Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 799- Rebalancing strategy in portfolio management

2019-03-11 04:36
Share
  • Share

11 March 2019 Issue 799

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The US employment report for February was released last week. The number of new jobs in non-agricultural sector was only 20,000, which was far below the expected value. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 2.21% to 25,450.24 points. The S&P 500 index fell by 2.16% to close at 2,743.07. The Nasdaq fell by 2.46% to 7,408.14.
  • Europe: The EU central bank postponed the expected rate hike and lowered the euro zone economic forecast for this year drastically . Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.03%, the German DAX index fell by 1.24%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 0.65%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 0.98% for the week to 370.57 points.
  • Asia: Harada, Japan central bank’s deliberation committee, claimed that if the economic deterioration makes it difficult to achieve the 2% inflation target, the central bank should relax monetary policy at once. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 2.67% to 21,025.56 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 1.87% to 156.10 points.

Bonds

  • US: The European Central Bank has lowered its economic growth forecast drastically and postponed the interest rate hike expectation. The price of European debt and US debt rose while the bond yield dropped. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 12 basis points to 2.634%.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank reduced its economic growth forecast drastically and postponed the interest rate hike expectation. The European bond prices increased while the yield dropped. For the whole week, the yield on German 10-year bonds fell by 12 basis points to 0.067%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The tension on the Sino-US trade war have eased and are expected to reach an agreement, market panic on this issue is reduced. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 0.48 percent to  $56.07 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The European Central Bank postponed the expected rate hike and significantly reduced the Eurozone economic forecast this year, which benefits the Dollar Index. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.807% to 97.306.
  • China: The China exports in February fell by 16.6% year-on-year (in terms of renminbi), far below market expectations of an increase of 7.1%, pushing down the renminbi value. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.250% against the US dollar at 6.721.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US President Trump clsimed that if the Sino-US trade agreement is reached, the US stock market will increased significantly. Kudlow said that Trump and Xi Jinping will meet in this month or next month and remain optimistic towards the progress of Sino-US trade negotiations.
  • U.S: Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said that the interest rate should be maintained at the current level, and the Fed should keep an eye on the overseas’ economic situation.
  • U.S: White House economic adviser Kudlow still expects the US economy may have  a 3% growth rate in 2019 and beyond. Also, he is looking forward to Trump’s 2020 budget proposal, and has dispelled his concerns about rising US budget deficits .
  • U.S: The number of new non-agricultural employment in the United States in February was only 20,000, which is the lowest level within last year. However, the average hourly wage rose by 3.4% year-on-year.
  • Euro-zone: Officials of European Central Bank (ECU) officials emphasized that the introduction of new long-term loans and the prospect guidance revision are appropriate responses to the Eurozone economic slowdown.
  • Euro-zone: Britain rejects the EU’s latest Brexit proposal, and described it as “disappointing”. Prime Minister Theresa May said that if the parliament rejects her Brexit agreement in this week’s vote, the UK may never leave the EU.
  • Euro-zone: The Italian Statistical Office announced that the growth rate of Italy’s domestic industrial producer price index (PPI) slowed down from 5.2% to 4.4% in January.
  • Japan: According to the Japanese Cabinet Office’s survey, Japan’s service industry index rose from 45.6 in January to 47.5 in Feburary (after the seasonal adjustment), which is better than the market expectation of 46.2.
  • Japan: The Cabinet Office of Japan announced that Japan’s real gross domestic product (GDP) in the fourth quarter of last year was revised up by 0.2 percentage points to 0.5% after seasonal adjustments, which is better than the market expectation.
  • South Korea: According to Conference Board data, South Korea’s Leading Economic Index (LEI) in January 2019 rose 0.3% month-on-month to 103.8, the highest level within the last seven months.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Yi Gang, Chinese central bank governor, claimed on last Sunday that there is still some room for lowering the country’s reserve requirement ratio.
• Both the value of China’s new RMB loans and social financing in February were less than expected, and shadow banking system was sluggish, especially the bill financing was shrank significantly compared to last month.

Rebalancing strategy in portfolio management

Rebalancing is an important topic in asset allocation. Rebalancing refers to adjusting portfolio weights to a level similar with that of strategic asset allocation. Rebalancing is needed since portfolio weights may deviate from the original strategic asset allocation ratio over time and new assets may need to be added into the portfolio when bonds matured.

Besides, rebalancing also need to be conducted timely according to investors’ own conditions, including goals, age, etc. This kind of rebalancing is not only track with the strategic asset allocation, but also need to be conducted under the clients’ monitoring.

 

Why portfolio rebalancing is required

Firstly, rebalancing can avoid investors taking on unanticipated or unplanned risks. Secondly, rebalancing can ensure that portfolio positions are in the most familiar and professional areas of investment managers.

