Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 790- What is late cycle and how long can it last more?

2019-01-07 06:10
Share
  • Share

7 January 2019 Issue 790

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: Powell, the President of Federal Reserve, tends to be dovish, the data of the US’s employment report is unexpectedly good, and the trade negotiations between China and the United States have reopened, which are beneficial to the stock market. Over the week, the Dow rose by 1.61% to 23,433.16. The S&P 500 index rose by 1.86% to close at 2,531.94. The Nasdaq rose by 2.34% to 6,738.86.
  • Europe: European stock markets generally performed well as the US Federal Reserve Board Chairman Powell hinted that he would no longer decide to raise interest rates. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 1.54%, the German DAX index rose by 1.98%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.25%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 2.13% to 343.38 points.
  • Asia: Apple lowered its performance expectation, which shocked the market and technology stocks generally fell. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 2.26% to 19,561.96 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.27% to 145.64 points.

Bonds

  • US: US Treasury bond prices have risen, and the Supply Management Association’s manufacturing purchasing index is far worse than expected. The market worried about the US economic prospect, resulting from capital outflow to bond market. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 5 basis points to 2.668%.
  • Europe: Global stock markets fell, causing the market switch the capital to the risk-averse assets, bond prices rose while the bond yields fell. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to 0.206%.

Commodity

  • Oil: China and the United States restarted the trade negotiations, alleviating market worries about the global economic slowdown and supporting the oil price performance. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 5.80% to close at $47.96 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The US dollar index was weakened due to the dovish speech of Federal Reserve Chairman Powell. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.231% to 96.179.
  • China: The People’s Bank of China stated in its 2019 Annual Central Economic Work Conference that the monetary policy in 2019 will remain flexible in order to keep the RMB exchange rate basically stable. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.082% against the US dollar to 6.668.

 

Economic-related News

  • U.S: US President Trump claimed that he will consider to use emergency powers to re-appropriate funds to build a border wall. He also said that the government shutdown could last for months or years.
  • U.S: US non-farm payrolls employment increased by 312,000 in December, which is the largest increase rate since last 10 months. The average hourly wage increased by 3.2% year-on-year, which is the fastest growth rate since 2009.
  • U.S: Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said that he will prepare to adjust policies quickly and flexibly in a bid to support the economy. He claimed that there is not any fixed policy. Goldman Sachs believes that Powell’s speech raises the chances of the Fed’s suspension of interest rate hikes.
  • U.S: The White House economic adviser Kudlow said that both parties hope that Trump will meet with Powell to discuss their views on the central bank’s interest rate hike. Powell said that he will not resign even if Trump asks.
  • Euro-zone: According to Eurostat’s data, the Eurozone’s Consumer Price Harmonization Index (HICP) in December dropped sharply from 1.9% to 1.6%, which is the lowest inflation rate within the past eight months, and is lowered than the market expectation, 1.7%.
  • Euro-zone: According to the data from Bank of England, the number of mortgage licenses that have been accepted in the UK dropped by 4.5% month-on-month to 63.728 million in November, which is the the lowest level within the past seven months, far below the market expectations of 66,000.
  • Italy: The Italian Statistical Office announced that Italy’s consumer price index (CPI) slowed to 1.1% year-on-year in December, lower than the market expectation of 1.5%.
  • Japan: According to data from the Bank of Japan, Japan’s base currency’s year-on-year growth dropped from 6.1% to 4.8% in December, which reached the five-year low.
  • Japan: Due to the bad weather and weak sales in Japan, Japan’s service industry purchasing managers’ index (PMI) fell from 52.3 to 51 in December, which is a three-month low.
  • Singapore: According to Nikkei/Markit data, Singapore’s Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) fell from 53.8 to  52.7 in December.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The representatives of China and the United States will conduct a two-day economic and trade negotiation in Beijing on 7th January, 2109. It is reported that the topics will include non-tariff measures, intellectual property rights, and procurement of agricultural and industrial products.
• The People’s Bank of China held a 2019 Central Economic Work Conference from January 3 to 4, claiming that the monetary policy will be more targeted and anticipatory in 2019, despite the overall theme of stability remaining unchanged.

 

What is late cycle and how long can it last more?

Throughout 2018, we have been spoiled with market commentaries that U.S. economy is in the late stage of cycle and a recession could be just around the corner. On average, economic cycles in the U.S. last around 34 months, but the current economic expansion is now 115 months-long, which is more than three times that length. In fact, the current cycle is the second longest since 1854 when record-keeping began, and it is now 5 months shy of the record only. The unusual length of the current cycle has aroused anxiety that it will come to an end. However, a sole focus on the length of the cycle is misplaced as economic cycles don’t simply die of old age.

