iFund- What is late cycle and how long can it last more?

2019-03-19 10:12
Share
  • Share

To sum up, despite all economic expansions ultimately come to an end, the current U.S. economy could have stayed in this late cycle much longer than most people expected or the recession could be much shallow than the previous one.

featured

Throughout 2018, we have been spoiled with market commentaries that U.S. economy is in the late stage of cycle and a recession could be just around the corner. On average, economic cycles in the U.S. last around 34 months, but the current economic expansion is now 115 months-long, which is more than three times that length. In fact, the current cycle is the second longest since 1854 when record-keeping began, and it is now 5 months shy of the record only. The unusual length of the current cycle has aroused anxiety that it will come to an end. However, a sole focus on the length of the cycle is misplaced as economic cycles don’t simply die of old age.

Typically, an economic cycle can be separated into four phases, namely Expansion, Peak, Contraction and Trough (see figure 1). A late-cycle is defined by a slowdown in growth, rising inflation, tightening labour market and a contractionary monetary environment. On the corporate side, most companies in late cycle will see falling sales growth, rising inventories, margin squeeze on higher input and labour cost together with rising pressures on earnings.

Figure 1. Characteristic of Four phases of U.S. economic cycle

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Fidelity

Looking into current economic indicators, the U.S. economy exhibits some late-cycle characteristic as U.S. GDP growth is moderating from Q3 2018, while labour market is tight and wage increase is accelerating. The interest rate cycle is almost finished as the Fed Fund rate is close to the “neutral rate” and only 25bps below the long-term rate as targeted. Besides, some corporates start to see falling sales growth and earnings are under pressure as rising interest rate weighs on borrowing expenses as well as end-demand.

On the other hand, there are some indicators that are not exactly match with the late cycle characteristics. First, inflation in U.S. remain benign (i.e. PCE core inflation should remain at around 2.1% in 2019F) and rising wages is unlikely to push up inflation rate considerably given other costs such as crude oil and commodities prices are much lower than previous cycle and it is unlikely to surge drastically this year. In addition, inventory is not a problem for most industries for the time being, while the ISM Manufacturing Index, a key leading barometer in identifying phases of the business cycle, remains robust and it is still early to say it will come off drastically.

Figure 2. Yield Spread of High Yield Corporate Bonds start to widen recently despite robust PMI

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Bloomberg

To sum up, despite all economic expansions ultimately come to an end, the current U.S. economy could have stayed in this late cycle much longer than most people expected or the recession could be much shallow than the previous one. We say this because unlike in the last few cycles, investors have been relatively thrifty, house prices do not look excessive and the corporate sector has not over-expanded. Besides, the potential slowdown of GDP growth in 2019 was actually come off from a high base in 2018, which was more of a result of the tax cut impact by the Trump administration. And if we compare the average U.S. GDP growth over the past 10 years (excluding 2018) at 2.2% to the forecasted GDP growth of 2.3% in 2019F and 2.0% in 2020F, the slowdown of growth is actually not severe at all. Last but not least, the previous inverted yield curve of the front-end (i.e., 2s-5s and 3s-5s) in early December have actually reverted to positives, meaning that recession is not as imminent as some investors worry.

Knowing where we are in the business cycle is important as markets are forward looking. Bond investors have already increased their position in Treasury Bonds as indicated by recent widening yield spread of High Yields. Equity investors have added their positions in defensive sectors such as healthcare and consumers staples. Interests for gold is rising too as gold prices increased over the last few months. However, as we mentioned that investors in the current cycle seems to act more forward-looking than ever, therefore for those that are waiting for boom-and-bust market may be disappointed. Investors should be more diversified and be nimble for opportunities thrown up by today’s more volatile market.

Figure 3. Total Return % during the last three bear market

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Bloomberg

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

iFund- 什麼是經濟週期晚期?在目前環境下,美國週期又可以持續多久?

2019-03-19 10:12
分享
  • 分享

總而言之,儘管所有的經濟擴張最終都會結束,但目前美國經濟停留在週期後段的時間可能會比大多數人預期的要長;而就算經濟衰退真的在短時間出現,這個衰退亦可能比過往的來得淺及短。

featured

在2018年,不少市場評論及研究報告認為美國經濟已經處於週期後段,並將步入經濟衰退。從歷史經驗上看, 美國經濟周期平均持續約34個月,但目前的經濟周期已經超出平均3倍,長達115個月,並是自1854年有記錄以來的第二長時間,亦僅僅少於最長記錄約5個月。 當前異常漫長的週期令投資者倍感焦慮,令市場時刻瀰漫一遍緊張的氣氛。 然而,關注週期的長度從而判斷周期即將完結其實是一種謬誤,經濟周期並不會因年老而終結,相反注意分析經濟數據特徵(病徵)才是唯一讓我們判斷經濟處於何種階段、並於何時終結的合理方法。

