Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 802- Where should we go after 1Q 2019?

2019-04-01 11:34
Share
  • Share

1 April 2019 Issue 802

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: US Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said that the Sino-US trade negotiations in Beijing was “constructive”, which is beneficial to the stock market. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 1.67% to 25,928.68 points. The S&P 500 index rose by 1.20% to 2,834.40. The Nasdaq rose by 1.13% to 7,729.32.
  • Europe: Theresa May’s Brexit draft was rejected by the Parliament of United Kingdom for the third time, which is same as the market expectation, so it do not make a great effect on the European stock market. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 0.99%, the German DAX index rose by 1.42%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.53%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.81% to 379.09 points.
  • Asia: Japan’s first quarter short-term large-scale manufacturing sentiment judgment index dropped from 19 to 12, making investors worried about the economic prospect. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 1.95% to 21,205.81 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.96% to 159.81 points.

Bonds

  • US: According to the final value of GDP in the fourth quarter of the United States, the annual GDP increased by 2.2%, which was 0.4 percentage points lower than the initial value, reflecting that the economic slowdown exceeded expectations. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to 2.435%.
  • Europe: Germany’s manufacturing purchasing managers’ index fell to 44.7, which was lower than that of Eurozone, 47.6. Moreover, new orders of Germany fell to the lowest level since August 2012. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 6 basis points to 0.072%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The United States imposed sanctions on Iran and Venezuela, and the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries led the cuts in production, causing oil prices rise. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 1.86% to close at $60.14 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: Most of the global economic data is weak. The market is worried that the global economic recession will drag down the stock market, supporting the currency. For the whole week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.655% to 97.284.
  • China: According to Xinhua News Agency, the trade negotiations held in Beijing last week has made a new progress and has discussed the relevant texts of the agreement. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.006% against the US dollar to 6.713.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US President Trump said that if the Fed didn’t raise interest rates, the US GDP will be higher and the market will be “in a better position”.
  • U.S: Quarles, vice chairman of the Federal Reserve, said that he is optimistic about the prospects of the US economy and may need to raise interest rates later, he claimed that he would not worry about the issue of inverted yield curve.
  • U.S: US consumer spending has increased by 0.1% in January, which is lower than expected. Besides, the Fed’s forecast of no interest rate hike this year is strengthened since the inflation rate is quite low.
  • Euro-zone: The British Parliament vetoed Prime Minister Theresa May’s Brexit agreement for the third time last Friday. The risk of Hard Brexit increased.
  • Euro-zone: The 2018 GDP of UK slowdown to 1.4%, which was the lowest level since 2012 and it is far below the 1.8% increase in 2017. During the period, service industry output has rose by 1.9% year-on-year.
  • Euro-zone: The Italian National Statistical Office announced that the initial value of Italy’s Consumer Price Index (CPI) rose by 1% year-on-year in March, which was similar with market expectations.
  • Japan: Nikkei/Markit data shows that the final value of the manufacturing purchasing managers’ index (PMI) in Japan increased from the previous value of 48.9 to 49.2 in March, which is similar with market expectations.
  • Japan: According to the Bank of Japan’s Tankan survey data, Japan’s first-quarter short-term large-scale manufacturing sentiment judgment index dropped from 19 to 12, which was the largest decline since December 2012 and was lower than the market expectation of 13.
  • Singapore: Statistics from the Singapore Bureau of Statistics show that Singapore’s Producer Price Index (PPI) rose by 0.7% in February this year; the year-on-year decline was narrowed to 1.4% from the previous value of 3.2%.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Chinese Vice Premier Liu He will visit the United States on Wednesday to continue the economic and trade consultation. According to Xinhua News Agency, the trade negotiations held in Beijing last week have made a new progress and have discussed the relevant texts of the agreement.
• The Chinese Ministry of Finance said that China will continue to suspend tariffs on US autos and auto parts since April 1, which creates a good atmosphere for trade negotiations between the two countries.

