Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 826- The takeaway or ECB’s new stimulus measures

2019-09-16 07:39
Share
  • Share

16 September 2019, Issue 826

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • United States: Trump said he is holding an open attitude to have a temporary trade agreement with China. However, he claimed it is better to reach a permanent agreement with China. Over the week, the Dow rose 1.58 percent to 27,219.52 points. The S&P 500 index rose 0.96 percent to close at 3,007.39. The Nasdaq rose 0.91% to 8,176.71.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank decided to further cut the negative deposit rate to -0.5%, and it will purchase 20 billion euros of bonds each month from November 1 to boost the economic growth of the euro zone. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose 1.17 percent, the German DAX index rose 2.27 percent, and the French CAC 40 index rose 0.92 percent. The STOXX 600 index rose 1.2% to 391.79 points.
  • Asia: China’s social financing growth rate in August exceeded expectations, indicating that policy efforts to provide funding to companies may be gaining further momentum. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose 3.72% to 21,988.29 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose 2.43% to 159.97 points.

Bonds

  • United States: Trump increased his pressure on the Federal Reserve, saying that the Fed should lower interest rates to zero or even lower. The former Federal Reserve economists considered this a “catastrophe formula.” For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond rose by 34 basis points to 1.896%.
  • Eurozone: The British Parliament once again rejected the Prime Minister’s motion to advance the election. Before the vote, Johnson stressed that he would not ask the EU to extend the the Brexit deadline. Before the vote, Johnson stressed that he would not extend the EU’s extension to the EU.

Commodity

  • Oil price: Trump fired Bolton, the national security adviser, because they have disagreements on many issues. The news dragged down the oil prices, and investors speculated that the US foreign policy toward Iran and Venezuela would become less tough. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by -2.95% to close at $54.85 a barrel.

Currency

  • US$: According to a survey by the New York Federal Reserve, US inflation expectations fell to a multi-year low in August, and the expected inflation rate fell to 2.4% in the coming year, the lowest level within last six years. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose -0.139% to 98.257.
  • The State Administration of Foreign Exchange of China announced that it has scrapped QFII and RQFII investments quota, opening its financial market to the outside world. Analysts pointed out that it is beneficial to the capital market in long term that China opens its financial market to the outside world. In the short-term, the good news in A-shares trends to be emotionally boosted, and the substantive impact on the bond market is limited. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.466% against the US dollar at 7.079.

Economic-related News

  • United States: US President Trump announced that the tariff increase deadline for China’s $250 billion worth of goods will be postponed from October 1 to October 15, showing goodwill to China.
  • United States: Former Federal Reserve Chairman Yellen said although the US economy is in good condition, the threat to the economic outlook has increased, and inflation is far below the target.
  • United States: The USDA confirmed that China has purchased more than 200,000 tons of soybeans.
  • Eurozone: Germany’s trade surplus expanded in July, reached the highest level within last four months. The export of Germany was unexpectedly grew.
  • Eurozone: Italian Prime Minister Conte’s new ruling coalition won the parliamentary confidence vote, which implies the political turmoil is over and the government can begin to set priority issues, including the 2020 budget.
  • Eurozone: The UK government announced a No-Deal Brexit plan, which warned that if Hard Brexit happened, the UK will face food and fuel shortages, supply chain disruptions, public order disruption and huge pressure to return to the negotiating table.
  • Japan: Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe claimed the new cabinet will not change its policy toward South Korea. It is expected that the uncertainty of the global economic outlook will continue to increase. Shinzo Abe claimed that if downside risks become a reality, the government will take all feasible measures to deal with it.
  • Japan: The July Conference Board leading economic index of Japan fell 0.2% month-on-month, falling for five consecutive months.
  • Japan: Japan’s M2 money supply in August rose 2.4% year-on-year, in line with market expectations.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The Central Reform Commission announced that China must coordinate and promote various reforms and turn institutional advantages into governance effectiveness. It also announced that China will promote the high-quality development of trade, strengthen technological innovation, institutional innovation, and business innovation.
• China’s August CPI rose 2.8% year-on-year.

The takeaway or ECB’s new stimulus measures

In light of subdued macro-economic data and the escalation in the US-Chinese trade tension, the European Central Bank (ECB) announced a comprehensive easing package on 12 September as market expected. Despite the easing package fell short of expectations on near term rates, it surprised notably with a new round of open-ended asset purchase programme, and strengthened the interest rate forward guidance on policy rates by linking the first-rate hike in future to both realised and projection inflation. More details of the easing package are as follow:

1. An open-ended QE

As a very dovish surprise, the ECB will restart a new QE programme on 1 November with a monthly flow pace of EUR €20bn. Despite the EUR €20 bn is only at the lower end of market expectations, more crucially, the new QE will run for an unspecified time limit, which is totally different from previous QEs. The open-ended nature of the QE is significant and resulted in a pronounced flattening of the risk-free curve alongside a large tightening in peripheral spreads.

