Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 817- Chinese private enterprises face crisis of confidence

2019-07-17 02:43
Share
  • Share

15 July 2019 Issue 817

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: US Federal Reserve Chairman Powell hinted that the Fed will cut interest rates at this month’s interest rate meeting. However, the US employment data is better than expected, the market worried that the extent of Fed’s interest rate cuts will be affected. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 1.52% to 27,332.03. The S&P 500 index rose by 0.78% to close at 3,013.77. The Nasdaq rose by 1.01% to 8,244.14.
  • Europe: The market is worried that the US government may intervene in the drug prices, dragging down the price of European pharmaceutical stocks. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.62%, the German DAX index fell by 1.95%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 0.37%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 0.84% ​​to 386.85 points.
  • Asia: The number of new non-agricultural jobs in the United States increased by 224,000 in June, far exceed the market expectation of 162,000 new jobs. The market worried that the extent of interest cut in the US may be affected. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 0.28% to 21,685.90 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.84% ​​to 160.33.

Bonds

  • US: The number of new non-agricultural jobs in the United States increased by 224,000 in June, far exceed the market expectation of 162,000 new jobs. The market worried that the extent of interest rate cut in the US may be affected. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond rose by 9 basis points to 2.106%.
  • Europe: The Conference Board data showed that Germany’s Conference Leadership Indicator (LEI) in May fell for four consecutive months with a 0.4% decrease month-on-month. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 15 basis points to -0.212%.

Commodity

  • Oil: US oil inventories fell for four consecutive weeks. Also, the Gulf of Mexico storm caused the market to worry about crude oil supply. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 4.69 percent to close at $60.21 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: US Federal Reserve Chairman Powell hinted that the Federal Reserve will cut interest rates at this month’s interest rate meeting, dragging down the US dollar index. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.493% to 96.810.
  • China: The dovish speech of US Federal Reserve Chairman Powell dragged down the US dollar. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.174% against the US dollar to 6.882.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Sino-US relations seem to be tense again. Trump said that China devalued the yuan and subsidized the company to reduce the impact of the extra 25% tariff. Moreover, it is reported that China will not purchase large quantities of US agricultural products until the trade negotiations have made concrete progress.
  • US: The Sunday Telegraph reported that Trump administration’s negotiators hinted that if the UK hopes to reach a trade agreement with the United States after the Brexit, it will depend on whether it is willing to maintain the same tough policy stance with the United States on Huawei issue.
  • U.S: Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said that the Fed has room for monetary easing, and monetary policy may be too tight now given that the neutral interest rate is lower than expected.
  • Euro-zone: The minutes of the European Central Bank’s meeting in June showed that policymakers generally believe that they need to be prepared for policy easing, despite there are still different views on which tools to be used.
  • Euro-zone: The Conference Board data showed that the UK’s Leading Economic Indicator(LEI) in May fell for 10 consecutive months to 93, with a 0.4% decline rate month-on-month, hitting the lowest level within recent years.
  • Euro-zone: The President-elect of the European Commission said that he hoped Britain would change its mind and eventually choose to stay in the EU. If the UK chooses to leave, it must leave with the best possible conditions, with a clear indication that she will try to prevent the UK from no-deal Brexit.
  • Japan: Samsung Electronics has received an emergency supply for the three key materials that blocked by Japanese export restrictions, avoiding the production line crisis.
  • Japan: South Korea’s Ministry of Trade said that it plans to raise the issue of “unfair” export control measures that Japan imposed on South Korea at the World Trade Organization (WTO) General Council meeting on the 23rd – 24th July.
  • India: Statistics from the Indian Bureau of Statistics show that the growth rate of Indian Industrial Production Index (IIP) in May has slowed to 3.1% year-on-year, slightly worse than the market expectations of a 3.2% increase.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Chinese Finance Minister Liu Kun said that he believe China’s economic growth rate will remain in the range of 6% to 6.5%. China is reforming the financial system to attract more capital.
• Mao Shengyong, director and spokesperson of the National Bureau of Statistics of China, said that according to the current UN classification criteria, China is at the level of middle-income countries. And he pointed out that the income per capita level is still relatively low in China.

Chinese private enterprises face crisis of confidence

Default is not the worst word when investing in Chinese assets. Crimes, falsification of documents, etc., make the recovery rate of default almost zero, which are more terrible results. In the past few weeks, Chinese private companies have once again faced a crisis of confidence. The chairman of one real estate company was arrested, and a Chinese wealth management company fell into a supply chain financial default. Lack of confidence in private companies to make the money more cautious, along with the crackdown on non-standard P2P wealth management companies, private companies face refinance risks.

Default means total lost

Defaults are no stranger to mature markets and institutional investors. The article “secured? A key factor in the return of interest rates” in the, mentioned that the senior mortgage bond has an average recovery rate of 62.3% over the past 30 years, meaning that default is not equal to zero value. However, this situation is not suitable for Chinese companies.

