Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 820- Implications of US mid-cycle adjustment

2019-08-06 07:17
Share
  • Share

05 August 2019 Issue 820

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: Trump announced that it would impose a 10% tariff on the US$300 billion Chinese exports to the US starting from September 1. For the entire week, the Dow fell 2.60% to 26,485.01 points. The S&P 500 index fell 3.10% to 2,932.05. The Nasdaq fell 3.92% to 8,004.07.
  • Europe: The Bank of England kept interest rates unchanged. The Bank’s latest outlook still expected that the UK would successfully leave the EU. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell 1.88 percent, the German DAX index fell 4.41 percent, and the French CAC 40 index fell 4.4 percent. The STOXX 600 index fell -3.22% to 378.15 points.
  • Asia: Bank of Japan Governor Haruhiko Kuroda said the central bank would not hesitate to further implement stimulus measures. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index fell 2.64% to 21,087.16 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell 2.75 percent to 155.59.

Bonds

  • United States: American companies lowered their third-quarter earnings outlook, and the market worried about the outlook for the second half. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell 22 basis points to 1.845%.
  • Eurozone: British Prime Minister Johnson said that unless the EU leaders gave up the current Brexit agreement, he woult not start negotiations with the EU on Brexit. For the whole week, the yield on German 10-year bonds fell 12 basis points to -0.497%.

Commodity

  • Oil Price: Affected by the Sino-US trade war, international oil price marked its biggest one-day drop in four years. Over the week, New York oil futures fell 0.96% to close at $55.66 a barrel.

Currency

  • USD: The US ISM manufacturing index fell to a three-year low, due to production slowdown and uncertainty in export markets. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose 0.86% to 98.01.
  • China: China’s Ministry of Commerce spokesman said that the Chinese and US teams meet agin in September. For the whole week, the yuan fell 0.853% against the US dollar at 6.938.

 

Economic-related News

  • United States: US President Trump suddenly escalated the trade war with China and announced that he would impose an extra 10% tariff on the $300 billion Chinese exports to the US from September 1. He threatened that the tariff rate may increase to 25% if the Sino-US negotiations continue to be deadlocked.
  • United States: The Fed will cut the interest rate by 25 basis points and will end the balance sheet contraction in advance. Chairman of Fed Powell said that interest rate cuts are essentially policy adjustments in the cycle, rather than implying that it is entering into an expansionary cycle.
  • United States: The US trade deficit narrowed 0.3% monthly to US$55.2 billion in June, beating street consensus of US$54.6 billion, the US Department of Commerce announced.
  • Eurozone: The British government has allocated another 2.1 billion pounds for preparing no-deal Brexit, showing that Prime Minister Johnson will take a tough stance on leaving the EU with or without agreement at the end of October.
  • Eurozone: Eurostat announced that, eurozone’s PPI slipped for four months in a row in June with monthly drop extending to 0.6% (as compared with previous value of 0.1% decrease), dipping more than market expectation of a 0.3% decline. The yearly gain slowed down to 0.7% (as compared with previous value of 1.6%) while market had predicted a 0.8% climb.
  • Eurozone: After seasonal adjustment, UK’s construction industry PMI ended its two-month sliding trend and rebounded to 45.3 in July from the ten-year low of 43.1 registered in June, IHS Markit/CIPS data revealed. However, market had expected the figure to climb to 46.
  • Japan: Japan said that it is still planned to remove South Korea from the list of trusted export destinations due to national security needs.
  • Japan: According to Nikkei/Markit data, South Korea’s Nikkei Manufacturing Purchasing Managers Index (PMI) in July reflected further contraction in the industry, and the index continued to fall to 47.3 from June 47.5.
  • Australia: The Australian Bureau of Statistics announced that Australia’s Producer Price Index (PPI) in the second quarter of this year unexpectedly accelerated to 2% year-on-year. It ended the two consecutive quarters of slowdown, and the market originally expected to maintain a 1.9% rise in the first quarter.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Before committing to buy more US agricultural product in this week, China canceled 14,700 tons of US pork that was scheduled to ship this year and next year, which is the largest US pork order that China has cancelled since records began.
• The People’s Bank of China decided to increase the amount of sub-loan for small and micro enterprises by 50 billion yuan, focusing on supporting small and medium-sized banks to expand credit supply to small and micro enterprises.

Implications of US mid-cycle adjustment

As market expected, the FOMC cut its key interest rate by one-notch of 25 basis points, the first reduction since the financial crisis in 2008. However, market was disappointed as Fed Chairman Jay Powell shifted tone again from last June meeting. His comments calling the current move as a “mid-cycle adjustment to policy” rather than a start of a more aggressive cycle of monetary easing, suggesting that there could only be only one more cut unless there is a severe deterioration of economic data. Before the Fed meeting, markets were expecting two to three interest rate cuts by the end of 2019 plus another one to two cuts during the first half of next year, showing that there’s a big discrepancy from Powell’s latest comment.