 

Typically, an economic cycle can be separated into four phases, namely Expansion, Peak, Contraction and Trough (see figure 1). A late-cycle is defined by a slowdown in growth, rising inflation, tightening labour market and a contractionary monetary environment. On the corporate side, most companies in late cycle will see falling sales growth, rising inventories, margin squeeze on higher input and labour cost together with rising pressures on earnings.

Figure 1. Characteristic of Four phases of U.S. economic cycle

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Fidelity

Looking into current economic indicators, the U.S. economy exhibits some late-cycle characteristic as U.S. GDP growth is moderating from Q3 2018, while labour market is tight and wage increase is accelerating. The interest rate cycle is almost finished as the Fed Fund rate is close to the “neutral rate” and only 25bps below the long-term rate as targeted. Besides, some corporates start to see falling sales growth and earnings are under pressure as rising interest rate weighs on borrowing expenses as well as end-demand.

On the other hand, there are some indicators that are not exactly match with the late cycle characteristics. First, inflation in U.S. remain benign (i.e. PCE core inflation should remain at around 2.1% in 2019F) and rising wages is unlikely to push up inflation rate considerably given other costs such as crude oil and commodities prices are much lower than previous cycle and it is unlikely to surge drastically this year. In addition, inventory is not a problem for most industries for the time being, while the ISM Manufacturing Index, a key leading barometer in identifying phases of the business cycle, remains robust and it is still early to say it will come off drastically.

 

Figure 2. Yield Spread of High Yield Corporate Bonds start to widen recently despite robust PMI

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Bloomberg

To sum up, despite all economic expansions ultimately come to an end, the current U.S. economy could have stayed in this late cycle much longer than most people expected or the recession could be much shallow than the previous one. We say this because unlike in the last few cycles, investors have been relatively thrifty, house prices do not look excessive and the corporate sector has not over-expanded. Besides, the potential slowdown of GDP growth in 2019 was actually come off from a high base in 2018, which was more of a result of the tax cut impact by the Trump administration. And if we compare the average U.S. GDP growth over the past 10 years (excluding 2018) at 2.2% to the forecasted GDP growth of 2.3% in 2019F and 2.0% in 2020F, the slowdown of growth is actually not severe at all. Last but not least, the previous inverted yield curve of the front-end (i.e., 2s-5s and 3s-5s) in early December have actually reverted to positives, meaning that recession is not as imminent as some investors worry.

Knowing where we are in the business cycle is important as markets are forward looking. Bond investors have already increased their position in Treasury Bonds as indicated by recent widening yield spread of High Yields. Equity investors have added their positions in defensive sectors such as healthcare and consumers staples. Interests for gold is rising too as gold prices increased over the last few months. However, as we mentioned that investors in the current cycle seems to act more forward-looking than ever, therefore for those that are waiting for boom-and-bust market may be disappointed. Investors should be more diversified and be nimble for opportunities thrown up by today’s more volatile market.

Figure 3. Total Return % during the last three bear market

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Bloomberg

從芬太尼認識特朗普崛起

月初阿根廷G20高峰會,世界焦點不在20國的會議,而在中美兩國元首在會後的工作晚餐,期待兩國貿易問題有突破。會後白宮新聞公告《關於總統與中國共進晚餐的聲明》,首段定調是高度成功的會議,跟着講述雙方同意事項,排第一的是中國將管制及嚴懲出售芬太尼(Fentanyl)之徒…..

被動型投資的利與弊

被動型投資追求的是與大市同步,不求額外的回報。評級機構穆迪曾於2017年初指出當時被動投資的產品,包括ETF(交易所買賣基金)及指數基金,已佔總資產管理規模28.5%…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通訊(第790期)- 什麼是經濟週期晚期?在目前環境下,美國週期又可以持續多久?

