Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 792- Is current oil price undervalued relative to the fundamentals?

2019-01-21 04:30
Share
  • Share

21 January 2019 Issue 792

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: China proposes to increase annual imports of US goods by $1 trillion, implying that Sino-US trade tension may ease. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 2.96% to 24,706.35. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.87% to 2,670.71. The Nasdaq rose by 2.66% to 7,157.23 points.
  • Europe: It is reported that U.S. Treasury Secretary Nuchin is considering to remove tariffs on Chinese goods. The market expected that the Sino-US trade tension will be eased. Besides, the British government has actively find for consensus on the Brexit issue, which is beneficial to the stock markets. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 0.72%, the German DAX index rose by 2.92%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.98%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 1.69% to 349.20 points.
  • Asia: It is reported that U.S. Treasury Secretary Nuchin is considering to remove tariffs on Chinese goods. The market expected that the Sino-US trade tension will be eased. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 1.50% to 20,666.07 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 1.19% to 153.35.

Bonds

  • US: The market expected that the Sino-US trade war will be eased, global stock markets rebounded, and capital flowed out from the bond market, bond prices fell, and yields rose. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond rose by 3 basis points to 2.784%.
  • Europe: The House of Commons of the United Kingdom vetoed the Motion of no confidence on the British Prime Minister Wen Cuishan’s government and proposed to assist UK to leave the EU orderly, reducing the need for capital hedging. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 3 basis points to 0.237%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries explained the oil reduction plan in detail, and published a list of production reduction quotas for member states and other major oil producing countries. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 4.28 percent to close at $53.80 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: It is reported that U.S. Treasury Secretary Nuchin is considering to remove tariffs on Chinese goods, which lowered the market’s worries about Sino-US trade wars. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.696% to 96.336.
  • China: Although the Sino-US trade war has eased, the United States may file a lawsuit against Huawei. The Sino-US science and technology war has affected market confidence towards Renminbi. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.517% against the US dollar to 6.776.

 

Economic-related News

  • US President Trump agreed to have the second meeting with North Korean leader Kim Jong-un at the end of February. It is reported that the summit will be held in Vietnam.
  • U.S: Trump announced the first substantive proposal since the government shut down. He suggested to extend the DCAC plan and TPS plan for three years in exchange for a $5.7 billion wall construction fee. But the proposal was rejected by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
  • U.S: New York Fed President Williams said that the government’s suspension may lead to a 1% decline in economic growth rate.
  • U.S: US University of Michigan consumer confidence index fell to 90.7 in January, hitting a two-year low. It is lower than the expectation of all Bloomberg’s economists.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May will submit a Brexit option plan on Monday. It is reported that there is likely no progress in cross-party negotiations. May will seek to amend the terms of the Brexit agreement on the Irish border issue.
  • Euro-zone: Canadian Minister of Public Safety claimed that security review on 5G technology will continue, including the decision on whether to boycott Huawei, and Canada will not sacrifice national security.
  • Euro-zone: The Italian central bank has lowered its forecast for economic growth of the coming two years, and hinted that the euro zone’s third-largest economy may have fallen into recession by the end of 2018.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry announced that Japan’s industrial production index fell by 1% from the previous value of 2.9% increase in December last year, to 104.8.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Japan’s consumer price index (CPI) rose by 0.8% year-on-year to 0.3% in December last year, which is similar with market expectations.
  • Singapore: Singapore’s International Enterprise Development Agency (IE Singapore) announced that Singapore’s non-oil exports (NODX) have fell for two months in December last year, which is lower than market expectations of 2% increase. Also, the decline rate has expanded to 8.5% year-on-year.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• According to informed person, China proposes to increase the annual import of US goods by more than US$1 trillion within six years, hoping to eliminating trade surplus with the US by 2024.
• China will release important economic data today. The fourth-quarter GDP growth rate is expected to slow down from 6.5% in the third quarter to 6.4%, which will be the slowest growth rate since 2009.

 

Is current oil price undervalued relative to the fundamentals?

After the collapse and volatile late-2018, exacerbated by low liquidity, Brent crude oil prices have had a strong rally since the Christmas Eve. It was mainly driven by the news that OPEC and allied oil producers including Russia to cut production by 1.2 million barrels per day (bpd) and will take further action when necessary. On the demand side, Chinese stimulus and trade talks between official from the US and China has brought hope for a more stabilised global economy in 2019. So, after increased by 15% YTD at around $61/bbl, the key question: the current price levels and term structure remain undervalued relative to the fundamentals?孑

A recent research from Goldman Sachs looks relatively positive in first glance and says it won’t be “hoodwinked” again on commodities and suggests investors to buy into this year’s comeback story in oil. According to his top-down global oil demand growth model, the oil market (Brent at $57.06 when the report issued) only pricing in a global GDP growth at 2.5% YoY in 2019, which is much below its 3.5% forecast and still excessive even if accounting for the December activity indicators that global GDP growth may down to 3.2%. Besides, given the fiscal strains, OPEC would likely cut the production more if global GDP really disappoints to that level. On the demand side, it forecasts 2019 global oil demand growth of 1.4 mb/d (assumes global GDP growth at 3.3%), with a 60 kb/d downward revision to Chinese demand growth, while EM demand outside of China, such as Brazil, Turkey, South Africa and Russia will recover in 2019.