Where should we go after 1Q 2019?

Again and again, market is full of surprises and the first three months of 2019 surprised most investors as usual. Global stock markets flipped to hero from antagonist and ended on a high note by end-1Q 2019. The S&P 500 index posted its best quarter since 2009, having jumped 13.1% and leaving the index only 3% off its all-time peak in October last year. Other investments from junk bonds to commodities have also bounced back from their dismal end to 2018. The turn was driven by a dovish shift in rhetoric from major central banks, in particular by the pause in the Fed’s hiking cycle, which may help extend the U.S. economic expansion by some more years. Besides, concern over a trade war eased too, while policy stimulus from China is expected to provide a boost to the Asia-Pacific region. Overall, the recession concerns look overdone last year, and the global cycle conditions are improving at the margin over the last three months. 

Let’s see how different assets perform in 1Q 2019 (in US$):

Equities:

  • The S&P 500 index surged by 13.7%
  • Nasdaq jumped by 16.8%
  • MSCI EAFE index rose by 10.2%
  • MSCI Europe index increased by 10.7%
  • MSCI EM index up by 9.9%
  • Shanghai Shenzhen CSI 300 index escalated by 31.8%
  • MSCI Asia Pacific index rose by 10.8%

Bonds:

  • Bloomberg Barclays Capital Aggregate Bond Index up by 2.94%
  • S&P U.S. Treasury Bond 10-Year Index up by 3.13%
  • JP Morgan Emerging Markets Bond Index EMBI Global Core USD up by 9.28%
  • Barclays US Corporate High Yield Total Return Index up by 7.26%

Commodities:

  • Gold up by 0.7%
  • Crude Oil WTI up by 32.4%
  • Copper gained 11.1%

Figure 1. Global Performance Across Assets – Total Return (US$)

Source: Bloomberg, Noble Apex/iFund

Sounds great? Equities, bonds and commodities all have excellent performance in 1Q 2019, which is relatively unusual in particular when we see a positive correlation between equities and bonds at current late stage of the cycle. The occurrence of this is likely due to excessive market pessimism last year, which drove mispricing across different assets, while at the same time this also indicates that investor expectations are very diverse in current market given that today’s cycle has been so different from previous experiences.

However, the positive performance and correlation for bonds and equities are unlikely to last for a long time in our view. The rally since January has already taken the global equities markets back to above long-run average level, which imply low but positive earnings growth (i.e. 3.5% global GDP growth) and therefore, leaving little room for another leg up over the remainder of the year as global growth is less likely to accelerate drastically this or next year. For US equities, with valuation stable and margins flat to slightly down, the upside for it will be more dependent on “sales driven” earnings and dividend growth, which we think is reasonable fair at around 6% earnings growth for the S&P500 in 2019 (vs. 22% in 2018).

On the other hand, the recent fall in bond yields has been mostly driven by real yields coming down on rising growth concerns rather than falling inflation expectation. The decline in long-term rates but not short rate has led to recent inversion of yield curve for the 3-month and 10-year Treasury. Despite an impending recession is far from assured at current stage, we believe the Fed hiking cycles is mostly completed and a rate cut is more likely than a hike in future, which should continue to bode well for US. treasury. We are less positive on US high yield, Germany and Japanese bond as they are relatively expensive with yields well below fair value.

Nevertheless, the first quarter was a good lesson and reminder for us of taking a long-term perspective on investments, while opportunities always emerges after periods of disappointment. Instead of trying to time the market, investing is actually about time in the market systematically. Investors should always to keep his portfolio with an appropriate mix of quality investment so that you can stay invested in different market environments.

 

為何一隻波音 已拖住道指?

波音737 MAX8型號飛機在5個月內出現兩次嚴重空難,波音公司股價在上周逆市大跌43.55美元(10.3%),直接拖累道指蒸發了295.29點…..

