Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 818- US FX Intervention Risk Could Be Another Overhang For Investors

2019-07-23 01:21
Share
  • Share

22 July 2019 Issue 818

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The US-Iran situation is still tense. In addiction, it is expected that the Fed will only cut interest rates by 25 basis points at the end of the month, dragging down the stock markets. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 0.65% to 27154.2 points. The S&P 500 index fell by 1.23% to close at 2976.61. The Nasdaq fell by 1.18% to 8164.49 points.
  • Europe: Investors worried that the profitability of European banking industry will generally being affected if major central banks continue to cut interest rates in response to the global economic slowdown. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 0.04%, the German DAX index fell by 0.51%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 0.37%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.10% for the week, to 387.25 points.
  • Asia: Japan’s exports continue to decline, and South Korea unexpectedly cut interest rates, dragging down the Asian stock markets. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 1.01% to 21,466.99 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.38% to 160.94.

Bonds

  • US: US Treasury prices have risen, and the number of housing starts in the US is poor. In addition, the market worried that the probability of no-deal Brexit will increase, causing funds flow into the bond market For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 6 basis points to 2.05%.
  • Europe: ECB President Draghi hinted that the central bank will take action to boost the economy, which escalated the market expectations on interest rates cut. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 7 basis points to -0.32%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The situation in the Persian Gulf is tense. In addiction, the market worried that the global oil demand will be decreased due to the economic slowdown. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 7.61% to close at $55.63 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: US retail sales in June exceeded expectations. The market believes that the US Federal Reserve is unlikely to cut interest rates by 50 basis points in July, pushing up the value of US dollar. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.35% to 97.151.
  • China: China and the United States have resumed trade talks, but there is no real progress. The two sides are still stuck in the issues of large-scale purchase of US agricultural products and Huawei issue. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.04% against the US dollar at 6.877.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US Treasury Secretary Mnuchin denied that Huawei issue is the crux of Sino-US negotiations and said that there are still many complicated issues.
  • US: Trump said that although Pelosi, the speaker of the United States House of Representatives, rejected the White House’s $150 billion proposal, he believes negotiations on raising the debt ceiling are still going well.
  • U.S: Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said that the Federal Reserve (Fed) is closely monitoring the downside risks of US economic growth and the Fed will take appropriate actions to maintain economic expansion.
  • Euro-zone: The situation in the Strait of Hormuz was tense, two British-related oil tanker were seized by the Iranian military. Iran claims that a British tanker was being detained since it has entered the Strait of Hormuz from the “wrong direction” and it will be detained until the judicial assessment was completed.
  • Euro-zone: Economists predict that the ECB will adjust policy wording at the July 25 decision-making meeting, releasing interest rate cuts signal, and take action at the next meeting after the summer recess.
  • Euro-zone: The EU stated that it is possible to identify certain 5G suppliers as having security risks. Moreover, it also pointed out that Chinese law requires domestic companies to cooperate with intelligence agencies.
  • Japan: Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s party and his allies won the upper house election on Sunday, but it did not reach the absolute majority that needed to quickly advance the constitution.
  • Japan: The Japanese Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Japan’s Consumer Price Index (CPI) rose by 0.7% year-on-year in June, rising for the 33rd consecutive months, in line with market expectations.
  • South Korea: South Korea’s central bank data showed that the South Korea’s Producer Price Index (PPI) in June fell by 0.3% from the previous value of 0.1% increase, the first drop within the last five months, and the decline rate exceeded the market expectation of 0.1%.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• According to Xinhua News Agency, Chinese businesses have made inquiries with U.S. exporters to buy crops and agricultural products and applied for the lifting of tariffs. The relevant Chinese authorities claimed that US should implement its commitments.
• The Science and Technology Board opened on Monday and will have 25 new shares listed for trading. Analysts expect it will have a good performance on the first day. Moreover, the stocks in Science and Technology Board will be included in the Shanghai Composite Index from January 22, 2020.

US FX Intervention Risk Could Be Another Overhang For Investors

Never say never. The risk of a US move to direct FX intervention has lifted recently especially after Treasury Secretary Mnuchin on last Thursday said that there’s no change in Washington’s currency policy “as of now”, but leaving the door open to action (i.e. weaken the dollar) in the future. This “future” can happen in years, months or even weeks in particular the US President Trump likes to make surprise as what we have seen in his past three years presidency.

 

Indeed, US has adopted the non-interventionist approach on currency for about two decades. But with the Fed trade-weighted measure of the dollar isn’t much below its strongest since 2002, the American exporters are facing unfavourable headwinds against overseas competitors. This is exactly what Trump has complained thousand times about the overvaluation of the dollar, as supported by International Monetary Fund (IMF)’s model that the Dollar is overvalued by 8% to 16%. For instance, the ECB President Draghi’s comment of new stimulus measures last month (which could possibly weaken the euro relative to the dollar) has hit the nerve for Trump again, whom then tweeted by accusing Europe alongside China of “playing a big currency manipulation game” to gain unfair advantage over the US. The Bloomberg News later reported that the Trump has asked members of his staff to find ways that could weaken the Dollar because of ECB’s potential move.