The financial company’s supply chain financial products defaulted last week, which may involve in crimes. According to media reports, wealth management companies sell the company’s accounts receivable packaged securities to clients. Since many SMEs have difficulties in financing, they will use the accounts receivable certificates issued by some well-known enterprises such as e-commerce leaders to finance. This breach of contract is not an e-commerce inability to pay, but the evidence provided by the company may be faked.

The default involved amounted to RMB 3.4 billion. Because the issuer does not recognize the liability, the wealth management company wants to recover the loss, which may require a long legal process. Due to disputes over creditor’s rights, it is not easy to obtain evidence. The expected recovery rate is not optimistic.

Guaranteed return no longer exists

According to HSBC research, in the exchange-traded bonds, 128 issuers have defaulted since 2014, and only 28 can be fully repaid face value to investors. A total of 216 billion defaults, only 31 billion can be repaid, the recovery rate is only 14%.

Private companies have a worse track record. 17 state-owned enterprises defaulted and 41% can be able to repay investors. Of the 111 private companies that defaulted, only 19 were able to repay investors. Local governments will try their best to save local state-owned enterprises, but private companies are not in their target.

Raise funding is difficult for private companies in deleveraging

Despite the slowdown in China’s economy, China continues to limit the growth of shadow banking loans. Private enterprise financing is more difficult in an environment when overall bank loan growth is stable. In the past year, the Chinese government has targeted the P2P field that has emerged in recent years. The total size of P2P fell from 1.3 trillion in June 2018 to 751 billion in February this year. At the same time, the number of P2P borrowers fell to 14 million in 2017, from the record high of 43 million. These borrowers need to find new financing channels.

As an investor, a popular investment product may be an opportunity, but it may also be a trap. Investors in Chinese companies or assets, especially private companies, need to pay attention to corporate governance. Investors who lack sufficient experience and time should use active investment tools or focus on state-owned enterprises to avoid default risk of Chinese private companies under deleveraging.

「送中事件」反映中港文化衝突

2019年6月16日,會是香港歷史重要的一天。在民主社會,整個管治班子只能總辭謝罪。香港自2002年開始所謂高官問責制,除了董建華屬下的梁錦松、葉劉淑儀及楊永強,試問哪個司局長曾經因為決策過失承擔政治責任下台…..

買殼股不如買基金

近幾年,由於內地企業來港借殼上市蔚然成風,令上市公司殼需求大升。正如經濟學一零一所說,當哪裡有需要,哪裡便有供應…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第817期)-

2019-07-17 02:43
分享
  • 分享

2019年7月15日 第817期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國聯儲局主席鮑威爾周三暗示,聯儲局會在本月議息會議上減息。但美國就業數據理想,市場憂慮美聯儲減息步伐受影響。全週計,道指升1.52%,報27,332.03點。標普500指數升0.78%,報點3,013.77。納指升1.01%,報8,244.14點。
  • 歐洲:市場擔心美國政府可能干預高企的藥品價格, 歐洲製藥股受壓。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.62%,德國DAX指數跌1.95%,法國CAC40指數跌0.37%。STOXX 600指數全週跌0.84%,報386.85點。
  • 亞洲: 國6月非農就業職位大增22.4萬份,遠較市場預期的16.2萬多,令市場憂慮美聯儲減息幅度將受影響。全週計,日經225指數跌0.28%,報21,685.90點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.84 %,報160.33點。

債券

  • 美國:美國6月非農就業職位大增22.4萬份,遠較市場預期的16.2萬多,市場預期美聯儲減息幅度將受影響。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升9個基點,報2.106%。
  • 歐元區:經濟諮商會(Conference Board)數據顯示,德國5月諮商會領先指標(LEI)連跌四個月,按月跌0.4%。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升15個基點,報-0.212%。

