Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 809- China Central Bank Want to Slow the Pace of Currency Depreciation

2019-05-20 04:37
Share
  • Share

20 May 2019 Issue 809

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The S-US trade war has once again stalled, and there is still no date for the next round of negotiations between China and the United States, dragging down the stock market. Over the week, the Dow fell by 0.69% to 25,764.00. The S&P 500 index fell by 0.76% to 2,859.53. The Nasdaq fell by 1.27% to 7,816.29 points.
  • Europe: European stock markets performed well at the beginning of last week, rising for three days, but the market worried about the Sino-US trade conflict and the prospects of the UK, the European stock market dropped at the end of last week. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 2.02%, the German DAX index rose by 1.49%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 2.08%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 1.16% for the week, at 381.71 points.
  • Asia: The US-China trade war has once again stalled, and there is still no date for the next round of negotiations between China and the United States, dragging down the stock market. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 0.44% to 21,250.09 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 1.95 percent to 153.99.

Bonds

  • US: China and the United States will not restart trade negotiations in the short term, causing funds flow into the bond market. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 8 basis points to 2.405%.
  • Europe: The market outlook is unclear. China and the US will not restart trade negotiations in the short term, making funds flow into the bond market. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 6 basis points to -0.155%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Since the tense relations between Iran and the United States and its allies, market is worried about global oil supplies. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 1.78% to close at $62.76 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The latest economic data released by the United States is ideal, which drive up the US dollar exchange rate. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.683% to 97.995.
  • China: The yuan fell due to the slowdown in the Chinese economy and the US tariff hike. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 1.423% against the US dollar at 6.915.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US President Trump said that the United States will cancel tariffs on steel and aluminum imposed on Canada and Mexico to encourage members of Congress to approve the United States–Mexico–Canada Trade Agreement.
  • U.S: Informed person said the White House is considering having US Deputy Secretary of Communications Derek Kan to fill one of the two vacant director positions in the Federal Reserve Board.
  • U.S: The University of Michigan’s May consumer confidence index hit a 15-year high, as economic expectations rose.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May said that the government is considering whether to have indicating vote or different Brexit options. Besides, the Brexit negotiations between Theresa May and the opposition party, Labor Party, have ended without results.
  • Euro-zone: According to preliminary statistics from Eurostat, the euro zone’s total exports in the first quarter of this year rose by 3.9% year-on-year to 575.7 billion euros. Also, the total import volume rose by 4.8% year-on-year to 533.2 billion euros. During the period, the trade surplus narrowed by 6.5% year-on-year to 43.5 billion euros.
  • Euro-zone: Eurostat announced that after seasonal adjustment, the euro zone’s first quarter Gross Domestic Product (GDP) increased from 0.2% to 0.4%, maintaining a year-on-year growth of 1.2%.
  • Japan: The Cabinet Office of Japan announced that after the seasonal adjustment, Japan’s initial Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in the first quarter of 2019 unexpectedly increased by 0.5% from the previous month, much higher than the market expectation of a 0.1% decrease.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry announced that after the seasonal adjustment, Japan’s third industry activity index unexpectedly fell for two months in March, but the monthly decline rate narrowed from 0.6% to 0.4%, to 106.2. The market originally expected it to rebound by 0.1%.
  • Singapore: Singapore International Enterprise Development Agency (IE Singapore) announced that Singapore’s non-oil exports (NODX) fell for two consecutive months in April, down 10% year-on-year, far below market expectations of a 4.6% decline.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The China Central Bank’s first-quarter monetary policy implementation report stated that trade conflicts and policy uncertainties remain significant risks. Besides, it reaffirmed the flexibility of the RMB exchange rate.
• According to informed person’s claim,  before Trump ordered the containment on Huawei, Huawei had already stocked enough chips and other important components to keep its business running for at least three months.

China Central Bank Want to Slow the Pace of Currency Depreciation

RMB fell to weakest level since December last week, and to within shrinking distance of the mark of 7 which was last seen during financial crisis in 2008. RMB depreciated 3% last month on fading hopes of a deal between US and China.

