What makes EMs look great again?

2018-09-06 08:01
Share
  • Share

Investors feel anxious about the sustainability of the emerging market equity rally in the first two months of 2017. Dollar strength, key limiter of emerging market equities performance, is still uncertain under the pace of Trump’s policy implementation. Will EM outperform again this year? Probably yes. We still see some factors supporting EM performance.

EM profit margin has further to go

Last year, EM return contribution from ROE was positive for the first time since 2011. Based on the Credit Suisse estimation, non-financial net profit margins expand 6% by using a DuPont analysis, also the first time since 2010. We believe the recovery in EM profit margins has further to go. First of all, EM energy and materials sectors can benefit from a lower base of 2016. The index representation of the two sectorstotal around 15% of MSCI EM index, while the longer-term averages are even over 25%. Secondly, EM industrial production growth is in an expansion cycle. It is also driven by strong base effects in the recovery in Brazil and Russia. Lastly, profit margins are subject to expansion as growth in productivity outpaces wage growth, which means local currency unit labor costs are now declining.

Led by a seven-year consolidation in resource sector capex discipline, the capex to sales ratio has declined. Moreover, EM also has discipline to control the debt ratio, which leads to a heathy growth mode. Two factors will help profit margin has further to go.

EM currencies remain cheap

EM currencies are significantly discounted (50%) versus the 20-year average level. Although some investors may question the dollar strength lead to week EM currencies, we believe the risk was less than the past five years. Instead of representing a flight to safety assets, the dollar strength represents a stronger US economic growth prospect. EM equities remain a play on US industrial productiongrowth, unless a significant change in US trade policies.

Relative valuation offer an attractive entry point

EM equities are trading on a forward P/E of 12x, in line with 20-year average, but with 27% discount relative to DM. On the other hand, global equity funds retain substantially underweighted in EM. However, they are accumulating EM assets since last year. Based on EPFR data, global fund managers still underweight EM by 3.6%, compared to the benchmark.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

新興市場再現輝煌的原因

2018-09-06 08:01
分享
  • 分享

2017年初,在經歷兩個月大幅升幅後,投資者對新興市場能否持續上升抱有疑問。阻礙著新興市場表現的美元走勢,仍然籠罩於美國新任總統特朗普的政策當中。新興市場今年能否再度跑贏成熟市場?答案是樂觀的,我們仍然看到不少因素支撐新興市場的表現。

新興市場利潤率將繼續走高

2016年,新興市場的表現由ROE上升驅動,是2011年首次出現這種情況。根據瑞信的估計,去年新興市場非金融企業利潤率上升6%,同樣是2010年首次出現的狀況。我們預期,新興市場利潤率有繼續上升的空間。首先,能源和原材料行業受惠低基數,可以延續增長趨勢。兩個指數的權重目前僅佔MSCI新興市場指數的15%,遠低於長期平均值25%。其次,新興市場工業增長正處於增長週期,特別受惠於俄羅斯和巴西經濟復甦。最後,利潤率增長源自於生產率高於工資增長率,這意味名義勞動力成本仍然處於下降週期。

新興市場企業亦致力於削減資本開支,資本開支/銷售比例下降。同時,新興市場亦削減債務比例,轉型為一個健康的增長模式。這兩個因素都有利於新興市場繼續提升企業利潤率。

新興市場貨幣仍然便宜

新興市場貨幣仍相對20年平均值折讓約50%。不過,投資者憂慮美元強勢會導致新興市場貨幣承壓。惟這種風險遠低於過去5年。美元上漲代表美國經濟向好,而非投資者追逐避險資產。從目前來看,新興市場仍然受惠美國產業鏈延伸,美國工業增速有利於新興市場。潛在的風險則來自於特朗普改變美國的貿易政策。

新興市場估值吸引

新興市場未來12個月盈利的對應市盈率為12倍,處於20年均值,但對成熟市場存在27%的折讓。新興市場目前嚴重低配新興市場,環球基金正在加速增持新興市場資產。根據EPFR數據,對比基準指數,環球基金目前仍低配新興市場3.6%。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。