Indeed, Mr Powell’s comment is true that a mid-cycle adjustment occurred before in Fed history. The last mid-cycle adjustment in an interest rate up-cycle (Feb 1994 – Jan 2001) happened in 1995 and 1998. In 1995, the Fed made three “insurance cuts” of 75bps that drive the interest rate down to 5.25% because of moderating inflation at that time. Then in 1998, the near collapse of hedge fund Long Term Capital Management (LTCM) threatened the financial system, together with the associated turmoil of Russia’s debt default have triggered the Fed took out insurance by enacting three cuts again. Later in June 1999, the Fed start hiking interest rates again by a total of 175bps until the interest cycle peaked at 6.5% in Jan 2001.

Figure 1. Mid-cycle adjustment in 1995 and 1998

Sources: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

The insurance cut on the above period is quite successful as a positive stimulus, which prevents a slowdown of US economy and the US GDP growth actually improves in the year after the cut. By cutting rates prematurely, the Fed wishes to use insurance cuts to restore investors’ confidence and sentiment. The size of the cuts is typically smaller, ranging from 50-75bps, which is in-line with the Fed’s dot plot currently as officials are not expecting to cut interest rate by more than 50bps over the next two years.

However, for an insurance cut today does come with its own set of risks too. Typically, the Fed need to lower interest rate by around 500 bps to help an ailing economy during a downturn. With current interest rate (at a range of 2.25% – 2.5%) at a much lower level than the previous cycles, using an insurance cut for now would essentially leaving the Fed with even less room to work with when the economy really does need lower rates. Another risk for an insurance rate cut for now is that if the Fed is underestimating the growth deceleration of US economy as well as the negative impacts from US-Sino trade disputes – which is the key difference between current Fed’s view and market consensus today. If that’s the case, the Fed would be liable for the US recession because of his late action for a more aggressive monetary policy.

Nevertheless, Fed’s relatively hawkish message are not welcomed by most investors with key major stock markets in the world have a sharp correction after the announcement. Asset managers are likely to stay cautious and reduce their beta given the uncertainty of interest rate direction, while historically Asia FX, especially the rate sensitive currencies (IDR, INR and PHP) has weakened following the precautionary cut and Asian stock markets generally underperformed.

從新城市廣場事件 看地產霸權問題

沙田新城市廣場長期高踞全港人流最多的商場,更可能是全世界人流最多的商場(零售顧問公司Ipsos在2004年曾封新城市廣場為全世界人流最多商場)。商場在7月14日竟然出現警民衝突的城市巷戰場面,匪夷所思…..

英國政治狂人不是傻人

今年下半年最大的經濟危機,不是貿易戰,而是英國脫歐。有「英國特朗普」之稱的倫敦前市長約翰遜,以66%的得票率,成為保守黨新黨魁…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第820期)- 「保險性」減息真的有效嗎?

2019-08-06 07:17
分享
  • 分享

2019年8月5日 第820期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:特朗普突然升級對華貿易戰,宣布自9月1日開始對3000億美元中國輸美產品加征10%的關稅。全週計,道指跌2.60 %,報26,485.01點。標普500指數跌3.10 %,報點2,932.05。納指跌3.92 %,報8,004.07點。
  • 歐洲:英國央行維持利率不變,央行最新展望仍假設英國將平穩脫歐。全週計,英國富時100指數跌1.88 %,德國DAX指數跌4.41 %,法國CAC40指數跌4.48 %。STOXX 600指數全週跌-3.22%,報378.15點。
  • 亞洲:日本央行行長黑田東彥表示,央行將毫不猶豫地增加刺激措施,以防止影響價格動能的風險成真。全週計,日經225指數跌2.64 %,報21,087.16點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌2.75 %,報155.59點。

債券

  • 美國:美國企業紛紛下調第三季業績展望,市場疑慮下半年前景。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌22個基點,報1.845%。
  • 歐元區:英國首相約翰遜表示,除非歐盟領導人放棄現時的脫歐協議,否則他不會與歐盟就脫歐問題展開談判。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌12個基點,報-0.497%。

