Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 805- Earnings is the compass of Wall Street bull run

2019-05-06 06:53
Share
  • Share

23 April 2019 Issue 805

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The US companies’s quarterly performance were better than expected, and the patent litigation between Qualcomm and Apple have reached a settlement, which boosted the US stocks market. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 0.56% to 26,559.54. The S&P 500 index fell by 0.08% to close at 2,905.03. The Nasdaq rose by 0.17% to 7,998.06.
  • Europe: The service industry purchasing managers’ index data released last week helped ease the market’s concerns about the economic slowdown. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 0.31%, the German DAX index rose by 1.85%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.41%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.76% to 390.46 points.
  • Asia: The economic data of China is better than expected, boosting the Asian stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 1.51% to 22,200.56 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.44% to 163.07.

Bonds

  • US: As the risk of the US economic recession is getting higher, investors turn to the risk-averse market. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 1 basis point to 2.574%.
  • Europe: The manufacturing PMI of the Eurozone, France and Germany were all worse than the market expectations, investors turn to the risk-averse market. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to 0.023%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The United States announced that it would stop exempting the Iranian oil sanctions order, triggering market concerns about crude oil supply. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 0.08% to close at $64.07 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: Europe’s poor economic data pushed up the US dollar. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.419% to 97.378.
  • China: China’s economic data is better than expected, and the progress of Sino-US trade negotiations are good. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.072% against the US dollar at 6.705.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The Trump administration said it will not extend its sanctions exemption for Iranian oil purchases from some countries, such as China, after its expiration in May. Saudi Arabia and its allies will ensure adequate supply in the global oil market.
  • U.S: Pelosi, Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, refused the Democratic Party’s request of impeaching Trump. She said that impeachment was not the only way for Trump to take responsibility.
  • U.S: Trump gave up to nominate Herman Cain as a member of the Federal Reserve Board. Senator Democrat Schumer said that Senate Republicans should force Stephen Moore to give up thinking about becoming a Fed nominee.
  • Euro-zone: According to the Financial Times, Barclays plans to cut investment banking bonuses, with an aim to lower costs and increase returns.
  • Euro-zone: The Italian Statistical Office announced that Italy’s consumer confidence index unexpectedly fell for the third consecutive months in April, decreased from the previous value of 111.2 to 110.5, lower than the market expectations of 111.3.
  • Euro-zone: The British Bureau of Statistics announced that after seasonal adjustments, the UK retail sales unexpectedly rose for the third consecutive months in March, and the monthly growth was accelerated from 0.6% to 1.1%, which was higher than the market expectations of 0.3% drop.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Japan’s consumer price index (CPI) in March accelerated from a 0.2% increase to 0.5% increase, which was similar with the market expectations.
  • South Korea: According to the data of South Korea’s central bank, the South Korea’s producer price index (PPI) rose by 0.3% in March, and rose by 0.1% year-on-year from the previous value of 0.2% decrease.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Fang Xinghai, vice chairman of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, said at a forum that it is necessary to increase the policy support in promoting the qualified futures companies to list as A-shares, and actively promote the establishment of foreign-controlled futures companies.
• The Ministry of Commerce announced that the actual use of foreign capital in March was 95.17 billion yuan, an increase of 8% year-on-year. In the first quarter, 9,616 new foreign-invested enterprises were established nationwide, and the actual use of foreign capital was 242.28 billion yuan, an increase of 6.5% year-on-year.

Earnings is the compass of Wall Street bull run

The optimism of trade talk between US and China has helped US stocks touch to new highs, but this year’s earnings may be the key factors whether the bull market further rose.

According to Refinitiv, Q1 earnings are expected to fall 2.5% YoY. However, the growth in Q2 and Q3 will register tepid growth. And the consensus estimates earnings will rebound in Q4, by rising 8.9%.

S&P 500 companies face tough comparisons with last year, when the tax code overhaul helped boost profits by more than 20%. Investors believe that with low expectation, companies can surprise to beat in their quarterly earnings. Even if the Q1 result decline, the outlooks could lift stocks at the end of the year.

