Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 798- Implication of China A Share’s Inclusion Factor Increase

2019-03-19 10:36
Share
  • Share

04 March 2019 Issue 798

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The Sino-US trade tension is eased and the fear of the Fed raising interest rates have subsided. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 0.02% to 26,026.32 points. The S&P 500 index rose by 0.39% to 2,803.69. The Nasdaq rose by 0.90% to 7,595.35.
  • Europe: European stock markets developed individually. It is reported that the British Prime Minister may give up the disorderly Brexit option. The British pound exchange rate rose and the British stock market fell. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 1.00%, the German DAX index rose by 1.26%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 0.95%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.81% to 374.24 points.
  • Asia: The US-North Korea summit did not reach an agreement, and the market turns to risk aversion. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index rose 0.83% to 21,602.69 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell 0.31% to 159.07.

Bonds

  • US: US monetary policy has turned moderate, capital flows from the bond market to stock market. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield rose by 10 basis points to 2.760%.
  • Europe: The Sino-US trade war is expected to reach an agreement, investors sell the risk-averse assets. Throughout the week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 9 basis points to 0.182%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The US manufacturing data is not satisfactory, causing market anxiety that the economic slowdown will affect crude oil demand and oil prices fell. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 2.55%, to close at $55.80 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: Sino-US trade tensions have eased and it is expected to reach an agreement. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.021% to 96.527.
  • China: The Sino-US trade war is expected to reach an agreement, and the US Federal Reserve will slow down the pace of interest rate hikes. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.246% against the US dollar at 6.704.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: It is reported that the United States and China may reach a trade agreement soon. As long as Beijing fulfills a series of commitments on the intellectual property rights protection and import issue, the United States may lift most or all of the tariffs imposed on China.
  • U.S: The Fed keeps emphasizing the necessary on keeping patience. And it is expected it will focus on the issue of downside risks in the next meeting. Trump is still criticizing the chairman of the Federal Reserve, Powell, who liked to raise interest rates and said the dollar was too strong now.
  • U.S: According to informed news, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York has asked some of the primary dealers about potential new tools to manage interest rates, as the Fed is preparing to stop shrinking its balance sheet.
  • U.S: According to the data from the Institute for Supply Management, the manufacturing index fell from 56.6 to 54.2 in February, hitting the two-year low.
  • Euro-zone: The Bank of England’s data showed that the number of mortgage licenses in the United Kingdom increased from the previous value of 64,500, to 66,800 in January 2019, higher than the market expectations of 63,400.
  • Euro-zone: Eurostat announced that the initial rate of inflation in the euro zone was 1.5% in February this year, higher than the 1.4% of January and it is similar with the market expectations.
  • Euro-zone: Eurostat announced that the unemployment rate in the euro zone was 7.8% in January this year, slightly higher than market expectations. In addition, the unemployment rate was revised down from 7.9% to 7.8% in December last year.
  • Japan: According to data from the Bank of Japan, Japan’s base currency growth slowed to 4.6%, at 493.098 trillion yen, in February year-on-year, hit the five years low.
  • Japan: The Cabinet Office of Japan announced that Japan’s household consumer confidence index fell from the previous value of 41.9 to 41.5 in February, slightly lower than market expectations of 41.6.
  • Australia: The Australian Bureau of Statistics announced that Australia’s corporate profitability in the fourth quarter of 2018 rose for the sixth quarter, but the quarterly growth slowed to 0.8%, lower than market expectations of 3%.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Economists expect that Chinese Premier, Li Keqiang , may lower the expected economic growth target to 6% to 6.5% in the annual government work report on Tuesday.
• The China Securities Regulatory Commission officially released regulations on the science and technology innovation board, which pilots registration-based initial public offerings (IPO) system. The Shanghai Stock Exchange and China Clearing also issued relevant business rules.

Implication of China A Share’s Inclusion Factor Increase

In a widely expected move, the MSCI announced a quadrupling of the inclusion factor for China A-shares from 5% to 20% and the changes will be carried out in 3 phases, 5% increment each in May, August and November, an upside surprise vs. the originally proposed timeline of May 2020. Mid-caps and ChinNext will also be added at this 20% inclusion factor and there will be 253 Large and 168 Mid Cap China A shares, including 27 ChiNext shares in the MSCI Emerging Market Index upon completion of the three-step implementation in end-Nov.