The new QE programme will not include new asset classes for this moment; therefore, it will essentially buy the same assets as under the previous QE programme. Also, the ECB announced that the possibility of buying assets with yields below the deposit facility, which also apply to covered bonds, asset-backed securities (ABS) and corporate bonds. However, sovereign bonds should remain the key asset to purchase and only a small share will be allocated to private sector.

2. Deposit rate cut

The ECB cut the deposit rate by 10bp to -0.5%, kept the refi rate at 0.0% and the marginal lending facility unchanged at +0.25%. The deposit rate cut was slightly below market pricing. President Draghi’s comments the room for further rate cut were limited, and emphasizes the adverse effects of negative rates.

3. Tiering

The ECB announced the introduction of a tiered deposit rate, starting on 30 October. Under the two-tiered reserve system, banks’ reserves will be remunerated either at an annual rate of 0%, or at the prevailing Deposit Facility Rate (DFR) (i.e., -0.5%). The tier that is exempted for the DFR charge will be set as six times of minimum reserve requirement. With adopting of tiering system, European banks is likely to suffer less negative impact from interest rate cut in future, and overall the excess liquidity in the banking system should gradually be improved.

4. Interest rate forward guidance

In the new forward guidance, the ECB said that key interest rates are expected to remain at the present or lower levels until it need to see a sufficient improvement in both projected and realised inflation, but to below 2%, before raising policy rates. Regarding to the sequence of QE and interest rate hikes, the ECB clearly said that QE will have to end before rates will rise, meaning that the ECB’s interest rate forward guidance will now become the guidance on the time frame of QE too.

Market seesaw after ECB unveils new stimulus programme as doubt emerges since monetary policy is increasingly perceived as impotent and overburdened, especially global growth remain lacklustre after a decade of aggressive QE and dramatic cuts in interest rate. Besides, some studies also suggest that QE is distorting markets as well as exacerbating income disparities. In a nutshell, easing itself does not necessary change a country’s fundamentals. It is more about whether the country has real supply-side reforms to improve its competitiveness over the long-term.

英國脫歐鬧劇愈演愈烈

英國國會下議院在上星期通過阻止無協議脫歐法案。法案要求政府於10月19日或之前,除非國會通過脫歐協議或准許無協議脫歐,否則……

歐央行減息 銀行股得益有限

本週四,歐洲央行進行議息會議,宣布減息10個基點,至-0.5%,符合市場預期。同時,基於歐元區GDP增速下修至1.1%,歐洲央行重啟資產購買計劃,11月起每月購買200億歐元資產……





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第826期)- 拆解欧洲央行新刺激措施

2019-09-16 07:39
分享
  • 分享

2019年9月16日 第826期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:特朗普表示,他對與中國達成臨時貿易協議持開放態度,但更願意雙方能達成永久性協議。全週計,道指升1.58 %,報27,219.52點。標普500指數升0.96 %,報點3,007.39。納指升0.91 %,報8,176.71點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲央行決定進一步下調負存款利率至-0.5%,並自11月1日起將每月購買200億歐元債券以提振歐元區經濟成長。全週計,英國富時100指數升1.17 %,德國DAX指數升2.27 %,法國CAC40指數升0.92 %。STOXX 600指數全週升1.2%,報391.79點。
  • 亞洲:中國8月份社融成長速度超過預期,標志著向企業提供資金的政策努力可能正獲得進一步動力。全週計,日經225指數升3.72 %,報21,988.29點。MSCI 亞太區指數升2.43 %,報159.97點。

債券

  • 美國:川普加大對聯儲會施壓,稱後者應該將利率降至零甚至更低;前聯儲會經濟學家認為這是「災難的配方」。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升34個基點,報1.896 %。
  • 歐元區:英國議會再次否決首相約翰遜提前大選的動議。約翰遜在投票前強調,不會再向歐盟提出延長脫歐期限。

商品

  • 油價:特朗普解雇國家安全顧問博爾頓,因兩人在許多問題上意見不合。消息引發油價下跌,投資者猜測美國對伊朗和委內瑞拉的外交政策將變得不那麼強硬。全週計,紐約期油升-2.95 %,收報每桶54.85美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:據紐約聯儲的調查,8月份美國通膨預期下滑至多年低點,未來一年的預期通膨率降至2.4%,創下該調查六年歷史中的最低水平。全週計,美匯指數升-0.139%,報 98.257。
  • 中國:中國外匯局宣布取消QFII、RQFII投資額度限制,金融市場對外開放再邁步。分析師指出,從長線看,中國金融市場繼續對外開放,利好資本市場走勢,短線對A股更多是情緒提振作用,對債市實質性影響也有限。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.466%,報7.079。

