Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 804- A takeaway of China’s March TSF

2019-04-15 09:00
Share
  • Share

15 April 2019 Issue 804

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The progress of Sino-US trade negotiations are optimistic, US Treasury Secretary Mnuchin said that the progress of Sino-US trade negotiations nearly comes to the end. Besides, both Morton and Wells Fargo performs better than the market expectations, which benefits the US stock markets . For the entire week, the Dow fell by 0.05% to 26,412.30. The S&P 500 index rose by 0.51% to 2,907.41. The Nasdaq rose by 0.57% to 7,984.16.
  • Europe: The United States may impose tariffs on European goods, with an aim to punish the illegally subsidization of European Union to Airbus. Moreover, European Union may take retaliatory measures against US’s punishment. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.13%, the German DAX index fell by 0.08%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 0.48%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 0.18% to 387.53 points.
  • Asia: The White House threatened to impose tariffs on US$11 billion worth of EU products, affecting European and Asian stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 0.29% to 21,870.56 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.10% to 162.36 points.

Bonds

  • US: The market is less worried about the economic slowdown in US since the rise in the producer price index and the new US jobless claims have hit a 50-year low. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond rose by 7 basis points to 2.554%.
  • Europe: British Prime Minister Theresa May intends to cooperate with opposition leaders to reach a consensus on the Brexit agreement, and the market expects that Theresa May is turning to a soft Brexit position. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 5 basis points to 0.054%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The market worries that the oil supplies would be affected by the US sanctions against Iran and Venezuela and the escalating conflicts in Libya. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 1.28% to close at $63.89 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The US Federal Reserve’s dovish meeting minutes suppressed the US dollar. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.434% to 96.972.
  • China: The US Federal Reserve’s dovish meeting minutes suppressed the US dollar and benefits the yuan. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.140% against the US dollar at 6.709.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US Finance Minister Mnuchin’s latest statement  indicate that the United States and China are close to reach an agreement. He said that the implementation mechanism should be in two-way interactive. If the United States fails to comply with its commitments in a potential trade agreement with China, the United States will also bear the consequences.
  • U.S: US President Trump once again blamed the Fed, saying that if the Fed works properly, the US stock market will further rise by 5,000 to 10,000 points.
  • U.S: Trump said that the development of 5G infrastructure is a race that the United States must “win” and cannot allow any other country to surpass the United States in this powerful future industry.
  • Euro-zone: The EU is preparing to implement retaliatory tariffs on 10.2 billion euros of US goods, ranging from food to helicopters.
  • Euro-zone: European Central Bank chief economist Praet and German central bank governor Weidmann claimed they are holding an opened attitude towards negative interest rate policy assessments, but have not made a commitment to change.
  • Euro-zone: British Chancellor of the Exchequer Hammond said that the British government and major opposition parties agree on the basic principles of Brexit and may make a breakthrough in the next few weeks. Prime Minister Theresa May will not resign before Brexit.
  • Japan: The Bank of Japan data showed that after seasonal adjustments, Japan’s domestic Corporate Goods Price Index (CGPI) rose for two months in March, rising 0.3% month-on-month, exceeding market expectations of a 0.2% increase.
  • Japan: The Bank of Japan data showed that Japan’s M2 money supply rose by 2.4% year-on-year in March, in line with market expectations. During the period, M3 money supply maintained a 2.1% growth year-on-year, in line with market expectations. And the M1 money supply increased by 5.5% year-on-year.
  • Singapore: The Singapore Bureau of Statistics announced that Singapore’s total retail sales in February fell by 10% year-on-year while market was originally expected to rise by 2.5%. After the seasonal adjustment, the Singapore’s total retail sales also fell from 0.5% increase to 1.5% decrease.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Chinese Premier Li Keqiang said that the Chinese government has confidence in achieving the main targets of 6%-6.5% economic growth this year.
• Chen Yulu, deputy governor of the People’s Bank of China, said that China will maintain a sound monetary policy stance this year. He also claimed the People’s Bank of China would stimulate economic growth through fiscal instruments and keep the RMB exchange rate in line with fundamentals at the same time.

A Takeaway of China’s March TSF

Following a rebound of March PMI back to above expansion level of 50.5, China released another set of strong data, further signaling that the country’s economy could be bottoming out soon. The newly released credit data, total social financing (TSF) – a board measure of credit and liquidity in the economy, jumped by 81% YoY to RMB2.86 trillion in March, considerably higher than Bloomberg consensus expectation of RMB1.85 trillion. Adjusted TSF stock growth (after adding local government bond issuance, but excluding special bond issuance) in March also accelerated to 11.6% YoY, from 11.0% in February. Combining Jan-Feb data, the YTD cumulative TSF was 40% higher than last year.

