Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 821- Will the US intervene the exchange rate?

2019-08-12 06:40
Share
  • Share

12 August 2019 Issue 821

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: The Sino-US trade war has escalated. US President Trump announced that it will impose a 10% tariff on 300 billion worth Chinese goods from September 1. Over the week, the Dow fell by 0.75 percent to 26,287.44. The S&P 500 index fell by 0.46 percent to 2,918.65. The Nasdaq fell by 0.56% to 7,959.14.
  • Europe: The market worried about the global economic prospect as there are lots of uncertainties, including political uncertainty in Italy, the Sino-US trade war uncertainty, and the risk of the no-deal Brexit. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 2.07%, the German DAX index fell by 1.50%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 0.58%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 1.74% for the week to 371.56 points.
  • Asia: The Sino-US trade war has escalated. US President Trump announced that it will impose a 10% tariff on 300 billion Chinese goods from September 1. China has also announced that it will stop buying US agricultural products. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 1.91% to 20,684.82 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 2.14% to 152.26 points.

Bonds

  • United States: The Sino-US trade war has escalated. The market is worried that the Sino-US trade war will affect the global economy, causing capital flows into the bond market. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 10 basis points to 1.745%.
  • Eurozone: The Sino-US trade war has escalated. The market is worried that the Sino-US trade war will hit the global economy, causing capital flows into the bond market. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 8 basis points to -0.578%.

Commodity

  • Oil Price: Investors are worried that the Sino-US trade war will affect the market demand for crude oil, and the US crude oil inventories increased by 2.4 million barrels, more than market expectations. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 2.08%, to close at $54.50 a barrel.

Currency

  • United States: China’s yuan fell below the politically sensitive level of seven to the U.S. dollar. Trump once again criticized the Fed’s decision to raise interest rates last year. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.594% to 97.491.
  • China: China’s yuan fell below the politically sensitive level of seven to the U.S. dollar. The United States subsequently announced that it officially listed China as a currency manipulator. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 1.702% against the US dollar at 7.058.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: Trump said the US will not have business with Huawei. Later, Fox News reporters said in a tweet that Trump only prohibited federal agencies from purchasing Huawei products.
  • United States: The White House economic adviser Kudlow said that the United States still expects Chinese negotiators will travel to the United States for economic and trade consultations in September. He also claimed that the US will “carefully observe” whether China has taken action to stop the depreciation of the renminbi.
  • United States: The IMF released a report on Friday that if the US raises the tariff rate on the remaining Chinese exports from 10% to 25%, it may drag China’s economic growth rate by 0.8 percentage points in the next year.
  • Eurozone: Italian Deputy Prime Minister Salvini said that the government led by Prime Minister Conte no longer has majority support and needs to hold a general election in advance.
  • Eurozone: The British minister, Michael Gove, who is responsible for planning Brexit, accused the EU of inaction in trying to reach a new agreement, which further deepening the diplomatic deadlock between the two sides.
  • Eurozone: Italian Deputy Prime Minister Salvini said that if the promised investment and tax cuts are to be realized, the Italian government will not be able to keep the budget deficit below 2%.
  • Japan: Japan’s Cabinet Office announced that after seasonal adjustments, Japan’s real GDP growth in the second quarter of this year slowed to 0.4% from 0.7% in the previous quarter, but it is still better than the market expectations of a 0.1% increase.
  • Japan: Jibun Bank/Markit data showed that after the seasonal adjustment, Japan’s Service Purchasing Managers Index (PMI) unexpectedly fell to 51.8 in July from 51.9 in June, lower than the market expectation of 52.3.
  • India: Statistics from the Indian Bureau of Statistics show that India’s industrial production index (IIP) slowed from 4.6% in May to 2% in June, but it is still higher than market expectations of a 1.5% increase.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The China Securities Regulatory Commission issued a Weibo statement saying that China will further expand the opening of the commodity futures market in an orderly manner. At present, there is no plan to significantly ease the investment restrictions on foreign investors in stock index futures.
• In the second quarter monetary policy implementation report, the People’s Bank of China stated that it will objectively understand the downward pressure on economic growth, strengthen macro-prudential management on the foreign exchange market when necessary, and stabilize investors’ expectations.

Will the US intervene the exchange rate?

Although the Chinese central bank governor Yi Gang indicated that China would not use the exchange rate as a weapon for trade war negotiations, the renminbi exchange rate increase over “7” level and the US president was greatly angry. Trump then issued a message by social media to announce that the renminbi was manipulated by China and continued to push the Fed to cut interest rates. More and more market participants believe that the United States will consider intervening in the exchange rate to avoid falling behind in the currency war.

Where does the dollar depreciation pressure come from?

