Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 822- ESG trend is something that investors cannot afford to ignore

2019-08-21 00:55
Share
  • Share

19 August 2019 Issue 822

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: The US 2-year bond yield was once higher than that of 10-year period, the first time within the past 12 years, triggering investors to worry about the US recession. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 1.53 percent to 25,886.01. The S&P 500 index fell by 1.03 percent to close at 2,888.68. The Nasdaq fell by 0.79% to 7,895.99.
  • Europe: The UK government bond yield curve was inverted, the first time within the past 10 years, triggering the market worried about the global recession. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 1.88 percent, the German DAX index fell by 1.12 percent, and the French CAC 40 index fell by 0.51 percent. The STOXX 600 index fell by 0.52% to 369.63 points.
  • Asia: The Sino-US trade war was escalated last week. The United States announced that it would impose a 10% tariff on 300 billions Chinese goods. China claimed that it is a serious violation of the consensus in the first meeting, China will have to take necessary countermeasures on US. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 1.29 percent to 20,418.81 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 1.02% to 150.70 points.

Bonds

  • United States: The US Treasury yield curve is inverted. The market worried that this is a strong warning signal for the economic recession, triggering funds flow into the bond market. For the whole week, the yield of the US 10-year government bond fell by 19 basis points to 1.591%.
  • Eurozone: UK 10-year Treasury yield is lower than that of two-year period, the first time since August 2008, the market worried about the economic prospect of Eurozone. For the whole week, the yield of German 10-year bonds fell by 10 basis points to -0.687%.

Commodity

  • Oil Price: The risk of global economic recession is rising, the market expects central banks will introduce more stimulus measures to support the economy and the demand for crude oil. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 0.68 percent to close at $54.87 a barrel.

Currency

  • United States: US retail sales in July increased by 0.7% month-on-month, which was higher than the market expectations and the ones in June, supporting the US dollar exchange rate. For the whole week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.668% to 98.142.
  • China: US President Donald Trump announced that the US will impose a 10% tariff on US$300 billion Chinese products, and the yuan fell below 7. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.250% against the US dollar at 7.041.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: Trump said that the United States is still negotiating with China, but is not ready to reach a trade agreement with China yet. Trump claimed if there is a violent suppression of Hong Kong protests, it will be more difficult for the US and China to reach a trade agreement.
  • United States: The White House economic adviser Kudlow did not agree that the US economy is heading for a recession, and claimed that there has been positive progress in the recent Sino-US telephone talks.
  • United States: The US 10-year bond yield has fallen below the two-year debt yield for the first time since 2007, signaling a recession, the increasing demand on risk averse assets pushed the 30-year US bond yield to a record low.
  • Eurozone: British Prime Minister Johnson will travel to Germany and France on August 21st and 22nd, he will announced that UK will leave the EU on October 31, regardless of whether an agreement is reached.
  • Eurozone: According to data from the European Economic Research Center (ZEW), the Eurozone ZEW economic sentiment index fell from negative 20.2 in June to negative 43.6 in July, far worse than the market expectation of negative 21.7.
  • Eurozone: The EU began investigating whether stainless steel coil exporters in China, Taiwan and Indonesia are selling products at a price that lower than the cost price in Europe.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry announced that after seasonal adjustment, Japan’s Industrial Production Index fell by 3.3% month-on-month to 101.4 in June.
  • Japan: Japan’s August Manufacturing Sentiment Judgment Index fell for the three consecutive months, from 3 in July to minus 4 in August, which was the first negative pessimism since April 2013.
  • Singapore: Singapore’s Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said that if the Sino-US relationship deteriorates, Singapore will be highly affected, but Singapore will remain independent in the conflict between the two largest trading partners, China and the US.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The People’s Bank of China announced that it will reform and improve the loan prime rate (LPR) formation mechanism, with an aim to increase the marketization of LPR, and make it as a guiding role in lending interest rates as well as promote the reduction of the financing cost in the real economy.
• Huawei founder Ren Zhengfei said in an interview with Sky News that the UK will not reject Huawei on the 5G network.

ESG trend is something that investors cannot afford to ignore

Over the last few years, Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) investing has become one of the biggest topics in the investment community globally. With surging investors interest, growth of ESG investing was tremendous at over 30% worldwide since 2012. The AUM that using ESG strategy is estimated at over $20 trillion in 2018, or around a quarter of all professionally managed assets around the world. The remarkable rise of ESG investing was not limited to Europe and America, but is also growing extensively in emerging markets such as Malaysia, China and India. Indeed, listed companies in Hong Kong are mandatory required to publish ESG report since 1 Jan 2016, while the SFC of Hong Kong is also working hard to enhance the quality of disclosure of SFC-authorised green or ESG funds in recent years.

Why ESG investing is important?   

