Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 814- Will China follow if US cut interest rate in July?

2019-06-24 04:01
Share
  • Share

24 June 2019 Issue 814

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: Sino-US trade war has eased. US President Trump said on Twitter on Tuesday morning that he had a “very good phone call” with Chinese President Xi Jinping. Besides, the Fed gave up the wording of “keep patience” in the statement of this meeting, which made the market expects the Fed will cut interest rates soon, driving up the stock market. Over the week, the Dow rose by 2.41% to 26,719.13. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.20% to 2,950.46. The Nasdaq rose by 3.01% to 8,031.71 points.
  • Europe: European Central Bank (ECB) President Draghi said that if inflation does not return to the target level, the central bank will once again relax the policy, which consolidate the market’s expectation that the ECB will introduce more stimulus measures soon. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 0.84%, the German DAX index rose by 2.01%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 2.99%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 1.57% for the week, reporting 384.76 points.
  • Asia: The Sino-US trade war has eased, boosting the Asian stock market. Besides, US President Trump said on Twitter on Tuesday morning that he had a “very good phone call” with Chinese President Xi Jinping, which benefits the Asian stock market. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 0.67 percent to 21,258.64 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 2.60% to 159.24 points.

Bonds

  • US: Federal-funds futures market to place a 100% probability on a reduction of at least 25 basis points in the central bank’s target rate at the next FOMC meeting at the end of July. Besides, the Fed abandoned to use “keep patience” in the statement of the meeting, which raised market expectations on interest rate cuts. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 3 basis points to 2.056%.
  • Europe: European Central Bank President Draghi said that ECB will once again relax the policy in case inflation does not return to the target level, which makes funds flow from the bond marketa into the stock markets. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to -0.286%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The US-Iran relations are tense, U.S. drones are being shot by Iran. The New York Times reported that Trump had ordered air strikes against Iran, but he withdrew orders soon. The tension between US and Iran caused oil prices rise. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 8.83% to close at $57.43 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The Federal Reserve kept interest rates unchanged this week, but the market expects there will be an interest rate cut in next month, weakening the US Dollar index. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 1.386% to 96.220.
  • China: The Fed keeps the interest rates unchanged. However, it is expected that there will be an interest rate cut in July. Besides, the Sino-US relations eased, which benefits the yuan. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.707% against the US dollar at 6.875.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: On the occasion of the upcoming Sino-US meeting in the G-20 Summit in Japan this week, the US Department of Commerce is blacklisting five Chinese organizations involved in supercomputing with military-related applications.
  • US: The Trump administration plans to announce more sanctions against Iran on Monday, but Trump claimed that he is prepared to hold talks with Iranian leaders without any preconditions.
  • U.S: Trump denied that he had threatened the Fed Chairman Powell with a demotion, but stressed that he had the right to do so and reiterated his criticism of Powell.
  • Euro-zone: Informed person said that European Central Bank President Mario Draghi told EU leaders that if the economy does not improve and inflation level does not return to the target level, additional stimulus measures will be needed.
  • Euro-zone: The EU is making a plan to deal with Boris Johnson as the British prime minister, with the goal of not contacting him for as long as possible. Johnson promised that if he becomes prime minister next month, he will immediately begin to renegotiate the Brexit agreement in order to leave the European Union on time on October 31.
  • Euro-zone: Markit data showed that the initial value of the Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) in the Eurozone in June was slightly improved from 47.7 in May to 47.8, but it is still lower than the market expectations of 48.
  • Japan: According to Nikkei/Markit data, the initial value of the Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) in Japan in June deteriorated from 49.8 in May to 49.5, lower than the market expectations of 50.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Finance announced that, without seasonal adjustment, Japan recorded a trade deficit of 9671 billion yen in May, increased by 67.5% year-on-year, less than the market expectations  of 1.2 trillion yen trade deficit.
  • South Korea: South Korea’s central bank data showed that South Korea’s Producer Price Index (PPI) in May slowed to zero growth from 0.3% growth in April, lower than the market expectations of a 0.5% increase.
China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Huawei sued the US Department of Commerce for a return of telecommunications equipment that has been seized for nearly two years. In addition, FedEx rejected a Huawei mobile phone package sent from the United Kingdom to the United States.
• Ma Hui, Minister of the Chinese Embassy in the UK, told the Daily Telegraph that if the UK excludes Huawei from its new 5G network, the trade agreement between China and the UK may be at risk.

