iFund- How can make profit from negative yielding bonds?

2019-09-18 04:13
Share
  • Share

All in all, the rise of negative-yielding bonds could eventually turn into a bubble for the bond market, in particular today’s easy monetary policy has pushed a lot of money flow into the passive indexed bond funds and ETFs, which many of them are mandated to buy the bonds according to the weight in the index, but regardless of price or future return. Investing in negative-yielding bonds is like playing the musical chair and no one really know when the music will stop. The sudden collapse in interest rate differentials, flattening of yield curve’s slope or upward shocks to forward exchange rate may create substantial loss in negative yield bonds. Therefore, it is always important for bond funds investors to monitor what their funds really invested in and not to have too much exposure on negatively yielding bonds.

featured

Two weeks ago, the world’s first 30-Year zero coupon bond at negative yield flops in Germany with a total value of 824 million euros, causing the whole of Germany’s yield curve to below zero. Effectively, the government of Germany is now being paid to borrow out as it only needs to repay 795 million euros when it expires in 30 years, which means that investors of the 30-year German Bund would actually get back less money than what had been invested if they held through to the maturity. Sounds weird?

Today, negative interest rate bonds are increasingly common and approximately $17 trillion of bonds are now paying negative interest rate amid global economic concerns and speculation of central banks easing across the globe. That represents more than 30% of a total global bond market value of $55 trillion. The trend is actually creeping into Emerging European market, such as Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic, with their outstanding euro bonds are all trading at negative yields. Now the question is, who in the world is buying all these negative yielding bonds?

Owning negative-yielding bond could make sense if an investor expects future capital gain (e.g., negative interest rate to dip further) or is financing the positions at even more negative rates, which make it possible to earn positive carry. Indeed, with European Central Bank largely expected to restart their asset purchasing program this or next year, negative-yielding European bonds buyers are speculating the bond price will go up further as a result.

Besides, Negative yields don’t necessary mean negative return for some investors too. For example, U.S. investors are buying European or Japanese debt and hedged back into USD as it offers a yield pick-up opportunity. According to interest rate parity, a currency with a lower interest trades at a higher exchange rate in the future. Therefore, U.S. investors of the negative-yielding bond (e.g., two-year German Bund yielding -0.9%) will enter into a forward or swap as the one-year implied forward exchange rate for the EUR vs. USD currently is about 3 percent higher than the spot exchange rate. With 3% return from forward currency hedging together with the -0.9% negative yield from the German Bund, U.S. investors effectively earns a 2.1% hedged yield from this kind of carry trade strategy. This is a typical example of using a derivative contract to take a long-term low yielding asset into a high yield. For instance, a lot of US bond ETFs or currency hedged indexed bond funds are buying negative-yielding bonds and earn a decent return on a currency hedged basis.

Another way investor can make money from the negative yield is to take advantage of the yield curve’s slope. The yield curve represents the gap between shorter-term yields and longer-term, with a steep curve indicating a large difference. As such, very negative short-term yields (e.g., -0.7%) result in positive carry for a 20-year bond (e.g., -0.25% yield) internal European investors as the bond rolls down and the price of the long-term bond should generally rise as it moves closer to maturity. However, this is only a short-term strategy as yield curve’s slope could change drastically.

All in all, the rise of negative-yielding bonds could eventually turn into a bubble for the bond market, in particular today’s easy monetary policy has pushed a lot of money flow into the passive indexed bond funds and ETFs, which many of them are mandated to buy the bonds according to the weight in the index, but regardless of price or future return. Investing in negative-yielding bonds is like playing the musical chair and no one really know when the music will stop. The sudden collapse in interest rate differentials, flattening of yield curve’s slope or upward shocks to forward exchange rate may create substantial loss in negative yield bonds. Therefore, it is always important for bond funds investors to monitor what their funds really invested in and not to have too much exposure on negatively yielding bonds.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

无搜索基金结果

iFund App

iFund App 下载

下载 iFund 手机 App,随时随地配置全球资产
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

我的账户

启动iFund账户
须提供
个人资料及启动资金
iFund App

iFund App 下载

下载 iFund 手机 App,随时随地配置全球资产
Get it on App StoreGet it on Google PlayGet it on iFund Server

iFund- 投资负收益率债券能获利吗?