ESG investing, used synonymously with sustainable investing and socially responsible investing (SRI), is an investment strategy that takes into account the consideration of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors along with financial factors in the investment decision-making process. It has revolved over the years from simply screening out companies based on ethical, moral or religious grounds, to including companies to reward good behaviour or encouraging them to change business practices. Today, shifting demographics and other long-term trends are underpinning the growing importance of ESG among institutional, wealth and retail investors. For example, the world’s largest asset owner – Japan’s $1.5 trillion Government Pension Investment Fund (GPIF) is a big supporter of ESG and sustainable investing, while the millennial generation and female investors now pay more attention to factors other than pure profitability, e.g., the climate change risk, human rights and responsibility of management to shareholders, employees and other stakeholders. Investors are more than welcome to see if their investment would make the world better.

How’s the performance of ESG funds?

There’s still no consensus and guarantee that ESG or SRI investing will outperform non-ESG funds over the long-term, in particular the sample pool and data is not large enough to make a persuasive conclusion. On one side, a recent study from Morningstar show that 73% of the ESG-screened indexes (41 of 56) outperformed non-ESG equivalents since inception, while on average, sustainable funds have outperformed their conventional peers in down markets over the last four years. Besides, some studies also suggest that companies with robust ESG practices displayed a lower cost of capital, lower price and earning volatility and lower bankruptcy risk, while market is generally willing to pay a premium valuation to these high-quality companies. On the other hand, another study by Wayne Winegarden, an economist of the Pacific Research Institute, argues that only 7% of US. Equity ESG funds (10 of 148) outperformed the S&P 500 index over a 10-year horizon. However, it has to note that S&P 500 index may not be an appropriate benchmark for all these ESG funds as they may have a very different risk and investment focus.

 

In a nutshell, there is still an ample room for ESG or sustainable investing to grow over the next decade. At the same time, there are still plenty of challenges going forward such as supportive regulation, investors education, transparency as well as the quality of ESG data. Nevertheless, ESG investing has now become more mainstream than ever where it can greatly accelerate market transformation for the better, which is something investors (or Hong Kong) cannot afford to ignore.

逆權運動 金融從業員覺醒

《逃犯條例》修訂風波,自2 月至今近半年,已經發展成為全民參與的逆權運動。特區政府刻意回迴避問題,放任警方濫權、肆意攻擊、逮捕、起訴包括無辜市民的「示威者」,更骯髒到縱容黑幫在元朗恐怖襲擊平民…..

貿戰再升溫 中美將攬炒?

特朗普是善於計算的商人,不是頭腦發熱的民族主義者,而中國亦明白,最佳的達成協議日子就是特朗普連任前。不然,在沒有連任壓力下,特朗普更大機會開出一些更辣的條件…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第822期)- ESG投資趨勢不能忽視

2019-08-21 00:55
分享
  • 分享

2019年8月19日 第822期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國2年期國債孳息率一度高於10年期,是12年來首次,引發投資者擔心美國出現經濟衰退。全週計,道指跌1.53 %,報25,886.01點。標普500指數跌1.03 %,報點2,888.68。納指跌0.79 %,報7,895.99點。
  • 歐洲:英國國債收益率曲線錄得10多年來首次倒掛,市場擔心經濟衰退。全週計,英國富時100指數跌1.88 %,德國DAX指數跌1.12 %,法國CAC40指數跌0.51 %。STOXX 600指數全週跌0.52%,報369.63點。
  • 亞洲:上週,中美貿易戰再度升溫,中方指美國宣布對3000億美元中國貨品加徵一成關稅,嚴重違背中美元首會晤共識,將不得不採取必要的反制措施。全週計,日經225指數跌1.29 %,報20,418.81點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌1.02 %,報150.70點。

債券

  • 美國:美國國債孳息率曲線「倒掛」,市場憂慮這是經濟衰退的強烈預警訊號,資金流入債券市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌19個基點,報1.591 %。
  • 歐元區:英國十年期國債孳息亦低於兩年期,是2008年8月以來首次,市場擔心歐洲經濟前景。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌10個基點,報-0.687%。

商品

  • 油價:環球經濟衰退風險上升,市場憧憬各國將推出更多刺激經濟措施,支持原油需求。全週計,紐約期油升0.68 %,收報每桶54.87美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國7月零售銷售按月增長0.7%,增幅高於預期及6月份的0.3%,支持美元匯價。全週計,美匯指數升0.668%,報 98.142。
  • 中國:美國總統川普(Donald Trump)宣布,對中國輸美最後3千億美元的產品加徵10%關稅,人民幣跌破7算。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.250%,報7.041。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:特朗普表示,美國正在與中國商談,但尚未準備好與中國達成貿易協議;如果出現暴力鎮壓香港抗議活動,那麼美中達成貿易協議將更加困難。
    • 美國:白宮經濟顧問庫德洛不認同美國經濟走向衰退,並稱最近美中電話會談有積極進展。
    • 美國:美國10年期國債殖利率自2007年以來首次低於兩年期,發出衰退警報信號,避險需求推動30年期美債殖利率跌至紀錄最低。
    • 歐元區:英國首相約翰遜將於8月21日至22日前往德國和法國,屆時將明確表示該國將於10月31日離開歐盟,無論是否達成協議。
    • 歐元區:歐洲經濟研究中心(ZEW)數據顯示,歐元區ZEW經濟景氣指數由6月負20.2,降至7月負43.6,遠差於市場預期負21.7。
    • 歐元區:歐盟開始調查中國大陸、台灣和印尼的不鏽鋼卷板出口商是否在歐洲以低於成本的價格銷售產品。
    • 日本:日本經濟產業省公布,經季節調整後,日本6月工業生產指數按月降3.3%,終止連升兩個月,報101.4。
    • 日本:日本8月製造業景氣判斷指數連降三個月,由7月3,續降至負4,為2013年4月以來首呈負值的悲觀情緒。
    • 新加坡:新加坡總理李顯龍表示,如果美中關係惡化,新加坡的經濟就會受到影響,但在新加坡最大的兩個貿易伙伴的沖突中,新加坡必須保持獨立立場。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國央行周五宣布改革完善貸款市場報價利率(LPR)形成機制,以提高LPR的市場化程度,發揮好對貸款利率的引導作用,推動降低實體經濟融資成本。