Implications of MSCI’s decision:
1. Impacts to China and regional equity fund would be relatively larger than global funds.

China A-shares weight will increase to 10.4%/4.0%/3.3%/0.4% of MSCI China/Asia ex-Japan (AeJ)/ Emerging Market (EM)/All Country World Index (ACWI) by end-Nov 2019 vs. 2.5%/0.9%/0.8%/0.1% currently on a pro-forma basis.

Figure 1. China A-share weight to increase over 4 times in MSCI indexes

Sources: MSCI, FactSet, Noble Apex/iFund

2. China equities are playing an increasingly important role.

In aggregate, onshore and offshore China equities (China A+H+ADRs) would account for around 35%/39% of EM/Aej and 4% of AC World at a 20% of inclusion factor.

3. Northbound fund flows continue to rise and support the market.

Market generally expects the 15% inclusion factor increase could lead to a US60-75bn of northbound net buying to China A in 2019 (vs. $44bn in 2018, $30bn in 2017 and $9bn in 2016), while Passive/Active inflow mix will be around 20/80. It is expected that the net buying inflow to A-share will further increase in 2020.

4. Record high Northbound inflow YTD.

US$18bn in two months via the northbound Stock Connect scheme, which may partly due to the early positioning of foreign funds before MSCI’s decision.

5. Foreign investors’ impacts to A-share market are increasing.

According to PBoC, foreign investors’ equity holdings stood at around RMB1.15 trillion or 2.4%/6.7% of A share total/free-float cap of the onshore equity market by end-2018 (vs. 0.8%/2.3% in November 2015). Foreign investor as a group has already exceeded insurance companies as the largest A-share holder, and are likely to rival domestic mutual funds soon.

6. Large-cap, Liquid, Consumer and selected industrial and Technology names are foreign investors favourite.

Although the pace of northbound inflow fluctuates over time in response to domestic and international changes, northbound investors are consistently attracted to large-cap and more liquid stocks with an average market cap of US$47bn and US$122mn daily turnover, based on the 50 stocks with the highest northbound fund inflow. In particular, around 40% of Northbound holdings resides in consumer durables and F&B sector, while healthcare, technology and some selected industrial names are favourites too as foreign investors value the steadier growth in China’s consumption and healthcare needs than investment and exports, and the long-term benefits of economic rebalancing. It is expected that these sectors would benefit disproportionately as the inclusion factor continue to rise.

Figure 2. Northbound investors have overweighed consumer sector

Sources: HKEx, Factset, MSCI, Noble Apex/iFund

7. Some losers in the region in short-term.

The lift of China’s weighting in EM and regional index is at the expense of other countries, which would likely to cause the weighting of Southeast Asian to drop accordingly. Outflow from the Philippines is expected to reach US$700 million per Abacus Securities Crop forecasts, while Citi estimates that India could see outflows of up to US$5bn due to A-share inclusion impact by 2025.

8. Further rise of the inclusion factor of China A-share over the next 5 years.

It could become a catalyst for A-share market re-rating. However, the weight increases beyond 20% would require Chinese authorities to address a number of remaining market accessibility questions, including permitting the listing of index future and other derivatives on onshore and offshore exchanges as well as making improvement in the settlement cycle, trading holidays and omnibus account structures.

9. At full 100% inclusion.

China A shares would account of more than 16% of the MSCI Emerging Markets Index and more than 20% of the Russell Emerging Market Index. Overall, China equities altogether will account for over 40% and 50% of the two indices.

To sum up, MSCI’s decision to raise the A-share inclusion factor represents a very important step for the opening of China to international investment. Increasing foreign investors’ participation should help reduce market volatility and improve pricing discovery in the A-share market as foreign investors generally take a longer-term and more fundamentals-based approach to investing than the more sentiment-driven China domestic retail investors. Besides, it would a good incentive for local companies to improve the corporate governance as well as the transparency to align with the shareholders’ interest.

強積金設計先天不足

金融發展局上周發表的「強制性公積金制度的未來路向」報告,分析現有制度的問題,指出供款不足、計劃選擇不多、投資限制過嚴過窄、行政架構失效、理財教育不足、退休產品欠奉、獨立監管不夠,以及有關條例過時…..