2019-01-07 06:10
分享
  • 分享

2019年1月7日 第790期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:儲局主席鮑威爾言論轉鴿、美國上月就業報告意外地好,以及中美重啟貿易談判,均利好大市。全週計,道指升1.61%,報23,433.16點。標普500指數升1.86%,報點2,531.94。納指升2.34%,報6,738.86點。
  • 歐洲:因美國聯邦準備理事會主席鮑爾暗示不再決定升息及美元走軟, 歐洲股市普遍造好。全週計,英國富時100指數升1.54%,德國DAX指數升1.98%,法國CAC40指數升1.25%。STOXX 600指數全週升2.13%,報343.38點。
  • 亞洲: 蘋果公司下調業績預期令市場大驚,科技股普遍下調。全週計,日經225指數跌2.26%,報19,561.96點。MSCI亞太區指數跌0.27%,報145.64點。

債券

  • 美國: 美國國債價格上升,供應管理協會製造業採購指數遠遜於預期,市場擔心美國經濟前景,資金流入債市避險。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌5個基點,報2.668 %。
  • 歐元區:環球股市跌,令市場趨向避險資產,債券價格上升,債息下跌。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報0.206%。

商品

  • 油價:中美重啟貿易談判,紓緩市場對環球經濟放緩的憂慮,支持油價表現。全週計,紐約期油升5.80%,收報每桶47.96美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:因聯儲局主席鮑威爾發表偏鴿言論,美滙指數偏軟。全週計,美匯指數跌0.231%,報 96.179。
  • 中國:中國央行在2019年工作會議中稱,2019年穩健的貨幣政策將保持鬆緊適度,以保持人民幣匯率基本穩定。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.082%,報6.866。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普威脅可能宣布進入國家緊急狀態,來達成修建美墨邊境牆的目的,他此前還表示政府停擺可以持續數月或數年。
  • 美國:美國12月非農就業人數增加31.2萬,創10個月最大增幅。平均時薪同比增長3.2%,為2009年以來最快增速。
  • 美國:聯儲會主席鮑威爾表示,將準備好快速、靈活地調整政策來支持經濟,沒有預設的政策路徑。高盛認為鮑威爾的講話提高了聯儲會暫停加息的機率。
  • 美國:白宮經濟顧問庫德洛稱,「雙方」都希望特朗普與鮑威爾會面以討論他們對央行加息的分歧;鮑威爾表示即使特朗普要求也不會辭職。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局數據顯示,歐元區去年12月消費者物價調和指數(HICP)由前值升1.9%急降至僅升1.6%,為八個月來最低通脹率,不及市場預期的升1.7%。
  • 歐元區:英倫銀行數據顯示,英國去年11月抵押貸款許可宗數按月急降4.5%至6.3728萬宗,為七個月以來最低,遠低於市場預期的6.6萬宗。
  • 意大利:意大利統計局公布,意大利去年12月消費物價指數(CPI)按年升幅放緩至1.1%,不及市場預期的升1.5%。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,日本去年12月基礎貨幣同比升幅由前值升6.1%放緩至4.8%,報497.0034萬億日圓,升幅達五年低位。
  • 日本:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,受惡劣天氣和疲軟銷售影響,日本去年12月服務業採購經理指數(PMI)由前值的52.3下跌至51,創三個月低。
  • 新加坡:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,新加坡去年12月採購經理人指數(PMI)由前值的53.8,回落至52.7。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中美代表今天將在北京展開為期兩天的經貿磋商,據悉議題包括非關稅措施、智慧財產權、農業和工業產品採購。

• 中國央行在1月3日至4日召開的2019年工作會議中,要求今年實施穩健貨幣政策,加強市場預期引導。

什麼是經濟週期晚期?在目前環境下,美國週期又可以持續多久?

在2018年,不少市場評論及研究報告認為美國經濟已經處於週期後段,並將步入經濟衰退。從歷史經驗上看, 美國經濟周期平均持續約34個月,但目前的經濟周期已經超出平均3倍,長達115個月,並是自1854年有記錄以來的第二長時間,亦僅僅少於最長記錄約5個月。 當前異常漫長的週期令投資者倍感焦慮,令市場時刻瀰漫一遍緊張的氣氛。 然而,關注週期的長度從而判斷周期即將完結其實是一種謬誤,經濟周期並不會因年老而終結,相反注意分析經濟數據特徵(病徵)才是唯一讓我們判斷經濟處於何種階段、並於何時終結的合理方法。

 

經濟周期一般可以分為四個階段,首先從擴張階段(Expansion),到峰值(Peak),再到收縮(Contraction/Recession),到最後的低谷(Trough) 是為一個經濟週期,並將週而復始地循環出現(見圖1)。 後段週期通常的特徵是經濟增長開始放緩、通脹上升、勞動力市場緊張(低失業率)、以及緊縮的貨幣及利息環境等。 而大多企業在處於周期晚期時,將陸續出現銷售增長放緩,庫存增加甚至出現問題,勞動力成本及其它成本開支上升等令利潤率受壓,以及純利收益下降等。

