China Deleveraging Not A Major Risk This Year

2018-11-02 02:16
Share
  • Share

China has been suffering from debt problem in recent six to seven years. In the Central Economic Work Conference last December, the government unexpectedly talked about the leverage problem and regarded deleveraging as one of the most important tasks in 2017. We noticed that the central bank made more efforts to strengthen regulation and even tightened monetary policies by rising short-term bond repo rates. In fact, although there have been some improvement and reforms, the Chinese economy is still dependent on real estate and infrastructure investment funded by credit growth. Should we worry about the negative influence of credit growth under deleveraging?

Leverage of the financial system

To start with, the Chinese government mainly concerns about the leverage of financial institutions. Theoretically, leverage is a good factor for real economy. But if leverage is out of control, it becomes the source of bubble problem. Shadow banking made the problem even more complicated as leverage growth is not closely monitored by regulations, which are often outdated.

The key risk right now is the maturity mismatch between assets and liabilities in financial institutions. In the past two to three years, fixed income investors enjoyed profitable returns during the rate cut cycle. Many non-bank financial institutions, including security brokerage firms and fund management companies leveraged up to purchase longer-maturity corporate bonds funded by short-term money from banks. Some city commercial and rural financial banks, lacking deposit base with few customers, also borrowed a lot of money from SOE banks through interbank market. Net interbank lending has already grown to 300% of GDP (12-month rolling total).

Net Interbank Lending as % of GDP

Data Source: Credit Suisse

Potential rate hike cycle unfolds the risk of leverage. Higher yields lead to lower bond prices but higher funding costs. It is dangerous when the market deleverages without enough liquidity. As a result, regulation is a must.

Deleveraging and real economy

Deleveraging by tightening interbank liquidity or regulation is likely unwinding the real economy. Based on Credit Suisse estimates, the correlation of 7-day repo rate and expected yield of 1-year wealth management product has risen to 60% since 2013. It reflects that short-term rates have significant impacts on funding costs for all banks.

However, the impacts to credit growth is limited. The correlation of short-term yield to total social finance and credit is lower. Although private sector may concern about borrowing costs, SOEs and local governments pay less attention to the cost comparing to credit availability.

Implications of deleveraging

In 2017, we do not believe deleveraging is a risk as credit growth does not slow down too much. Although we notice less household loans from property mortgage beginning of the year, there were more corporate loans from infrastructure investments. Stable growth is also a higher political priority compared to deleveraging before an important political event this year.

After 2017, deleveraging might be addressed by the new administration. First of all, it would be a political decision to cut GDP growth target rate. Only lower growth target can leave room for lower credit growth. Secondly, we will see a large scale of credit write-off and debt equity swap program. All the parties should bear the cost of default. In the long run, more equity finance is the only way to deleveraging in a healthy growth model.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

中國今年穩增長 難大力去槓桿

2018-11-02 02:16
分享
  • 分享

債務問題困擾中國經濟已經達6、7年之久。去年年底,中央經濟工作會議意外提及去槓桿,並將其列作2017年一項重要的任務。今年首季,中國央行開始加大監管以及透過調升短期回購利率收緊貨幣政策。現時,中國經濟的支柱房地產和基建都倚賴信貸投資。投資者是否需要憂慮去槓桿會導致信貸增長下滑?

金融系統的槓桿

理論上,槓桿有利實體經濟,但缺乏控制的槓桿可能會造成泡沫。中國政府目前開始憂慮的,是金融機構的槓桿。透過影子銀行,槓桿增長往往不受過時的監管規則所規管。

槓桿風險主要來自於金融機構資產負債期限不匹配。過去2、3年,債券投資者在減息週期中獲得豐厚利潤。不少非銀行金融機構,包括券商和基金子公司,都透過增加槓桿購買年期長的企業債券,並透過銀行同業市場募集資金。同時,一些城市和農村商業銀行缺乏存款,亦透過同業市場向國有大銀行借入資金。過去12個月,同業市場拆借資金規模已經膨脹至GDP的300%。

銀行間拆借資金規模相對於GDP比重 

資料來源:瑞信

潛在加息打開槓桿風險的保護罩。利率上升令債價下跌,而融資成本亦會上升。如果市場缺乏流動性,去槓桿就會非常危險。因此,監管勢在必行。

去槓桿和實體經濟

控制銀行間流動性來去槓桿對實體經濟造成負面影響。瑞信統計顯示,自2013年以來,7日回購利率與1年期銀行理財產品預期收益率相關系數達到60%。這意味銀行間流動性對銀行資金成本造成顯著影響。

不過,銀行間流動性對整體信貸增速影響有限。社會融資規模和信貸增速對短期利率並不敏感。儘管私人部門會顧慮資金成本,但是國企和地方政府更傾向於維持信貸增長而非資金成本。

去槓桿的影響

2017年,我們並不擔心去槓桿會導致信貸增長減速。儘管年初我們看到房地產貸款開始減少,但是來自於基建的企業貸款填補整體信貸增速。相比去槓桿,穩增長仍然是年內重大政治會議前的首要任務。

2017年後,去槓桿可能會成為新一屆政府的目標。首先,政府需要做出決斷,降低經濟增長目標,提供空間去放緩信貸增長。其次,我們將會看到違約和股轉債等現象。所以市場參與方需要承擔違約的風險。長期而言,增加股權融資才能在一個健康增長模式下實現去槓桿的過程。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。