Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 812- Is interest rate cut enough to save the market?

2019-06-10 05:13
Share
  • Share

10 June 2019 Issue 812

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: China and the United States have not made any real progress in trade disputes, but the market expects Federal Reserve will cut interest rates, which drive the stock market. For the entire week, the Dow rose 4.71% to 25,983.94. The S&P 500 index rose 4.41% to 2,873.34. The Nasdaq rose 3.88% to 7,742.10.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank issued a statement after the monetary policy meeting, slightly raising the Eurozone’s Economic Growth Forecast by 0.1 percentage point this year to 1.2%. In addition, the European Central Bank promised to maintain low interest rates for a longer period of time, and it is expected that interest rates will remain unchanged or even lower until the first half of 2020. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose 2.38%, the German DAX index rose 2.72%, and the French CAC40 index rose 3.00%. The STOXX 600 index rose 2.28% to 377.48 points.
  • Asia: The United States has indefinitely postponed plans to impose tariffs on Mexican imports, which drive the investment sentiment. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose 1.38% to 20,884.71 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose 1.29% to 154.32 points.

Bonds

  • US: Due to weak US employment data, market expects the Fed will cut interest rates. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell 4 basis points to 2.114%.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank is committed to maintaining low interest rates for a longer period of time and it is expected to keep interest rates unchanged or even lower until the first half of 2020. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 5 basis points to -0.258%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The trade war between the US and Mexico is settled within a short period, and Trump said it would cancel the tariff plans indefinitely. In addition, the oil-producing country Saudi Arabia said that the oil group is close to reaching a consensus on extending the reduction agreement. Over the week, New York oil futures rose 0.92% to close at $53.99 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: Affected by the economic slowdown and the expectation of interest rate cuts, the US dollar index decreased. For the entire week, the Dollar Index fell 1.234% to 96.544.
  • China: China’s foreign exchange reserves unexpectedly increased by 6.05 billion U.S. dollars in May, and the exchange rate of the RMB strengthened. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.039% against the US dollar to 6.910.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US Treasury Secretary Mnuchin and Chinese Central Bank governor Yi Gang met during the weekend G20 meeting. Mnuchin claimed that they had a “candid” and “constructive” talk on trade issues. He expected that the “main progress” would occur at a meeting between presidents Donald Trump and Xi Jinping at the G-20 leaders’ summit in Osaka at the end of the month.
  • US: Trump said he will decide whether to impose further tariffs on USD 325 billion worth Chinese goods after the G20 summit. It is expected to meet with Xi Jinping at the summit.
  • U.S: Trump announced on Friday night that the United States and Mexico had reached an agreement on illegal immigration issues, and the proposed tariff that will impose on Mexico goods would be suspended indefinitely.
  • Euro-zone: The European Central Bank is committed to maintaining low interest rates for a longer period of time and is expected to prevent interest rates hike until the end of the first half of 2020, which is six months longer than previously promised.
  • Euro-zone: According to a Bloomberg survey of analysts, the pound may dropping by more than 2% to $1.24, a two-year low, if a hardline euroskeptic takes over as U.K. prime minister.
  • Euro-zone: The ECB issued a statement after the monetary policy meeting, slightly raising the Eurozone’s Economic Growth Forecast by 0.1 percentage point to 1.2% this year, and next year’s Economic Growth Forecast is expected to drop by 0.2 percentage points to 1.4%.
  • Japan: Japanese Cabinet Office data showed that after the seasonal adjustment, the initial value of Japan’s leading indicator in April unexpectedly fell for two months, from 95.7 in March to 95.5, the lowest since December 2012, lower than the market expectations of 95.8.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications data showed that after intermittent price adjustments, Japan’s household spending rose for the fifth month consecutively in April, but the year-on-year increase was unexpectedly narrowed from 2.1% in the previous month to 1.3%, lower than the market expectations of 2.6%.
  • Australia: The Australian Bureau of Statistics announced that after the seasonal adjustment, Australia’s trade surplus in goods and services in April unexpectedly narrowed to AUD 4.871 billion. The market originally expected the April’s surplus may expand to AUD 5.05 billion.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• China will release trade data for May today, which is expected to show the pressure from the escalation of trade war. According to a Bloomberg survey, the year-on-year decline on exports in US dollar is expected to increase from 2.7% in April to 3.8%, and imports will lower from a 4% increase in April to a 3.3% decrease.
• The People’s Bank of China announced that it had USD 3.101 trillion foreign reserves at the end of May, increase by US$6.051 billion according to Bloomberg. The Foreign Exchange Bureau said that good economic fundamentals will provide a solid support for the overall stability of foreign reserves.

Is interest rate cut enough to save the market?

