iFund- Easing trade tensions between Washington and Beijing?

2019-09-18 04:13
Share
  • Share

Hostile behaviours and policies, either from China or the United States, will be a lose-lose situation. Trump’s net approval rating is negative, bringing a great pressure on his presidential campaign. On the other hand, the Chinese government also hopes to properly handle the economic downturn. Therefore, both sides have incentives to reach a deal.

featured

Since the G20 summit in late June, the Sino-US trade war reached a stalemate. The main events include:
• The negotiations between the two sides in July were unremarkable;
• US President Trump suddenly announced that he would impose a 10% tariff on the remaining $300 billion of Chinese imports to the United States;
• Both USD/CNY and USD/CNH fell below 7, and the USD/CNH hit a record low;
• The US Treasury Department designated China as a currency manipulator;
• China imposed additional tariffs on $75 billion of American goods;
• The US announced that it would impose an extra 5% tariff on China’s 300 billion Chinese goods to 15% starting from September 1. The tariff of Chinese goods worth 250 billion would be increased from 25% to 30% starting from October 1;
• The People’s Bank of China cut the required reserve ratio by 0.5%.

However, after the two sides agreed to hold the 13th round of China-US high-level trade consultations in early Oct in Washington, both China and USA have recently shown sincerity. China granted tariff exemptions to 16 types of US goods, while the US President Donald Trump said the tariff hikes — from 25% to 30% — will be moved from October 1 to October 15. Last night, Trump says he would consider an interim trade deal with China.

Under globalization, countries’ interests are overlapped. Hostile behaviours and policies, either from China or the United States, will be a lose-lose situation. Trump’s net approval rating is negative, bringing a great pressure on his presidential campaign. On the other hand, the Chinese government also hopes to properly handle the economic downturn. Therefore, both sides have incentives to reach a deal. However, if the US insists Chinese needs to conduct structural reforms and incorporates an enforcement mechanism into the agreement, China may refuse. As a result, the chances of reaching an agreement in the short term may not be too high.

Investors may consider adding gold to their portfolios to diversify risk. In the recent wave(last 3 months) of stock sell-offs, gold outperformed stocks, other precious metals, oil, and also some traditional defensive assets, such as long-term bonds.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

无搜索基金结果

iFund App

iFund App 下载

下载 iFund 手机 App,随时随地配置全球资产
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

我的账户

启动iFund账户
须提供
个人资料及启动资金
iFund App

iFund App 下载

下载 iFund 手机 App,随时随地配置全球资产
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

iFund- 中美贸易战有偃旗息鼓迹象?

2019-09-18 04:13
分享
  • 分享

中美有互相依赖对方的地方,采取敌对的态度只会出现双输的局面。现时特朗普的民望是负净值,对竞选连任带来压力。另一方面,中国政府亦希望妥善处理经济下行的问题。因此,双方都有诱因去达成判议。

featured

自6月底G20峰会以来,中美贸易战陷入胶着状态,双方互相过招,主要事件包括:

•七月份的双方谈判毫无寸进;
•美国总统特朗普又突然宣布,向剩下3000亿美元输美中国货加征10%关税;
•在岸及离岸人民币兑美元双双穿七,人民币离岸价更创纪录新低;
•美国财政部更将中国列为汇率操控国;
•中国宣布对750亿美元美国商品加税;
•美国公布于9月1日起对3000亿的中国商品征收多5%关税至15%。另外,美国正在对价值2500亿的中国商品施加25%的关税,并计划从10月1日开始把关税提高到30%;。
•中国人民银行下调金融机构存款准备金率0.5%。

然而,在中美确定于10月在华盛顿举行第十三轮贸易谈判后,近日双方都为谈判展示诚意。中国国务院公布首批豁免加征关税的美国进口商品清单,而美国总统特朗普宣布将原定10月1日起实施2500亿美元中国货加征5%关税的措施,推迟至10月15日才实行。昨天,特朗普指正考虑与中国达临时贸易协定。

在全球化之下,国与国之间的利益关系错综复杂。中美有互相依赖对方的地方,采取敌对的态度只会出现双输的局面。现时特朗普的民望是负净值,对竞选连任带来压力。另一方面,中国政府亦希望妥善处理经济下行的问题。因此,双方都有诱因去达成判议。不过,要是美方坚持中国进行结构性改革及将惩罚机制纳入协议,中国或会拒绝,导致短期内达成协议的机会未必太高。

投资者可考虑将黄金加入投资组合来分散风险。在最近3个月的股票抛售潮中,黄金投资表现不仅优于股票,其他贵金属和石油,亦跑嬴一些传统的防守性资产,如长期债券等。

相关文章