 

Advantages and disadvantages of rebalancing

In terms of portfolio management, rebalancing brings both benefits and costs. The benefit is rebalancing can adjust investors’ portfolio weights back to the optimal ratio, achieving the goal of maximization of utility. Meanwhile, rebalancing can prevent portfolios deviating from strategic portfolio allocations, avoiding investors bearing on unanticipated losses. However, investors need to be bear in mind that rebalancing involves transactions, and different transaction costs may be generated depending on various financial instruments.

Apart from the benefits and costs of rebalancing, a disciplined rebalancing portfolio may have lower risk while higher potential returns. Empirical studies have shown that as long as transaction costs are low enough, rebalancing can create a diversified portfolio, in which can take advantage of the different asset correlation coefficients to increase potential returns. Also, additional returns can be gained by using derivatives to construct and rebalance portfolios, such as selling the out-of-the-money options.

 

Common rebalancing strategies

In practice, there is no optimal rebalancing rule. In general, common rebalancing methods include calendar rebalancing, percentage-of-portfolio rebalancing, and constant proportional portfolio insurance (CPPI). Calendar rebalancing works by returning portfolio’s allocations to target weights on a periodic basis. Generally, the monitoring cost of calendar rebalancing is relatively lower than the other methods. However, the portfolio weights may significantly deviate from the strategic asset allocation under the volatile period.

Percentage-of-portfolio rebalancing is similar with the risk-control measures. Rebalancing is needed when the portfolio’s asset ratio exceeds the width of corridor, the portfolio will adjust the weight of the asset. This strategy helps investors manage their portfolio risk.

CPPI is a strategy that may dynamically adjust the proportion of risk assets and risk-adverse assets based on changes in portfolio values. The criteria of this strategy is less clear than the other two methods. Detailed introduction of CPPI would be discussed in the next article.

 

How to set the optimal width of corridor

Percentage-of-portfolio rebalancing is worth to learn since it helps to manage portfolio risks. “How to determine the width of corridor?” It is a common query of many investors. In theory, there are several factors that might affect the optimal width of corridor, including transaction costs, risk tolerance, correlation of assets within portfolio, and the volatility of assets in portfolio. Investors can take the below table as a reference to develop their own optimal corridor.

Factors affecting the optimal width of corridor

3月有中國特色的兩會效應

每年3月上旬,北京特別熱鬧,全國人民代表大會和中國人民政治協商會議(即是簡稱的兩會或全國兩會)同時在北京召開。兩會是一年一度集中討論和檢討中國重要政治經濟政策和更換領導的活動…..

從供應數字看香港樓市

去年12月底,政府公佈《長遠房屋策略》2018年周年進度報告,指2019-20 至 2028-29 年度十年期的房屋供應目標應介乎 42.5萬 至 46.5萬 個單位之間,中點數為 44.5萬 個單位,但官方以四捨五入後的45萬個單位作供應目標…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第799期)- 組合管理中的再平衡策略

2019-03-11 04:36
分享
  • 分享

2019年3月11日 第799期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國上週公布2月就業報告,非農業新增職位只得2萬個,數字遠遜預期。全週計,道指跌2.21%,報25,450.24點。標普500指數跌2.16%,報點2,743.07。納指跌2.46%,報7,408.14點。
  • 歐洲:央行押後預期加息步伐,並大幅降低今年歐元區經濟預測。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.03%,德國DAX指數跌1.24%,法國CAC40指數跌0.65%。STOXX 600指數全週跌0.98%,報370.57點。
  • 亞洲: 日本央行審議委員原田泰表示,若經濟惡化令實現2%通脹目標變得困難,央行應毫不拖延地放寬貨幣政策。全週計,日經225指數跌2.67%,報21,025.56點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌1.87%,報156.10點。

債券

  • 美國:美國國債價格上升,歐央行大降經濟增長預測及押後加息預期,歐債上升帶動美債向上,推低美債孳息率。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌12個基點,報2.634 %。
  • 歐元區:歐央行大幅降低經濟增長預測及押後加息預期,歐債價格上升推低孳息率。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌12個基點,報0.067%。

