iFund- A 10-year review for U.S. bull market

2019-03-19 10:02
Share
  • Share

All in all, it has been hardly possible to know the beginning nor ending of a bull market. As we mentioned before, business and stock market cycles do not die from old age alone, but they have unravelled as a result of financial extremes, debt crises, war, economic shocks or even excessive monetary policy changes.

featured

The unstoppable US bull market has just celebrated its tenth-year birthday last week, the longest equity bull market in U.S. history. Although this anniversary deserves a bit of an asterisk as the S&P 500 hasn’t closed above a record high since Sep 20, meaning that the bull could be already over last year. Nevertheless, general Wall Street believes that it might not be the time to exit the market altogether as recession risks remain low given the lack of significant inflationary pressures and financial imbalances. The US equities could still reach another record-high and expect to generate a mid-to-high-single digit annualized return over the next few years.

Looking back the last 10 years, despite the current bull market is not the strongest on record, the US equites has been by far the best performing asset in this cycle, significantly outperforming most other equity markets. The S&P 500 has more than quadrupled from the devil’s bottom of 666 (day-low) in March 9th 2009. The Dow has hyped by almost 300% and the Nasdaq has skyrocketed by nearly 5 times. The remarkable return reflects the slow-but-steady recovery in the economy as aided by the U.S. Federal Reserve’s extraordinary easing through asset purchases and rock-bottom interest rate. Besides, record corporate profits, tax reform and all-time high of stock buybacks activities have further drive up the US equities market.

Figure 1. US has been one of the best performing assets in current cycle

Source: Bloomberg, Noble Apex/iFund

Other interesting findings from the 10-year bull market in S&P 500:

    1. 1% annualized return for S&P 500 during the past decade, as S&P 500 has climbed by 306% in price. If including dividends, the annualized return would be 17.5% (i.e. 401% total return).
    2. Earnings growth was the key index driver. In contrast to previous cycles, where revenue growth was a key driver, earnings have driven about 73% of the 10-year gain in the S&P 500 index as trailing EPS jumped by 140% during the period. On the other hand, revenue increased by 43% and contributed 22% of the index gain, while margin expansion (by nearly 5%) contributed 28% of the rise. Only 19% of the index gain was led by forward P/E multiple expansion (10x to 16x).
    3. Technology sector has played a key role, which has a higher weight in the US market compared to other regions, contributed 22% of the index return during the last 10 years. Again, earnings growth accounting for 75% of the return, which have nearly tripled over the past decade. However, recent data shows that tech sector was not the most crowd sector anymore as fund manager positioning has gone back to May 2016 level.
    4. Financial sector is the second largest contributor, accounting for 15% of the index gain and earning growth was the key driver again.

     

    Figure 2. I.T sector is the key driver for S&P 500 in the last 10 years

    Source: FactSet, Noble Apex/iFund

    1. 10 stocks have accounted for almost 25% of the 10-year index return, namely Apple (5% of index return), Microsoft (4.2%), Amazon (2.2%), JPMorgan (1.7%), Johnson & Johnson (1.7%), Boeing Company (1.5%), Home Depot (1.5%), Intel (1.5%), UnitedHealth Group (1.2%) and Cisco System (1.2%).
    2. Yield gap is higher in current bull market, at 350 bp (6.1% S&P earnings yield vs. 2.6% 10- Year US Treasury yield) vs. 250 bp of the 40-year average.

     

    All in all, it has been hardly possible to know the beginning nor ending of a bull market. As we mentioned before, business and stock market cycles do not die from old age alone, but they have unravelled as a result of financial extremes, debt crises, war, economic shocks or even excessive monetary policy changes.

Funds related to US Equities

JPM US Technology Fund A Dis USD
Threadneedle (Lux) American Fund DU Acc EUR
Threadneedle (Lux) American Select Fund DU Acc EUR
Aberdeen Standard SICAV I – North American Equity Fund D2 Acc GBP
Franklin Technology fund A Acc USD
Parvest Equity USA Growth Classic Cap USD
Fidelity Funds – American Growth Fund A Dis USD
Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund A Acc USD
BlackRock Global Funds – US Growth Fund A2 Acc USD
Invesco US Equity Fund A Dis USD

Disclaimer:
Investment involves risk. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. Fund prices may move down or up, may fluctuate dramatically, and may become valueless. It is as likely that losses will be incurred rather than profit made as a result of buying and selling funds. Some funds are denominated in RMB which are currently not freely convertible, and are thus subject to risks associated with RMB including RMB foreign exchange risk, RMB hedging risk, offshore RMB (“CNH”) market risk and RMB trading and settlement of fund units risk. Funds which are invested in emerging markets and smaller companies may also involve a higher degree of risk and are usually more sensitive to price movements. Before making any investment decision, investors should carefully read the prospectus and the offering document for further details. Investors should undertake their own research and study before trade or invest. Investors should carefully consider whether trading or investments are suitable in light of their own financial positions and investment objectives, and understand that they shall be wholly responsible for their investments. Investors are advised to seek independent financial and professional advice before trade or invest. This document has been prepared by Noble Apex Advisors Ltd and unless the context requires otherwise is intended for information purpose only and does not constitute any offer, invitation, solicitation, advice or recommendation to any person to enter into any investment, nor does it constitute any prediction of likely future performance of an investment, and nor a distribution of information for any such purpose. The document contents are prepared and issued by Noble Apex Advisors Limited. Informational sources are considered reliable but you should conduct your own verification of information contained herein. This document and advertisements contained herein have not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