Trade deal can play role in earnings

An agreement between US and China may provide only a limited boost to equities, because many investors believe current market price has been priced in the effect. But the deal can play an important role in earnings outlook for the rest of the year.

Trade deal can release the concern about global economy recession. The US multinationals can recover along with China economic stable growth. Meanwhile, in the technology, there will be significant recovery for the companies’ earnings. Demand for chips will rebound as two countries relationship improved. With the healthy relationship and stimulus in China policies, earnings growth can firm and drive the market higher.

Risk from corporation margin

US companies’ earnings will report a decline in profit even after raking in higher revenues, which has not happened in more than a decade. Analysts see profit margins will shrink 1.1% YoY in Q1, first decline in at least two years. US companies are facing rising input costs from tariffs, labour and foreign exchange.

Cost for some raw materials such as aluminium have increase as US impose tariffs on imports from China and other countries. The rallying dollar will likely be a negative for US multinational companies. The US dollar trade weighted index rose 6.2% YoY in the quarter, which is the strongest performance on a YoY after Q4 of 2015. Others, higher wages and labour costs were also cited on the earnings calls as factor that had a negative impact on earnings in Q1 or are expected to have a negative impact on earnings in future quarters.

First quarter earnings seem to be crucial for market next step movement. Investor should focus on the breadth and consistency top-line growth, also margin trend in the future.

 

印度股市值得長期關注

從4月11日到5月19日,是印度五年一度的大選,全國選民將選出第17屆人民院(Lok Sabha,即是下議院)543名議員,過半數議席的政黨可以執政…..

壞了的人也好過壞了的政策

安心事件沸沸揚揚,社會各界議論紛紛。事件男主角於記者會上再三道歉,並稱自己是一個壞了的人。誠然,一個壞人的破壞力,遠遠無法與壞的政策相比,因為後者禍害範圍更遠更深,甚至可以禍延幾代人…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第805期)- 盈利是美股牛市的指南針

2019-05-06 06:53
分享
  • 分享

2019年4月23日 第805期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美企季度業績較預期佳,加上高通與蘋果專利訴訟達和解,美股造好。全週計,道指升0.56%,報26,559.54點。標普500指數跌0.08%,報點2,905.03。納指升0.17%,報7,998.06點。
  • 歐洲:上周公布的服務業採購經理指數數據,有助緩解市場對經濟放緩的擔憂。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.31%,德國DAX指數升1.85%,法國CAC40指數升1.41%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.76%,報390.46點。
  • 亞洲: 中國經濟數據優於預期,帶動亞洲股市。期內,出口總額連升第20個月,但按年僅續增3.9%,遠低於市場預期的升幅6.3%。全週計,日經225指數升1.51 %,報22,200.56點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.44%,報163.07點。

債券

  • 美國:由於目前美國經濟衰退的風險愈來愈高,投資者轉向避險市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌1個基點,報2.574%。
  • 歐元區:歐元區、法國及德國製造業PMI均差過市場預期,投資者轉向避險市場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報0.023%。