 

Figure 1.  Production was down from November before the cuts are even implemented

Source: Goldman Sachs, Noble Apex/iFund, Kpler

However, on a 1-year and longer term prospective, the report actually suggest a more cautious outlook and expects the earlier than expected new pipelines to release the low-cost Permian basin into the global market in 2H19, requiring a lower marginal cost to balance the oil market in 2019. In addition to a higher inventory levels from the start of 2019, the low-cost production capacity is also increasing globally, plus the capacity in Permian Shale oil rises even faster amid weaker than expected shale cost inflation.  What’s more, the delayed long-cycle projects in Brazil and Canada is ramping up too.

All in all, forecasting the crude oil supply and demand is not easy for both professionals and individual investors, in particular US is the only source of up-to-date inventory numbers and the rest of the world is comparatively opaque regarding its inventory and production level, and some  producers always adjust their production much earlier than the news released. In fact, a different way is to look at the degree and the slope change of the contango/backwardation (i.e. an upward/downward sloping forward or future price curve) in the oil market as an indicator of whether or not prices have hit bottom or peak. It could be more reliable as the forward market is generally participating by the oil majors that indicate the actual demand and supply of long term.

 

Figure 2. When super contango happens, oil price generally increase afterwards

Source: Ned Davis Research

看面相可預知投資能力?

一篇南開大學教授的論文,去年底在中國網路引起一番轟動。論文叫《行長的面部寬高比影響銀行績效的路徑研究》,網友調侃面相學這種次文化已經進入學術殿堂,認為這種研究很無聊、沒有學術價值…..

博格爾引領基金界潮流

指數基金之父、領航(Vanguard)創辦人博格爾(John Bogle)因癌症病逝,享年89歲。股神巴菲德在悼念聲明中,表揚博格爾為美國投資者所做的事,比他所認識的任何人都要多…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第792期)- 基本面是否仍支持油價進一步反彈?

2019-01-21 04:30
分享
  • 分享

2019年1月21日 第792期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中國提議將對美國商品的年進口額提高逾1萬億美元, 暗示美中貿易緊張局勢可能會有所緩和。全週計,道指升2.96%,報24,706.35點。標普500指數升2.87%,報點2,670.71。納指升2.66%,報7,157.23點。
  • 歐洲:美國財長努欽據報考慮取消對華加徵關稅,市場憧憬中美月底貿易談判有進展,加上英國政府積極尋求化解脫歐困局,有利歐洲股市。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.72%,德國DAX指數升2.92%,法國CAC40指數升1.98%。STOXX 600指數全週升1.69%,報349.20點。
  • 亞洲: 美國財長努欽據報考慮取消對華加徵關稅,市場憧憬中美月底貿易談判有進展。全週計,日經225指數升1.50%,報20,666.07點。MSCI 亞太區指數升1.19%,報153.35點。

債券

  • 美國: 市場憧憬中美貿易戰緩和,環球股市反彈,市場資金自避險債市流出,債券價格下降,孳息率上升。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升3個基點,報2.784%。
  • 歐元區:美國國債價格下跌,英國下議院否決對英國首相文翠珊政府的不信任動議及提出協助英國有序脫歐,資金避險需求減少。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升3個基點,報0.237%。

商品

  • 油價:石油輸出國組織詳細說明減產行動的細節,公布成員國和其他主要產油國的減產配額清單。全週計,紐約期油升4.28 %,收報每桶53.80美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國財長努欽據報考慮取消對華加徵關稅,市場對中美貿戰憂慮減少。全週計,美匯指數升0.696%,報96.336。
  • 中國:中美貿易戰雖有緩和趨勢,但美國可能對華為提起訴訟,中美科技戰影響市場信心。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.517%,報6.776。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普同意與北韓領導人金正恩在2月底舉行第二次峰會。據悉峰會將在越南舉行。
  • 美國:特朗普拿出政府停擺以來首個實質性提議,將對幼年時非法入境者的保護延長三年,以此換取57億美元的「建牆費」。但該提議遭眾議院議長拒絕。
  • 美國:紐約聯儲行長Williams表示,政府停擺可能導致經濟增長率下降1%。
  • 美國:美國1月份密歇根大學消費者信心指數跌至90.7,創兩年低點,並低於接受彭博調查的所有經濟學家的預期。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅周一將呈交脫歐備選方案,據悉跨黨派談判幾無進展,梅將尋求修改脫歐協議有關愛爾蘭後備方案的條款。
  • 歐元區:加拿大公共安全部長:5G技術的安全審查繼續進行,其中包括決定是否抵制華為,加拿大不會犧牲國家安全。
  • 歐元區:義大利央行下調今明兩年經濟增速預估,並暗示這個歐元區第三大經濟體可能已經在2018年底陷入新的衰退。
  • 日本:日本經濟產業省公布,日本去年12月工業生產指數由前值升2.9%轉降1%,報104.8。
  • 日本:日本總務省公布,日本去年12月消費物價指數(CPI)同比升幅由升0.8%放緩至0.3%,符合市場預期。
  • 新加坡:新加坡國際企業發展局(IE Singapore)公布,新加坡去年12月非石油出口(NODX)連跌兩個月,且按年降幅擴至8.5%,市場原先預期回升2%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 知情人士表示,中國提議在六年時間裡將美國商品的年進口額合計提高逾1萬億美元,以期到2024年消除對美貿易順差。

