Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 794-The “Wintertime” For Asian Exports Could Last Into Summer

2019-02-04 04:37
Share
  • Share

4 Feb 2019 Issue 794

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The Sino-US trade negotiations in Washington ended. Trump said that the China and the United States might reach a deal at the end of February during his meeting with Xi Jinping. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 1.32% to 25,063.89. The S&P 500 index rose by 1.57% to 2,706.53. The Nasdaq rose by 1.38 % to 7,263.87.
  • Europe: The United Kingdom asked the EU to renegotiate the Brexit agreement, but the EU may not be willing to do so. However, The EU may consider to postpone the Brexit date. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 3.10 %, the German DAX index fell by 0.90 %, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.90 %. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.52% to 359.71.
  • Asia: The Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) shows that factory production activity is shrinking in most Asian countries. The deputy governor of the Bank of Japan said that if the US Federal Reserve policy helps to maintain the US economy, it will also benefit the Japanese economy. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 0.07 % to 20,788.39points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.90 % to 156.25.

Bonds

  • US: The Fed kept the interest rates unchanged, meeting market expectations. It released a stronger dovish signals, promising it would be “patient” in lifting borrowing costs further this year. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 7 basis points to 2.686%.
  • Europe: President of the European Central Bank Draghi said that although the euro zone economy was worse than the expectation, it was not necessary to take further monetary policy stimulus measures. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to 0.165%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Crude oil production in the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) hit 2-year low in January, as the main exporter Saudi Arabia over-delivered on the group’s supply-cutting pact. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 2.92% to close at $55.26 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The non-farm payroll numbers in January was increased by 304,000, the most in almost a year. Meanwhile, US consumer confidence fell to a new 18-month low during the government shutdown. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.224% to 95.579.
  • China: The manufacturing situation improved slightly. The manufacturing PMI rose to 49.5 in January from 49.4 in the previous month, but it is still below the 50%. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.422% against the US dollar at 6.735.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said that political factors will not be considered in monetary decision-making. The shutdown of US government should have limited impact on the economy, and the economic growth rate in the second quarter will be recovered.
  • US: U.S. Treasury Secretary Nuchin said that if China makes enough concessions on trade, the US may seek to cancel all tariffs.
  • US: US prosecutors filed criminal charges against Huawei, alleging that the company had stolen the trade secrets of T-Mobile USA Inc. and accused Huawei and its chief financial officer, Meng Xizhou, of having transactions with Iran.
  • US: The US Congressional Budget Office expects that the budget deficit will expand further in the next few years, and economic growth will slow down, predicting that the growth rate would be below the growth target of the Trump administration of 3%.
  • Euro-zone: The European Commission said that eight banks were suspected of collusion in purchasing and trading European government bonds in the period of 2007 to 2012.
  • Euro-zone: The British Bankers Association (BBA) announced that after seasonal adjustments, the UK’s residential mortgage loan volume fell for two months last December, recording nearly 38,800, which was expected by the market.
  • Euro-zone: The UK’s retail sales balance came in at zero in January, missing the consensus of +2 but beating -13 in the previous month, reported the Confederation of British Industry (CBI).
  • Japan: The Japanese Cabinet Office announced that Japan’s household consumer confidence index fell from 42.7 to 41.9 in January 2019, which is lower than market expectations of 42.4.
  • Japan: Japan’s top foreign exchange official, Asakawa Asa, hinted that Japan would oppose the inclusion of monetary terms in any trade agreement with the United States.
  • Japan: According to the data from the Bank of Japan, the growth of Japan’s corporate service price index was slowed down slightly to 1.1% in December, lower than the market expectation, 1.2%.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• China Securities Regulatory Commission announced that the Shanghai and Shenzhen Stock Exchanges are revising the details of the margin financing and securities lending, and intend to cancel the uniform limit of the “closing position” of no less than 130%, allowing the security companies and customer to negotiate on the minimum maintenance guarantee ratio independently.
• On the occasion of Sino-US trade talks, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress completed the second trial of the Foreign Investment Law draft, which aims to protect the intellectual property rights of foreign investors and prohibit compulsory technology transfer.

The “Wintertime” For Asian Exports Could Last Into Summer

On the occasion of Sino-US trade talks, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress completed the second trial of the Foreign Investment Law draft, which aims to protect the Since the beginning of January 2019, the Asia’s exporters start to feel pain of falling export growth on the back of supply-chain disturbances triggered by U.S.-China trade war and a cyclical slowdown in the global economy, in particular China, which hit the trade-reliant region. South Korea was the first to set an alarm to the region which reported negative export growth in two consecutive months as January export further slipped by -5.8% YoY after a -1.3% decline in December last year. The negative growth was a surprise to the market, especially semiconductor export in January plunged by -23.3%, which looks worrisome for the already cooling technology sector.