商品

  • 油價:中美貿易緊張局勢出現緩和,並有望達成協議,市場擔憂減低。全週計,紐約期油升0.48 %,收報每桶56.07美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:歐洲央行押後預期加息步伐,並大幅降低今年歐元區經濟預測,推動美匯指數。全週計,美匯指數升0.807%,報 97.306。
  • 中國:以人民幣計,2月出口按年下降16.6%,遠遜於市場預期的增長7.1%,壓低人民幣。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.250%,報6.721。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普表示,如果美中達成貿易協議,美國股市將大幅飆升。庫德洛稱,特朗普與習近平或於本月或下月會面,對美中貿易協議依然樂觀。
  • 美國:聯儲會主席鮑威爾表示,利率可以繼續維持現有水平,由此可以靜觀海外形勢如何發展。
  • 美國:白宮經濟顧問庫德洛仍預計美國經濟在2019年及以後仍可以維持3%的增速;展望周一即將發布的特朗普2020年預算提案,他也打消了對美國預算赤字不斷上升的擔憂。
  • 美國:美國2月新增非農就業人數僅為2萬人,創一年多以來最低水平,但平均時薪同比上升3.4%。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行官員強調出台新長期貸款和修訂前瞻指引是對歐元區經濟放緩的適當回應。
  • 歐元區:英國拒絕歐盟最新的脫歐妥協提議,稱之為「令人失望的」;首相特里莎·梅表示,如果議會在本周的投票中拒絕她的脫歐協議,則英國可能永遠不會離開歐盟。
  • 歐元區:意大利統計局公布,意大利今年1月國內工業生產者價格指數(PPI)按年升幅由前值升5.2%放緩至4.4%。
  • 日本:日本內閣府調查顯示,經季節調整後,日本今年2月服務業現況指數終止連跌兩個月,由1月所創兩年半低位45.6,回升至47.5,優於市場預期46.2。不過,服務業景氣指數由1月的49.4下跌至48.9。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,經季節調整後,日本去年第四季實際國內生產總值(GDP)上修0.2個百分點環比恢復增長0.5%,優於市場預期。
  • 南韓:諮商會(Conference Board)數據顯示,南韓2019年1月諮商會領先指標(LEI)按月續升0.3%,報103.8,創至少七個月高。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國央行行長易綱在周日召開的兩會新聞發布會上表示,未來下調存准率仍有一定空間,但較前幾年小。

• 中國2月新增人民幣貸款和社會融資規模增量均不及預期,影子銀行不振,尤其票據融資較上月明顯萎縮。

組合管理中的再平衡策略

在資產配置中,再平衡是一個重要的主題。再平衡,是指調整組合比重至戰略資產配置的比例。由於資產價格變動,組合比重會偏離原定的戰略資產配置比例,而債券到期亦需要投資者重新加入新資產。

另一方面,廣義再平衡亦包括根據投資者的狀況,例如目標、年齡等因素,適時調整資產比重。這種再平衡就不只涉及資產配置,亦包含客戶持續監控。

為什麼組合要再平衡

首先再平衡確保投資者避免承擔非預期或計劃中的風險。其次,再平衡可以確保組合倉位位於投資經理最熟悉和專業的領域之中。

再平衡的優點和缺點

再平衡操作對組合管理既存在優點亦存在缺點。優點在於再平衡能令投資者資產比重回到最理想的比例,符合投資者效用最大化的目標。同時,再平衡能夠避免投資組合偏離戰略組合配置,減少投資者非預期的損失。當然,再平衡涉及交易,根據不同的金融工具,每次交易將會產生不同的交易成本。

衡量再平衡的優點和缺點之外,有紀律再平衡投資組合能夠降低風險以及增加潛在回報。實證研究顯示,在交易成本足夠低的時候,再平衡至分散組合能夠最大化利用不同資產相關係數的特徵,從而增加潛在收益。另外,透過衍生工具構建和再平衡投資組合,例如賣出價外期權賺取收益,可以提供額外的回報。

常見的再平衡策略

在實際操作中,並未有最佳的再平衡規則。通常來講,常見再平衡方法包括固定期間再平衡、固定比例再平衡以及固定比例投資組合保險策略(CPPI)。固定期間再平衡是指組合根據預設期間調整資產比重。相對而言,固定期間再平衡監測成本較低,但在市場波動的環境下,組合比例或者大幅偏離戰略組合的比重。

固定比例再平衡更類似控制風險的措施,當資產比例超過容忍區間(Width of Corridor),組合將會調整資產比重。這種策略有助投資者管理組合風險。

CPPI是根據投資組合價值水平變化動態調整風險資產和無風險資產投資比例的策略。這種策略較不如前兩者直觀,筆者將於下期一文詳細介紹CPPI。

如何設定最佳容忍區間

既然固定比例再平衡策略具有管理組合風險的特徵,這種策略較固定期間再平衡更值得學習。不過,投資者往往會問應該如何確定容忍區間。從理論上講,交易成本、風險偏好、資產和組合其他資產的相關性、組合其他資產的波動率都會影響最佳容忍區間。投資者可以參考以下表格,制定適合最自己的容忍區間。

容忍區間影響因素

3月有中國特色的兩會效應

每年3月上旬,北京特別熱鬧,全國人民代表大會和中國人民政治協商會議(即是簡稱的兩會或全國兩會)同時在北京召開。兩會是一年一度集中討論和檢討中國重要政治經濟政策和更換領導的活動…..

從供應數字看香港樓市

去年12月底,政府公佈《長遠房屋策略》2018年周年進度報告,指2019-20 至 2028-29 年度十年期的房屋供應目標應介乎 42.5萬 至 46.5萬 個單位之間,中點數為 44.5萬 個單位,但官方以四捨五入後的45萬個單位作供應目標…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。