商品

  • 油價:美國宣布停止豁免伊朗石油制裁令,觸發市場擔憂原油供應。全週計,紐約期油升0.08 %,收報每桶64.07美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:歐洲欠佳經濟數據推升美元。全週計,美匯指數升0.419%,報 97.378。
  • 中國:中國經濟數據優於預期,加上中美貿易談判良好。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.072%,報6.705。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:特朗普政府表示,將在5月到期後不會延長對中國等部分國家採購伊朗石油的制裁豁免,沙烏地等盟友將致力於確保全球石油市場充足供應。
  • 美國:美國眾議院議長佩洛西拒絕民主黨彈劾川普的要求,她表示彈劾並非讓川普「擔責」的唯一途徑。
  • 美國:特朗普放棄提名Herman Cain擔任聯儲會理事。參議院民主黨領袖舒默表示,參議院共和黨人應該迫使Stephen Moore也放棄考慮成為聯儲會理事提名候選人。
  • 歐元區:意大利統計局公布,意大利4月消費者信心指數意外連降三個月,由前值111.2,續降至110.5,低於市場預期的111.3。
  • 歐元區:據英國《金融時報》報道,巴克萊計畫削減投資銀行部門獎金,以削減成本並提高回報率。
  • 歐元區:英國統計局公布,經季節調整後,英國3月零售銷售意外連升三個月,且按月升幅由升0.6%加快至1.1%,市場原先預期降0.3%。
  • 日本:日本總務省公布,日本3月消費物價指數(CPI)按年升幅由升0.2%加快至0.5%,符合市場預期。
  • 南韓:南韓央行數據顯示,南韓3月生產者價格指數(PPI)按月升幅為0.3%;按年由前值降0.2%回升0.1%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國證監會副主席方星海出席一論壇時表示,要加大政策支持力度,大力推進符合條件的期貨公司A股上市,積極推動外商控股期貨公司的設立。

• 商務部公布,3月份實際使用外資951.7億元人民幣,按年增長8%。首季全國新設立外商投資企業9,616家,實際使用外資2,422.8億元,按年增長6.5%。

盈利是美股牛市的指南針

貿易談判的樂觀情緒令股市觸及新高,但是今年企業盈利可能才是牛市能否進一步上升的決定性因素。

根據路透預期,第一季度企業盈利預計下跌2.5%。不過,第二、三季度企業盈利會恢復穩定增長。同時,第四季度盈利增長將回升至8.9%。

標普500企業面臨高基數的影響,原因在於去年減稅令企業盈利上升超過20%。投資者認為,低預期下企業能夠在季度盈利跑贏分析師的預期。儘管第一季度盈利錄得下跌,但是前景能夠令股票市場年內延續升幅。

貿易協議能夠主導盈利

中美貿易協議對股票市場影響可能有限,因為大部分投資者都相信目前市場價格已經反映潛在的貿易協議。但是,協議能夠主宰下半年企業的盈利前景。

貿易協議關乎全球經濟陷入衰退的憂慮。美國跨國企業能夠受惠中國經濟穩定增長。同時,特別是在科技業,企業盈利將會出現顯著改善。在兩國關係改善下,芯片需求將重新復甦。伴隨健康的雙邊關係和中國刺激政策,盈利增長將鞏固和驅動市場上升。

企業利潤率的風險

美國企業盈利將錄得下跌,相反企業收入則錄得上升,這種現象超過10年未曾出現。分析員認為第一季度企業利潤率會按年下跌1.1%,是至少兩年來首次錄得下跌。美國企業面臨關稅、勞動力和匯率等因素造成的輸入成本上升。

部分原材料例如鋁製品的價格因為美國對中國及其他國家加徵關稅影響而上升。美元升值亦是對美國跨國企業造成負面衝擊。貿易加權匯率第一季度按年錄得6.2%升幅,是2015年第四季度以來最強勁表現。另一方面,工資增長和勞動力成本上升亦多次在業績會議上提及。因為該因素已經對第一季度造成負面衝擊,同時在未來數個季度都會錄得負面影響。

第一季度企業盈利對市場下一步動向至關重要。投資者應該關注收入增長的廣度和持續性,以及未來利潤率的變化前景。

印度股市值得長期關注

從4月11日到5月19日,是印度五年一度的大選,全國選民將選出第17屆人民院(Lok Sabha,即是下議院)543名議員,過半數議席的政黨可以執政…..

壞了的人也好過壞了的政策

安心事件沸沸揚揚,社會各界議論紛紛。事件男主角於記者會上再三道歉,並稱自己是一個壞了的人。誠然,一個壞人的破壞力,遠遠無法與壞的政策相比,因為後者禍害範圍更遠更深,甚至可以禍延幾代人…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。