South Korea publishes trade data earliest globally and its export growth has a high correlation to the export growth of other Asian economies, with recent data show that except for Malaysia, the key major Asia countries showed either slowing or negative growth for their latest export numbers (figure 1). However, this weakening momentum may go for another 2-3 months as there is still no early signs that neither the Chinese nor global economy is recovering soon. Lacklustre global demand is affecting the merchandise exports of China, and in return hurting Asia’s exporters as China has been a major importer of primary goods in the region. On the other hand, China’s slowdown has led to falling domestic consumption growth and as a result, countries like Japan, Korea and Taiwan are seeing deteriorating export of consumer products to China in recent months. The Nomura’s Export Leading Index is suggesting that Asian aggregate exports for 10 countries* in February will remain negative, and in fact it could be even worse as the impacts of “front-loading” exports from China to U.S. due to the potential tariff may be more significant that many expected.

Figure 1. Asian exports declined sharply in latest figure.

Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

Figure 2. Asia ex-Japan’s total export growth decline to negative when it fall below 61

Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

Despite weakening export growth in the region, Asian stocks markets have rebounded strongly by +6.8% since the beginning of January as markets start factoring a recovery of exports from 2H18 amid some positive news-flow related to US-China trade negotiation. However, we are cautions on the current rebound as the sustainability of export recovery is questionable, if any in our view. Besides, history has proved that South Korea exports are a good leading indicator of global corporate earnings, meaning that global EPS growth may fall to low-single digit or even negative in the next 6-12 months, which is much lower than the 6% global EPS growth for 2019.

Figure 3. South Korea export growth has been a great leading indicator of global EPS


Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

投資前的三大問題

農曆新年將至,送狗迎豬,御峰理財預祝大家豬年大吉、豬肥屋潤、豬籠入水﹗狗年市況波動,強美元、貿易戰、英國脫歐成為去年的跌市關鍵因素,後兩者更有可能繼續成為今年焦點……





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第794期)-亞洲出口疲弱不容忽視

2019-02-04 04:37
分享
  • 分享

2019年2月4日 第794期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:在華盛頓的中美貿易談判結束,特朗普稱中美最終能否達成協議取決於他和習近平於2月底的會晤。全週計,道指升1.32 %,報25,063.89點。標普500指數升1.57 %,報點2,706.53。
  • 歐洲:英國要求歐盟重談脫歐協議,不過歐盟未必願意再談判,但願意考慮推遲脫歐日期。全週計,英國富時100指數升3.10 %,德國DAX指數跌0.90 %,法國CAC40指數升1.90 %。STOXX 600指數全週升0.52%,報359.71點。
  • 亞洲:採購經理人指數(PMI)顯示大多數亞洲國家工廠生產活動萎縮。日本央行副行長表示,若美國聯儲局政策有助於維持美國經濟強勁,亦有利日本經濟。全週計,日經225指數升0.07 %,報20,788.39點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.90 %,報156.25點。

債券

  • 美國:聯儲局一月議息維持利率不變,預合市場預期,並釋放出更強的鴿派信號,指對利率行動「保持耐心」。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌7個基點,報2.686 %。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行總裁德拉吉表示,雖然歐元區經濟較預期差,但無需進一步採取貨幣政策刺激措施。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報0.165%。