商品

  • 油價:美國石油庫存連跌4周,美聯儲主席鮑威爾減息言論令美元受壓,以及墨西哥灣風暴令市場憂慮原油供應。全週計,紐約期油升4.69 %,收報每桶60.21美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國聯儲局主席鮑威爾周三暗示,聯儲局會在本月議息會議上減息,美匯指數隨即下跌。全週計,美匯指數跌0.493%,報 96.810。
  • 中國:美國聯儲局主席鮑威爾鴿派言論,令美元受壓。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.174%,報6.882。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美中關係似乎再現緊張跡象。特朗普稱中國讓人民幣貶值並補貼企業,以減輕25%關稅的影響;另據悉中國在貿易談判取得具體進展之前不會大量採購美國農產品。
  • 美國:《星期日電訊報》報道稱,特朗普政府的談判人員暗示,如果英國希望在脫歐後與美國達成貿易協議,那將取決於是否願意在華為問題上與美國保持同樣強硬的政策立場。
  • 美國:聯儲會主席鮑威爾表示,聯儲會有貨幣寬鬆的空間,鑒於中性利率低於預期,貨幣政策可能過於收緊了。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行6月份會議紀要顯示,決策者普遍認為需要為政策寬鬆做好準備,儘管在使用何種工具的問題上存在不同看法。
  • 歐元區:經濟諮商會(Conference Board)數據顯示,英國5月諮商會領先指標(LEI)連降十個月,按月跌幅擴至0.4%,報93,屢創近幾年新低。
  • 歐元區:歐盟委員會候任主席表示,希望英國改變主意,最終選擇留在歐盟。如果英國選擇離開,必須以儘可能最好的條件離開,明確暗示她將試圖防止英國在無協議的情況下脫歐。
  • 日本:對於日本出口限制措施所阻斷的三種關鍵材料,三星電子已獲得緊急供應,從而避免了生產線發生危機。
  • 日本:南韓貿易部表示,計畫在23至24日舉行的世界貿易組織(WTO)總理事會會議上,提出日本對南韓實施的「不公平」出口管制措施。
  • 印度:印度統計局數據顯示,印度5月工業生產指數(IIP)按年升幅放緩至3.1%,略遜於市場預期升3.2%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國財長劉昆:相信中國的經濟增速將保持在6%至6.5%的範圍內,中國正在對金融體系進行改革以吸引資本。

• 國家統計局國民經濟綜合統計司司長、新聞發言人毛盛勇表示,按照聯合國目前的劃分標準,中國是處於中等偏上收入國家的水平,客觀是人均水平還是比較低的。

中國私企再臨信任危機

違約並非投資中國資產的最壞結果,犯罪、偽造文件等行為令違約追償率低才是更可怕的結果。過去數週,中國私人企業再次面臨信任危機。先有房地產企業董事長被捕,再有中國理財公司陷入供應鏈金融違約。私企信任危機令資金方更為謹慎,加上官方打擊不規範的P2P理財公司,私企面臨再融資風險。

違約意味血本無歸

違約對於成熟市場和機構投資者而言並不陌生。本欄《有抵押?一個左右收息回報的關鍵因素》提及,高級抵押債券評級過去30年平均追償率為62.3%,意味違約並非等於價值為零。但是,這種情況不太適用於中國企業。

本次理財公司供應鏈金融產品違約,可能涉及犯罪等行為。根據媒體報導,理財公司銷售企業打包的應收賬款。由於不少中小企業存在融資難的問題,它們會利用一些知名企業例如電商龍頭發出的應收賬款憑據來進行融資。本次違約並非電商無力付款,而是企業提供的應收憑據具有爭議。

本次違約涉及金額高達34億人民幣。由於憑據發行者並不承認負債,理財公司想追討損失,勢必需要進行漫長的法律進程。由於債權存在爭議,取證又不容易,預期追償率不容樂觀。

剛性兌付不復存在

根據匯豐研究顯示,在交易所交易的債券,自2014年起有128個發行商出現違約,僅28間能夠全額償還給投資者。總共2160億違約金額,僅310億能夠償還,追償率僅為14%。

私人企業往績更差。17間國有企業出現違約,41%能夠償還給投資者。而111間違約的私人企業,僅有19間企業能夠償還給投資者。地方政府會盡力挽救當地的國有企業,但是私人企業則無人問津。

去槓桿下私企融資難

儘管中國經濟放緩,中國仍然繼續打擊影子銀行貸款增長。在整體銀行貸款增長平穩的環境下,私企融資更為困難。過去一年,中國政府將打擊目標瞄準近年冒起的P2P領域。P2P總規模由2018年6月的1.3萬億下跌至今年2月的7510億人民幣。同時,P2P借款人數量2017年高位4300萬,下跌至1400萬人。這些借款人需要尋找新融資渠道。

作為投資者,熱門的投資產品可能是機會,但亦有可能是陷阱。投資者中國企業或資產,特別是私人企業,需要留意公司的企業管治。缺乏足夠經驗和時間的投資者,宜用主動投資工具或專注國有企業,規避去槓桿下中國私企的違約風險。

「送中事件」反映中港文化衝突

2019年6月16日,會是香港歷史重要的一天。在民主社會,整個管治班子只能總辭謝罪。香港自2002年開始所謂高官問責制,除了董建華屬下的梁錦松、葉劉淑儀及楊永強,試問哪個司局長曾經因為決策過失承擔政治責任下台…..

買殼股不如買基金

近幾年,由於內地企業來港借殼上市蔚然成風,令上市公司殼需求大升。正如經濟學一零一所說,當哪裡有需要,哪裡便有供應…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。