iFund- How close are we to “Fallen Angel” risk of Investment Grade Bonds?

2019-04-15 07:14
Share
  • Share

In our last research “Where should we go after 1Q 2019”, we mentioned that nearly every asset class posted strong positive returns in 1Q 2019. The lowest cusp of investment grade BBB-rated bond was one of them, climbed by 5.8% - the best first quarter performance since 1995, which totally dismissed the well-publicized fears of a “fallen angel” risks of downgrades to junk.

featured

As we mentioned in our last research “Where should we go after 1Q 2019”, nearly every asset class posted strong positive returns in 1Q 2019. The lowest cusp of investment grade BBB-rated bond was one of them, climbed by 5.8% – the best first quarter performance since 1995, which totally dismissed the well-publicized fears of a “fallen angel” risks of downgrades to junk.

What is the “fallen angel” risks that matter the market?

The latest warning was from Bank for International Settlements (BIS), an organization for central banks to coordinate financial regulation world-wide, alarmed that the “fallen angel” threat of a firesale could be the most serious challenge facing the US corporate bond market during the next recession.

For instance, the Investment Grade (IG) bond market, in particular for the lowest IG grade rating BBB bonds (just one notch above Junk/High Yield (HY)), has experienced rapid growth since the Great Financial Crisis (GFC) and BBB debts now nearly accounts for almost 60% of the entire $6.4 trillion US IG space (vs. 48% in 2008) (figure 1). More importantly, as BBB bonds still fall into the low-risk category, portfolio managers of investment grade corporate bond mutual funds (which have rating-based mandates) were enticed by the tempting yields, and the share of BBB bonds in their portfolio has increased considerably to 45% from roughly 20% in 2010. Therefore, the rise of BBB footprint has left markets vulnerable to a crash once economic weakness triggers a spell of rating downgrades and market participants with investment grade mandates could be forced to fire sales its BBB bonds holdings, particularly for those with large downgrade risks. The value of force selling or portfolio rebalancing could potentially in excess of daily turnover in corporate bond markets and this may precipitate a downward spiral in the bond market. According to BIS, there could be over US$1 trillion in bonds could be cut to junk once the economic turns.

Figure 1. BBB as % of total IG

Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

Figure 2. BBB bonds in investment grade corporate bond mutual funds % has increased considerably

Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

The Key questions: how much of the BBB bonds are likely to be downgraded and could the market absorb the downgrades?

Is US$1 trillion overly pessimistic? According to Deutsche Bank (DB) credit strategist, the attrition rate of BBBs downgraded to HY in US has fallen towards historically low level in recent year (below 2% post GFC), which is unlikely to be sustainable, while the rate was above 10% last time when BBBs were also as a large proportion of the IG market. Therefore, at a more reasonable attrition rate of 10% when the US economy really slip into recession, the potential fallen angels could be over US$260 billion. This equals to 25% of the existing junk bond market and could be much higher than the US$142bn fallen angels in the last cycle in 2016. On another calculation and analysis, DB also suggested that there is actually a US$60bn fallen angel candidates in the US market even without an economy downturn. With HY net issuance in the US market has been no more than US$75bn in the last few years, the fallen angels could become a disaster.

In contrast, Invesco is one of the market participants that takes a relatively positive view to BBB bonds and see market concerns are overblown. Instead of including the “upper tiers” of US BBBs (BBB and BBB+), Invesco only counts the “lower-tier” BBB- companies in the calculation and sees companies in the highly cyclical sectors should bear the highest possibility of widespread downgrade during the economic downturn. By using the average historical attrition rate of 9.5% or peak rate of 14% in 2009 to the highly cyclical BBB- segment of US$460 billion, the potential rating downgrade size could be US$44 billion or US$65 billion. Also, rather than just purely looking at the HY market size, Invesco believes it should better to consider the entire leverage finance market size (including loans), which is at over $2.2 trillion with net debt issuance of US$187 in 2018.

