Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 823- Trade War revive “Belt and Road”

2019-09-02 01:14
Share
  • Share

26 August 2019 Issue 823

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: Sino-US trade war becomes tense again. China announced that it will impose tariffs on US$75 billion worth US imports. US President Trump counterattacked and raised 5% tariff on US$550 billion worth Chinese goods. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 0.99% to 25,628.90. The S&P 500 index fell by 1.44% to 2,847.11. The Nasdaq fell by 1.83% to 7,751.77 points.
  • Europe: German Chancellor Angela Merkel said that it is possible to find a solution on the Irish border issue before the deadline for Brexit on October 31. The comments made the pound rise against the dollar. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.31%, the German DAX index rose by 0.42%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 0.49%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.47% for the week to 371.36 points.
  • Asia: Trump said the US-Japan trade agreement is “a big deal.” Shinzo Abe also confirmed that the representatives of the two countries have successfully reached a consensus after “intensive” negotiations. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 1.43% to 20,710.91 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 1.11% to 152.38 points.

Bonds

  • United States: Capital has flowed into the bond market as a result of the intensification of the Sino-US trade war. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 2 basis points to 1.488%.
  • Eurozone: German Chancellor Angela Merkel said that it is possible to find a solution on the Irish border issue before the deadline for Brexit on October 31. The comments made the market think that the risk of Hard Brexit was reduced. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 1 basis point to -0.677%.

Commodity

  • Oil Price: China announced tariffs on US goods, including crude oil levies, the market worried it may affect the demand for crude oil and the global economic prospects. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 1.17% to close at $54.17 a barrel.

Currency

  • United States: China announced that it will impose tariffs on US goods. In addition, Federal Reserve Chairman Powell expressed the possibility of interest rates cut at the Jackson Hole central bank meeting. The US dollar exchange rate fell sharply. For the entire week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.512% to 97.640.
  • China: Sino-US trade war becomes tense again. China announced that it will impose tariffs on US$75 billion worth US imports. US President Trump counterattacked and raised 5% tariff on US$550 billion worth Chinese goods. The RMB fell. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.580% against the US dollar at 7.082.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: The Sino-US trade war has deteriorated. China announced a counter-measure on Friday that would impose tariffs on US$75 billion worth US goods. Trump subsequently announced that the tariffs on the US$250 billion worth Chinese goods that have been in force will be raised from 25% to 30% from October 1.
  • United States: Federal Reserve Chairman Powell claimed at the Jackson Hole Annual Meeting that the US economy is facing significant risks. His statement strengthened the market’s expectation of interest rate cut in September.
  • United States: Trump said that the United States and Japan have reached a trade agreement in principle, and the agreement may be signed during the UN General Assembly.
  • Eurozone: British officials denied that Prime Minister Johnson planned to hold a general election on October 17, and said that Johnson had no intention of suspending parliament to prevent it from blocking no-deal Brexit.
  • Eurozone: The British Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) announced that the UK’s CBI total industrial orders have stopped its fifth consecutive month decline in August, from negative 34 in July to negative 13 in August, far higher than market expectations of negative 25.
  • Eurozone: The British government plans to have more promotions on Brexit issues in early September, with an aim to educate the British public for a no-deal Brexit.
  • Japan: During a meeting with the South Korean foreign minister, the Japanese Foreign Minister said that the issue of South Korea’s World War II labor compensation was the biggest bilateral issue and strongly urged South Korea to change the current situation.
  • Japan: Japan’s August Manufacturing Sentiment Judgment Index fell for the three consecutive months, from 3 in July to minus 4 in August, which was the first negative pessimism since April 2013.
  • Singapore: According to data from the Singapore Bureau of Statistics, Singapore’s July Consumer Price Index (CPI) slowed further to 0.4% year-on-year, lower than the market expectations of 0.5%.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Sun Guofeng, director of the Monetary Policy Department of the People’s Bank of China, said that the reform and improvement of the LPR formation mechanism does not involve changes in market interest rates. The focus of the reform is the marketization of loan interest rates, so there is no direct impact on the RMB exchange rate.
• Huawei expects the US restrictions may cause an annual revenue reduction from consumer device business by $10 billion.

Trade War revive Belt and Road

After nearly a year of accusations, the “Belt and Road Initiative” recently come back headline of the market. Despite the concerns of developed countries that infrastructure will lead to debt traps, many countries have resumed cooperation with China.

According to statistics from the Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, China signed a new order of 64 billion in the first half of the year, an increase of 33% over the same period in 2018. In 2018, after the presidential election, Malaysia overthrew the previously signed agreement because of the corruption scandal, which cast a shadow over the prospects of the “Belt and Road” projects in emerging markets.

However, many countries in emerging markets have returned to the negotiating table. In July, Malaysia restarted the 20 billion East Coast Railway project to change the previous suspension decision. In Indonesia, the controversial Jakarta-Bandung high-speed rail restarted two years after the suspension. At the same time, energy facilities and real estate projects have been approved.