Is it about the time for US to lower the interest rate?

The recent stock market movements have again shown that equities prices are highly sensitive to the outlook of US rates as global economy continues to slow. The US Fed Chair Powell in the Fed’s policy review last week expressed a willingness to “act as appropriate to sustain the expansion” should further escalation of trade tensions weigh on growth. The comments were interpreted by the market as decidedly dovish, which leaves door open to a possible rate cut. As a result of the comments, the US stock markets rebounded strongly last Tuesday and recorded their best one-day percentage gains since January this year and the S&P 500 index surged by about 4.4% for the full week.

The probability of rate cuts in the remainder of 2019 has risen recently. Markets have sharply increased their expectation that the Fed will cut the rate as early as in July or September this year given the tightening in financial conditions and the deterioration in the growth outlook lately. The relevant short-term interest rate futures imply over 50-75bp of cuts in the remainder of 2019 and another 40bp in 2020, likely bringing back the Fed fund rate to below 1.5% next year. However, if a US recession or the next global crisis is really coming, we can expect there will be more rate cuts as the last two interest rate cycle suggests that a 5% rate cut is needed to stabilize and revamp the economy. At the end, the Fed may need to cut rates to zero again and resort to “unconventional” tools like bond buying to support the economy.

Financial War could be the most dangerous risk

Nervousness in markets has temporarily eased after Fed’s dovish comments, however, what makes us more worry is that trade is no longer the only battleground where the two superpowers compete for world dominance. Recent developments have suggested that the conflicts will eventually extends beyond trade and technology, and there could be various form of restrictions, investigations or even penalties to be initiated by both countries on potential areas such as tourism, education (e.g. students and academic visas), energy, auto as well as banking and financial industry. The scariest thing to the market is if the recent suggestion by the former White House adviser Steve Bannon really come true one day – to completely exclude Chinese companies from the US capital markets by cutting all the IPOs and to unwind all the investment positions of US pension funds and insurance companies on Chinese companies. Such action will have explosive impacts to both the stock and bond markets given that foreign investors hold more than $1.5 trillion of Chinese debt as of end-April 2019, while Chinese entities and government own more than $2,000 billion in Shares and $1.1 trillion in debts of the United States. All in all, we believe the probability of a full fledged financial war is still limited, wile market has yet to priced in this risk. Investors should remain cautious in 2H19 and have to maintain a more diversified portfolio.

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊…..

投資不同股票市場仲可以分散風險?

美國經濟學家馬科維茨 (Harry Markowitz)於1952年發表了經典的代表作〈資產選擇〉(Portfolio Selection),提出了現代投資組合理論…..




Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第812期)- 減息是否萬試靈丹?

2019-06-10 05:13
分享
  • 分享

2019年6月10日 第812期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美在貿易紛爭上未有實在進展,但市場憧憬聯儲局減息,帶動股市。全週計,道指升4.71%,報25,983.94點。標普500指數升4.41%,報點2,873.34。納指升3.88%,報7,742.10點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲央行在政策會議後發出聲明,輕微上調歐元區今年經濟增長預測0.1個百分點至1.2%。另外,歐洲央行承諾更長時間維持低利率,預計維持利率不變至少到2020年上半年結束。全週計,英國富時100指數升2.38%,德國DAX指數升2.72%,法國CAC40指數升3.00%。STOXX 600指數全週升2.28%,報377.48點。
  • 亞洲: 美國無限期押後對墨西哥進口商品加徵關稅的計劃,投資情緒復甦。全週計,日經225指數升1.38%,報20,884.71點。MSCI 亞太區指數升1.29%,報154.32點。

債券

  • 美國:因美國就業數據疲弱,市場對減息預期升溫。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌4個基點,報2.114%。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行承諾更長時間維持低利率,預計維持利率不變至少到2020年上半年結束。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌5個基點,報-0.258%。

