Warren Buffett Continues To Be Bullish On U.S.

2018-11-02 02:16
Share
  • Share

Berkshire Hathaway, the company owned and operated by Warren Buffett for more than five decades, saw a jump in net worth during 2015 by 15.4 billion, despite all investors are facing a tough environment last year.

As usual, Warren Buffett has just published his annual letter to shareholders. You may not own his company's stock, but you can still benefit from his opinions. In the past decades, he follows the same common-sense investment philosophy, and shares the “secrets” to everyone. In such a volatility market, we should review some lessons from Warren Buffett.

Stay sane while others go crazy
When we talk about Buffett, we should not forget his famous word. “Be fearful when others are greedy and greedy when others are fearful”. His partner, Munger believes it is Warren Buffett's competitive advantage. The average investor can expect to see at least four or five serious market dislocation in their lifetime. However, the challenge is to have the mental fortitude to take advantage of them.

Don't do dumb thing
Berkshire Hathaway's insurance float continues to touch a record high, which provide a financial leverage to magnify returns and also relatively inexpensive financing. As a result, insurance is the first primary advantage for Buffett's company. Buffett especially point out insurers should not chase market share through aggressive underwriting. In an unfavorable pricing environment, the rational thing to do may be just to sit on the sidelines.

Keep optimistic
During the election year in the US, many candidates talk about problems that the country is facing. Many people worry that their children may live as well as they themselves do. In this shareholder letter, Buffett suggested this view is dead wrong. American GDP per capita is a six times the amount in 1930. Buffett also noted that it's been a terrible mistake to bet against US for the past 240 years. America's golden goose of commerce and innovation will continue to lay more and larger eggs.

Last but not the least, it is not hard to understand Warren Buffett's investment philosophy, but the key point is stick to it.

.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

巴菲特繼續看好美國前景

2018-11-02 02:16
分享
  • 分享

「股神」巴菲特持有並經營超過50年的巴郡(Berkshire Hathaway)近期公佈了2015年全年業績。儘管過去一年面臨不利的投資環境,其企業淨資產仍錄得154億美元的升幅。

一如過往,巴菲特在這週公佈一年一度的股東信,與投資者分享。投資者可能未必持有他的股份,但仍可以通過這封公開信,從他的看法中獲益良多。在過去幾十年中,巴菲特遵循一致的投資哲學,和投資者風險關於投資的「秘密」。在這動盪的投資環境中,我們應該回顧一下巴菲特的投資智慧。

別人亢奮時保持理智 
當投資者談及巴菲特,「在別人恐慌時貪婪,在別人貪婪時恐慌」這句名言必定會被提及。他的企業夥伴芒格認為這就是巴菲特投資與別人的相對優勢。在一生當中,投資者可能面臨四至五次市場價格嚴重錯估的機會。而能否把握這些機會,就在於你的心理質素。

不要做愚蠢的事 
2015年報顯示,巴郡旗下保險企業的保險浮存金(Insurance Float)創下歷史新高。了解巴郡的投資者都知道,保險業務為企業提供金融槓桿去調控收益,以及降低投資的財務成本。所以,巴郡的成功離不開保險業務的經營。巴菲特特別指出,保險經營者不應為了追逐市場份額而做出錯誤的經營決定,例如過度承保。在不利的定價環境下,冷眼旁觀可能是最好的策略。

保持樂觀 
在2015年股東信中,巴菲特談及總統大選年,投資者不免被各位候選人談及美國的問題所影響。不少投資者甚至認為未來將會失色,子女生活將不如他們自己。巴菲特認為這是一個致命的錯誤判斷。自1930年巴菲特出生起,美國GDP已經上升了5倍。而過去240年歷史亦顯示這是一個增長的趨勢,看空美國無從談起。美國的商業和創新作為兩隻金鵝,會生出更多更大的金蛋。

最後值得一提的是,對於投資者而言,理解巴菲特的投資哲學並不困難,難在於堅持下去。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。