商品

  • 油價:受到中美貿易戰影響,國際油價創下4年來最大單日跌幅。全週計,紐約期油跌0.96 %,收報每桶55.66美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國ISM製造業指數跌至近三年低點,受生產放緩和出口市場不穩拖累。全週計,美匯指數升0.86%,報 98.01。
  • 中國:中國商務部發言人高峰表示,中美雙方工作團隊將在8月進行密集磋商,為雙方牽頭人9月高級別磋商做準備。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.853%,報6.938。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:美國總統特朗普突然升級對華貿易戰,宣布自9月1日開始對3000億美元中國輸美產品加征10%的關稅,並威脅稱,如果美中談判繼續陷入僵局,新關稅的稅率可能提高到25%以上。
    • 美國:聯儲會決定降息25個基點,並提前結束縮表。主席鮑威爾稱降息本質上屬於周期當中的政策調整,而不是暗示貨幣政策自此開啟寬鬆周期。
    • 美國:美國商務部公布,6月貿易逆差按月收窄0.3%至552億美元,高於市場預期的546億元,期內出口下跌2.1%;進口跌1.7%。
    • 歐元區:英國政府再撥出21億英鎊以備無協議脫歐,顯示首相約翰遜對於10月底無論有無協議都將脫歐的強硬立場。
    • 歐元區:歐盟統計局公布,歐元區6月生產者物價指數(PPI)環比連降四個月,且按月跌幅擴至0.6%(前值降0.1%),超出市場預期降0.3%;按年升幅繼續放緩至0.7%(前值升1.6%),略低於市場預期升0.8%。
    • 歐元區:IHS Markit/CIPS數據顯示,經季節調整後,英國7月季後建築業採購經理人指數(PMI)終止連續兩個月急降,由6月所創十年低位43.1,反彈至45.3,但不及市場預期回升至46。
    • 日本:日本稱,出於國家安全需要,仍計畫將南韓移出受信任的出口目的地名單。
    • 日本:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,南韓7月日經製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)反映行業收縮進一步加劇,指數由6月47.5,續降至47.3。
    • 澳洲:澳洲統計局公布,澳洲今年第二季生產者物價指數(PPI)按年升幅意外再度略加快至2%,結束連續兩季升幅放緩,市場原先預期維持首季升1.9%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 在本周承諾購買更多美國農產品之前,中國取消了原定今明兩年發貨的14,700噸美國豬肉,創下有記錄以來中國取消的最大美國豬肉訂單。

• 中國央行決定增加支小再貸款額度500億元人民幣,重點支持中小銀行擴大對小微、民營企業的信貸投放。

「保險性」減息真的有效嗎?

一如市場預料,美聯儲在上星期議息會議上宣佈減息25個基點,這是自2008年金融風暴以來的首次減息。但出乎市場預期的是,美聯儲主席鮑威爾的立場在短短一個月內再度改變,並稱當前的減息政策只屬於“中期調整”,並不是積極寬鬆貨幣政策的開始;對於未來數月會否減息,鮑威爾沒有提供較明確的指引,市場相信除非經濟數據嚴重惡化,今年或只會再減息一次。而在美聯儲會議之前,市場普遍預計美國今年底前將減息兩至三次,而明年上半年亦有一至兩次減息,市場期望與鮑威爾的最新評論落差很大。
如鮑威爾所述,美國歷史上亦曾出現過多次利率中期調整。而最近一次在利率上升週期下(1994年2月 – 2001年1月)發生的中期調整分別在1995年及1998年。在1995年,由於美國通脹低迷,美聯儲因此而作出三次「保險性」減息,令聯邦基金利率降至5. 25厘。而到了1998年,美國金融體系受對沖基金長期資本管理公司(LTCM)的巨大虧損所沖撃,加上俄羅斯債務違約風險上升,美聯儲當時亦相應減息三次為經濟買保險。 到1999年6月,由於美國經濟增長強勁,美聯儲再重啟加息週期(但美國經濟亦自始放緩),共加息175個基點至6.5%,並在2001年1月後才開始回落。

圖1 – 1995年及1998年利率中期調整


來源: 彭博社、ifund/御峰理財

從經濟增長(GDP)上看,上述期間的「保險性」減息作為一種刺激措施可算十分成功,美國GDP增長在減息後一年皆有改善。通過提前降息,美聯儲希望可恢復投資者信心和情緒。而保險性減息一般來說削減幅度通常較小,約在50-75個基點之間,這與目前美聯儲的點陣圖可謂一致,預計未來兩年的利率下降不會超過50個基點。

然而,「保險性」減息在本次週期上亦有隱憂。回顧過去歷史,當美國經濟陷入衰退時,美聯儲一般需要減息約500個基點,以幫助經濟走出困境。但目前美國利率(約2.25%-2.5%)遠低於之前的周期,現在使用「保險性」減息意味著當美國經濟真的嚴重下滑時,留給美聯儲操作的空間將會更少。此外,另一個隱憂是,如果美聯儲對美國目前經濟增長減速出現誤判,以及低估中美貿易戰對經濟的負面影響 – 而這亦正是目前市場與美聯儲最大的分歧。那麼,美聯儲無疑將成為美國經濟衰退的幫兇,錯失時機採取更積極的寬鬆貨幣政策。

無論如何,美聯儲相對鷹派的減息決定未受大多數投資者所歡迎,全球主要股市在宣布減息後都大幅下挫。 而鑑於利率走向不確定性增加,我們預期資產及基金經理公司將保持謹慎並降低風險胃納;在歷史上,亞洲貨幣匯價,特別是利率敏感貨幣(如印尼盾,印度盧布及菲律賓披索)一般在「保險性」減息後六個月平均貶值約4%,而亞洲股市亦普遍跑輸其他市場。

從新城市廣場事件 看地產霸權問題

沙田新城市廣場長期高踞全港人流最多的商場,更可能是全世界人流最多的商場(零售顧問公司Ipsos在2004年曾封新城市廣場為全世界人流最多商場)。商場在7月14日竟然出現警民衝突的城市巷戰場面,匪夷所思…..

英國政治狂人不是傻人

今年下半年最大的經濟危機,不是貿易戰,而是英國脫歐。有「英國特朗普」之稱的倫敦前市長約翰遜,以66%的得票率,成為保守黨新黨魁…..







相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。