ECB: Eyes on the Euro

2018-09-06 07:56
Share
  • Share

The movements of foreign exchange markets have been a hot topic of discussion, not only in the central bank interest rate Q&A session, but also in the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting. EUR/USD once passed across 1.25 levels in January.

“Wait and see” is not enough

ECB president Draghi was quite tough in highlighting that targeting a weak currency is breach of international commitments, when EUR/USD has a huge movement in this month. ECB also had expressed its concerns on currency volatility, which is a source of risks. However, compared to US Treasury Secretary Mnuchin’s comments, Draghi’s comment is quite dovish. ECB still favors smooth tapering after the end of QE. And there are very small chances for rates to go up in the current year.

What’s next for ECB?

The March ECB meeting, with the release of new forecasts from the ECB staff, will be the key to the next for ECB policies. It gives more time and preparation for Draghi to handle a stronger Euro environment. A stronger Euro is not good for European exporters and also inflation. The members of ECB should notice markets in their comments.

On the other hand, ECB still face a stronger economic data trend in coming months. Eurozone January flash composite PMI is 58.6, beating market’s expectation of 57.9, which suggest Eurozone economics may continue to be strong at the beginning of 2018. It is an upside bias for ECB revising their economic forecast.

Strong Euro can Stay Firm

EUR/USD is on a very strong upward momentum and seems very likely that it could stay firmly over 1.25 later this year. Market has never been so long on the Euro. “Long Euro” position has become a crowded trade. We believe some outflow money since 2014 is coming back.

The rate spread between Eurozone and US, coming from different position monetary cycle, should be narrowed in the next one or two years. It is a positive signal for Euro. Eurozone economic growth momentum beginning from 2017 also supports Euro strength.

After all, FX is not one-play game. USD is another key point for EUR value. A broad based weaker USD will lead to a strong EUR.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

歐洲央行:聚焦歐元

2018-09-06 07:56
分享
  • 分享

2018年第一個月,外匯市場成為市場的焦點。無論在央行議息會議中的記者提問環節,還是世界經濟論壇上,都有關於匯率的討論。歐元兌美元在過去一個月亦一度突破1.25關口。

等待觀望不以壓低歐元

儘管歐元兌美元升值幅度不少,歐洲央行行長德拉吉嚴厲強調央行制度匯率目標違反國際共識。但是,歐洲央行亦強調外匯波動會為市場帶來不確定性的風險。相比美國財長努欽的言論,德拉吉的發言仍十分鴿派。歐洲央行在議息會議上表態傾向平緩結束資產購買計劃,同時今年加息的可能性非常低。

歐洲央行的下一動向

歐洲央行三月份議息會議,將會包含來自其官員的最新經濟預測數據,將決定歐洲央行貨幣政策的前景。這時德拉吉將具備更充足的時間和準備去應對強勢歐元帶來的環境。強勢歐元不利歐洲出口商,更不利通脹數據。歐洲央行官員必須透過演講向市場傳遞出信息。

另一方面,歐洲央行未來數月仍面臨強勁的經濟數據。歐元區1月份綜合PMI為58.6,超過市場57.9的預期,顯示歐元區經濟在2018年開局仍然強勁。這意味歐洲央行上修經濟數據的可能性高於下調數據。

強勢歐元可延續

年初至今,歐元兌美元表現十分強勢,這令今年歐元兌美元有望穩定站在1.25上方。目前,市場從未如此看好歐元,押注歐元好倉的倉位創下新高。做多歐元成為當前市場的擁擠交易。我們認為,2014年底流出的歐元資金正在回流歐元區。

歐美貨幣政策之間的差異,造成歐美債息利差。未來一直兩年利差收窄將會有利歐元的表現。另外,2017年以來歐元區動力增長加速亦支持歐元維持強勢。

外匯市場並非一方的遊戲。美元的走向是歐元走勢的重要關鍵因素。美元對其他貨幣貶值亦有助歐元走高。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。