Why is there a change?

First, the financial situation in emerging Asia has changed. Since the beginning of the year, the Bloomberg Asia (excluding Japan) financial condition index has rebounded to a one-year high. When the Fed began to restart the easing policy, Asian central banks also began to cut interest rates. Emerging market companies are welcome increase their debt level.

More importantly, when world trade growth fell to a 10-year low, infrastructure investment became the only way to revitalize emerging market economies. The question is where can I finance? There is no doubt that China is willing to become this role.

Opportunity for the “Belt and Road” project

Before the Financial Tsunami, China enjoyed the opportunity of rapid development of global trade and recorded a large amount of foreign exchange earnings. However, China also has a large amount of debt due to its large investment in infrastructure. After the Financial Tsunami, China’s domestic investment return in capital ratio is getting lower and lower. Since 2014, China has started investing more money overseas, including the “One Belt, One Road” initiative.

Other emerging market countries are less fortunate compared to China. As the trade war heats up, most economies, including Vietnam, are narrowing their current account surpluses. In the context of double deficits, large-scale financing has become more difficult. Chinese fundings bring new opportunities to the local market.
In fact, Chinese companies are more willing to invest in the US than in emerging markets. The data shows that in 2016, China’s purchase of US companies exceeded US$50 billion, and it is not uncommon for transactions to reach US$100 million per single agreement. However, since Trump took office as the US president, the United States adopted more stringent conditions to screen Sino-US acquisitions, and the Chinese acquisition activity suddenly stopped. The funds are re-focusing on emerging markets.

Geopolitical decision-making for the Belt and Road Initiative

The United States still has extensive influence along the Belt and Road in Southeast Asia. Most countries are reluctant to get close to one country and offend another. In the past, China’s influence in Southeast Asia still lags far behind the United States, and more and more people agree with China’s voice is strong than before in Southeast Asia.

In April, China held the Belt and Road Summit. At that time, China was not optimistic about the situation, but the situation began to change.

誇大經濟危機 政府居心叵測

8月18日維園流水式集會,香港市民冒着大雨湧至維園,迫爆整個場地。人群外溢,東至北角,西至上環。民陣公布170萬人在維園附近範圍,現場朋友估計,只有三分之二出席群眾在統計範圍……

投資之前宜多自行分析

經濟學101說,哪裡有需要,哪裡便有供應。在投資領域不乏末日博士,皆因末日論受市場歡迎……




Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第823期)- 貿易戰令「一帶一路」重生

2019-09-02 01:14
分享
  • 分享

2019年8月26日 第823期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美貿易戰再度緊張,中國宣布向750億美元美國進口商品加徵關稅,美國總統特朗普反擊,對5500億美元中國貨調高5%關稅。全週計,道指跌0.99%,報25,628.90點。標普500指數跌1.44%,報點2,847.11。納指跌1.83%,報7,751.77點。
  • 歐洲:德國總理默克爾表示, 可能在10月31日英國脫歐最後期限前, 找到愛爾蘭邊境問題的解決方案, 言論令英鎊兌美元上升。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.31%,德國DAX指數升0.42%,法國CAC40指數升0.49%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.47%,報371.36點。
  • 亞洲:特朗普稱美日貿易協議是「一項很大的交易」。安倍晉三也證實,兩國代表經過「密集」談判後已成功達成共識。全週計,日經225指數升1.43%,報20,710.91點。MSCI 亞太區指數升1.11 %,報152.38點。

債券

  • 美國:受貿易戰加劇影響,資金流入債券市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌2個基點,報1.488%。
  • 歐元區:德國總理默克爾表示, 可能在10月31日英國脫歐最後期限前, 找到愛爾蘭邊境問題的解決方案, 言論令市場認為「硬脫歐」風險降低。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升1個基點,報-0.677%。

