iFund- What Should Wise Investors Do with the New Tax Deduction Arrangement?

2019-05-29 09:48
Share
  • Share

The response to the new tax deduction arrangement has been disappointing since implementation. What benefits can the new arrangement bring to investors? And why do investors seem indifferent to these benefits?

featured

The Legislative Council passed the Inland Revenue and MPF Schemes Legislation (Tax Deductions for Annuity Premiums and MPF Voluntary Contributions) (Amendment) Bill 2018 on March 20. From the year of assessment 2019/20, taxpayers are entitled to tax deductions under salaries tax and personal assessment for their premiums paid to qualifying deferred annuities and contributions made to tax deductible Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) voluntary contribution accounts. The maximum tax deductible limit is HKD 60,000 each year per taxpayer.

The response to the new tax deduction arrangement has been disappointing since implementation. What benefits can the new arrangement bring to investors? And why do investors seem indifferent to these benefits?

1. An Overview of the New Tax Deduction Arrangement

(1) What is Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy (QDAP)?

Before understanding QDAP, investors need to understand what an annuity is. An annuity is a tool used to plan retirement, helping policyholders to convert accumulated savings into stable income for a period of time. There are many types of annuities, one of which is called deferred annuity.

A deferred annuity involves an accumulation phase and an annuitization phase. During the accumulation phase, the purchaser pays premiums regularly over a period of time. Usually, there is an interim period between the payment period and the annuity period to allow the paid-up sum to grow through investment by the insurer. Upon annuitization, the annuitant receives regular payments during the annuity period.

Only those deferred annuities that meet the criteria issued by the Insurance Authority (IA) can become QDAP. What are the main criteria for QDAP?


Source: Insurance Authority

(2) What is Tax Deductible Voluntary Contributions (TVC)?

TVC is an additional contribution plan based on the current mandatory contribution plan. Employees can decide whether to participate or not. Eligible persons can open a TVC account in an MPF scheme which offers TVC of their own choice and make contributions directly with trustees. However, it should be noted that participants can only withdraw TVC account balance upon reaching 65 years of age, or on other statutory grounds.

Under the new arrangement, a taxpayer who pays for QDAP or TVC can enjoy a maximum tax deduction of HKD 60,000. Based on the current maximum tax rate of 17%, the maximum annual savings can reach HKD 10,200. In addition, a taxpaying couple are allowed to allocate tax deduction for deferred annuity premiums amongst themselves in order to claim the total deductions of HKD 120,000 which can help to save up to HKD 20,400 per year, provided that the deduction claimed by each taxpayer does not exceed the individual limit. However, the situation is not applicable to TVC.

2. The Effectiveness of the New Tax Deduction Arrangement

But how effective is the new arrangement? Taking a single person with a monthly salary of HKD 20,000 as an example. His  total annual income  is HKD 240,000. After deducting the mandatory MPF contributions and the basic allowance, he is required to pay HKD 3,760 for tax. If making full use of the new arrangement, he only needs to pay HKD 720 for tax, saving about HKD 3,000. But who is willing to do so as having to deposit HKD 60,000 first? But the key question is how many people can contribute $60,000 for the qualified investment every year? Can people save HK$5,000 every month if his monthly salary is only HKD20,000?

At present, the median monthly salary of Hong Kong employees is only about HKD 17,000. After making full use of the new arrangement, about HKD 1,700 can be saved. For most Hong Kong people, not many of them can capture the full benefits of the tax deduction.

3. A Comparison among QDAPTVCSavings / Retirement Insurance Plan and Fund

Source: Insurance Authority, MPFA, iFund/Noble Apex Advisors Ltd.

In terms of investment amount, the investment of QDAP is at least HKD180,000. TVC is allowed to make flexible contributions. And contributions to savings/retirement insurance plans depend on the specific plan, but are usually larger than QDAP and TVC. The amount invested in a fund is determined by individual.

In terms of investment period, QDAP has a minimum contribution period of 5 years. TVC can make flexible contributions. And savings/retirement insurance plans have different requirements for contribution period, but usually no less than 5 years. There is usually no time limit for fund investment.

In terms of liquidity, QDAP only allows annuitization to start from the age of 50 years old or above. TVC can only be withdrawn upon scheme member’s reaching age 65 (or on other statutory grounds). Savings/retirement insurance plans can be drawn on basis of coverage period, and if investors have an emergency fund request, , a surrender or withdrawal can be conducted  but this may result losing a portion of your premium paid. . For most occasions, fund investment can be withdrawn freely at any time which is the best in terms of liquidity among these products.

In terms of return, QDAP’s return is relatively stable, and the annuity can be withdrawn regularly after reaching the age required. Generally speaking, the annualized guaranteed internal rate of return is around 2%, and the annualized total internal rate of return is around 4%, but returns vary based on policy period, currency and premium payment models. The return of savings/retirement insurance plans is also relatively stable. Taking a retirement insurance plan in the market for example, its annualized return exceeds 4%, but such plans are not applicable to the new tax deduction arrangement. However, TVC’s return stability is relatively poor. Although the annualized return of the MPF system since inception is 3.2%, it fluctuates greatly with market volatility. When the market conditions are poor, substantial losses can be incurred. The Hong Kong Equity Fund (Tracking Index) has an annualized return of 8.3% over the past 10 years. Although it also fluctuates with market volatility, the annualized return is much higher than the other three products.

