Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 813- The implication of increasing gold price

2019-06-17 03:37
Share
  • Share

17 June 2019 Issue 813

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The number of unemployment in the United States has unexpectedly increased. In addition, the trade war is still uncertain and may affect the economic growth. The market expects there is a interest rate cut soon, driving up the stock market. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 0.41% to 26,089.61 points. The S&P 500 index rose by 0.47% to 2,886.98. The Nasdaq rose by 0.70% to 7,796.66.
  • Europe: Driven by resources and auto stocks, European stock markets generally rose. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 0.19%, the German DAX index rose by 0.42%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 0.07%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.35% to 378.81 points.
  • Asia: The market expects the heads of China and the United States will meet and can resolve trade dispute during the G20 summit. Moreover, the expansionary fiscal policy of China has stimulated the economy. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 1.11% to 21,116.89 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.58% to 155.21 points.

Bonds

  • US: The United States withdrew its measures to impose tariffs on Mexico, and the market expects the Federal Reserve will cut interest rates, causing funds switched from the bond market to the stock market. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield rose by 0 basis points to 2.108%.
  • Europe: The Eurozone economy is still weak, trade risks are increasing, and the European Central Bank’s monetary policy remains moderate, resulting in a record low in the yields of German and British government bonds. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 0 basis points to -0.256%.

Commodity

  • Oil: US crude oil stocks unexpectedly rose to the highest level since July 2018, and the US Department of Energy lowered its forecast on global crude oil demand growth. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 2.74% to close at $52.51 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: President Trump said that even if Chinese President Xi Jinping does not meet with him at the G20 summit, he expects that the US will reach a trade agreement with China on one day, which beneficial to the US dollar. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 1.065% to 97.572.
  • China: Zhou Xiaochuan, former president of the Central Bank of China, said that problems arising in the trade sector may once again trigger a competitive devaluation of currencies in many countries. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.204% against the US dollar at 6.924.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The United States accused Iran of being responsible for the attack on two tankers at the entrance to the Persian Gulf, which Iranian officials denied. The oil tanker attack caused the market to worry that diplomatic efforts could not avoid the war between the United States and Iran.
  • US: White House economic adviser Kudlow warned China that Trump is still waiting for Chinese President Xi Jinping’s reply to the two-person meeting on trade issue. If Xi Jinping rejects the invitation, China may face consequences.
  • U.S: Trump issued a tweet on Tuesday, slamming the Fed’s interest rate is too high, complaining that the euro and other currencies are depreciating against the US dollar.
  • Euro-zone:   Euro-zone: Boris Johnson, who supported Brexit,  has secured the highest number of votes in the first MPs’ ballot to select the Conservative Party leader and next prime minister. This overwhelming advantage means that if he can avoid major mistakes, he will almost certainly be the two candidates to enter the finals.
  • Euro-zone: Euro-zone: According to data from the German Federal Statistical Office, the final value of the growth rate of  German Consumer Price Index (CPI) in May has slowed down rapidly, from a 2% rise in April to only a 1.4% increase, hit the lowest level since February last year.
  • Euro-zone: Euro-zone: European Central Bank official Kazimir said the euro zone is not facing a recession or deflation. The Bank of England reiterated that tensions in Brexit issue and global trade issue caused downside risk to the UK’s economy.
  • Japan: Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said that the 2% inflation target has not been reached, but the “real” goal has been achieved.
  • Japan: According to the Conference Board data, after the seasonal adjustment, Japan’s Leading Economic Indicator for April (LEI) continued to drop 0.8% month-on-month (previous value down 0.6%) to 95.8.
  • India: According to data from the Indian Ministry of Industry and Commerce, India’s trade deficit in May expanded by more than 5% year-on-year to US$15.36 billion, a six-month high, but still below the market expectation deficit of US$15.84 billion.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• China’s social financing scale and new RMB loans in May were lower than expected. Bloomberg economists said that the credit data crisis, the medium and long-term lending activities of enterprises have slowed down, and the window of RRR cuts is still exist in June.
• Fitch reported that if China blacklists US companies or bans the export of rare earth metals to the US, it could have devastating effects on the US technology industry and some Chinese industries.