 

Looking into details, one of the major upside surprises was from the new bank loans (net), which picked up considerably to RMB1.69 trillion in March from RMB1.12 trillion, above consensus forecast of RMB1.2 trillion. Both household and corporate loans strengthened. Short and medium-term new household loan increased to a 5-year record high of a total of RMB891bn (+321bn YoY) on seasonal factors, a light recovery of property market as well as a pick-up of retail sales in China (such as auto sales). Likewise, new corporate loans in March almost doubled of that a year ago to RMB1.07 trillion. The medium and long-term corporate new lending surged by 44% to RMB 657bn, while net corporate bond issuance increased by RMB328bn. The increase in corporate new lending could be the result of the profit-boosting VAT cut. At the same time, corporate starts to rebuild their inventory in anticipation of recovery in domestic and overseas demand.

 

Figure 1: China New Bank loans (net) pick-up in March

Data Source: PBOC, Noble Apex/iFund

Another surprise was from shadow banking credit in China. In contrast to 2018 having negative shadow credit growth every month from March through December, the activity revived in January this year, but then dipped again in February. However, with March number back to positive again to RMB82bn (vs. -253bn in March 2018), China obviously has eased the reins on its local shadow backing creation in order to spark its credit impulse. The rise in shadow banking credit was also in-line with China’s M2, which further accelerated to 8.6% YoY in March from 8.0% in February, also above market expectation of 8.2%, implying that China is keen to flood the economy with new credit.

 

Overall, the March’s TSF and other positive data is suggesting that China‘s economic recovery is on right track. We expect stock market sentiment continues to improve amid solid macro data in 2Q 2019 and we also see upside risk of China’s GDP growth for the full year. However, the well expected RRR cut in April may now delay to 2H 2019 and there is potential slowdown in further loosening measures. The absolute amount of TSF monthly addition would be peaking off from March onward this year in order to avoid over-loosening risk and another round of debt-build up (since zero TSF growth for the remaining months of 2019 will enable China to meet its official TSF target of 12% this year). In fact, a 2 ppts increase in credit growth together with a moderation in nominal GDP will bring China’s debt/GDP ratio to increase by 6ppts in 2019 after a decline in 2018. It will remain a challenging task for China to balance leverage and growth over the long-term.

 

扣稅三寶出台 保險公司最得益

昨天開始,香港納稅人在每個課稅年度多了三項薪俸稅/個人入息稅扣減:(1)繳付合資格延期年金保費、(2)作出可扣稅強積金自願性供款及(3)參與自願醫保計劃所繳保費…..

內地九十後點炒股?

近日,在網上細閱了一份由多間內地機構聯合發佈的《洞察.新生代—90後投資者崛起和趨勢報告》。顧名思義,報告比較不同世代的投資人,藉此觀察各個年齡層的投資文化差異…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第804期)- 3月社融反彈, 中國復甦可期

2019-04-15 09:00
分享
  • 分享

2019年4月15日 第804期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美貿易談判樂觀,美國財長姆努欽表示中美貿易磋商已接近尾聲。另外,摩通及富國銀行業績均勝預期,帶動美國股市。全週計,道指跌0.05%,報26,412.30點。標普500指數升0.51%,報點2,907.41。納指升0.57%,報7,984.16點。
  • 歐洲:美國擬就空中巴士獲非法補貼,向歐盟採取報復措施,影響歐洲股市。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.13%,德國DAX指數跌0.08%,法國CAC40指數升0.48%。STOXX 600指數全週跌0.18%,報387.53點。
  • 亞洲: 白宮本週揚言對價值110億美元的歐盟銷美產品加徵關稅,影響歐洲及亞洲股市。全週計,日經225指數升0.29%,報21,870.56點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.10%,報162.36點。

債券

  • 美國:生產者物價指數上升及美國新申領失業救濟人數創50年新低影響,市場對經濟放緩憂慮減輕。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升7個基點,報2.554%。
  • 歐元區:英國首相文翠珊打算與反對黨領導人合作,以就脫歐協議達成共識,市場憧憬翠珊正轉向軟脫歐立場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升5個基點,報0.054%。

