Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 807- Emerging market central banks follow the dovish moves

2019-05-08 10:33
Share
  • Share

6 May 2019 Issue 807

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: Powell said that the recent low inflationary pressures may be just a temporary effect, implying that interest rates will not be cut in the near future, disappointing the market. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 0.14% to 26,504.95 points. The S&P 500 index rose by 0.20% to 2,945.64. The Nasdaq rose by 0.22% to 8,164.00.
  • Europe: The market keep putting an eye on interest rate decision of the Bank of England, the three major indices of European stock markets have developed separately. The UK stock market fell due to the decline in resources stocks. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.64%, the German DAX index rose by 0.79%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 0.37%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 0.16% for the week to 390.37 points.
  • Asia: The US financial channel CNBC reported that the Sino-US trade agreement will be reached by next Friday, which drove up the Asia-Pacific stock market last week. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 0.00% to 22,258.73 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.49 percent to 162.93.

Bonds

  • US: Powell said that the recent low inflationary pressures may be just a temporary effect, implying that interest rates will not be cut in the near future. Throughout the week, the US 10-year bond yield rose by 3 basis points to 2.252%.
  • Europe: As the US Federal Reserve (Fed) hinted that it has no intention to raise interest rates or cut interest rates on Wednesday, German public debt and other high-rated public debt yields are facing some upward pressure. Throughout the week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 5 basis points to 0.024%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The effect of US sanctions on Iranian oil exports is smaller than expected. Also, the US crude oil inventories have increased, causing the investors worried about excess supply of crude oil. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 2.15% to close at $61.94 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The US dollar index rose from a fall, as Federal Reserve Chairman Powell hinted that it will not cut interest rates recently. For the entire week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.496% to 97.520.
  • China: The US financial channel CNBC reported that China and the United States may announce a trade agreement by next Friday, which drove up Yuan. For the whole week, the Yuan rose by 0.021% against the US dollar to 6.735.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: On the eve of the next Sino-US negotiation, Trump complained that the progress of the negotiations are too slow. He threatened that US will raised the tariff on China’s $200 billion goods from 10% to 25%. He also claimed that US may impose 25% tariff on the additional $325 billion worth of Chinese imports.
  • U.S: The number of new non-agricultural employment in the US exceeded expectations in April. The unemployment rate hit a 49-year low. The wage growth was slightly lower than expected, indicating that the job market is still healthy and can continue to support economic growth without contributing to inflation.
  • U.S: The US ISM service industry index fell to its lowest level since 2017 in April. Moreover, the US merchandise trade deficit expanded from $70.9 billion in February to $71.4 billion in March, but it’s still lower than the economists’ estimation of $73 billion.
  • Euro-zone: The Eurozone’s CPI rose by 1.7% year-on-year in April, exceeds the economists’ expectation, which may help to reduce the urgency of the ECB’s additional stimulus policy.
  • Euro-zone: Juncker, the chairman of the European Commission said that German central bank governor Weidmann was the right person to succeed Draghi as the President of the European Central Bank.
  • Euro-zone: It is reported that officials of Theresa May’s administration are drafting a new customs law for Brexit deal with the opposition party, Labor Party.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Tokyo’s Consumer Price Index (CPI) rose from a 0.9% increase to a 1.4% increase in April, far higher than the market expectation of a 1.1% increase.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that after seasonal adjustment, Japan’s unemployment rate rose by 0.2 percentage points to 2.5% in March, higher than market expectations of 2.4%.
  • India: According to Nikkei/Markit data, India’s Nikkei Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) fell for two consecutive months from 52.6 in March to 51.8 in April, the slowest growth rate within last eight months.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The Chinese government is committing its promise in opening the Chinese financial industry. During the Labour Day, the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission announced that it will launch a series of new measures, such as lifting the restrictions on the shareholding ratio of Chinese commercial banks etc.
• The People’s Bank of China conducted a Medium-term Lending Facility for financial institutions in April for a total of 200 billion yuan, with a term of one year and an interest rate of 3.30%.

Emerging Market Central Banks Follow the Dovish Moves

Interest rate cuts by emerging market central banks outstripped rate hikes for a third month in April. Interest rate moves by central banks across a group of 37 developing economies showed three net rate cuts in April – the same number as in March and February. Their moves follow by the dovish major central banks from Fed and ECB.