商品

  • 油價:中國宣布對美國貨品加徵關稅,其中包括原油徵費,市場對原油需求及環球經濟憂慮增加,油價下跌。全週計,紐約期油跌1.17%,收報每桶54.17美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:中國宣布向美國貨品加徵關稅,加上聯儲局主席鮑威爾在Jackson Hole央行年會上表示有機會繼續減息,美元匯價大跌。全週計,美匯指數跌0.512%,報 97.640。
  • 中國:中美貿易戰再度緊張,中國宣布向750億美元美國進口商品加徵關稅,美國總統特朗普反擊,對5500億美元中國貨調高5%關稅,人民幣應聲下跌。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.580%,報7.082。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:美中貿易戰陡然惡化。中國上周五宣布反制措施,將對750億美元美國商品加征關稅。特朗普隨後宣布,已生效的針對2500億美元中國商品的關稅10月1日起從25%上調至30%。
    • 美國:聯儲會主席鮑威爾在傑克遜霍爾年會上發言稱,美國經濟面臨「重大風險」。他的表態加強了市場對9月份降息的預期。
    • 美國:特朗普表示美國和日本已原則上達成了貿易協議,協議可能在聯合國大會期間簽署。
    • 歐元區:英國官員否認首相約翰遜計畫10月17日舉行大選,並稱約翰遜無意暫停議會來防止其阻止無協議脫歐。
    • 歐元區:歐元區7月通膨率從1.1%的初值下修為1%。歐洲央行管委Muller稱,歐元區經濟及前景「明顯」惡化,通膨率明顯落後於目標,這可能意味著歐洲央行將不得不加碼刺激措施。
    • 歐元區:英國政府計畫9月初展開宣傳攻勢,讓英國公眾為無協議脫歐做好準備。
    • 日本:日本外務省發言人稱,日本外相在與南韓外長會晤時表示,南韓二戰勞工賠償問題是最大的雙邊問題,強烈敦促南韓改變目前局勢。
    • 日本:日本8月製造業景氣判斷指數連降三個月,由7月3,續降至負4,為2013年4月以來首呈負值的悲觀情緒。
    • 新加坡:新加坡統計局數據顯示,新加坡7月消費者物價指數(CPI)按年升幅進一步放緩至0.4%,低於市場預期的0.5%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國人民銀行貨幣政策司司長孫國峰上表示,這次改革完善LPR形成機制並不涉及市場利率的變化,改革的關鍵詞是貸款利率市場化,因此對人民幣匯率沒有直接影響。

• 華為預計美國的限制措施將令消費者設備業務年收入減少100億美元。

貿易戰令「一帶一路」重生

經歷近一年的指責後,「一帶一路」倡議近期重新進入市場的事業。儘管發達國家憂慮基建會導致債務陷阱,但是不少國家重啟和中國的合作。

根據中國商務部的統計數據,上半年中國簽訂了640億新訂單,較2018年同期上升33%。在2018年,經歷總統大選之後,馬來西亞因為貪污醜聞推翻之前簽訂的協議,令“一帶一路”的新興市場之路前景蒙上陰影。
不過,新興市場不少國家已經回到談判桌上。7月份,馬來西亞重啟200億東海岸鐵路的項目,改變之前暫停的決定。在印尼,備受爭議的雅加達——萬隆高鐵在暫停兩年後重新啟動。同時,能源設施和房地產項目都已經獲得通過。

為什麼會有改變?

首先,新興亞洲金融狀況已經出現變化。自年初起,彭博亞洲(日本除外)金融狀況指數已經回升,升至一年新高。當美聯儲局開始重啟寬鬆政策後,亞洲各國央行亦開始減息。新興市場企業對舉債松了一口氣。
更重要的是,當世界貿易增長跌至10年低位後,基建投資成為振興新興市場經濟體的唯一方式。問題是哪裡可以融資?毫無疑問,中國將願意成為這一角色。

「一帶一路」項目的機會

在金融海嘯之前,中國享受全球貿易高速發展的機會,錄得大量的外匯收入。不過,中國亦因大量投資基礎設施,而背負大量的債務。金融海嘯之後,中國在國內投資收益比率越來越低。自2014年起,中國就開始投資更多資金在海外,包括提出「一帶一路」倡議。

其它新興市場國家就沒有中國那麼幸運。因為貿易戰升溫,包括越南在內,大部分經濟體經常賬戶盈餘都在收窄。在雙赤字背景下,大規模融資變得更為困難。中國資金為當地市場帶來新的機會。

其實,中國企業更願意投資美國而非新興市場。數據顯示,2016年,中國購買美國企業的規模超過500億美元,而每單協議達到1億美元的交易並不少見。不過,自特朗普就任美國總統後,美國採取更嚴格條件篩選中美收購活動,中國收購活動驟然停止。資金重新將目光投向新興市場。

地緣政治決定「一帶一路」倡議前景

美國在東南亞等一帶一路沿線地區仍具有廣泛的影響力。大部分國家都不願意過度親近某一國而得罪另一個國家。過去中國在東南亞領域影響力還遠遠落後於美國,越來越多人認同中國在東南亞地區具有的話語權。
四月份,中國舉行一帶一路峰會。當時中國面臨形勢並不樂觀,但是情況開始出現變化。

誇大經濟危機 政府居心叵測

8月18日維園流水式集會,香港市民冒着大雨湧至維園,迫爆整個場地。人群外溢,東至北角,西至上環。民陣公布170萬人在維園附近範圍,現場朋友估計,只有三分之二出席群眾在統計範圍……

投資之前宜多自行分析

經濟學101說,哪裡有需要,哪裡便有供應。在投資領域不乏末日博士,皆因末日論受市場歡迎……






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。