美匯指數或已見頂

上星期,美國聯邦儲備局發表聲明,放鴿程度超出預期。去年12月點陣圖顯示預期今年加息兩次,可是本月點陣圖已推算今年不再加息…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第802期)- 2019第一季度市場回顧及展望

2019-04-01 11:34
分享
  • 分享

2019年4月1日 第802期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國財長姆欽(Steven Mnuchin)稱今輪中美貿易談判具建設性,投資者憧憬升溫。全週計,道指升1.67%,報25,928.68點。標普500指數升1.20%,報點2,834.40。納指升1.13%,報7,729.32點。
  • 歐洲:英國首相文翠珊的脫歐草案第三度遭國會否決,這個市場早已作出心理準備的結果,對股市投資氣氛的影響不大。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.99%,德國DAX指數升1.42%,法國CAC40指數升1.53%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.81%,報379.09點。
  • 亞洲: 日本今年第一季短觀大型製造業景氣判斷指數由19,急降至12,令市場憂慮。全週計,日經225指數跌1.95%,報21,205.81點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.96 %,報159.81點。

債券

  • 美國:美國第4季GDP終值,按季折合成年率增長2.2%,較初值下調了0.4個百分點,反映經濟放緩幅度超出預期。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報2.435%。
  • 歐元區:德國的製造業採購經理指數便降至44.7,較歐元區整體的47.6更低。另外,德國的新訂單跌至2012年8月的低位。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌6個基點,報0.072%。

商品

  • 油價:美國對伊朗同委內瑞拉實施制裁,以及石油輸出國組織主導減產,令油價上升。全週計,紐約期油升1.86%,收報每桶60.14美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:全球經濟數據大多偏弱,市場憂慮全球經濟衰退拖累股市,對避險貨幣有支持。全週計,美匯指數升0.655%,報97.284。
  • 中國:據報道指,上周在北京舉行的貿易談判取得新進展,討論了協議有關文本。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.006%,報6.713。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普加大了對聯儲會的施壓,稱如果不是聯儲會「錯誤加息」,美國GDP將會更高,市場會「處於更好的地位」。
  • 美國:聯儲會副主席Quarles表示,對美國經濟的前景保持樂觀,在某個時刻可能需要進一步加息;不擔心殖利率曲線倒掛問題。
  • 美國:美國1月份消費支出環比增長0.1%,低於預期;通膨指標追平2016年底以來最小同比漲幅,加強了聯儲會今年不加息的預測。
  • 歐元區:英國議會上周五第三次否決了首相特里莎·梅的脫歐協議,英國4月12日無協議脫歐的風險升高。
  • 歐元區:累計2018年全年,英國GDP終值確認年增放緩至1.4%,為2012年以來最低,遠低於2017年的升1.8%。期內,服務業產出按年仍升1.9%。
  • 歐元區:意大利國家統計局公布,意大利3月消費物價指數(CPI)初值按年維持升1%,符合市場預期。
  • 日本:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,日本今年3月製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)終值意外上修,由前值48.9,回升至49.2,符合市場預期。
  • 日本:日本央行短觀調查數據顯示,日本今年第一季短觀大型製造業景氣判斷指數由19,急降至12,跌幅為2012年12月以來最大,不及市場預期的13。
  • 新加坡:新加坡統計局數據顯示,新加坡今年2月生產者價格指數(PPI)按月升0.7%;按年跌幅由前值跌3.2%收窄至1.4%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國副總理劉鶴定於周三訪問美國,繼續經貿磋商。另據新華社報道稱,上周在北京舉行的貿易談判取得新進展,討論了協議有關文本。