圖一. 經濟週期的四個階段與特徵

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財,富達

 

再看美國目前的經濟指標,無疑是呈現出一些後期的特徵。首先,美國GDP增長從2018年第三季度開始放緩,而勞動力市場持續偏緊,帶動工資增長正在加快至3﹪以上。在貨幣政策方面,聯邦基金委員會表示目前聯邦利率已接近“中性利率”,並且僅比長期目標利率低25個基點,顯示加息週期幾乎完成。 此外,一些企業最所近亦開始表示銷售增長下滑,盈利受到壓力,而部份的負債比率亦升至讓人憂慮的水平;利率趨升令借貸利息支出不斷上升,甚至可能影響終端需求。

但從另一些經濟數據上看,美國經濟與晚期的特徵並不完全匹配。首先,美國的通貨膨脹現在仍然處於健康水平(PCE核心通脹在2019年預計將維持持在2.1%左右)。2019年工資上漲雖然加快,但再看原油及其它大宗商品預計今年平均價格較18年是持平或甚至下降,而若中美貿易戰沒有再度惡化,工資上漲將不太可能大幅推高美國通脹率。 此外,目前大多企業沒有庫存問題,而ISM製造業指數(通常是確定美國經濟周期的領先晴雨表)仍然強勁,現在說它將會大幅度下降的理據並不充份。

圖二. 雖然美國經濟仍然穩定,但國債與高收益債息差已開始擴闊

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財,彭博社

總而言之,儘管所有的經濟擴張最終都會結束,但目前美國經濟停留在這週期後段的時間可能會比大多數人預期的要長;而就算經濟衰退真的在短時間出現,這個衰退亦可能比過往的來得淺及短。雖然今個週期的中性利率要遠低於以前(低約2-3%),留給聯儲局減息的空間不多(歷史上通常需減息約5﹪來刺激經濟),是最主要的憂慮之一,但同樣較低利率亦意味著企業、個人及按揭利息負擔並不算十分嚴重。另外,我們亦可看出這個週期與以往幾個週期亦很不同,投資者相對保守,消費者信用卡負債雖然上升,但這速率亦受薪金增長所支持,再者現在美國房價並不存在多大的泡沬,企業開支顯示也沒有過度擴張。此外,預計2019年GDP增​​長的放緩實際上是受2018年的高基數所影響,並更多是由於特朗普政府減稅影響的結果(我們一直並不同意特朗普在美國經濟穩定增長時推出減稅措施)。而如果我們將過去10年(不包括2018年)的美國GDP平均增長率2.2%與2019F預測的GDP增長率2.3%和2020F的2.0%進行比較,增長放緩實際上並不嚴重。最後,美國12月初時前期收益率(即2年期和5件期及3年期和5年期)的倒掛實際上已經恢復到正值,現在的倒掛只出現在2年期和3年期,這意味著經濟衰退並不像一些投資者所擔心的那樣迫在眉睫。

市場往往是前瞻性的,不同資產在不同週期的表現都大相逕庭,所以認識經濟周期處於那個位置尤期重要,並預早作出步署。過去2﹣3個月,債券投資者已經陸續增加國債持倉,並反映於最近的國債與高收益債息差的擴闊。在股票投資,最近表現亮麗的醫療保健 和消費必需品等防守性板塊顯示出不少投資者亦作出行業配置轉換。而過去幾個月金價的上漲,亦是典形的週期後段及終段的投資選擇。然而,如我們過去所言,當前的投資者似乎比以往任何時候都更具有前瞻性,投資決定有時甚至更大幅領先經濟數據,故此市況將變得更波動。投資者在波幅市場中的投資組合應該更多元化,並且要更靈活地應對市場隨時出現的機遇與夫挑戰。

圖三. 美國股票與債券於過去三個經濟週期末段的表現

資料來源: iFund/御峰理財,彭博社

從芬太尼認識特朗普崛起

月初阿根廷G20高峰會,世界焦點不在20國的會議,而在中美兩國元首在會後的工作晚餐,期待兩國貿易問題有突破。會後白宮新聞公告《關於總統與中國共進晚餐的聲明》,首段定調是高度成功的會議,跟着講述雙方同意事項,排第一的是中國將管制及嚴懲出售芬太尼(Fentanyl)之徒…..

被動型投資的利與弊

動型投資追求的是與大市同步,不求額外的回報。評級機構穆迪曾於2017年初指出當時被動投資的產品,包括ETF(交易所買賣基金)及指數基金,已佔總資產管理規模28.5%…..





相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。