2019-09-18 04:13
分享
  • 分享

总体而言,负收益债券的崛起十分值得市场关注,而通常收益率越负的情况下代表着债券价格越趋昂贵,最终甚至可能会演变成债券市场的泡沫,特别是在今天宽松的货币政策下,大量市场资金流入被动式的指数债券基金及ETF,其中许多是强制性地根据指数中的权重而购买债券,不论价格或未来收益是否合理。现在,投资负收益债券就好比玩音乐椅一样,没有人真正知道音乐将在什么时候停止。利差突然收窄、收益率曲线斜率变平或远期汇率冲击皆可能导致负收益债券价格突然大幅下挫。因此,无论是投资股票或债券基金,投资者都需要经常注意这些基金是投资在那些地方,而投资负收益债券的风险可能实际上可能比大家想像的更高。

featured

两周前,德国首次以负收益率发行了一笔总值8.24亿欧元的30年期国债,亦是全球首个30年期国债以负收益率发行,令德国的收益率曲线全面跌至负值。由于国债的出售价格高于票面价值,德国政府在30年后到期是时只需偿还7.95亿欧元,意味着投资者在持有30年德国国债至到期日2050年时将收回少于其投资的金额。这情况对不少投资者来说实在是有点匪夷所思?

今天,负利率债券可谓越来越普遍,在担忧全球经济衰退及预计全球各国央行将大幅放水下,全球负利率债务的规模已超过17万亿美元,大约占全球总值55万亿美元债券市场的三成。而这一趋势在近年已蔓延至新兴欧洲市场,如波兰,匈牙利和捷克等。那么,究竟是谁在购买这些负收益债券?

如果投资者预期未来的债券价格继续上升(例如,受负利率进一步下降所致)或者能以更负的利率来融资,那么持有负收益债券将变得合理。事实上,市场预期欧洲央行有很大的机会将在今年或明年重启其资产购买计划。因此,投资在负收益欧洲债券将可能因债券价格上升而获利。德国10年期负收益率国债在过去一个月便上涨了接近4%。

此外,随价格可能上升外,负收益率也不一定等同于负回报。例如,很多美国投资者大幅购买负收益率的欧洲或日本债券,在对冲美元后以赚取不俗的正回报。根据利率平价理论(interest rate parity) ,利率较低的货币将在未来以较高的汇率进行交易。因此,负收益债券的美国投资者(例如,2年期德国国债收益率为-0.9%),将会同时透过远期或掉期合约进行投资。目前,欧元兑美元的一年隐含远期汇率 (forward exchange rate) 大约高于即期汇率 (spot exchange rate) 3%。因此,在赚取远期货币对冲回报的3%,并扣除投资于2年期德国国债的-0.9%的负收益率后,美国投资者实际上在这种套利交易策略(carry trade) 下将获得大约2.1%的回报,表现甚至高于投资在美国国债,可谓是典型使用衍生合约将长期低收益资产转化为高收益率的例子。现时许多美国债券ETF或货币对冲指数债券基金正正在购买负收益债券,并在货币对冲基础上获得可观的回报。

另一种从负收益债券中获利的方法是透过收益率曲线的斜率。收益率曲线代表短期收益率与长期收益率之间的差距,陡峭的曲线表明存在较大差异,有更大的获利空间。因此,当非常负的短期收益率(例如,-0.7%)出现时,投资20年期债券(例如,-0.25%收益率)将有很大机会获利。在固定的收益率曲线形状下,债券将向更负的短期收益率下滑,长期债券价格将随着时间过去而上涨。然而,要注意的是这是一个短期策略,收益率曲线的斜率可能会随时发生剧烈变化。

总体而言,负收益债券的崛起十分值得市场关注,而通常收益率越负的情况下代表着债券价格越趋昂贵,最终甚至可能会演变成债券市场的泡沫,特别是在今天宽松的货币政策下,大量市场资金流入被动式的指数债券基金及ETF,其中许多是强制性地根据指数中的权重而购买债券,不论价格或未来收益是否合理。现在,投资负收益债券就好比玩音乐椅一样,没有人真正知道音乐将在什么时候停止。利差突然收窄、收益率曲线斜率变平或远期汇率冲击皆可能导致负收益债券价格突然大幅下挫。因此,无论是投资股票或债券基金,投资者都需要经常注意这些基金是投资在那些地方,而投资负收益债券的风险可能实际上可能比大家想像的更高。

相关文章