RMB/USD

Data Source:iFund;Bloomberg

No sharp falls on RMB

According to Reuters report, China central bank will use foreign exchange intervention and monetary policy tools to stop the yuan weakening past the key level in the near term. A weaker yuan will support Chinese exporters, the decline need to be significant to offset the impact of new tariffs. However, any sharp fall of RMB will lead to a capital flight in China’s economic stability.

China central bank bills in Hong Kong this week, shrinking the supply of RMB. The market believes PBOC wanted to discourage investors to shoot sell it.

The balance between stability and competitiveness

Currency can not be weapon of trade war. A stable currency is required for China as it need to open the financial market by attracting more portfolio inflows and push for global equity/bond index inclusions. A rapid devaluation would shake confidence in the local market and among domestic investors.

China can re-introduce a counter-cyclical factor, in order to adjust the daily reference point for the yuan trading band. Market believe it has been using the factor last week for temper depreciation.

Currency volatility matters

RMB is a key indication of risk appetite. In the offshore markets, RMB one year forward had weakened to 6.977 per dollar, slipping from 6.8482 one week ago before Trump raised tariffs. A sharp change is also seen in option market, which signal the currency volatility increasing.

EM bond suffer a hard outflow last week. Some portfolio managers shrink the position more defensively by cutting EM bond. However, not many portfolio managers change their believes that China will not allow their currency materially depreciate.

For rest of the year, we still believe market will focus on the instruments generating high yield. Benefit from the faith above and dovish Fed, we still believe investors can buy the dip of EM bond in the near future.

 

逃犯條例修訂 香港商界後知後覺

特區政府「暗渡陳倉」,借港人涉嫌在台灣殺害女友事件,強推《逃犯條例》修訂。商界後知後覺,到發現修訂後的法例是自己頭上的緊箍圈,提出異議,為時已晚…..

ROE的魔鬼細節

投資者分析企業時,企業盈利能力是關鍵因素。在眾多衡量企業盈利能力的指標當中,股東權益回報率(ROE)則是最為核心的指標之一…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第809期)- 中國央行捍衛人民幣匯率穩定

2019-05-20 04:37
分享
  • 分享

2019年5月20日 第809期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易戰再次陷入停滯,中美下一輪談判的展開時間「不斷變化」,拖累股票市場。全週計,道指跌0.69%,報25,764.00點。標普500指數跌0.76%,報點2,859.53。納指跌1.27%,報7,816.29點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲股市上周初表現良好,連升三天,惟市場憂慮中美貿易戰及英國股歐前景,歐洲股市中段偏軟。全週計,英國富時100指數升2.02%,德國DAX指數升1.49%,法國CAC40指數升2.08%。STOXX 600指數全週升1.16%,報381.51點。
  • 亞洲: 美中貿易戰再次陷入停滯,中美下一輪談判的展開時間「不斷變化」,拖累股票市場。全週計,日經225指數跌0.44%,報21,250.09點。MSCI亞太區指數跌1.95 %,報153.99點。

債券

  • 美國:中美短期內不會重啟貿易談判,令資金流入債券市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌8個基點,報2.405%。
  • 歐元區:市場前景不明,中美短期內不會重啟貿易談判,令資金流入債券市場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌6個基點,報-0.105%。