 

Number of emerging market central banks hiking policy rates less those cutting

Data source: iFund; Reuters

Fed and ECB on hold last week

Aside from a technical adjustment on interest on excess reserves, the Fed hold interest rate steady last week, in line with expectation. The Fed officials believe recent weakness in consumer spending and business investment is transitory. So, the FOMC remain patient in next policy move.

 

ECB president Draghi signalled growing concerns about the persistence of euro-area weakness at last week press conference. In particular, he confirmed the ECB will consider if negative rates need mitigating. It hints that ECB may hold rates staying lower for longer than its forward guidance now.

The only way is cut

Third month of net rate cuts follows a tightening cycle that ended in early 2019. With help of dovish developed market central bank, there are room for emerging market central bank to cut. Because they do not need to battle the strong dollar, rising inflation and capital outflow.

 

India cut interest rate by 25 bps on April. The cut lift the economy before voting election which decide whether Modi gets a second term. Inflation in India remains subdued. And the farm incomes and GDP slide to 6.6% in 2018 Q4, the slowest in five quarters.

 

Three other Asian central banks also meet in this week, including Malaysia, Thailand and Philippines. The last says rate cuts are inevitable. But many expect the other two will deliver easing signals as well.

Investors keep piling into EM Bonds

Based on the Bank of America Merrill Lynch report, Global bond funds had another week of Hugh inflow. Investor’s search for high yielding assets look them emerging market debt funds, which had their biggest inflows in 12 weeks, pulling in 2.4 billion US dollar.

 

Monetary policy remains easy and for dips to be bought. As a result, flows into EM debt funds is at cumulative all-time highs. “Yield” theme is the most important investment focus over the past decade.

 

逃犯條例修訂 香港商界後知後覺

特區政府「暗渡陳倉」,借港人涉嫌在台灣殺害女友事件,強推《逃犯條例》修訂。商界後知後覺,到發現修訂後的法例是自己頭上的緊箍圈,提出異議,為時已晚…..

Kyle Bass的小題大做

在今年三月,金管局七度入市,合共買入221億港元。曾於2008年一沽成名的對沖基金經理Kyle Bass最近撰文,指港滙制度會面臨崩潰危機…..




Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第807期)- 新興市場央行跟隨鴿派行動

2019-05-08 10:33
分享
  • 分享

2019年5月6日 第807期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:鮑威爾周三稱最近的低通脹壓力可能只是「暫時」,暗示近期不會減息,令市場失望。全週計,道指跌0.14%,報26,504.95點。標普500指數升0.20%,報點2,945.64。納指升0.22%,報8,164.00點。
  • 歐洲:市場觀望英國央行議息結果,歐洲股市三大指數個別發展。受資源股下跌拖累,英國股市下跌。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.64%,德國DAX指數升0.79%,法國CAC40指數跌0.37%。STOXX 600指數全週跌0.16%,報390.37點。
  • 亞洲: 美國財經頻道《CNBC》引述消息指,中美可能於下周五宣布達成貿易協議,帶動亞太上週股市。全週計,日經225指數升0.00%,報22,258.73點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.49 %,報162.93點。

債券

  • 美國:鮑威爾周三稱最近的低通脹壓力可能只是「暫時」,暗示近期不會減息。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升3個基點,報2.525%。
  • 歐元區:因美國聯準會(Fed)週三暗示無意升息或降息,德國公債等高評級公債殖利率面臨一些上行壓力。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升5個基點,報0.024%。