iFund- 美股十年牛市回顧

2019-03-19 10:02
分享
  • 分享

要準確預測牛市開始或終結幾乎是一個不可能的任務。 正如我們過往所述,經濟及股市週期不會僅僅因為年老而死亡,而只會在金融風暴、債務危機、戰爭、或過緊的貨幣政策下所導致。投資者應經常保持理性分析,建立一個切合自己的長遠投資組合,因應變化而增減股票比例,但不宜完全套現,以避免因錯失入市時機而導致股票佔比長期偏低。

featured

上星期3月9日是美股牛市十週年紀念日,是美國歷史上最長牛市。 雖然我們對於十週年這種說法仍存疑問,標普500指數牛市是否自9月20日以來創新高後已經結束,還是仍有力再闖高峰,將要留待日後才有分曉。華爾街一般相信在良好的通脹壓力及缺乏重大金融失衡的情況下,美國經濟衰退風險仍然偏低,而美股將再創歷史新高,並預計未來幾年能帶來中至高個位數的年度回報。

回顧過去10年,儘管目前牛市若以升幅計並非歷史之最,但美股是十年以來表現最佳的資產之一,並明顯優於其他股市。 標普500指數從09年3月9日的魔鬼底部666點(當日低位)至今翻約四倍多,道指亦升幅近300%,而納指更飆升近5倍。從美國量化寬鬆、低利率、企業利潤創新高,到後來的稅務改革、股票回購等利好因素進一步推升股市上漲。

圖一. 美股是十年以來表現最佳的資產之一

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

美股10年牛市的其他重要發現:

  1. 過去十年標準普爾500指數的年回報率為15.1,以價格計上漲幅度達306%。但若包括股息,年回報則更高達17.5%(即總回報為401%)。
  2. 盈利增長是驅動指數的關鍵因素。與過往牛市以營收增長為主要動力,本輪牛市73%的升幅則以盈利增長所帶動,期內標普500指數每股盈利增長約140%。另一方面,約22%及28%分局由營收增長(約43%) 及利潤率改善(增長近5%)所推動。相反只有19%的指數升幅是由於遠期市盈率 (Forward P/E) 擴張所致(從10倍至16倍)。反映此輪牛市整體受基本因素所支持,並未出現太多非理性的升幅。
  3. 資訊科技板塊是十年升市火車頭,而與其他地區相比,資訊科技板塊佔美股的權重亦更高。在過去10年中貢獻指數升幅達22%,並約75%的升幅是由盈利增長所推動(十年盈利增長兩倍多)。然而,最近的數據顯示,部份基金經理於科技股的倉位已回調至2016年5月的水平,反映現市場部署較為防守性。
  4. 金融業是第二大貢獻者,佔指數升幅的15%,盈利增長再次成為關鍵驅動因素。

圖二. 資訊科技板塊是十年升市火車頭

資料來源: Factset、iFund/御峰理財

  1. 約25%的指數升幅由10隻股票所推動,包括蘋果(貢獻指數升幅約5%),微軟(4.2%),亞馬遜(2.2%),摩根大通(1.7%),強生( 1.7%),波音公司(1.5%),Home Depot (1.5%),英特爾(1.5%),UnitedHealth Group(1.2%)和Cisco System(1.2%)。
  2. 當前牛市的 (Yield Gap) 差距較大,為350個基點(標普收益率earning yield為6.1%,10年期國債收益率為2.6%),而40年平均值為250個基點。反映美股與歷史比較並不昂貴。

要準確預測牛市開始或終結幾乎是一個不可能的任務。 正如我們過往所述,經濟及股市週期不會僅僅因為年老而死亡,而只會在金融風暴、債務危機、戰爭、或過緊的貨幣政策下所導致。投資者應經常保持理性分析,建立一個切合自己的長遠投資組合,因應變化而增減股票比例,但不宜完全套現,以避免因錯失入市時機而導致股票佔比長期偏低。

與美國股票相關的基金

JPM 美國科技基金 A類 Dis 美元
天利(盧森堡) – 美國基金 DU類 Acc 歐元
天利 (盧森堡) – 美國選擇基金 DU類 Acc 歐元
安本標準 – 北美股票基金 D2 類 Acc 英鎊
富蘭克林科技基金 A類 Acc 美元
法巴美國增長股票基金經典 Cap 美元
富達基金 – 美國增長基金 A類 Dis 美元
富蘭克林美國機會基金 A類 Acc 美元
貝萊德全球基金 – 美國增長型基金A2 類Acc 美元
景順美國股票基金 A類 Dis 美元

免責條款
投資涉及風險,過往表現並非未來表現的指標。基金價格可跌可升,可能非常反覆,甚至變成毫無價值。一般情況下,買賣基金未必可賺取利潤,反而會蒙受損失。某些基金須承受與人民幣不可自由兌換的風險,包括人民幣外匯風險、人民幣對沖風險、境外人民幣市場風險及人民幣買賣及基金單位結算的風險。投資於新興市場及小型企業之基金可能比一般已發展市場涉及較高風險,並通常對價格變動較敏感。投資者在作出任何投資決定前,應仔細閱讀章程及發售文件。在進行交易或投資前,投資者應負責本身的資料蒐集及研究。投資者必須自行決定交易是否適合自身財務狀況及投資目標,並應明白對其投資必須承擔全部責任。建議投資者在作出買賣或投資決定前尋求獨立財務及專業意見。本文由御峰理財有限公司刊發,除非情況另有所指,否則僅供參考之用,並不構成對任何人進行任何投資的要約、邀請、徵求、意見或建議,也不構成對投資未來表現的任何預測,及也不是分佈訊息以達成任何這樣的目的。本文內容由御峰理財有限公司編制及發出,資料均來自被認為可靠之來源,但你應該自行核實有關資料。本文內容及廣告沒有被香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會審閱。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。