• 華為創始人任正非接受天空新聞採訪時表示,英國在5G網絡方面不會拒絕華為。

ESG投資趨勢不能忽視

在過去幾年,環境、社會與治理(ESG)投資在環球投資界中引起不少熱議。自2012年以來,ESG投資在全球增長超過30%,使用ESG的資產管理規模估計在2018年已超過20萬億美元,約佔全球所有專業管理資產的四分之一。 ESG投資的增長不僅限於歐美,並在馬來西亞,中國和印度等新興市場中也在高速增長。 自2016年1月1日起,香港上市公司在每年年報上亦必須加入ESG報告,而近年香港證監會亦致力改善及提升其認可的綠色或ESG基金的披露質素。

為何ESG投資很重要?

無論是ESG投資、可持續投資或社會責任投資(SRI),它們的投資理念是大致相同的。在ESG投資決策過程中,主要以環境污染防治與控制、社會影響和企業管治(ESG)三個因素以及加上財務因素作出考慮。過往,道德投資主義一般只圍繞著道德或宗教理由來篩選公司投資,而ESG則針對每一個產業找出最具影響力之ESG因子,以參與企業治理及獎勵的方式來改變企業的商業行為。今天,人口變化及其他長期趨勢正在加速著ESG的投資發展,無論是在機構投資者、財富或零售投資者中,ESG 已變得越來越重要。例如,全球最大的資產所有者 – 日本政府的1.5萬億美元養老金投資基金(GPIF)是ESG和可持續投資的重要支持者。另外,千禧一代和女性投資者亦變得更關注盈利以外的因素,例如氣候變化風險,人權和管理層對股東,員工和其他利益相關者的責任等。現在,不少投資者都不只單看投資回報來決定投資,能否讓世界變得更美好亦是他們的重要考慮之一。

ESG基金的表現如何?

目前,市場上仍沒有共識或保證若採用ESG或SRI投資策略的基金,在長期表現中將優於非ESG的基金,特別是在缺乏足夠的歷史數據及樣本池下,實不足以做出有說服力的結論。最近Morningstar的一項研究顯示,約 73%的ESG篩選指數(56個中的41個)的表現自其成立以來,優於非ESG指數;而在過去四年中,可持續策略投資基金在股市下跌時的平均表現是優於其他傳統基金的。此外,一些研究還顯示,積極有效實踐ESG的企業擁有較低的融資成本;在股票價格及盈利上,會較為穩定、有較低的破產風險,以及投資者通常願意為這些高質量的公司支付較高的估值。相反,太平洋研究所經濟學家Wayne Winegarden的另一項研究則認為,僅有7%的美國股票ESG基金(148個中的10個)在10年期間表現優於標準普爾500指數。然而,必須指出的是,標準普爾500指數未必是所有這些ESG基金的合適比較基準,因為它們可能具有非常不同的風險和投資重點。

簡而言之, ESG或可持續投資在未來十年內仍有很大的發展空間。 與此同時,ESG仍有許多挑戰,例如在監管上需要更多支持、更多的投資者教育,透明度以及ESG數據的質量改善等。 然而,我們相信由於ESG投資已經慢慢變成主流,採用ESG投資策略將有助加快市場轉型及吸引資金,這些都是投資者及香港各持分者都不能忽視的一種趨勢。

逆權運動 金融從業員覺醒

《逃犯條例》修訂風波,自2 月至今近半年,已經發展成為全民參與的逆權運動。特區政府刻意回迴避問題,放任警方濫權、肆意攻擊、逮捕、起訴包括無辜市民的「示威者」,更骯髒到縱容黑幫在元朗恐怖襲擊平民…..

貿戰再升溫 中美將攬炒?

特朗普是善於計算的商人,不是頭腦發熱的民族主義者,而中國亦明白,最佳的達成協議日子就是特朗普連任前。不然,在沒有連任壓力下,特朗普更大機會開出一些更辣的條件…..







相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。