In terms of risk, QDAP is an insurance product, so the risk is low. The risk of savings/retirement insurance plans is also low. And the performance of TVC is easily affected by market volatility, therefore the risk is higher than the former two. The risk of fund investment is often related to factors like investment region, industry, fund manager experience, leverage level, etc. But the risk of fund investment is lower than stock investment in general.

In terms of asset inheritance, after the policyholder has passed away, QDAP and savings/retirement insurance plans will compensate the cash value in the policy to the designated beneficiary according to the policy, and the procedure is relatively simple. TVC will be classified as inheritance, and the procedure of dealing with it will be complex. Fund investors can usually designate beneficiary in advance, otherwise the investment will be classified as inheritance as well.

Through the above analysis, investors can easily find that QDAP and TVC are quite similar to saving/retirement insurance plan, but generally with a lower return than the latter. The overall benefits of QDAP and TVC may not necessary be better than saving/retirement insurance plan even accounting for the tax deduction advantages.

4.What Should Wise Investors Choose?

After understanding the new tax deduction arrangement and the differences in related products, investors need to make their investment decision based on their own needs and financial situation. On one hand, investors should try to maximize the tax deduction benefit according to their income level and savings; on the other hand, investors should choose the most suitable financial products for their own, so as to obtain a stable cash flow for retirement in the future.

Returns of QDAP, TVC and savings/retirement insurance plans are always far from satisfaction. In contrast, investing in funds offers higher return for investors over the long-term and it usually subjects to lower risk than single stock investments.

Annualized Return of HSI by Period-31 December 2018


Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex Advisors Ltd.

Annualized Return of the MPF System by Period-31 December 2018

Source: MPFA

Annualized and Cumulative Returns of Equity Funds by Sub-Group and Period – 31 December 2018

# Data not available as no equity funds were classified as China equity funds as at 1 December 2000.

* The sub-group “Hong Kong Equity Fund” excludes funds under the sub-group “Hong Kong Equity Fund (Index Tracking)”.

Source: MPFA

According to historical data, the annualized returns of equity funds in major markets have exceeded 4% for the past ten years, exceeding the annualized return of the MPF system; and US, Hong Kong, Global, Asian and Chinese equity funds with returns over 6% in the same period outperformed the HSI.

In summary, for most investors, fund investment is an ideal financial management tool for medium and long-term asset allocation. When investing in a fund, it is important to choose a trustworthy fund trading platform. As a self-service online fund trading platform, iFund offers more than 1,000 funds for investors to choose, on which investors can freely establish fund portfolios to satisfy their need and manage to achieve wealth appreciation.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

iFund- 新的扣稅安排帶來多少好處?精明的你該如何選擇?

2019-05-29 09:48
分享
  • 分享

新的扣稅安排實施以來,市場反應並不熱烈。那麼新的扣稅安排究竟能夠為投資者帶來什麼好處呢?而為什麼投資者又對這些好處顯得無動於衷?

featured

香港立法會早前通過《2018年稅務及強積金計劃法例(關於年金保費及強積金自願性供款的稅務扣除)(修訂)條例草案》,由2019/2020課稅年度起,納稅人就繳付合資格延期年金保費(Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy,簡稱「QDAP」)和作出可扣稅強積金自願性供款(Tax Deductible Voluntary Contributions,簡稱「TVC」),可享有薪俸稅或個人入息稅扣減。每名納稅人的扣稅上限為每年6萬港元。

新的扣稅安排實施以來,市場反應並不熱烈。那麼新的扣稅安排究竟能夠為投資者帶來什麼好處呢?而為什麼投資者又對這些好處顯得無動於衷?

一、全面理解新的扣稅安排

  • 什麼是合資格延期年金保單(QDAP)?

在了解QDAP之前,投资者需要了解什么是年金。所谓年金,是一種用作規劃退休的工具,幫助投保人把累積的儲蓄轉化為在一段時間內的穩定收入。年金有多種類型,延期年金屬其中一種。

延期年金包括累積期和年金領取期兩個階段。在累積期,投保人在一段特定時間內定期支付保費,而付款期與年金領取期通常相隔一段時間,讓保險公司通過投資令金額增長。到了年金領取期,投保人可在期內定期收取年金。

而只有那些符合保險業監管局所規定的一系列條件的延期年金產品方可成為QDAP。具體有哪些主要的條件呢?

資料來源:保險業監管局

  • 什麼是可扣稅強積金自願性供款 (TVC)?