商品

  • 油價:伊朗與美國及其盟國關係緊張, 市場憂慮全球石油供應。全週計,紐約期油升1.78%,收報每桶62.76美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國最新公布的多項經濟數據理想,利好美元匯價。全週計,美匯指數升0.683%,報 97.995。
  • 中國:由於中國經濟放緩以及美國上調關稅,人民幣下跌。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌1.423%,報6.915。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普表示,美國將取消對加拿大和墨西哥加征的鋼鋁關稅,以鼓勵國會議員批准美墨加貿易協定。
  • 美國:知情人士稱,白宮正在考慮讓美國交通部副部長Derek Kan填補聯邦儲備理事會兩個空缺理事職位中的一個。
  • 美國:美國密歇根大學5月消費者信心指數初值創15年新高,因經濟預期指標攀升。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅表示,政府考慮是否在議會就不同的脫歐選項進行意向性投票;與反對黨工黨之間的脫歐談判無果而終。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局初步數據顯示,未經調整,歐元區今年首季總出口額按年升3.9%至5,756億歐元;總進口額按年升4.8%至5,322億歐元。期內,貿易順差按年收窄6.5%至435億歐元。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局公布,經季節調整後,歐元區今年第一季國內生產總值(GDP)確認按季增長由前值升0.2%加快至0.4%,按年維持增長1.2%。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,經季節調整後,日本2019年第一季實際國內生產總值(GDP)初值環比意外增長0.5%,市場原先預期收縮0.1%。
  • 日本:日本經濟產業省公布,經季節調整後,日本3月第三產業活動指數意外連跌兩個月,但按月降幅由跌0.6%收窄至0.4%,報106.2,市場原先預期回升0.1%。
  • 新加坡:新加坡國際企業發展局(IE Singapore)公布,新加坡4月非石油出口(NODX)連跌兩個月,按年跌幅為10%,遠遜於市場預期的跌4.6%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國央行一季貨幣政策執行報告表示,貿易摩擦與政策不確定性仍為顯著風險;重申保持人民幣匯率彈性,穩定市場預期。

• 知情人士透露,在特朗普下令遏制華為之前,華為已經儲備了可至少維持業務運轉三個月的足夠的晶片和其他重要零組件。

中國央行捍衛人民幣匯率穩定

上周,美元兌人民幣升至去年12月最高水平,逼近2008年金融海嘯關口7的大關。過去一個月,在中美貿易談判面臨困難的背景下,人民幣匯率貶值達3%。

人民幣兌美元走勢圖

資料來源:iFund;彭博

人民幣無急跌風險

根據路透社報道,中國央行會使用外匯儲備和貨幣政策去抵抗人民幣貶值的壓力。短期而言,人民幣貶值會有利出口,對衝美國加征關稅成本上升的負面影響。不過,任何人民幣急速貶值都會令中國面臨資本外流和經濟下行壓力。

上周,中國央行在香港發行央票,收縮離岸人民幣供應。市場認爲,中國央行打擊意圖做空人民幣的投資者。

平衡穩定和競爭力

匯率不會成爲貿易戰的工具。中國需要穩定的匯率去打開金融市場的大門。中國一直致力吸引資金流入在岸市場,並推動環球股票、債券指數納入内地金融市場。人民幣快速貶值會打擊在岸市場和投資者的信心。

中國可以利用逆周期因子,去影響人民幣每日交易的區間。市場認爲,上周中國央行已經再度使用這一工具,舒緩人民幣的貶值壓力。

匯率波動的影響

人民幣能夠反應市場的風險偏好。在離岸市場,人民幣一年的遠期匯率跌至6.977,較一周前特朗普加征關稅前的水平6.848貶值。期權市場亦出現變動,反映匯率潛在波動率上升。

新興市場債券上周錄得資金流出。不少投資組合經理減少新興市場債券的倉位,以降低組合的波動率。不過,不少投資組合經理仍相信中國不會允許人民幣出現顯著貶值。

因此,展望2019年餘下數月,我們相信投資者仍然青睞收息。受惠人民幣的預期趨勢和鴿派美聯儲局言論,我們認爲投資者近期可以繼續逢低吸納新興市場債券。

逃犯條例修訂 香港商界後知後覺

特區政府「暗渡陳倉」,借港人涉嫌在台灣殺害女友事件,強推《逃犯條例》修訂。商界後知後覺,到發現修訂後的法例是自己頭上的緊箍圈,提出異議,為時已晚…..

ROE的魔鬼細節

投資者分析企業時,企業盈利能力是關鍵因素。在眾多衡量企業盈利能力的指標當中,股東權益回報率(ROE)則是最為核心的指標之一…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。