商品

  • 油價:美國的制裁措施對伊朗石油出口的打擊較預期小,美國原油庫存增加,投資者憂慮原油供應過剩。全週計,紐約期油跌2.15%,收報每桶61.94美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美匯指數由跌轉升,因美聯儲主席鮑威爾(Jerome Powell)暗示不會減息。全週計,美匯指數跌0.496%,報97.520。
  • 中國:美國財經頻道《CNBC》引述消息指,中美可能於下周五宣布達成貿易協議,人民幣升。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.021%,報6.735。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:在美中本周即將舉行可能是最後一輪經貿磋商的前夕,特朗普周日抱怨談判進展過於緩慢,並威脅對中國2000億美元商品所加征的10%關稅將自本周五起上調至25%,還提出對額外對3250億美元中國產品加征25%關稅的可能性。
  • 美國:美國4月份新增非農就業人數超過預期,失業率創49年新低,工資漲幅略低於預期,表明就業市場仍然健康,可以繼續支持經濟成長同時不會助長通膨。
  • 美國:美國4月份ISM服務業指數跌至2017年以來最低水平。另外,美國3月份商品貿易逆差從2月的709億美元擴大至714億美元,但低於經濟學家預估的730億美元。
  • 歐元區:歐元區4月份CPI同比上漲1.7%,超過經濟學家預期,這可能有助降低歐洲央行額外刺激政策的緊迫性。
  • 歐元區:歐盟委員會主席稱容克表示,德國央行行長Weidmann是接替歐洲央行總裁德拉吉的合適人選。
  • 歐元區:據悉特里莎·梅政府的官員們正在起草新海關法,為與反對黨工黨之間的脫歐協議做準備,以便打破英國的脫歐僵局。
  • 日本:日本總務省公布,東京4月消費物價指數(CPI)按年升幅由前值升0.9%加快至升1.4%,為去年10月以來最高,超出市場預期升1.1%。
  • 日本:日本總務省公布,經季節調整後,日本3月失業率回升0.2個百分點至2.5%,高於市場預期的升至2.4%。
  • 印度:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,印度4月日經製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)由逾一年高位連跌兩個月,由3月52.6,續降至51.8,為八個月來最慢增長。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國政府沒有停下兌現開放金融業承諾的腳步,銀保監會在五一長假期間宣布將推出取消對中資商業銀行持股比例的限制等一系列新舉措。

• 中國央行4月對金融機構開展中期借貸便利操作共2000億元人民幣,期限1年,利率為3.30%。

新興市場央行跟隨鴿派行動

4月份,主要新興市場央行實行減息政策多於加息,連續3個月錄得這一趨勢。在全球37間新興市場經濟體中,淨減息(減息央行數字減去加息央行數字)錄得3間,與二月和三月數字一樣。新興市場央行跟隨美聯儲局和歐洲央行的鴿派舉動。

新興市場央行淨減息次數

資料來源:iFund;路透

美歐央行上週按兵不動

除了技術性調整額外準備金利率之外,美聯儲局上週維持利率不變,符合市場預期。美聯儲局官員認為近期消費開支和商業投資疲軟時暫時的。因此,美聯儲局會對下一次政策變動表示耐心。

歐洲央行德拉吉在上週議息會議新聞發布會中強調,歐元區經濟持續疲軟令央行憂慮。他確認,有需要的時候,歐洲央行會重新考慮負利率政策。同時,他亦暗示歐洲央行會維持低利率政策會較目前前瞻指引維持更長一段時間。

新興市場只有減息應對

連續三個月錄得淨減息意味2019年初緊縮週期結束。在成熟市場央行實行鴿派政策之後,新興市場央行具有空間實施減息政策。原因在於它們不需要對抗強勁的美元、上升的通脹和資本外流的壓力。

印度四月份減息25個基點。在大選前減息,莫迪希望刺激經濟實現連任。印度通脹保持疲軟。同時2018年第四季度經濟增長僅為6.6%,是過去5個季度最低水平。

亞洲本週有3間央行進行議息,包括馬來西亞、泰國和菲律賓。菲律賓減息似乎無可避免。但是,市場亦預期其它兩間央行會釋放寬鬆的政策信號。

投資者注資新興市場債券

根據美銀美林研究報告顯示,環球債券基金繼續錄得大量資金流入。投資者追求高收益資產,尋找新興市場債券基金。這一類資產過去12週錄得最大資金流入,共錄得24億美元。

貨幣政策寬鬆,投資者願意逢低買入。因此,流入新興市場債券基金的資金達到累計歷史最高水平。“收息”主題是過去十年最重要的投資焦點。

逃犯條例修訂 香港商界後知後覺

特區政府「暗渡陳倉」,借港人涉嫌在台灣殺害女友事件,強推《逃犯條例》修訂。商界後知後覺,到發現修訂後的法例是自己頭上的緊箍圈,提出異議,為時已晚…..

Kyle Bass的小題大做

在今年三月,金管局七度入市,合共買入221億港元。曾於2008年一沽成名的對沖基金經理Kyle Bass最近撰文,指港滙制度會面臨崩潰危機…..





相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。