Two Key Thoughts On Monetary Policy Move

2018-11-02 02:16
Share
  • Share

US Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen's speech did not give many surprises last Friday. She did not indicate when the U.S central bank might raise rates, but her comments reinforced the view that such a move could come later this year.

Janet Yellen devoted much of her speech to outlining how the Fed may deal with future recessions over the long term. She also mentioned US interest rates would likely be lower on average due to slower growth. The Fed can use bond purchases and forward guidance to ease conditions. Such a view is exaggerated. Market gradually believes that monetary policies become more and more unconventional.

For investors, they should learn the lessons from the Fed because ECB and BOJ also face the same situation. But their processes lag behind the Fed. Until today, ECB and BOJ schedule to end QE in 2018, three and a half years behind Fed. Since Fed began “taper tantrum” in 2013, it is time for investors to discuss how ECB and BOJ exit from unconventional monetary policies.

1. Avoid policy reversals
US's monetary policy is gradual and slow in the past three years. Central banks avoid policy reversals. Not only do policy reversals create turbulences in financial markets, but also damage central bank credibility which makes it more difficult to implement monetary policy in the future. The latest example is ECB. The ECB increased its policy rate 50bps in 2011, only to reverse course quickly thereafter. BOJ also had premature tightening period in the past 15 years.

The cautious actions of central banks will lead to lower interest rate environments and higher average valuation of financial assets. However, any implication of policy move will hurt market sentiment. Investor will likely face one-time shock in the low volatility environment in future.

2. Consider currency connection 
Monetary policy can connect between two economies with floating exchange rate regime. For example, US and Euro area are linked through a floating exchange rate. Opening capital accounts means money can leave the market and affect nominal exchange rate. As a result, attempts by the Fed to increase interest rate lead to a hike in USD but fall in Euro.

Global connection provides investment opportunities and risks for investors. In the past three years, USD-dominated investors can also benefit from USD appreciation. But JPY-dominated investors face a roller coaster situation.

USD/JPY (Black) and USD index (Yellow)

Source: Bloomberg

 

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

貨幣政策變動的兩個思考

2018-11-02 02:16
分享
  • 分享

上週五,美國聯儲局主席耶倫的重要講話並未令市場出現更多的驚喜。她並未暗示央行未來何時加息,只強化年內加息的可能性提高的觀點。

不過,耶倫大部分演講的重點放在美國聯儲局如何應對未來的經濟挑戰,特別是可能出現衰退的情況。她指出,鑑於增長放緩,美國利率未來可能維持在低位。同時,美國聯儲局仍可以通過購債計劃以及前瞻指引來調控貨幣供應。這種觀點毫無疑問是空洞的。市場愈來愈認為,貨幣政策的邊際有效性正在減弱。 

對於投資者而言,美國聯儲局的貨幣政策變動對歐洲和日本央行有指導意義,因為歐洲和日本央行面臨同樣的困境。同時,歐洲和日本央行的貨幣政策局面落後於聯儲局。根據現時歐洲和日本央行的購債計劃,它們將於2018年結束買債,落後美聯儲局2014年底結束買債三年多。由於美聯儲局於2013年啟動退出計劃,現時投資者需要考慮歐日貨幣政策出現變動的局面。

1.避免貨幣轉向

過去三年,美國貨幣政策轉向是逐步而且緩慢。央行避免政策轉向,原因在於政策轉向會嚴重影響金融市場的預期。同時,政策轉向亦會令央行失去威信,令未來貨幣政策缺乏可信性。最新的案例是歐洲央行,在2011年歐洲央行啟動加息,但是很快就重新步入減息週期。而日本央行在過去15年亦曾兩度出現貨幣政策轉向。

央行謹慎的貨幣政策行動令當前低息環境進一步延長,亦令當前金融資產價格得以支撐。不過,任何一次政策行動都會令市場信心受損。投資者需要留意在低波動率環境下,一次性負面衝擊對組合的影響。

2.考慮貨幣聯繫

貨幣政策透過浮動匯率機制連在一起。舉例來講,美國和歐元區透過匯率而聯繫。在資本賬戶聯繫之下,資金流動影響匯率的走向。因此,聯儲局過去任何加息變動都會令美元走強而歐元走弱。

環球聯繫令投資者面臨機遇和風險。過去三年,美元為計價的投資者享受美元升值的機遇。但是,日圓計價的投資者則面臨過山車的局面。

 

美元兌日圓匯率(黑)和美元指數(黃)走勢圖 

資料來源:彭博

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。