Why China A Share Rally Will Continue in 2015?

2018-11-02 02:16
Share
  • Share

Last year, most overseas investors were quite bearish in China as they worried about “hard-landing” of Chinese economy. Today, they found themselves over-pessimistic as the risk of “hard-landing” fell. Although it seems very risky to jump on the bandwagon of Chinese A shares after they rallied over 50% last year, there are some investment themes in 2015 that we shall not miss. We see three investment themes this year that can support further rallies in A shares.

Disinflation and lower interest rate
Though falling energy and commodity prices could hurt some domestic producers, we believe China, the largest net importer of commodity, will benefit from cheaper resources as a whole. According to National Statistics Bureau, China's latest CPI is around 1.6%, far below government's target of 3.5%. Lower inflation pressure gives more rooms for the PBoC to further loosen monetary policies. Lower prices also allows for energy and utility price reform by the government.

China CPI(Black) and PPI(Yellow)

Data Source: Bloomberg

 

We expect easing monetary policies would lead to lower risk-free rates. First of all, the first rate cut in November 2014 proved that the government did not consider rate cut as a taboo any more. Secondly, China has increasingly recognized the damage of high real interest rate to the economy. Recently, there have been more and more calls for measures to lower funding costs. So in 2015 the PBOC is likely to increase the amount of liquidity injection to deliver lower interbank rates. Last but not the least, the PSL, regarded as China's QE, could help lower the risk-free rate by lending the PBoC's money to local government via China Development Bank. Not only does lower rates avoid “hard-landing” of economy, it also eases financing difficulties of companies. It would help lift A share markets.

Local government funding vehicle reform
Local government debt has increased significantly since 2008. Many overseas investors are fear of their asset quality. Their concerns about defaults of local government debts would mean lower risk premium. Funding cost of economy also grew, crowding out private sector funding needs and increasing systematic risks of the financial market. Recognizing the negative effects, it is expected that the central government would take two steps to tackle the problem. First, it increases funding from central government-owned policy banks to support infrastructure and social housing projects directly. Secondly, it introduces new rules governing local government debt so that only provincial-level governments could issue bonds to raise money.

Equity financing to boost
Chinese companies, no matter state-owned or private, rely too much on debt and too little on equity financing. As authorities once suspended the equity IPO market, equity financing has been less effective than debt financing. That resulted in a rapid growth of corporate debts rather than equities. In 2015, the focus of the stock market is likely to be the change IPO issuance mechanism from approval-based to registration-based. The registration-based IPO issuance mechanism could make IPOs more market-oriented. At least, slow bull markets can attractive companies and arouse investors' interests.

In conclusion, we believe lower risk-free rate and higher risk premium will continue to lead to a bull A share market. At the same time, we will not see a great positive policy effect in equity regulation. However, investors should also be aware of two major risks in 2015. Markets would remain very volatile and roller-coaster-like movement is expected. Stronger RMB relative to non-USD currencies may also hurt China's export data, thus increasing concerns in Chinese economy.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

2015年不能忽視A股的原因

2018-11-02 02:16
分享
  • 分享

過去一年,海外投資者因擔心中國經濟出現硬著陸,對中國股市過度悲觀。如今,他們對中國漸漸改觀,認為中國經濟硬著陸的風險降低。儘管投資者高追A股市場存在風險,但2015年存在不能忽視A股的原因。我們認為投資者需要留意三個重要的投資議題。

低通脹和息率下降 
能源和商品價格持續下降,雖會對一些國內商品生產商造成打擊,但中國作為全球最大的淨進口商品國之一,整體上將會受惠於較低的資源價格。國家統計局公佈的最新消費物價指數僅為1.6%,但是中國政府消費物價指數的指標達到3.5%。通脹壓力下降,為人民銀行提供較大的空間去推行更多的貨幣寬鬆政策。另一方面,下跌中的商品價格亦有利於中央政府進行能源和公用事業改革。

中國消費物價指數(黑)和批發物價指數(黃)

資料來源:彭博

我們預期,寬鬆的貨幣政策將會帶來更低的無風險利率。首先,2014年11月減息行為告訴市場中國已不再將減息視作傳遞寬鬆貨幣政策信號的禁忌。第二,中國逐漸意識到高企的實質利率將會嚴重影響經濟的運行。而近期,很多市場聲音亦呼籲央行作出實際措施來降低企業的融資成本。所以,在2015年,人民銀行將會增加流動性供給來壓低銀行間同業拆放利率。最後,抵押補充貸款PSL等一系列工具亦被視為中國式QE,國家將透過國家開發銀行定向發放貸款來影響降低無風險利率。降息除可避免經濟硬著陸外,企業融資難度減低,對A股造成支撐。

地方政府融資平台改革 
自2008年起,地方政府明顯增加自身的債務。許多海外投資者擔心這些債務背後的資產質素。這些擔心意味著市場因為顧慮地方債務違約而降低自己的投資風險偏好。而地方債務違約可能性亦令融資成本高企、擠出私人投資需求,增加金融市場的系統性風險。中國政府考慮到這些負面影響,2015年將採取兩項措施來解決這一問題。第一,通過國有政策性銀行直接為基建以及社會保障性住房融資,降低這些投資的融資成本。另外,通過改革地方政府融資平台,將發行債務的權限限於省級政府。

鼓勵股權融資 
中國企業,無論是國有還是私人,都依賴債務融資多於股權融資。過去新股市場一度暫停,令債務增速高於股票。2015年,證監會將會大力推行新股發行註冊制取代原有的審批制。註冊制將提高發行新股的效率,亦有助於新股發行制度更為市場化。因此,在推行註冊制的背景下,政府需要一個慢牛的股市走勢。

總括而言,我們認為無風險利率下行和風險偏好上行將帶來一個A股牛市。同時,股票市場向上趨勢亦會得到監管支持和鼓勵,降低了政策風險。不過,我們在2015年亦需注意兩大風險。一是,股市上漲速度過快可能帶來較高的波動。另一方面,人民幣相對非美元貨幣強勢亦令中國出口可能低於預期。

相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。