iFund- China rate reform needs policies support

2019-08-23 06:19
Share
  • Share

Interest rate reforms can be a hint for interest rate cuts of new loans. In the coming months, the People's Bank of China can implement a loose monetary policy through MLF interest rates, pushing down the yield of China's onshore bonds in various tenors.

featured

China’s interest rate reform has taken another step forward. Through the new loan interest rate pricing mechanism, China hopes to reduce the financing costs for enterprises. In fact, in the short term, this mechanism may not be able to provide enough intermediate for companies of most urgent loan funding. As a result, reform requires a series of supporting policies.

 

The People’s Bank of China improved the loan benchmark rate – Loan Prime Rate (LPR). LPR is not new, which was established in 2013. This reform will replace the loan benchmark interest rate with LPR as a reference indicator for bank loan interest rates. LPR will be quoted by 18 banks on the 20th of each month. LPR will refer to the central bank’s medium-term credit facility interest rate MLF, plus the spread. On August 20, 2019, the 1-year LPR was 4.25%, a slight decrease from the previous 4.31%.

Reform is not enough for current problems

As we all know, China’s small and micro enterprises are facing difficulties in lending, and loan resources are concentrated in state-owned and large enterprises. Although market-oriented reforms are conducive to the rational allocation of resources, banks will still tend to operate steadily and avoid issuing high-risk loans in the environment of a downturn in the economy. In addition, banks still need to refer to the central bank’s signals to set spreads, limiting the role of the market to form a price mechanism. Finally, LPR only applies to new loans, while existing loans still refer to the old loan benchmark interest rate.

Supporting policies are essential

If China needs to follow the path of global central bank interest rate cuts and reduce the financing costs of enterprises, it will also need a series of supporting facilities in addition to reforms. Since the existing loans are still referenced to the benchmark interest rate of the loan, only a reduction in the benchmark interest rate can achieve a full rate cut. In addition, the central bank needs to increase long-term funding. Guide the bank to carry out medium and long-term loans by conditionally reducing the deposit reserve. Finally, since LPR will refer to the medium-term credit facility MLF interest rate. By lowering the MLF rate, banks can receive a clearer monetary policy.

In summary, interest rate reforms can be a hint for interest rate cuts of new loans. In the coming months, the People’s Bank of China can implement a loose monetary policy through MLF interest rates, pushing down the yield of China’s onshore bonds in various tenors.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

無搜索基金結果

iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

我的賬戶

啟動iFund賬戶
須提供
個人資料及啟動資金
iFund App

iFund App 下載

下載 iFund 手機 App,隨時隨地配置全球資產
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

iFund- 中國利率改革意味減息?

2019-08-23 06:19
分享
  • 分享

利率改革打開新增貸款的減息空間。未來數月,中國央行可以透過MLF利率實行寬鬆貨幣政策,推低各期限中國在岸債券的收益率。

featured

中國利率市場化改革又邁進一步。透過新的貸款利率定價機制,中國希望降低企業的融資成本。事實上,短期內該機制未必能夠為最需要資金的企業提供“及時雨”。改革需要一系列配套政策支持。

中國央行完善貸款市場報價利率——貸款基礎利率(Loan Prime Rate, LPR)。LPR並非新事物,早於2013年設立。本次改革將LPR取代貸款基準利率作為銀行貸款利率的參考指標。LPR將於每月20日,經過18家銀行詢價所得。LPR將會參考央行中期信貸便利利率MLF,加上利差而形成。2019年8月20日,1年期LPR為4.25%,較之前4.31%略微下降。

改革難解眼眉之急

眾所周知,中國小微企業面臨貸款難的問題,貸款資源集中在國有和大型企業之中。儘管市場化改革有利資源合理分配,但是銀行仍然會傾向穩健經營,避免在經濟下行的情況下發放高風險貸款。另外,銀行仍然需要參考央行的信號去設定利差,限制了市場形成價格機制的作用。最後,LPR僅適用於新貸款,而現有貸款仍參考貸款基準利率。

配套政策必不可少

如果中國需要跟隨全球央行減息之路,降低企業的融資成本,在改革之餘,也需要一系列配套的設施。由於現有貸款仍然參考貸款基準利率,只有調降基準利率才能實現全面減息。另外,央行需要增加長期資金供應。透過有條件調降存款準備金,引導銀行進行中長期的放款。最後,由於LPR將參考中期信貸便利MLF利率。透過降低MLF利率,銀行能夠收到更明確寬鬆貨幣政策的信號。

總括來講,利率改革打開新增貸款的減息空間。未來數月,中國央行可以透過MLF利率實行寬鬆貨幣政策,推低各期限中國在岸債券的收益率。

相關文章