China has given up the “7” level of the Renminbi, and the Sino-US trade war has escalated, which has intensified the pressure on the depreciation of emerging market currencies. On the day when the Renminbi broke “7”, the Korean won depreciated more than 1.5%. If risk appetite goes down, it means that the dollar will have more pressure to appreciate against a basket of emerging market currencies. More importantly, this week, many countries in emerging markets held interest-rate meetings, and they all lowered the benchmark interest rate. Among them, India cut the benchmark interest rate by 35 basis points, and the central banks of the Philippines and Indonesia cut interest rates by 25 basis points and 50 basis points respectively. The sluggish inflation has caused central banks in emerging markets to gain room to cut interest rates and increase the relative spread between the United States and themselves.

A more important potential danger lies in the next move by the European and Japanese central banks. Although the monetary policy of Europe and Japan are very limited, the two countries are pushing for a new round of stimulus measures. In particular, the European Central Bank is more willing to further cut the benchmark interest rate in September. Therefore, if the euro falls below the 1.10 mark, the pressure on the dollar to appreciate is even greater.

Trump is dissatisfied with the dollar is too strong

As early as mid-July, the United States declined to intervened the exchange rate. Trump’s chief economic adviser Kudlow and Finance Minister Mnuchin, both opposed the US intervention in the dollar. However, the situation may be different. Trump began to worry that the strength of the dollar will affect economic growth in 2020, thereby reducing his chances in election. At present, the weighted trade dollar exchange rate has risen to a high level close to 2002, reflecting that US product export competitiveness has been eroded by a strong dollar.

If Trump considers intervening in the exchange rate, it cannot be achieved solely by the Ministry of Finance. Research shows that the Treasury has 94 billion assets, but the foreign exchange market transaction amount is 5 trillion per day. Even if the Fed is willing to bear the cost of intervention, it is very limited in terms of market impact. It is also difficult for Trump to incite the independence of the Fed and ask the central bank to join the task. Therefore, the US president can only continue to pressure Powell, and even increase the numbers of dovish officials, affecting the Fed’s decision on interest rates.

The impact of the currency war

The currency war is a zero-sum game. When one side seeks to obtain additional benefit from the exchange rate, other parties will seek various ways to retaliate. If the United States joins the camp that intervenes in the exchange rate, the world economy will be under further pressure. The current exchange rate volatility has touched a new low for many years, which is conducive to enterprises to manage exchange rate risks. Changing this environment will adversely affect the market sentiment. For the time being, everyone will use the interest rate cut to depreciate and will not publicly claim to intervene in the exchange rate. Undoubtedly, in this environment, the price of gold will rise as the real interest rate falls.

從新城市廣場事件 看地產霸權問題

沙田新城市廣場長期高踞全港人流最多的商場,更可能是全世界人流最多的商場(零售顧問公司Ipsos在2004年曾封新城市廣場為全世界人流最多商場)。商場在7月14日竟然出現警民衝突的城市巷戰場面,匪夷所思…..

央行齊救市 淡友可休矣

上周美國聯儲局減息,相信將帶動其他國家央行採取寬鬆貨幣政策。市場的傳統智慧是「不要與央行對着幹」(don’t fight with the Fed)。既然央行放水救市,投資者便應乘搭順風車…..




Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第821期)- 美國是否會干預匯率

2019-08-12 06:40
分享
  • 分享

2019年8月12日 第821期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易戰升級,美國總統特朗普宣佈於9月1日起向3000億中國貨加徵10%關稅。全週計,道指跌0.75 %,報26,287.44點。標普500指數跌0.46 %,報點2,918.65。納指跌0.56 %,報7,959.14點。
  • 歐洲:意大利政局風起雲湧、中美貿易戰持續、英國「硬脫歐」風險未消除,令市場擔心全球經濟前景。全週計,英國富時100指數跌2.07 %,德國DAX指數跌1.50 %,法國CAC40指數跌0.58%。STOXX 600指數全週跌1.74%,報371.56點。
  • 亞洲:美中貿易戰升級,美國總統特朗普宣佈於9月1日起向3000億中國貨加徵10%關稅,中國亦宣佈停止購買美國農產品。全週計,日經225指數跌1.91 %,報20,684.82點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌2.14 %,報152.26點。

債券

  • 美國:美中貿易戰升級,市場憂慮中美貿易戰衝擊環球經濟,資金轉入債券市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌10個基點,報1.745 %。
  • 歐元區:美中貿易戰升級,市場憂慮中美貿易戰衝擊環球經濟,資金轉入債券市場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌8個基點,報-0.578%。