Nevertheless, we believe the fallen angel risk is one of the key risks that bond investors should monitor this year and next year. According to S&P, the first quarter of 2019 had the most credit rating downgrades for U.S. companies than upgrade since the beginning of 2016. These downgraded names include utility PG&E (Baa3 to B2), retailer J.C. Penny (from B- to CCC+) and giant Walt Disney (from A+ to A). We may see some time in 2019 or 2020 when the market will start pricing the risk, leading to a rush of selling as investors try to get out ahead of every one else.

Funds Related to Investment Grade Bond Funds

PIMCO Global Investment Grade Credit Fund E Inc USD (QDis)

Income Partners Renminbi Investment Grade Bond Fund 2B Dis RMB

Eastspring Investments – US Investment Grade Bond Fund A Acc USD

Disclaimer:
Investment involves risk. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. Fund prices may move down or up, may fluctuate dramatically, and may become valueless. It is as likely that losses will be incurred rather than profit made as a result of buying and selling funds. Some funds are denominated in RMB which are currently not freely convertible, and are thus subject to risks associated with RMB including RMB foreign exchange risk, RMB hedging risk, offshore RMB (“CNH”) market risk and RMB trading and settlement of fund units risk. Funds which are invested in emerging markets and smaller companies may also involve a higher degree of risk and are usually more sensitive to price movements. Before making any investment decision, investors should carefully read the prospectus and the offering document for further details. Investors should undertake their own research and study before trade or invest. Investors should carefully consider whether trading or investments are suitable in light of their own financial positions and investment objectives, and understand that they shall be wholly responsible for their investments. Investors are advised to seek independent financial and professional advice before trade or invest. This document has been prepared by Noble Apex Advisors Ltd and unless the context requires otherwise is intended for information purpose only and does not constitute any offer, invitation, solicitation, advice or recommendation to any person to enter into any investment, nor does it constitute any prediction of likely future performance of an investment, and nor a distribution of information for any such purpose. The document contents are prepared and issued by Noble Apex Advisors Limited. Informational sources are considered reliable but you should conduct your own verification of information contained herein. This document and advertisements contained herein have not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

iFund- 2019年債券市場“墮落天使”風險會否成為黑天鵝?

2019-04-15 07:14
分享
  • 分享

正如我們前文“2019年第一季度市場回顧及展望”所述,今年第一季度幾乎所有資產類都有亮麗的回報表現。其中,最低的投資級別評級 - BBB評級債券的總回報率達5.8%,是自1995年以來最好的第一季度,一掃去年市場擔憂其成為“墮落天使”的頹風(即降級為垃圾債券的風險)。

featured

正如我們前文“2019年第一季度市場回顧及展望”所述,今年第一季度幾乎所有資產類都有亮麗的回報表現。其中,最低的投資級別評級 – BBB評級債券的總回報率達5.8%,是自1995年以來最好的第一季度,一掃去年市場擔憂其成為“墮落天使”的頹風(即降級為垃圾債券的風險)。

 市場為什麼關注墮落天使風險?

最新警告來自國際清算銀行(BIS)–  一個中央銀行協調全球金融監管的組織。BIS的報告指出“墮落天使”風險將可能在美國經濟衰退來臨時,嚴重威脅美國的企業債券市場。

自2008年金融危機(GFC)以來,投資級別(IG)美國企業債券市場,特別是最低IG等級的BBB級債券(僅比垃圾/高收益債(HY)高出一級)經歷了快速增長並佔整個6.4萬億美元IG市場的近60%(2008年為48%)(圖1)。而更重要的是,由於BBB債券屬於低風險類別,其較高的收益率,使其近年備受投資級債券基金所青睞,BBB債券在這些基金的份額從2010年的20%大幅上升至45%。因此,一旦美國經濟疲軟引發評級下調,市場參與者及這些基金由於受投資任務所限(rating-based investment mandate),將被迫大舉拋售其持有的BBB級債券組合,短時間的大量拋售將可能大幅高於正常的每日成交量,介時美國企業債券市場將可能出現螺旋式崩盤。根據BIS的說法,一旦美國陷入衰退,可能會有超過1萬億美元的BBB級企業債被削減為垃圾評級。

BBB級企業債佔總投資級別債的百分比:

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

投資級別債券中的BBB級債券比例大幅增加:

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

最關鍵問題:有多少BBB級債可能被降級? 市場容量能否承受下來?

