Central banks tapering are coming

2018-11-02 02:16
Share
  • Share

The Fed announced the start of balance sheet reduction at its 20 September meeting and noted it will begin implementing it in October. The ECB is about to announce a reduction in its net asset purchases volume on 26 October and to probably end its net asset purchases in second half of 2018. In addition, BOJ asset purchases have fallen and continue to fall due to its yield target regime. Overall, advanced economy net asset purchases are likely to fall from 100 billion month to zero by end of 2018.

Tapering may trigger corrections

The footprint of central banks in financial markets is very large. The combined asset holdings of the five central banks with recent QE programs amount to 11.5 trillion, 26% of the outstanding values of those asset classes. The decline in central bank net asset purchases will lead to a rise in net supply of the assets that central banks were previously buying. Lack of enough substituted demand, asset price will fall.

Central Bank Net Asset Purchases (3MMA, $Bn)

Data source: Central bank; Citi

Our concern is that global taping will lead to higher implied and realized volatilities. Increases in volatilities can turn out to be self-reinforcing, as rising realized volatility can induce investors to try to exit their position, which in turn lead to further price correction and higher volatilities.

Tapering may not matter after all

The details of Tapering have been widely anticipated by the markets. Many surveys indicated a very high probability for Fed balance sheet reduction this year. And the respondents also expect ECB will reduce the asset purchase amount. If markets are orderly and efficient under proper central bank forward guidance, the changes in net asset supplies should be absorbed easily.

On the other hand, the change in central bank purchases is mostly due to better economic conditions. Central banks will tread carefully and the direct of global tapering on the real economy will be modest. We believe some factors could stop or delay global tapering, including a major financial tightening, economic slowdown and low inflation. Last but not the least, any major changes in central bank leadership, such as Fed, will also affect the direction and speed of tapering.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

央行縮減計劃即將來臨

2018-11-02 02:16
分享
  • 分享

美聯儲局在9月20日議息會議中宣布10月份開啟資產負債表正常化的計劃。歐洲央行亦預期於10月26日宣布減少資產購買計劃的額度,並於2018年下半年結束資產購買計劃。另外,日本央行因為收益率盯住機制而持續減少資產購買金額。市場預計,成熟經濟體央行的淨資產購買規模將從目前每月1000億美元,將在2018年底下跌為0。

縮減計劃或引致調整

央行的腳印在金融市場留下巨大的影響力。5間央行的資產購買計劃規模達11.5兆美元,約佔所購買資產類別的26%。央行減少資產購買的額度會導致該類別資產淨供應上升。如果缺乏替代需求,該類別資產價格將會下跌。

環球5間央行淨資產購買金額(3個月移動平均值,單位10億) 

資料來源:各國央行;花旗

我們亦憂慮央行縮減計劃會引致市場隱含和真實波動率上升。波動率上升會自我強化,引致更波動的投資環境。因為投資者面臨真實波動率上升之後,就會因應風險偏好減低自己的倉位,從而進一步導致資產價格調整和波動率上升。

縮減最後可安然度過

縮減計劃已經被市場廣泛預期。不少市場調查顯示市場已經充分計入美聯儲局縮表的可能性。另外,部分受訪人員亦預期歐洲央行將會減少資產購買計劃的金額。如果在各個央行前瞻指引下,市場有序和有效反映新變化,資產的新增供應可被市場需求所吸納。

另一方面,央行改變縮減計劃源於更佳的經濟狀況。環球央行會謹慎處理縮減計劃,以減少對實體經濟的衝擊。我們認為,一些因素甚至可以令環球縮減計劃延遲或暫停,包括金融狀況緊縮、經濟放緩和通脹不振。最後,投資者亦需留意,目前,美聯儲局決策官員面臨較多空缺。如果央行決策層出現變更,央行亦可能改變縮減的方向和速度。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。