United States”. IEEPA has been used 54 times since its passage, generally to block financial transactions, freeze foreign-held assets, and limit exports. Indeed, Trump had threatened to invoke IEEPA in May this year when he said illegal immigration was an emergency and threatened to put tariffs on all Mexican imports.

In theory, the IEEPA does not give the President’s the authority to force US companies to exit China and move back to US to manufacture their products. However, the US President Trump has the authority to treat China more like Iran and order sanctions, which would involve declaring a national emergency under the IEEPA, and then prohibit transfer or credit of payment to any banking institution if such transfers or payments involve any interest of China. The IEEPA also allows the President to regulate, direct and compel any acquisition or holding any property in which China has an interest. Eventually, the IEEPA will prevent future US funds from being transferred to China and makes US companies so difficult to do business with China.

All in all, invoking the IEEPA is no different from declaring China as the top enemy of the US, and its impacts to the two countries, or the global economies would be more substantial than any policy we have ever seen. Investors should stay cautious despite we still believe the IEEPA risk is minimum at current stage.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

無搜索基金結果

iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

我的賬戶

啟動iFund賬戶
須提供
個人資料及啟動資金
iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

iFund- 特朗普的新貿易戰武器

2019-08-28 09:28
分享
  • 分享

援引IEEPA無疑是向全球直接宣布中國是美國最大的敵人,兩國將可能因此而爆發全方位戰役,對全球經濟的影響將比我們所見過的任何政策都更嚴重。 儘管我們仍然認為現階段的IEEPA風險很低,但投資者仍應保持謹慎態度,密切注意事態的發展。

featured

受中美貿易戰消息所影響,金融市場過去數個交易日如坐過山車般大幅波動。 首先,於上週五,由於中國政府計劃向每年約750億美元的美國進口加徵關税,美國總統特朗普立刻作出反制措施,依據301條款對幾乎所有中國進口產品再額外增加關稅5%。 此外,特朗普隨後更威脅要動用《國際緊急經濟權力法》(IEEPA)來限制美國公司與中國的交易,並命令它們立即開始尋找替代中國的選擇及遷回美國生產等。 然而,為了平息事態,總統特朗普於週一卻又表示美國和中國正準備重返談判桌,反覆的情況實在令投資者無所適從。

圖1.最新的美國關稅細節

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財

最新關稅對中國和美國的影響

新關稅措施再次令中美雙邊關係跌至谷底、大大增加貿易談判的難度,並加深對兩國經濟的傷害。 根據瑞銀(UBS)的預測, 5%的額外關稅將可能令美國和中國在未來12個月內的GDP增長率分別下降20和30個基點,但這並不包括對商業信心和供應鏈變化等較為不確定性的次要影響,所以最後實際影響將可能更大。我們預期中國2020年的實際GDP增長將放緩至5.5%,並相信中國政府在未來數月及明年初將推出更多的寬鬆措施以支持經濟發展,其中包括存款準備金率預計將在今年年底前再下調100個基點,及在明年上半年下調50個基點。

IEEPA會否成為特朗普威脅中國的下一個工具?

IEEPA是1977年的聯邦法例,允許美國總統宣布國家進入緊急狀態,並利用該背景來規範與外國的經濟交易。 法例允許總統“處理任何對美國構成異常和特殊的威脅,其中包括對美國的國家安全、外交政策或經濟等”。 IEEPA自實施以來已被使用54次,通常用於阻止金融交易,凍結外資資產和限制出口。 事實上,總統特朗普曾在今年5月威脅要援引IEEPA,並說非法移民是一種緊急情況,要對所有墨西哥進口產品徵收關稅。

從理論上講,IEEPA並沒有賦予總統權力,迫使美國公司退出中國並返回美國生產。 然而,美國總統特朗普有權將中國如伊朗般下令對其制裁,並根據IEEPA宣布國家緊急狀態,然後禁止任何涉及中國利益的銀行資金轉移或信貸, 並允許總統監管、指導和強制任何收購或持有中國有利益的任何財產等。 最終,IEEPA將阻止美國資金轉移到中國,令美國公司難以與中國有生意往來、甚至退出中國市場。另外,花旗亦指出,總統特朗普亦可對中方持有的美國股票、債券及其他金融資產徵稅。

總而言之,援引IEEPA無疑是向全球直接宣布中國是美國最大的敵人,兩國將可能因此而爆發全方位戰役,對全球經濟的影響將比我們所見過的任何政策都更嚴重。 儘管我們仍然認為現階段的IEEPA風險很低,但投資者仍應保持謹慎態度,密切注意事態的發展。

相關文章