商品

  • 油價:1月份石油輸出國組織(OPEC)的原油產量創兩年來最大降幅,因主要出口國沙特超額履行OPEC與盟友達成的削減供應協議。全週計,紐約期油升2.92 %,收報每桶55.26美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:1月份新增非農就業人數創近1年以來最高,但美國消費者信心在政府部分停擺期間下滑至18個月新底。全週計,美匯指數跌0.224%,報 95.579。
  • 中國:製造業情況略有改善,1月份製造業PMI從上月的49.4升至49.5,但仍然低於榮枯分水嶺50。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.422%,報6.735。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:聯儲會主席鮑威爾表示,貨幣決策時不會考慮政治因素。政府部分停擺對經濟的影響應該有限,第二季度的經濟增速將得到恢復。
  • 美國:美國財政部長姆欽表示,如果中國在貿易方面做出足夠讓步,美方有可能尋求取消所有關稅。
  • 美國:美國檢察官對華為提出刑事指控,稱該公司竊取T-Mobile USA Inc.的商業機密,並指控華為及其首席財務官孟晚舟涉嫌與伊朗交易有關的欺詐和共謀。
  • 美國:美國國會預算辦公室預計,預算赤字將在未來幾年進一步擴大,而經濟增長將放緩,預測成長率遜於特朗普政府至少3%的增速目標。
  • 歐元區:歐盟委員會表示,八家銀行涉嫌於2007年至2012年間,在歐洲政府債券的購買和交易上存在勾結行為。
  • 歐元區:英國銀行家協會(BBA)公布,經季節調整後,英國去年12月住宅按揭貸款許可量連跌兩個月,錄近3.88萬宗,符市場預期。
  • 歐元區:英國工業聯盟(CBI)公布,英國1月零售銷售差值為零,低於市場預期的2,但優於上月的負13。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,日本2019年1月家庭消費者信心指數由42.7降至41.9,低於市場預期的42.4。
  • 日本:日本外匯事務最高官員淺川雅嗣暗示,日本會反對將貨幣條款納入可能與美國達成的任何貿易協議之中。
  • 日本央行數據顯示,日本去年12月企業服務價格指數按年升幅略放緩至1.1%,市場原先預期維持前值升1.2%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國證監會指,滬深交易所正修訂融資融券細則,擬取消「平倉線」不得低於130%的統一限制,交由證券公司與客戶自主約定最低維持擔保比例。

• 中美兩國貿易會談之際,全國人大常委會完成外商投資法草案二審,該法規旨在保護外國投資者的智慧財產權,禁止強制技術轉讓。

亞洲出口疲弱不容忽視

自今年初以來,由於受中美貿易戰及全球經濟周期性放緩、特別是中國增長減速所影響,亞洲各國出口皆受沈重打擊 。韓國最新公布的出口數據連續兩個月出現負增長,繼上年12月份下跌1.3%後,1月份再下挫5.8%,令市場感到意外,並為區內經濟敲響警號。其中,韓國1月份半導體出口更暴跌-23.3%,無疑令已經面臨步入寒冬的科技行業倍添憂慮。

可能很多投資者都不知道,韓國是全球中最早公布最新貿易數據的國家,其出口增長與其他亞洲經濟體的出口增長具高度相關性,備受分析員及基金經理所關注。從最近的亞洲貿易數據所顯示,除馬來西亞外,亞洲各主要地區的最新出口數據皆出現放緩或負增長情況(圖1)。然而,出口疲軟的勢頭可能將持續至少2-3個月,種種跡象及數據皆顯示中國和全球經濟都不會在短期內復甦。全球需求疲軟正在影響中國的商品出口,而由於中國一直是亞洲區內初級商品及原材料的主要進口國,亞洲出口因此而間接受到衝擊。另一方面,中國經濟放緩亦導致國內消費增長停滯,直接造成日本、韓國和台灣等國最近幾個月出口中國的消費品出口遲緩。據野村證券的出口領先指數顯示,2月份的亞洲10國總出口量估計仍將為負值(圖2)。而由於早前為避免潛在關稅而導致部份中國出口提前付運到美國所影響,造成美國零售商積壓中國商品的庫存問題將陸續浮現,最後終可能令亞洲未來數月的出口比市場預期的更差。

圖一. 最新經濟數據顯示亞洲區內出口重挫

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

圖二. 當野村證券出口領先指數下破61,亞洲出口往往出現負增長

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

儘管亞洲地區出口數據疲軟,但亞洲股市自年初以來跟隨美股大幅反彈達6.8%,部份市場人士認為區內出口及經濟將由於中美貿易糾紛獲得解決而於今年下半年復蘇,故而提前入市。 然而,我們同意現在亞洲區內股市估值並不昂貴,但對於區內出口能否持續復甦持謹慎態度。 此外,歷史資料告訴我們韓國出口表現是全球企業盈利的良好領先指標,現在韓國出口錄得負增長,這意味著未來6-12個月全球每股盈利增長可能會降至低個位數、無增長,甚至跌為負值,相較現在市場預期2019年全球每股盈利6%的增長,市場可能仍是太樂觀。

圖 三. 韓國出口表現往往是全球企業盈利的良好領先指標

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

投資前的三大問題

農曆新年將至,送狗迎豬,御峰理財預祝大家豬年大吉、豬肥屋潤、豬籠入水﹗狗年市況波動,強美元、貿易戰、英國脫歐成為去年的跌市關鍵因素,後兩者更有可能繼續成為今年焦點……





相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。