Will China follow if US cut interest rate in July?

Obviously, US is not the first country to initiate the cut in the current global interest rate down cycle, neither it will be the last one. With the Fed’s monetary policy announcement on Wednesday that opening the door for a series of potential rate cuts in the remaining of 2019 and 2020, investors have started to believe that the Fed’s actions are also possibly opening the door of cuts for more countries. Now, the question is who will be the next one?

In fact, fears that a protracted Sino-U.S. trade war could drag the global economy into recession have prompted rate cuts in Russia, Australia, New Zealand, India, Philippines and Malaysia since the beginning of this year. The European Central Bank (ECB) recently has also signalled the bank could roll out fresh stimulus and easing as soon as its next policy meeting in July. Market now speculates that China will be the next to follow if US start to cut rate in July to avoid currency appreciation and stay competitive in exports. A Bank of America Merril Lynch economist even expect that the PBOC may cut rate more than the two times currently anticipated, if the trade war were to intensify.

But having said that, lowering actual interest rate are not necessarily achieved through lower the benchmark rate, and thus it’s not a must for PBOC to lower the country’s benchmark rate as it has not cut its benchmark one-year lending rate of 4.35% since the last downturn in 2014-15, when China cut its benchmark six times. Instead, the PBOC in this cycle slashed the banks’ reserve requirement four times last year and once more in January this year, pushing the RRR ratio down to 13.5% from 15.5% a year ago. Likewise, the PBOC has injected gobs of liquidity in the financial system via its one-year medium-term lending facility (MLF) in February and May this year, while it also regularly provides liquidity to the system via 7-day reverse repo and open market operations. For instance, the volume-weighted average rate of China’s benchmark overnight repo for banks fell to 1.1% on last Friday, the lowest level since June 2015.

A key reason that China did not cut its benchmark rate this time as the move is not in line with the general direction of interest rate marketization reform, i.e. letting markets determine rate, a lower or higher actual interest rate according to risks. Meanwhile, the whole financial system of China is closely monitored. Banks in China still heavily rely on the PBOC’s published benchmark to price loans, and they remained reluctant to take on more credit risks amid the current system. As such, cutting the benchmark rate may not really flowing through to the broader system. It won’t necessary help the private sector or small companies that really needs these funds, and the rate cut action will mostly affect the mortgage rates or simply benefits the state-owned enterprises.

Besides, cutting benchmark rates may not shore up the economy as expected, but may create other broader policy consequences including pressure on the currency, spurring capital outflows, and even inflating the property market. With these concerns, the PBOC has been cautious to see benchmark rates cut as the last resort, and now these risks should be somewhat lessened as US is expected to lower its Fed fund rate by 75-100bps over the next 6-12 months.

All in all, we believe the Fed’s potential rate cuts just provides another flexibility for PBOC to choose among which policy tools to use to tackle its slowing economy. It should not become a pressure for China to follow, but China should take this great opportunity to further enhance its interest rate marketization reform. Of course, if trade war eventually heats up severely and economic data become ugly, a benchmark rate cut has always been a good action to take.

「送中事件」反映中港文化衝突

2019年6月16日,會是香港歷史重要的一天。在民主社會,整個管治班子只能總辭謝罪。香港自2002年開始所謂高官問責制,除了董建華屬下的梁錦松、葉劉淑儀及楊永強,試問哪個司局長曾經因為決策過失承擔政治責任下台…..

地緣政治問題多屬投資噪音

五月下旬時,貿易戰火烽煙四起,中美兩國態度轉趨強硬。當人人質疑雙方會否於G20峰會見面時,筆者卻力排眾議,指市場不應低估中美元首智慧,以及過度解讀現時的中美關係…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第814期)- 中国会否跟随美国7月后减息?