商品

  • 油價:投資者擔心中美貿易戰影響市場對原油的需求,加上美國原油庫存增加240萬桶,多於市場預期。全週計,紐約期油跌2.08 %,收報每桶54.50美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:人民幣跌破7算,特朗普再次批評聯儲局去年的加息決定。全週計,美匯指數跌0.594%,報 97.491。
  • 中國:人民幣跌破7算,國繼而宣布正式將中國列為匯率操縱國。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌1.702%,報7.058。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:特朗普稱,「我們不會與華為進行業務往來」。隨後福克斯新聞記者在推文中表示,川普指的只是禁止聯邦機構購買華為產品。
    • 美國:白宮經濟顧問庫德洛表示,美國仍然預期中國談判代表9月份赴美進行經貿磋商;將「仔細觀察」中國是否採取行動扭轉人民幣的跌勢。
    • 美國:IMF上周五發布報告稱,如果美國將針對剩餘中國輸美產品的關稅稅率從10%提高到25%,那可能會拖累中國接下來一年的經濟增速降低0.8個百分點。
    • 歐元區:義大利副總理Salvini表示,由總理孔特領導的政府不再擁有多數支持,需要提前進行大選。
    • 歐元區:英國負責為無協議脫歐做規劃的大臣Michael Gove指責歐盟在爭取達成新協議方面不作為,令雙方之間的外交僵局進一步加深。
    • 歐元區:義大利副總理Salvini表示,如果要實現承諾的投資和減稅,義大利政府將無法把預算赤字控制在2%以下。
    • 日本:日本內閣府公布,經季節調整後,日本今年第二季實際國內生產總值(GDP)初值季增由上季的0.7%放緩至0.4%,但仍優於市場預期的增長0.1%。
    • 日本:Jibun Bank/Markit數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本7月服務業採購經理指數(PMI)意外由6月51.9,微降至51.8,市場原先預期彈至52.3。
    • 印度:印度統計局數據顯示,印度6月工業生產指數(IIP)按年升幅由前值4.6%放緩至2%,但仍高於市場預期的升1.5%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 國證監會發布微博聲明稱,中國將進一步有序擴大商品期貨市場開放,目前沒有計畫大幅放鬆外資在股指期貨的投資限制。

• 中國央行在二季度貨幣政策執行報告中表示,要客觀認識經濟成長的下行壓力,必要時加強對外匯市場的宏觀審慎管理,穩定投資者預期。

美國是否會干預匯率

儘管中國央行行長易綱表明不會使用匯率作為貿易戰談判的武器,但是人民幣匯率破“7”令美國總統大為憤怒。特朗普隨後在社交媒體發文宣布人民幣被中國操控,繼續壓迫美聯儲局減息。越來越多市場參與者認為,美國將會考慮干預匯率,避免在匯率戰中落於下風。

美元貶值壓力從何而來

中國棄守人民幣“7”關口,加上中美貿易戰升溫,加劇新興市場貨幣貶值的壓力。人民幣破”7”當日,韓元貶值超過1.5%。如果風險偏好降溫,意味美元對一籃子新興市場貨幣都會存在升值壓力。更重要的是,本週新興市場多國舉行議息會議,都不約而同下調基準利率。其中,印度將基準利率下調35個基點,菲律賓和印尼央行分別減息25個基點和50個基點。通脹低迷令各個新興市場央行重拾減息空間,加大與美國的相對利差。

更重要的潛在危險在於歐洲和日本央行下一步的舉動。儘管歐洲和日本的貨幣政策可以寬鬆的空間已經非常有限,但是兩國都極力推動新一輪刺激措施。特別是歐洲央行,更有意願在9月份進一步下調基準利率。因此,如果歐元跌穿1.10大關,美元升值壓力更大。

特朗普不滿美元過於強勢

早在7月中,美國為干預匯率降溫。特朗普首席經濟顧問庫德洛和財政部長努欽都反對美國干預美元走勢。不過,情況目前可能會有所不同。特朗普開始擔心美元強勢會影響2020年的經濟增長,從而降低其連任的機會。目前,加權貿易美元匯率升值至接近2002年的高位,反映美國產品出口競爭力被強勢美元所蠶食。

如果特朗普考慮干預匯率,僅僅依靠財政部無法實現。研究顯示,財政部擁有940億資產,但是相對每日5萬億交易額的外匯市場如同九牛一毛。即使美聯儲局願意承擔干預成本,對市場影響來講亦十分有限。特朗普亦難以撼動美聯儲局的獨立性,要求央行加入干預匯率之中。因此,美國總統只能不斷施壓鮑威爾,甚至增加鴿派聯儲局官員,影響美聯儲局議息的決定。

匯率戰升級的影響

匯率戰是零和遊戲。當某一方尋求在匯率中獲取額外收益,利益受損後,其他各方都會尋求各種途徑報復。如果美國加入到干預匯率的陣營,世界經濟將會進一步備受壓力。當前匯率波動率已經創下多年新低,有利企業管理匯率風險,改變這種環境將不利市場氣氛。就目前而言,大家都會利用減息進行貶值,不會公開宣稱干預匯率。毫無疑問,在這種環境下,受惠真實利率下跌,黃金價格將會上升。

從新城市廣場事件 看地產霸權問題

沙田新城市廣場長期高踞全港人流最多的商場,更可能是全世界人流最多的商場(零售顧問公司Ipsos在2004年曾封新城市廣場為全世界人流最多商場)。商場在7月14日竟然出現警民衝突的城市巷戰場面,匪夷所思…..

央行齊救市 淡友可休矣

上周美國聯儲局減息,相信將帶動其他國家央行採取寬鬆貨幣政策。市場的傳統智慧是「不要與央行對着幹」(don’t fight with the Fed)。既然央行放水救市,投資者便應乘搭順風車…..







相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。