Figure 1. US dollar trade-weighted board index rise to historical high


Source: Bloomberg, iFund/Noble Apex

Intervention may eventually lead to global devaluation

Despite the risk of FX unilateral intervention may continue to escalate before next year’s US presidential election, we think that if intervention were eventually happened, it may not be in the best interest of US over the long-term as other countries would likely to play the same game and eventually global devaluations would make everyone lose. Today, monetary policy among key economies is so interconnected that any one country would be difficult to notch any kind of victory for very long. Instead, direct FX intervention tends to work only when allies work together to achieve common goals, which happened in 2011 when the US along with international peers intervened in FX markets after the yen soared in the wake of the devastating earthquake in Japan that year. However, as international partners would be unlikely to coordinate with US to weaken the dollar at this stage, therefore US’s solo FX intervention at the end would escalate the international trade tensions to another high level only.

 

Global economic growth should be the key for exchange rate direction

All in all, we believe that the direction of the US dollar exchange rate should be determined by the difference in economic growth between US and the rest of the world in the long run. The strength of the US dollar in recent years is mainly due to the slowdown in global growth and rising risk, which has caused investors to hedge, plus negative interest rates in Europe and Japan. On the contrary, if the US wants to intervene in its currency, it means that it will need to increase holdings of non-US dollar currencies and assets with low or negative yielding, or to print much more US dollar. However, whether this is wise action or not is really questionable. Nevertheless, we believe the risk of FX intervention or global currency war to remain low at this stage, while the US has tried hard to avoid some of the most provocative currency actions (e.g., the US Treasury has avoided naming any trading partner as a currency manipulator, even China). On the other hand, the recent comments from US officials could be seen as a gesture of warning to the BOJ and ECB as to stop them from being too extreme on negative interest rate.

政制不公衍生裙帶政治 成香港深層次問題

今時今日,香港出現回歸以來最嚴重的管治危機。開始是反對《逃犯條例》修訂,到6月12日發展到對警察濫權的控訴,至7月1日佔領立法會後示威者讀出宣言的5項要求…..

點解買個股成日輸?

動物群體中有alpha male,意思是群體中的領袖,在金融世界中亦有alpha(阿爾法),指相對於基準指數的超額收益,用作衡量投資組合經理的主動投資表現…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第818期)- 美国外汇干预风险可能成为投资者的另一隐忧

2019-07-23 01:21
分享
  • 分享

2019年7月22日 第818期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美伊局勢緊張,加上有報道指聯儲局擬月底只減息25個基點影響大市。全週計,道指跌0.65%,報27154.2點。標普500指數跌1.23%,報點2976.61。納指跌1.18%,報8146.49點。
  • 歐洲:投資者憂慮若主要央行持續減息以應對環球經濟放緩,或會損及銀行業盈利能力,歐洲銀行股普遍偏軟。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.04%,德國DAX指數跌0.51%,法國CAC40指數跌0.37%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.10%,報387.25點。
  • 亞洲: 日本出口持續下滑、南韓意外降息,影響亞洲股市。全週計,日經225指數跌1.01%,報21466.99點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.38%,報160.94點。

債券

  • 美國:美國國債價格上升,美國新屋動工數字欠佳。另外,市場憂慮英國無協議脫歐機會增加,令資金流入債市避險。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌6個基點,報2.05%。
  • 歐元區:ECB總裁德拉基暗示央行即將採取行動,進一步提振降息的希望。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌7個基點,報-0.32%。

商品

  • 油價:波斯灣局勢再趨緊張, 同時受到經濟增長放緩, 市場擔心這可能削弱全球石油需求, 拖累紐約期油價格。全週計,紐約期油跌7.61%,收報每桶55.63美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國6月零售超出預期。市場認為,美國聯儲局不太可能在7月減息50個基點,令美元進一步走高。全週計,美匯指數升0.35%,報 97.151。
  • 中國:中美重啟貿易談判,但並無實際進展,雙方在大量購買美國農產品及華為問題上仍膠著。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.04%,報6.877。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國財長姆努欽否認限制華為是中美談判的癥結,並稱存在「很多複雜問題」。
  • 美國:特朗普表示,儘管眾議院議長佩洛西拒絕了白宮周五早些時候做出的節支1500億美元的提議,但是他認為提高債務上限的談判依然進展良好。
  • 美國:聯儲會主席鮑威爾表示,聯儲會正在「密切監控」美國經濟成長的下行風險,並「將採取適當行動維持擴張」。
  • 歐元區:霍爾木茲海峽劍拔弩張,兩艘與英國相關油輪被伊朗軍方扣押。伊朗稱,被扣押的一艘英國油輪是從「錯誤方向」進入霍爾木茲海峽,將被扣押到完成司法評估。
  • 歐元區:經濟學家預測,歐洲央行將在7月25日決策會議上調整政策措辭,釋放降息信號,然後在夏季休會後的下一次會議上採取行動。
  • 歐元區:歐盟表示,有可能認定某些5G供應商存在安全風險,並指出中國法律要求國內公司與情報機構合作。
  • 日本:日本首相安倍晉三所屬黨派及其盟友在周日的參議院選舉中獲勝,但沒有達到快速推進修憲所需的絕對多數。
  • 日本:日本總務省公布,日本6月消費物價指數(CPI)按年維持升0.7%,連升第33個月,符合市場預期。
  • 南韓:南韓央行數據顯示,南韓6月生產者價格指數(PPI)按月由上前值升0.1%轉降0.3%,為五個月來首降,且跌幅超出市場預期0.1%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 據新華社報道,已有中國企業向美國出口商就採購農產品詢價並申請關稅豁免;中方有關部門表示,希望美方與中方相向而行,切實落實美方有關承諾。