2019-06-24 04:01
分享
  • 分享

2019年6月24日 第814期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美貿易戰出現緩和轉機,美國總統特朗普周二早上在社交網Twitter表示,與中國國家主席習近平有一次「很好的電話通話」。另外,聯儲局在本次會議聲明中放棄「保持耐心」的措辭,令市場預期不久將減息,帶動股市。全週計,道指升2.41%,報26,719.13點。標普500指數升2.20%,報點2,950.46。納指升3.01%,報8,031.71點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲央行(ECB)總裁德拉吉表示,如果通脹並無返回目標水平,央行將再次放鬆政策,此言論鞏固市場對歐洲央行將推出更多刺激措施的預期,帶動歐洲股市。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.84%,德國DAX指數升2.01%,法國CAC40指數升2.99%。STOXX 600指數全週升1.57%,報384.76點。
  • 亞洲: 中美貿易戰出現緩和轉機,帶動亞洲股市。美國總統特朗普周二早上在社交網Twitter表示,與中國國家主席習近平有一次「很好的電話通話」。全週計,日經225指數升0.67 %,報21,258.64點。MSCI 亞太區指數升2.60%,報159.24點。

債券

  • 美國:最新利率期貨顯示下月議息會議減息的機會率達100%,加上聯儲局在會議聲明中放棄「保持耐心」的措辭,令減息預期升溫。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報2.056%。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行總裁德拉吉表示,如果通脹並無返回目標水平,央行將再次放鬆政策,此言論令資金從債券市場流入股市。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報-0.286%。

商品

  • 油價:伊朗局勢緊張,美國無人機被伊朗擊落後,《紐約時報》指特朗普已下令空擊伊朗,但隨後撤回了命令,緊張局勢令油價上升。全週計,紐約期油升8.83%,收報每桶57.43美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:聯儲局於本周維持利率不變,但市場預期下月將會減息,帶動美匯走弱。。全週計,美匯指數跌1.386%,報 96.220。
  • 中國:人民幣匯價急升,聯儲局維持利率不變,但市場預計下月或減息,加上中美貿易談判有轉機,皆利好人民幣。。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.707%,報6.875。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:在中美首腦本周即將赴日本G-20會晤之際,美國商務部將五家涉及超級計算機發展的中國實體列入禁止出口的黑名單。
  • 美國:特朗普政府計畫周一宣布更多對伊朗的制裁措施,不過,川普也表示,他準備在沒有任何先決條件的情況下與伊朗領導人舉行會談。
  • 美國:特朗普否認他曾以降職威脅聯儲會主席鮑威爾,但強調自己有權這麼做,並重申了對鮑威爾的批評。
  • 歐元區:知情人士透露,歐洲央行總裁德拉吉對歐盟領導人表示,如果經濟沒有改善,而且通膨面臨無法持續保持在央行目標水平的威脅,將需要額外的刺激措施。
  • 歐元區:歐盟正在謀劃如何應對鮑裡斯·約翰遜成為英國首相的局面,目標是儘可能久地不與他接觸。約翰遜承諾若他下月成為首相,將馬上開始著手重新談判脫歐協議,以便在10月31日按時脫歐。
  • 歐元區:Markit數據顯示,歐元區6月製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)初值僅輕微改善,由5月47.7,微彈至47.8,不及市場預期48。
  • 日本:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,日本6月製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)初值意外由5月的49.8 惡化至49.5,市場原先預期為50。
  • 日本:日本財務省公布,未經季節調整,日本5月貿易環比四個月來首錄逆差9,671億日圓,按年增加67.5%,少於市場預期逆差1.2萬億日圓。
  • 南韓:南韓央行數據顯示,南韓5月生產者價格指數(PPI)按月由前值升0.3%放緩至零增長,市場原先預期為升0.5%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 華為起訴美國商務部,要求歸還被扣押將近兩年的電信設備。此外,聯邦快遞拒絕了一個從英國寄往美國的華為手機包裹。

• 中國駐英國大使館公使馬輝對《每日電訊報》表示,如果英國在其新5G網絡中排除華為,則與中國達成的貿易協議可能面臨危險。

中國會否跟隨美國7月後減息?