商品

  • 油價:特朗普挑起對墨西哥的貿易戰迅速和談,特朗普稱無限期取消加徵關稅。另外,產油國沙地阿拉伯表示,油組為延長減產協議接近達成共識。全週計,紐約期油升0.92%,收報每桶53.99美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:受經濟放緩和減息預期升溫影響,拖低美匯指數。全週計,美匯指數跌1.234%,報 96.544。
  • 中國:中國5月外滙儲備意外增加60.5億美元,人民幣滙價走強。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.039%,報6.910。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國財長姆努欽與中國央行行長易綱在周末G20會議期間會晤,姆努欽稱雙方就貿易問題進行「坦誠」和「建設性」的會談,主要進展可能在月底美中首腦會晤時發生。
  • 美國:特朗普表示,將在G20峰會後決定是否進一步對約3250億美元的中國商品加征關稅,預計將在峰會上與習近平會晤。
  • 美國:特朗普周五晚間宣布美國與墨西哥就非法移民問題達成協議,對墨關稅措施將無限期暫停執行。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行承諾更長時間維持低利率,預計維持利率不變至少到2020年上半年結束,這比之前承諾的時間延長了6個月。
  • 歐元區:英國首相繼任人選的遴選拉開帷幕,據彭博對分析師的調查結果顯示,如果由強硬的歐元懷疑派擔任英國首相,英鎊可能下跌超過2%至1.24美元。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行在政策會議後發出聲明,輕微上調歐元區今年經濟增長預測0.1個百分點至1.2%,明年經濟增長預測下調0.2個百分點至1.4%。
  • 日本:日本內閣府數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本4月領先指標初值意外連降兩個月,由3月下修後95.7,續降至95.5,為2012年12月以來最低,市場原先預期95.8。
  • 日本:日日本總務省數據顯示,經斷續物價調整後,日本4月家庭開支連升第五個月,但按年升幅意外由上月升2.1%收窄至1.3%,市場原先預期升幅續擴至2.6%。
  • 澳洲:澳洲統計局公布,經季節調整後,澳洲4月商品及服務貿易順差環比意外進一步收窄至48.71億澳元,市場原先預期4月順差將擴至50.5億澳元。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國今天將公佈5月份貿易數據,料顯示出貿易戰升級帶來的壓力。據彭博調查顯示,美元計出口同比降幅料從4月份的2.7%擴大至3.8%,進口料將由4月的升4%轉至下降3.3%。

• 中國央行公佈5月末外儲3.1010萬億美元,據彭博計算環比增加60.51億美元。外匯局稱,良好經濟基本面將為外儲總體穩定提供堅實基礎。

減息是否萬試靈丹?

美國減息如箭

環球經濟放緩,美國息口變化再次主導股市走向。美國聯儲局主席鮑威爾於上星期二政策會議時表示由於貿易問題前景不明,將可能影響美國經濟,因此‘在有需要時將採取合適措施以維持經濟增長’。鮑威爾這番說話被市場解讀為絕對鴿派,並將減息大門打開。受可能減息言論刺激,美股上星期二創今年一月四日以來最大單日升幅,而全星期標準普爾500指數升幅更達4.4%。

其實,最近市場對美聯儲將可能在2019年減息的預期正在不斷升溫,部份市場人士更認為由於最近中美貿易戰加劇,造成金融環境開始轉差及増長動力放緩,減息決定可能最早在七月或九月的議息會議中便會宣布,與年初時認為今年不會減息的看法大相逕庭。利率期貨最近造價顯示,今年餘下時間將加息50至75點子,而明年將再加息40點子,聯邦基金利率明年勢將回落至1.5厘或以下。我們相信加息周期於上年年底時便已完結,並認為如果美國真的出現衰退或全球金融危機再現,減息將會持續。從過去最近兩次減息周期顯示,經濟活動在減息幅度達五厘後才開始靠穩,反映聯儲局將可能降息至零利率,甚至重啟極寬鬆貨幣政策並再次擴大資產負債表。

金融戰風險不可不防

雖然鮑威爾的言論令市場崩緊的氣氛有所舒緩,但令我們更擔心的是中美貿易戰有加深及擴散跡象。現在已不僅是兩國出現貿易不平衡等問題,更是全球最強的兩個國家競爭成為未來數十年霸主的關鍵時刻。因此最近兩國已經從貿易戰演變為科技戰、並推出更多新措施、政策及條款,涵蓋更多領域,其中將可能包括旅遊、教育、簽證、能源、汽車、甚至金融等行業。而最可怕的情況是如果美國聽取前白宮顧問班農的提議發動金融戰,全面禁止中國公司於美國股市上市集𧶏或獲取資金,並要求美國投資公司、退休基金及保險公司需全面退出有關其於中國的投資,包括股票及債券等資產,屆時全球資產市場勢將受到難以想像的衝擊。據路透社估計外國資金持有中國債券高達15,000億美元,而中國持有美國國庫債券亦高達11,000億美元,股票投資亦多達2000億美元,因此發動金融戰將較貿易戰所造成的影響將更加嚴重及難以估計,相信介時減息亦難以拯救經濟。雖然我們相信發動金融戰的機會現在仍然是偏低,但亦不可完全忽視有關風險,而市場價格亦未反映有關風險,投資者於下半年仍不宜過分進取,需保持分散投資。

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊…..

投資不同股票市場仲可以分散風險?

美國經濟學家馬科維茨 (Harry Markowitz)於1952年發表了經典的代表作〈資產選擇〉(Portfolio Selection),提出了現代投資組合理論…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。