• 中國今天將公佈GDP等重磅經濟數據,四季度GDP同比增速料從三季度的6.5%放緩至6.4%,將創2009年初以來最慢增速。

基本面是否仍支持油價進一步反彈?

隨著2018年第四季度的崩盤和波動之後,原油價格自聖誕除夕以來出現強勁反彈,主要受石油輸出國組織及俄羅斯等產油國同意每天減產120萬桶(bpd)的消息所推動,並承諾如情況需要,將延長或進一步減產。而中國最近的降準與及中美雙方重啟貿易談判讓投資者對2019年全球經濟的憂慮有所放緩,將支持原油需求。但現在投資者最關心的問題是,布倫特原油自年初至今已上漲約15%至每桶61美元,當前價格水平和期限結構相對於基本面是否仍被低估?

高盛最近的一項研究報告看似對原油價格相對樂觀積極,並表示不會再被商品“蒙騙”,建議投資者買入石油。根據高盛其自上而下的全球石油需求增長模型,現在的石油價格(報告發佈時布倫特原油價格為57.06美元)僅反映2019年全球GDP的同比增長2.5%,遠低於其預測的3.5%,甚至如果保守地考慮到12月的經濟活動指標放緩並不是單月事件,全球GDP增長率亦只會下調至3.2%,相比當時每桶57美元的原油價格亦是偏低。此外,如果原油需求疲弱,石油輸出國組織將會減產以支持油價,避免財政支出緊張。在需求方面,高盛預測2019年全球石油需求每日增長140萬桶(假設全球GDP增長率為3.3%),而中國以外的新興市場將成2019年的增長動力,其中包括巴西、土耳其、南非和俄羅斯等。

圖一.  OPEC在12月公佈減產前,產量實際在11月已開始下降

來源: 高盛, 御峰理財/iFund, Kpler

儘管短線積極,高盛3個月及6個月的原油目標價仍僅是每桶62.5美元及67.5美元。然而,對更長期的觀點,該報告實際上更為謹慎,並預計由於新管道將在2019年下半年提前完成,早前的運輸瓶頸問題將可解決,低成本的二疊紀盆地的頁岩油產能將被釋放到全球市場,並因此原油市場在2019年需要更低的邊際成本才可獲得平衡。此外,2019年初的高庫存、全球低成本產能持續增加、加上頁岩油的“成本通脹”亦弱於預期的情況下,以及之前延遲的巴西和加拿大的長周期項目亦相繼恢復,供應端的增長將持續令油價受壓。

總括而言,無論是專業人士或個人投資者,要準確預測原油供需變化是十分困難的,特別是美國是唯一報發佈最新庫存數量的國家,而其他產油國的庫存和生產變化相對上並不透明或有所延誤,一些產油國更總是比對外發布更早地已調整產量。其實,投資者還有另一種方法去判斷油價是見頂回落還是觸底回升,就是觀察原油市場遠期曲線結構斜率變化及深淺幅度,與及現貨與期貨的價差,也就是跨期價差。跨期價差有兩種基本的結構,分別是期貨溢價(contango)及現貨溢價(backwardation),歷史上有很多次當市場出現Super Contango或Super Backwardation後而油價出現轉向的情況。

圖二. 當super contango出現時, 油價大多觸底回升

來源: Ned Davis Research

看面相可預知投資能力?

一篇南開大學教授的論文,去年底在中國網路引起一番轟動。論文叫《行長的面部寬高比影響銀行績效的路徑研究》,網友調侃面相學這種次文化已經進入學術殿堂,認為這種研究很無聊、沒有學術價值…..

博格爾引領基金界潮流

指數基金之父、領航(Vanguard)創辦人博格爾(John Bogle)因癌症病逝,享年89歲。股神巴菲德在悼念聲明中,表揚博格爾為美國投資者所做的事,比他所認識的任何人都要多…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。