1萬億美元的預測是否過於悲觀?德意志銀行(DB)信貸策略師表示,近年美國BBB級企業債的降級率跌至歷史最低水平(GFC後平均低於2%),但這情況不太可能持續,而上一次當BBB級企業債於IG的佔比亦是較高時,降級率大約為10%。因此我們以10%的降級率計算,當美國經濟陷入衰退時,將會有超過2600億美元的BBB級企業債成為“墮落天使”,這相等於現時垃圾債券市場規模的25%,並遠高於上一個週期2016年約有1420億美元的BBB級成為“墮落天使”。而根據DB另一項計算和分析,即使美國沒有經濟衰退發生,現時美國約有600億美元的BBB級企業債將可能降級至垃圾級別。隨著高息債HY在過去幾年中於美國市場的淨發行量不超過750億美元,墮落天使風險將可能會成為一場災難。

相比之下,景順(Invesco)是市場中對BBB級債券有較積極看法的投資者,並認為市場誇大了對BBB級債券的風險。在景順潛在“墮落天使”的分析及計算中,並不包括美國BBB中的(BBB和BBB +),而只計算有負面展望中的“低級”BBB-公司,並認為高週期性行業公司最具降級的可能性。根據歷史平均降級率9.5%計算,潛在評級下調規模可能達到440億美元;而若以2009年14%的峰值降級率計算,規模則達到650億美元,兩個數字皆遠低於德意志銀行預估的2600億美元。此外,景順認為僅僅純粹關注HY市場規模並不合理,而須考慮整體槓桿融資市場規模(包括貸款)。於2018年,美國整體槓桿融資市場規模為2.2萬億美元,淨債務發行額為1870億美元,足以承受墮落天使風險。

無論如何,我們認為墮落天使風險是債券投資者今年和明年應主要監控的風險之一。 標準普爾指出, 2019年第一季度美國公司的信用評級下調數量遠高於升級數量,是自2016年初以來最差表現。這些降級公司包括PG&E(Baa3至B2),零售商JC Penny(B-至CCC +)和巨頭 華納迪士尼(從A +到A)等。

與投資級別債券相關的基金

PIMCO 環球投資級別債券基金 E類 Inc 美元 (QDis)

弘收人民幣投資級別債券基金 2B Dis RMB

瀚亞投資 – 美國優質債券基金 A類 Acc 美元

免責條款
投資涉及風險,過往表現並非未來表現的指標。基金價格可跌可升,可能非常反覆,甚至變成毫無價值。一般情況下,買賣基金未必可賺取利潤,反而會蒙受損失。某些基金須承受與人民幣不可自由兌換的風險,包括人民幣外匯風險、人民幣對沖風險、境外人民幣市場風險及人民幣買賣及基金單位結算的風險。投資於新興市場及小型企業之基金可能比一般已發展市場涉及較高風險,並通常對價格變動較敏感。投資者在作出任何投資決定前,應仔細閱讀章程及發售文件。在進行交易或投資前,投資者應負責本身的資料蒐集及研究。投資者必須自行決定交易是否適合自身財務狀況及投資目標,並應明白對其投資必須承擔全部責任。建議投資者在作出買賣或投資決定前尋求獨立財務及專業意見。本文由御峰理財有限公司刊發,除非情況另有所指,否則僅供參考之用,並不構成對任何人進行任何投資的要約、邀請、徵求、意見或建議,也不構成對投資未來表現的任何預測,及也不是分佈訊息以達成任何這樣的目的。本文內容由御峰理財有限公司編制及發出,資料均來自被認為可靠之來源,但你應該自行核實有關資料。本文內容及廣告沒有被香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會審閱。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。