• 科創板周一開市,將有25只新股上市交易,分析師預計首日有望取得「開門紅」。科創板股票將於2020年1月22日起納入上證綜指。

美國外匯干預風險可能成為投資者的另一隱憂

美匯干預風險最近升溫

「世事無絕對」,這句話對投資者而言可算是金科玉律。最近,市場開始關注美國採取直接外匯干預措施的風險明顯上升,特別是美國財政部長姆努欽(Mnuchin)在上週四表示華盛頓的貨幣政策“截至目前”為止並沒有任何改變,被市場解讀為暗示美國在“未來”將可能採取行動(即主動干預美元匯率)。而究竟“未來” 是指數年、數月、還是數週內發生實在難以預測,實際上是因為美國總統特朗普在過去三年任期內為市場帶來太多的驚喜了。

在美元匯價上,美國在過去二十年秉承不主動干預主義。但隨著美元匯價(貿易加權後)近月升至近2002年以來紀錄高位後,美國出口商在強美元下面對海外競爭時實在十分不利。正如國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)模型顯示,美元被高估大約8%至16%,正是特朗普多次抱怨美元被高估的重要理據。上月,歐洲央行行長德拉吉就未來新的刺激措施發表評論(這可能會使歐元對美元貶值)卻再次觸動特朗普神經,令其隨後在推特上指責歐洲與中國正在 “玩大型貨幣操縱遊戲”獲得對美國的不公平優勢。彭博新聞後來更報導說,特朗普已經要求其員工找尋令美元貶值的方法。

圖一. 美元匯價(貿易加權後) 升至紀錄高位後

資料來源: 彭博、御峰/iFund

外匯干預最終可能會導致全球貨幣惡性貶值

儘管在明年美國總統大選前,美國外匯干預風險可能仍然會繼續上升,但我們認為,如果干預最終真的發生,將不符合美國的長期最佳利益。我們相信其他國家亦會仿傚美國參與貶值遊戲,最終全球貨幣惡性貶值只會讓每個人都成為輸家。今天,主要經濟體之間的貨幣政策相互關聯,任何一個國家都無法推行任何特別政策在長時間內仍維持明顯優勢。相反,直接外匯干預往往只有在其他盟友配合下,為實現共同目標時才能發揮作用;情況猶如2011年,在日本發生毀滅性地震後,美國與並他國家成功一起干預日元匯價上升。然而,由於今天美國夥伴不太可能認同美元需要貶值,因此假如美國最終單獨干預美元匯價可能只會使國際貿易緊張局勢升級到歷史高峰。

全球經濟增長變化才是主導匯價長期走向的關鍵

總括來說,我們認為美元匯價走向在長期來說應主要受美國經濟增長及全球增長變化所主導。最近幾年美元走強主要由於全球增長放緩及風險上升令投資者避險所致,加上歐洲及日本出現負利率情況。相反,美國若要干預美元匯價,意味著美國將需要增加持有低或負回報的非美元貨幣及資產,或龐大增加印鈔量,但此舉是否明智實在值得深究。無論如何,我們在現階段相信美國外匯干預風險仍然較低,加上美國過往仍盡量避免採取過於激烈的貨幣行動(例如,美國財政部一直避免將主要貿易夥伴,甚至中國,命名為貨幣操縱者)。另一方面,我們更相信於美國官員最近的評論可能被視為向日本央行和歐洲央行發出警告,以阻止他們在負利率上走得過於極端。

示威者讀出宣言的5項要求

今時今日,香港出現回歸以來最嚴重的管治危機。開始是反對《逃犯條例》修訂,到6月12日發展到對警察濫權的控訴,至7月1日佔領立法會後示威者讀出宣言的5項要求…..

點解買個股成日輸?

動物群體中有alpha male,意思是群體中的領袖,在金融世界中亦有alpha(阿爾法),指相對於基準指數的超額收益,用作衡量投資組合經理的主動投資表現…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。