在全球利率下行週期下,美國顯然不是第一個開始減息的國家,也不會是最後一個。 隨著美聯儲於上週三公佈貨幣政策,為美國降息打開大門,投資者亦相信此舉亦同時地打開了更多國家的減息之門。 現在,問題是下一個將是誰?

事實上,由於擔心曠日持久的中美貿易戰可能拖累全球經濟陷入衰退,因此自今年年初以來,俄羅斯、澳大利亞、新西蘭、印度、菲律賓和馬來西亞等都已經降息一至兩次。 歐洲央行(ECB)最近也表示,可能會在7月份的政策會議上推出新的刺激措施和寬鬆政策。 市場現在推測,如果美國在7月份開始降息,中國將成為下一個宣佈減息的國家,以避免貨幣升值並保持出口競爭力。 美銀美林集團經濟學家甚至預計,如果貿易戰加劇,中國人民銀行下調利率的次數將超過目前預計的兩次。

但話說回來,降低基準利率並不是降低實際利率的唯一手段,因此中國人民銀行實際上未必需要透過降低國家基準利率來刺激經濟。回顧上次中國經濟放緩,於2014-15年間,當時中國人民銀行共下調基準六次,把一年期貸款利率降至4.35厘並維持至現在。 相反,本次週期到現在,中國人民銀行並沒有下調基準利率,而是從去年起透過削減銀行存款準備金四次,將存款準備金率從去年初的17.0%下調至13.5%。 同樣,中國人民銀行在今年2月和5月通過為期一年的中期貸款工具(MLF)向金融系統注入大量流動資金,並反覆通過7天逆回購及公開市場操作為市場提供流動性。 而最近,中國的隔夜回購利率於上週五再跌至1.1%,為2015年6月以來的最低水準,反映市場資金流動性充裕。

在今次週期,中國沒有降低基準利率其中的一個關鍵因素是此舉並不符合利率市場化改革的總體方向 – 即是讓市場根據風險來確定實際利率定價,無論是更低或更高。 目前,中國的整個金融體係仍受到嚴密管理,銀行仍然嚴重依賴中國人民銀行公佈的基準定價來決定貸款,大部份銀行在現行製度下不願意承擔更多的信貸風險,利率與風險並不全面掛勾。 因此,降低基準利率能否真正流向更廣泛的經濟層面成疑,亦很可能未能真正幫助到有需要的私人企業或小公司,最後很可能單單是降低按揭貸款利率或讓部份國企受惠。

此外,削減基準利率不僅可能無法像預期般支撐經濟,亦需考慮會否產生其他更廣泛的政策後果,其中包括貨幣貶值壓力、刺激資本外流,甚至可能造成房地產市場泡沫膨脹等。 基於這些原因,中國人民銀行過去一年謹慎看待基準利率降息並視作為最後手段,雖然現在這些風險將可能隨著預計美國在未來6-12個月內減息75-100個基點而有降低。

總括來說,我們認為美聯儲今次潛在降息將為中國人民銀行提供更多靈活性,有更多的政策工具可以選擇來刺激經濟。 而它不應該成為中國央行必須追隨減息的壓力,並應該藉此機會進一步加強利率市場化改革。 當然,如果貿易戰最終加劇升溫,經濟可能陷入衰退,降息亦會是一種不錯的選擇。

「送中事件」反映中港文化衝突

2019年6月16日,會是香港歷史重要的一天。在民主社會,整個管治班子只能總辭謝罪。香港自2002年開始所謂高官問責制,除了董建華屬下的梁錦松、葉劉淑儀及楊永強,試問哪個司局長曾經因為決策過失承擔政治責任下台…..

地緣政治問題多屬投資噪音

五月下旬時,貿易戰火烽煙四起,中美兩國態度轉趨強硬。當人人質疑雙方會否於G20峰會見面時,筆者卻力排眾議,指市場不應低估中美元首智慧,以及過度解讀現時的中美關係…..




相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。