• 中國財政部稱中國自4月1日起將繼續暫停對美國汽車及汽車零組件加征關稅,繼續為兩國貿易磋商創造良好氛圍。

2019第一季度市場回顧及展望

市場總是充滿驚喜,2019年第一季度再次讓不少投資專家大跌眼鏡。全球股票市場從2018時旳反派角色突然變成英雄,在一季度末以高位結束。標準普爾500指數創下自2009年以來的最佳季度,上漲13.1%,並較去年10月份的歷史高點僅低約3%。從垃圾債券到大宗商品的其他投資也從慘淡的2018年反彈回到高位。主要由於全球央行鴿聲四起,特別是美聯儲暫停加息週期,將有助延長美國經濟週期擴張。此外,中美貿易戰也有所放緩,而中國早前的刺激經濟措施預計亦將推動國內及亞太地區經濟復甦。從目前來看,去年市場對經濟衰退的憂慮實在過於悲觀,全球經濟於過去三個月中初見企穩。

讓我們看看2019年第一季度不同資產的表現如何:

股票:

  •  標準普爾500指數飆升13.1%
  •  納斯達克指數上漲16.5%
  •  MSCI EAFE指數上漲8.5%
  •  MSCI歐洲指數上漲10.5%
  •  MSCI新興市場指數上漲9.0%
  • MSCI中國A股指數上漲30.9%
  •  MSCI亞洲指數上漲8.9%

債券:

  • 彭博巴克萊資本綜合債券指數上漲2.94%
  • 標準普爾美國國債10年期指數上漲3.13%
  • 摩根大通新興市場債券指數EMBI Global Core -USD上漲9.28%
  • 巴克萊美國企業高收益總回報指數上漲7.26%

商品:

  • 黃金上漲1.2%
  • 原油WTI上漲31.4%
  • 銅上漲11.1%

圖一 各類資產第一季度表現比較 (美元)

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

看起來不錯?股票,債券及商品於2019年第一季皆表現出色,這情況實屬罕見,特別是在經濟周期後段中發生。我們相信是由於去年市場過度悲觀,導致不同資產的價格過低;同時亦顯示出不同投資者對當前市況的預期有很大的明顯差異,正正反映出今天的經濟周期與以往大不相同。

然而,我們認為債券和股票的正表現及相關性並不太可能持續很長時間。自1月份以來的反彈已經使全球股市回到長期平均水平之上,當前股值反映未來盈利增長處於溫和水平(即預計全球GDP增長率大約為3.5%),意味著股市今後的上升空間將受制於全球經濟復甦水平。對於美國股市,由於預期估值將維持穩定且利潤率持平甚至略有下降,美股的上行空間將更依賴於由 “營收增長” 所帶動的盈利及股息增長。市場預期2019年標普500指數的盈利增長為6%(與2018年的22%相比),我們認為大致合理。

另一方面,最近債券收益率下跌主要是由於對經濟增長擔憂,導致實際收益率下降而不是由於通脹預期下降所致,加上長期債息利率下降而短期利率不變的情況下,造成最近美國3個月及10年期國債的收益率曲線出現倒掛。儘管於目前階段去判斷美國是否將於未來一至兩年發生經濟衰退還是言之過早,但我們較相信美聯儲的加息週期基本已經完結,而未來降息的可能性將大於重新加息,這將利好美國國債。對於美國高收益債,德國及日本債券,由於相對昂貴及收益率遠低於公允價值,我們的看法則較保守。

今年一季度的經驗再次讓投資者上了寶貴的一課,提醒我們須從長遠的角度看待投資,而好的投資機會總是在市場過度失望後出現。預測市場時機(Market timing) 並非是投資者良好的長遠投資方式,相反保持長期的系統性投資 (time in the market) , 及持有適當優質的投資組合才是王道,以便讓您可以在不同的市況下投資。

為何一隻波音 已拖住道指?

波音737 MAX8型號飛機在5個月內出現兩次嚴重空難,波音公司股價在上周逆市大跌43.55美元(10.3%),直接拖累道指蒸發了295.29點…..

美匯指數或已見頂

上星期,美國聯邦儲備局發表聲明,放鴿程度超出預期。去年12月點陣圖顯示預期今年加息兩次,可是本月點陣圖已推算今年不再加息…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。