TVC是在現時強制性供款計劃的基礎上,提供的額外供款計劃,僱員可自主決定參加與否。參與者可自由選擇設有TVC的強積金計劃,直接向受託人開立TVC帳戶及作出供款。但需注意,TVC必須保存至65歲(除符合法例訂明的特定情況外)才可提取。

在新的安排下,若納稅人繳付QDAP或TVC,則最高享有6萬港元扣稅額,按現時最高稅率17%計算,每年最高可節省10200港元稅款。此外,須繳稅的夫婦之間亦可分配QDAP的稅務扣除,以申請合共12萬港元的扣除總額,每年最高可節省20400港元稅款,前提是每名納稅人所申請的扣除額不超過個人上限。而TVC則不設配偶免稅部分。

二、香港雇員工資中位數約1.7萬,最多可省千餘元

但真實效用如何呢?以月薪2萬港元的單身人士為例,其一年總入息24萬港元,扣除強制性強積金供款和基本免稅額後,其需繳稅款3760港元;若其充分利用新的扣稅安排下的6萬港元扣稅額,其需繳稅款720港元。前後相差3000港元,但是需要存入6萬港元,不知多數投資者是否會願意接受呢?

而現時香港雇員每月工資的中位數僅為1.7萬港元左右,充分利用新的扣稅安排後最多可省約1700港元。對多數香港人來說,新的扣稅安排的實際效用可想而知。

三、QDAP、TVC一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃和基金比較誰更優?

資料來源:積金局、保險業監管局、iFund /御峰理財

在投資金額方面,QDAP的投資金額最少為18萬港元;TVC可以靈活供款;一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃的投資金額視具體計劃而定,但通常高於前兩者;基金的投資金額往往依據個人情況而定,可多可少。

在投資期限方面,QDAP的供款期最少為5年;TVC可不定期供款;一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃對供款期限的要求各不相同,但通常不會少於5年;基金的投資期限往往依據個人情況而定,可長可短。

在資金流動性方面,QDAP需要到50歲或以上方可提取;TVC需要保存至65歲(除符合法例訂明的特定情況外)才可提取;而一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃需根據保障年期按規定提取,若投資者有緊急資金需求,亦可中止或退出,但可能損失部分金額;而基金通常可以隨時自由退出,因此在資金流動性方面更佳。

在收益方面,QDAP的收益較為穩定,達到年齡要求後,便可定期提取年金,一般來說,年度化保證內部回報率在2%左右,年度化總內部回報率在4%左右,但會根據保單年期、貨幣及保費繳付模式而有所不同;一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃的收益也較為穩定,以市場上某退休保險計劃為例,其年化內部回報率超過4%,但不適用新的扣稅安排;而TVC的收益穩定性較差,雖然強積金制度實施以來的年度化內部回報率為3.2%,但隨市況波動較大,在市況較差時,往往出現較為明顯的虧損;香港股票基金(追蹤指數)過去10年的年率化回報達到8.3%,雖然同樣隨市況波動,但年率化收益卻遠高於另外三者。

在風險方面,QDAP在本質上是保險產品,故風險低;一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃的風險同樣低;而TVC的表現容易受市況影響,風險較前兩者為高;基金投資的風險往往根據投資地區、行業、基金經理經驗、杠杆水平等因素更不相同,但通常來說,基金的投資風險低於股票投資。

在資產傳承方面,投保人過世後,QDAP和一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃將依據保單規定,將保單內的現金價值賠償予指定受益人,手續較為簡單;TVC將被列為遺產處理,手續較為複雜;而基金投資者通常可以提前規定好過世後的受益人,否則也將被列為遺產處理。

通過上述比較,投資者不難發現,QDAP和TVC與一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃相比差別並不大,在回報率方面往往還不如後者。雖然QDAP和TVC在扣稅方面有優勢,但與收益率方面的劣勢一抵消,就沒有什麼差異了。

四、精明的你該如何選擇?

在瞭解了新的扣稅安排以及相關產品的差異後,投資者需要根據自身的實際情況,量體裁衣。一方面,根據自身收入水平,幫助自己實現最佳的稅務寬減;另一方面,選擇最適合自己的理財產品,從而在未來獲得穩定的現金流,樂享退休後的好時光。

QDAP、TVC和一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃在收益方面都難言可觀。對於投資者來說,若不想要去承擔比股票投資更高的風險,且想要去獲得比QDAP、TVC和一般的儲蓄/退休保險計劃更佳的收益,那麼投資基金或許是更好的選擇。

恒生指數截至2018年12月31日的過去十年年率化回報

資料來源:彭博社、iFund/御峰理財

強積金制度截至2018年12月31日的年率化回報

資料來源:積金局

股票基金截至 2018年12月31日的年率化及累積回報(按類別及投資年期劃分)

# 在2000年12月1日,沒有股票基金被歸類為中國股票基金,因此並無相關資料。

*「香港股票基金」類別並不包括「香港股票基金(追蹤指數)」。

資料來源:積金局

從歷史數據來看,過去十年,全球主要市場的股票基金年率化回報均在4%以上,超過強積金制度的年率化回報;其中美國、香港、環球、亞洲、中國股票基金年率化回報更超過6%,表現亦跑贏同期恒指。

綜上,對投資者來說,基金投資是進行資產中長期配置的理想理財工具。在進行基金投資時,選擇一個值得信賴的基金交易平臺則至關重要。作為自助式網上基金交易平臺,iFund提供逾1000隻基金供投資者選擇。投資者可根據自己的實際需求,自由選擇適合自己的基金投資組合,努力實現財富增值。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。