經濟周期一般可以分為四個階段,首先從擴張階段(Expansion),到峰值(Peak),再到收縮(Contraction/Recession),到最後的低谷(Trough) 是為一個經濟週期,並將週而復始地循環出現(見圖1)。 後段週期通常的特徵是經濟增長開始放緩、通脹上升、勞動力市場緊張(低失業率)、以及緊縮的貨幣及利息環境等。 而大多企業在處於周期晚期時,將陸續出現銷售增長放緩,庫存增加甚至出現問題,勞動力成本及其它成本開支上升等令利潤率受壓,以及純利收益下降等。

圖一. 經濟週期的四個階段與特徵

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財,富達

再看美國目前的經濟指標,無疑是呈現出一些後期的特徵。首先,美國GDP增長從2018年第三季度開始放緩,而勞動力市場持續偏緊,帶動工資增長正在加快至3﹪以上。在貨幣政策方面,聯邦基金委員會表示目前聯邦利率已接近“中性利率”,並且僅比長期目標利率低25個基點,顯示加息週期幾乎完成。 此外,一些企業最所近亦開始表示銷售增長下滑,盈利受到壓力,而部份的負債比率亦升至讓人憂慮的水平;利率趨升令借貸利息支出不斷上升,甚至可能影響終端需求。

但從另一些經濟數據上看,美國經濟與晚期的特徵並不完全匹配。首先,美國的通貨膨脹現在仍然處於健康水平(PCE核心通脹在2019年預計將維持持在2.1%左右)。2019年工資上漲雖然加快,但再看原油及其它大宗商品預計今年平均價格較18年是持平或甚至下降,而若中美貿易戰沒有再度惡化,工資上漲將不太可能大幅推高美國通脹率。 此外,目前大多企業沒有庫存問題,而ISM製造業指數(通常是確定美國經濟周期的領先晴雨表)仍然強勁,現在說它將會大幅度下降的理據並不充份。

圖二. 雖然美國經濟仍然穩定,但國債與高收益債息差已開始擴闊

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財,彭博社

總而言之,儘管所有的經濟擴張最終都會結束,但目前美國經濟停留在週期後段的時間可能會比大多數人預期的要長;而就算經濟衰退真的在短時間出現,這個衰退亦可能比過往的來得淺及短。雖然今個週期的中性利率要遠低於以前(低約2-3%),留給聯儲局減息的空間不多(歷史上通常需減息約5%來刺激經濟),是最主要的憂慮之一,但同樣較低利率亦意味著企業、個人及按揭利息負擔並不算十分嚴重。另外,我們亦可看出這個週期與以往幾個週期亦很不同,投資者相對保守,消費者信用卡負債雖然上升,但這速率亦受薪金增長所支持,再者現在美國房價並不存在多大的泡沬,企業開支顯示也沒有過度擴張。此外,預計2019年GDP增​​長的放緩實際上是受2018年的高基數所影響,並更多是由於特朗普政府減稅影響的結果(我們一直並不同意特朗普在美國經濟穩定增長時推出減稅措施)。而如果我們將過去10年(不包括2018年)的美國GDP平均增長率2.2%與2019F預測的GDP增長率2.3%和2020F的2.0%進行比較,增長放緩實際上並不嚴重。最後,美國12月初時前期收益率(即2年期和5件期及3年期和5年期)的倒掛實際上已經恢復到正值,現在的倒掛只出現在2年期和3年期,這意味著經濟衰退並不像一些投資者所擔心的那樣迫在眉睫。

市場往往是前瞻性的,不同資產在不同週期的表現都大相逕庭,所以認識經濟周期處於那個位置尤期重要,並預早作出步署。過去2﹣3個月,債券投資者已經陸續增加國債持倉,並反映於最近的國債與高收益債息差的擴闊。在股票投資,最近表現亮麗的醫療保健 和消費必需品等防守性板塊顯示出不少投資者亦作出行業配置轉換。而過去幾個月金價的上漲,亦是典形的週期後段及終段的投資選擇。然而,如我們過去所言,當前的投資者似乎比以往任何時候都更具有前瞻性,投資決定有時甚至更大幅領先經濟數據,故此市況將變得更波動。投資者在波幅市場中的投資組合應該更多元化,並且要更靈活地應對市場隨時出現的機遇與挑戰。

圖三. 美國股票與債券於過去三個經濟週期末段的表現

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財,彭博社

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。