與經濟相關新聞

    • 美國:美國總統特朗普宣布,對華2,500億美元商品的關稅加碼時間將從10月1日推遲至10月15日,以示善意。
    • 美國:前聯儲會主席耶倫:雖然美國經濟處於良好狀態,但經濟前景面臨的威脅有所增多,通膨遠低於目標。
    • 美國:美國農業部證實中國採購超20萬噸大豆。
    • 歐元區:德國7月份貿易順差擴大,創4個月來最高值。出口意外成長。
    • 歐元區:義大利總理孔特的新執政聯盟贏得議會信任投票,這意味著政治動盪結束,政府可以開始制定優先事項,包括2020年的預算案。
    • 歐元區:英國政府公佈無協議脫歐計畫,該報告警告稱,如果無協議脫離歐盟,英國會出現食品和燃料短缺、供應鏈中斷、公共秩序混亂以及巨大的重返談判桌的壓力。
    • 日本:日本首相安倍晉三:新內閣不會改變對南韓政策,料全球經濟前景不確定性會持續加大,稱如果下行風險成為現實,政府將採取一切可行措施加以應對。
    • 日本:日本7月諮商會領先指標按月跌0.2%,連跌五月。
    • 日本:日本8月M2貨幣供應按年2.4%,符合市場預期。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中央改革委:中國要協調推進各項改革,把制度優勢轉化為治理效能。推進貿易高質量發展,要強化科技創新、制度創新、模式和業態創新。

• 中國8月份CPI按年2.8%。

拆解歐洲央行新刺激措施

鑑於疲弱的經濟數據以及中美貿易戰局勢緊張,歐洲央行(ECB)於上星期四9月12日如市場預期般宣布新一輪的一籃子刺激措施。儘管短期減息幅度稍微低於預期,但新一輪量化寬鬆(QE)計劃竟不設期限,令市場意外;同時,今次歐洲央行亦加強了對利率的前瞻指引,未來息口走向將與預測通脹及實現通脹兩者掛鉤。詳細資料如下:

1. 開放式量化寬鬆政策

歐洲央行於11月1日起重啟量化寬鬆計劃,每月將購買價值200億歐元的債券。儘管200億歐元的規模僅處於市場預期下限,但更重要的是,新的量化寬鬆計劃不設期限,將一直維持至經濟好轉為止,與過往有期限的QE大大不同,足見歐洲央行今次的決心。另外,開放式量化寬鬆其實意義重大,它將導致無風險曲線更趨於平緩以及有助週邊國家利差大幅收窄。

目前,今次量寬計劃雖然並沒有特別注明新增可購買的資產類別,但歐洲央行宣布將有可能購買收益率低於存款工具的資產,並包括擔保債券,資產抵押證券(ABS)及公司債券等。 然而,我們相信主權債券仍然是主要的購買資產,預計將只有一小部分流入私企。

2. 存款利率下調

歐洲央行將存款利率下調10個基點至-0.5%,將再融資利率維持在0.0%及將邊際貸款利率維持在+ 0.25%不變。 今次存款利率下調幅度略低於市場定價,而歐央行行長德拉吉亦認為進一步降息的空間有限,並多次強調負利率所帶來的不利影響。

3. 分層利率機制

歐洲央行宣布從10月30日開始實行分層存款利率。 在雙層準備金制度下,歐元區的商業銀行向歐洲央行停泊的資金,在其強制準備金的6倍以內,將毋須向央行支付利息,而超出6倍上限的準備金將按現行存款準備金率(DFR)支付(現時為負0.5%)。預計採用利率分層機制後,歐洲銀行對未來減息舉動所引起的負面息差影響將會降低,並有利改善整體銀行系統的流動性過剩問題。

4. 利率前瞻指引

歐洲央行表示,預計主要利率將維持在目前或較低水平,直至預測和實現通脹都有足夠的改善並穩固貼近2%這一目標後 ,才會考慮加息。另外,歐洲央行亦明確表示量化寬鬆必須在利率上升之前結束,這意味著歐洲央行的利率前瞻指引將與量寬時間表息息相關。

市場對今次歐央行推出新一輪的刺激措施反應迴異,部份投資者認為貨幣刺激政策越來越無力及失去應有效用,特別是在經過過去十年大幅量寬及減息後,全球經濟增長仍然乏善可陳。 此外,一些研究更表示,量寬政策不單扭曲市場需求,更有加劇貧富懸殊之嫌。 總括而言,量寬政策本身並不一定會改變一個國家的基本面,而一個國家能否真正復甦更多的是要看他是否有進行真正的供給側改革,以提高改善其長期競爭力。

英國脫歐鬧劇愈演愈烈

英國國會下議院在上星期通過阻止無協議脫歐法案。法案要求政府於10月19日或之前,除非國會通過脫歐協議或准許無協議脫歐,否則……

歐央行減息 銀行股得益有限

本週四,歐洲央行進行議息會議,宣布減息10個基點,至-0.5%,符合市場預期。同時,基於歐元區GDP增速下修至1.1%,歐洲央行重啟資產購買計劃,11月起每月購買200億歐元資產……







相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。