商品

  • 油價:美國對伊朗及委內瑞拉的制裁,油組成員國利比亞不斷升級的衝突或影響當地原油產量及油組減產。全週計,紐約期油升1.28%,收報每桶63.89美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:隔夜美國聯儲局鴿派會議紀錄打壓美元。全週計,美匯指數跌0.434%,報 96.972。
  • 中國:隔夜美國聯儲局鴿派會議紀錄打壓美元,帶動人民幣。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.140%,報6.709。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國財長姆努欽的最新表態或表明美中接近達成協議。他表示,執行機制應該是雙向的,若美國在與中國的潛在貿易協議中未遵守承諾,美國也將承擔後果。
  • 美國:美國總統特朗普再次抨擊聯儲會,稱如果聯儲會工作得當,美國股市將會多漲5000到10,000點。
  • 美國:特朗普稱開發5G基礎設施是美國「必須贏」的一場競賽,不能允許其他任何國家在這個強大的未來產業中超越美國。
  • 歐元區:據彭博看到的清單草稿,歐盟亦準備實施報復性關稅,考慮打擊102億歐元的美國商品,範圍從食品到直升機不一而足。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行首席經濟學家Praet和德國央行行長Weidmann表示,他們對負利率政策評估持開放態度,不過並沒有做出改變的承諾。
  • 歐元區:英國財政大臣哈蒙德表示,英國政府和主要反對黨在脫歐基本原則上意見一致,可能在未來幾周取得突破;首相特里莎·梅在實現脫歐之前不會辭職。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本3月國內企業商品物價指數(CGPI)連升兩個月,按月升0.3%,超出市場預期的升0.2%。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,日本3月M2貨幣供應按年維持升2.4%,符合市場預期。期內,M3貨幣供應同比維持升2.1%,符合市場預期。M1貨幣供應同比升幅進一步略加快至5.5%。
  • 新加坡:新加坡統計局公布,新加坡2月零售銷售總額按年意外急降10%,市場原先預期升2.5%;季調後按月也由前值升0.5%轉降1.5%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國總理李克強表示,中國政府對實現今年經濟成長6%-6.5%等主要預期目標有信心。

• 中國央行副行長陳雨露表示,中國今年將保持穩健的貨幣政策立場,在通過財政工具刺激經濟成長的同時,使人民幣匯率與基本面保持一致。

3月社融反彈, 中國復甦可期

中國繼3月份PMI重上50以上的擴張水平後,上星期五再公佈了另一項強勁數據,進一步引證經濟可能很快觸底反彈。新發布的信貸數據,社會融資總額(TSF) – 是衡量經濟信貸和流動性的重要指標,3月份同比增長81%至2.86萬億人民幣,遠高於彭博市場預期的1.85萬億人民幣。 3月份經調整後的社融存量規模(包括地方政府債券發行,但撇除特別債券發行)也從2月份的11.0%同比加速至11.6%。結合1至2月份數據,社融自年初至今累計比去年高出近40%。

從細節來看,本月數據其中的一個驚喜來自於新增銀行貸款(淨值),從1.12萬億人民幣大幅上升至3月份的1.69萬億人民幣,高於市場預期的1.2萬億人民幣。居民和企業貸款均有所改善。受季節性因素、中國房地產市場回暖以及零售業銷情改善(如最近汽車銷售),短期和中期的新增居民貸款均創5年歷史新高,總計8,910億人民幣(同比增加3,210億人民幣)。同樣,3月份新增企業貸款亦幾近翻倍,至1.07萬億人民幣。中長期企業新增貸款激增44%至6,570億人民幣,而公司債券發行淨額亦新增約3,280億人民幣,相信主要受惠於增值稅削減的影響。與此同時,企業亦開始重建庫存,以應對國內外需求的複蘇。

圖1:3月份中國銀行新貸款(淨值)回升

資料來源: PBOC, 御峰理財/iFund

另一個驚喜來自中國的影子銀行信貸。從2018年3月到12月期間,中國影子銀行信貸每月均錄得負增長,但自今年1月起開始出現復甦,雖然隨後在2月再次下降,3月份的數字再次重回增長至820億人民幣(2018年3月為-2530億),可見中國顯然已經放鬆了對影子銀行信貸的控制。影子銀行信貸增長也與中國的M2一致,3月份M2增長從2月的8.0%進一步加速至8.6%,高於市場預期的8.2%,反映出中國以新信貸刺激經濟的目標十分明確。

總體而言,3月份的社融總額及其他經濟數據正顯示著中國的經濟復甦在步入正軌。由於預期今年第二季度的宏觀數據將穩健偏好,我們預期股市情緒將持續改善,並認為全年中國GDP增長將有上行風險。然而,由於經濟復甦較預期快,市場原先預期將於4月下調的存款準備金率,可能因此而延遲至今年下半年,而進一步的放鬆措施可能亦有所放緩或減少。 另外,每月社融總額增長預期亦將從今年3月峰值開始回落,以避免過度放鬆風險及導致中國債務激增(社融總額於今年餘下月份只須零增長便可達到中國官方TSF增長目標12%)。我們預期今年中國信貸增長2個百分點以及名義GDP放緩將使2019年中國的債務/ GDP比率上升6個百分點 (2018年中國的債務/ GDP比率下降改善)。未來,中國政府在平衡槓桿及經濟增長上,將成為一項長期並十分具挑戰性的任務。

扣稅三寶出台 保險公司最得益

昨天開始,香港納稅人在每個課稅年度多了三項薪俸稅/個人入息稅扣減:(1)繳付合資格延期年金保費、(2)作出可扣稅強積金自願性供款及(3)參與自願醫保計劃所繳保費…..

內地九十後點炒股?

近日,在網上細閱了一份由多間內地機構聯合發佈的《洞察.新生代—90後投資者崛起和趨勢報告》。顧名思義,報告比較不同世代的投資人,藉此觀察各個年齡層的投資文化差異…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。