如何規劃退休預算?

香港人的平均籌命越長,政府估計到了2066年,男性及女性平均壽命分別升至87.1歲及93.1歲。不少打工仔都期望早日退休,炒老闆魷魚,但有多人曾認真計計數?今天便跟各位討論一下…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊 (第798期)- 中國A股權重提升的各種影響

2019-03-19 10:36
分享
  • 分享

2019年3月4日 第798期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易緊張局勢出現緩和跡象及聯儲局升息的恐懼消退。全週計,道指跌0.02%,報26,026.32點。標普500指數升0.39%,報點2,803.69。納指升0.90%,報7,595.35點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲股市個別發展,傳英首相放棄無序脫歐選項,英鎊匯價上升,英國股市下跌。全週計,英國富時100指數跌1.00%,德國DAX指數升1.26%,法國CAC40指數升0.95%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.81%,報374.24點。
  • 亞洲: 美朝峰會未達成協議,市場現避險情緒。全週計,日經225指數升0.83%,報21,602.69點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.31%,報159.07點。

債券

  • 美國:美國貨幣政策轉趨溫和,美股升,市場沽售避險資產。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升10個基點,報2.760%。
  • 歐元區:美中貿易戰有望達成協議,市場沽售避險資產。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升9個基點,報0.182%。

商品

  • 油價:美國製造業數據表現欠理想,引發市場憂慮經濟放緩影響原油需求,油價下挫。全週計,紐約期油跌2.55 %,收報每桶55.80美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美中貿易緊張局勢出現緩和,並有望達成協議。全週計,美匯指數升0.021%,報 96.527。
  • 中國:美中貿易戰有望達成協議,加上美國聯準會放緩升息步伐。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.246%,報6.704。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:據悉美國和中國接近達成貿易協議,只要北京方面履行從加強智慧財產權保護到大量進口美國商品的一系列承諾,美國可能解除對中國加征的大部分或全部關稅。
  • 美國:聯儲會強調「保持耐心」的必要性,下次會議料側重下行風險。而特朗普仍批評聯儲會主席鮑威爾「喜歡加息」,並稱美元過強。
  • 美國:知情人士透露,紐約聯儲銀行已向一些一級交易商詢問了管理利率的潛在新工具的事宜,因為聯儲會正在為停止收縮資產負債表做準備。
  • 美國:美國供應管理協會2月份製造業指數從56.6跌至54.2,創兩年低點。
  • 歐元區:英倫銀行數據顯示,英國2019年1月抵押貸款許可宗數終止連降兩個月,由前值6.45萬宗,急彈至6.68萬宗,市場原先預期為6.34萬宗。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局公布,歐元區今年2月通脹年率初值為1.5%,高於1月份的1.4%,符合市場預期。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局公布,歐元區今年1月失業率維持在7.8%,略好過市場預期。另外,去年12月失業率由7.9%下修至7.8%。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,日本今年2月基礎貨幣同比升幅放緩至4.6%,創至少逾五年低,報493.098萬億日圓。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,日本今年2月家庭消費者信心指數由前值41.9降至41.5,略低於市場預期41.6。
  • 澳洲:澳洲統計局公布,澳洲去年第四季企業獲利連升第六季,但按季升幅卻放緩至0.8%,低於市場預期的升幅3%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 經濟學家預計,中國總理李克強周二將發表的政府工作報告料下調今年經濟成長目標,可能是6%-6.5%區間。

• 中國證監會正式發布實施設立科創板並試點註冊制主要制度規則,上交所、中國結算也發布相關業務規則。

中國A股權重提升的各種影響

如市場預期,MSCI決定將中國大盤A股在MSCI全球基準指數中的納入因數從5%提高至20%,並分三階段進行,於5月擴大至10%;於8月擴大至15%;於11月則將擴大至20%,較原計劃於2020年5月才實施的時間為早;另外,中型股和創業板也將納入此次調整,完成3個階段之後,MSCI新興市場指數將包含253隻大型A股、168隻中型A股,其中更包含27隻創業板股票。

MSCI此次決定的影響:

1. 對中國和區域股票基金的影響較大。

截至2019年11月底,中國A股權重於MSCI中國/亞洲(日本除外)/新興市場(EM)/所有國家世界指數(ACWI)將增加至10.4%/ 4.0%/ 3.3%/ 0.4%。 (目前: 2.5%/ 0.9%/ 0.8%/ 0.1%。)

圖 1. 中國A股佔MSCI各指數比例將上升4倍以上

資料來源: MSCI, FactSet, 御峰理財/iFund

2. 中國股市地位越加重要。

當納入因數提高至20%後,中國在岸和離岸股票(中國A + H + ADR)將佔MSCI新興市場 (EM)及 亞洲(日本除外)指數的總比重將上升至約35%及 39%,而MSCI ACWI 指數亦將達4%。

3. 北水資金將持續流入A股支撐大市。

市場普遍預計,今年因A股納入因數上升15%而導致北水流入資金將達600-750億美元(2018: 440億美元;2017: 300億美元,2016: 90億美元),而被動/主動式流入資金比例約為20/80。 預計到2020年,A股的淨流入資金將進一步增加。

4. 年初至今北水流入資金創紀錄

僅首兩個月便錄得180億美元淨流入,與部分外資提早入市有關。

5. 外資對A股市場的影響將逐步增加。

據中國人民銀行的數據,截至2018年底,外國投資者持股比例約為1.15萬億人民幣,佔境內A股市場總股本/自由流通股的2.4%/ 6.7%(2015年11月份為0.8%/ 2.3%)。外國投資者於A股的整體投資規模已經超過保險公司,並預計於不久的將來超越國內基金。

6. 大型股,高流通性,消費者及部份工業及科技股受外資青睬。

雖然北水流入速度因國內和國際變化而波動,但過去數據顯示北水資金流入以大型股及高流動性的股票為主,以最多北水資金流入的50 隻股票計算,平均市值為470億美元,每日成交額為1.22億美元。 以行業板塊分類,大約40%的北水投向耐用消費品和餐飲業,而部份醫療保健,科技及工業股也備受歡迎;外資較看好中國消費和醫療保健需求的穩定增長,以及受惠於經濟結構重組的股票,相反較看淡投資及出口類別股。 隨著中國A股納入因數持續上升,預計這些股票及板塊將特別受惠。

圖2. 北水外資看好A股消費零售板塊

資料來源: HKEx, Factset, MSCI, 御峰理財/iFund

7. 一些區內地區成短期輸家。

中國在新興市場和區域指數中的權重上升將導致部份東南亞國家的權重相應下降。 根據Abacus Securities Crop的預測,菲律賓的資金流出將達到7億美元;而花旗估計,於2025年,印度可能因中國A股市場納入因數持續上升而導致高達50億美元的資金流出。

8. 未來5年中國A股的納入因數將進一步上升。

這可能成為A股市場重估的催化劑。 然而,MSCI提出如未來權重上升,中國需進一步解決剩餘的市場准入問題,包括允許指數期貨和其他衍生品於境內和境外交易所上市,讓外資更好管理及對沖風險,以及改善結算週期,交易假期和 綜合賬戶結構等。

9. 當納入因數提升至100%的情況下

中國A股佔MSCI新興市場指數的比例將達16%以上及羅素新興市場指數達20%以上。 而整體中國在岸和離岸股票佔兩個指數的比例將更高達40%及50%以上。

總而言之,MSCI決定提高A股納入因數是對中國開放國際投資的重要一步。 增加外資參與將有助於減少市場波動並改善A股市場的定價發現,因為外國投資者通常採取更長期及以基本面為基礎的投資方式,而國內A股過往則以散戶投資者、較短期及易受市場情緒驅動所影響。 最後,外資持股比例增加預期亦可鼓勵國內公司改善企業管治及透明度,以符合股東的長遠利益。

強積金設計先天不足

金融發展局上周發表的「強制性公積金制度的未來路向」報告,分析現有制度的問題,指出供款不足、計劃選擇不多、投資限制過嚴過窄、行政架構失效、理財教育不足、退休產品欠奉、獨立監管不夠,以及有關條例過時…..

如何規劃退休預算?

香港人的平均籌命越長,政府估計到了2066年,男性及女性平均壽命分別升至87.1歲及93.1歲。不少打工仔都期望早日退休,炒老闆魷魚,但有多人曾認真計計數?今天便跟各位討論一下…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。