The implication of increasing gold price

Recently, global risk aversion has risen sharply, and the market’s expectation of the central bank’s easing has also risen. The price of safe-haven assets rose sharply, and the gold price challenge $1,350 per ounce. As mentioned in this column last week, “Is interest rate cut enough to save the market?”, there is a risk of financial warfare in the future. And structural problems are not able to resolve through easing monetary policy.

Easing policy is not panacea

The central bank’s quantitative easing is the honeymoon period for risky assets, but the safe-haven assets are weak this time. After the financial tsunami, the global quantitative easing program began to be implemented until the Fed began to shrink in 2018. Under the substantial expansion of central bank assets, since 2012, gold prices have underperformed other assets, and US stocks have become one of the most profitable assets. The reason is that the global economy entered the blonde period, and the world did not face systemic risks after the European crisis until the Sino-US trade war escalated.

The reflection of the price of different assets on the easing monetary policy has changed. First, the asset price is more volatile than the past, and the easing policy effect is diminishing. Second, in the past two market adjustments, the US stock market has fallen more than most information markets. This means that the direction of market concern is turning to the United States.

The US economy has a risk of slowing down

The slowdown in growth in mature economies began with the European economy. At the beginning of 2018, the European PMI peaked. So far, European and export-oriented enterprises have continued to decline. The new orders index in the German IFO survey has not yet improved. The growth rate of Asian and Japanese exports is still negative.

The economic weakness was passed to the US manufacturing industry, and US industrial output fell by 1.25% compared to the end of 2018. Corporate earning is also peaked in the fourth quarter of last year. More seriously, the slowdown in corporate sector earnings has begun to affect employment. The number of nor-from payroll in the United States fell below expectations in May. If retail sales data does not perform well, the honeymoon period of US economic growth is once again tested.

In this case, even if the central bank re-considers the easing monetary policy, the comparative advantage of the US economy is no longer exist, the market is worried about the systemic risks. Once this expectation becomes true, the money will record outflow in stock market.

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊…..

投資不同股票市場仲可以分散風險?

美國經濟學家馬科維茨 (Harry Markowitz)於1952年發表了經典的代表作〈資產選擇〉(Portfolio Selection),提出了現代投資組合理論…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第813期)- 黄金上涨的启示

2019-06-17 03:37
分享
  • 分享

2019年6月17日 第813期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國失業救濟人數意外增加,加上貿易戰陰晴未定恐累經濟增長,刺激減息預期升溫,帶動股市。全週計,道指升0.41%,報26,089.61點。標普500指數升0.47%,報點2,886.98。納指升0.70%,報7,796.66點。
  • 歐洲:受資源同汽車股帶動,歐洲股市普遍上升。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.19%,德國DAX指數升0.42%,法國CAC40指數升0.07%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.35%,報378.81點。
  • 亞洲: 市場憧憬中美兩國元首於G20峰會可化解貿易爭端及內地加碼財政政策刺激經濟。全週計,日經225指數升1.11%,報21,116.89點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.58%,報155.21點。

債券

  • 美國:美國撤回向墨西哥加徵關稅的措施,加上市場憧憬聯儲局減息,資金轉向股票市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升0個基點,報2.108%。
  • 歐元區:歐元區經濟仍全面疲弱,貿易風險增加,歐洲央行的貨幣政策仍維持溫和,造成德國及英國的國債孳息率屢創新低。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升0個基點,報-0.256%。

商品

  • 油價:美國原油存量出乎意料上升到前年7月來最高,加上美國能源部上日調低全球原油需求增長預測,油價下跌。全週計,紐約期油跌2.74 %,收報每桶52.51美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:總統特朗普表示,即使中國國家主席習近平未必會在G20峰會和他會面,他預計總有一天會跟中國達成貿易協議,消息利好美元。全週計,美匯指數升1.065%,報97.572。
  • 中國:前中共央行行長周小川表示,貿易領域產生的問題有可能再度觸發全球多個國家貨幣競爭性貶值。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.204%,報6.924。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國指責伊朗應對波斯灣入口處的兩艘油輪遭襲事件負責,而伊朗官員對此否認。油輪遇襲事件令市場擔心外交努力也無法避免美國與伊朗的戰爭。
  • 美國:白宮經濟顧問庫德洛警告中國,川普仍在等待中國國家主席習近平關於兩人會晤以重貿易談判的回覆,如拒絕邀請可能面臨後果
  • 美國:特朗普周二發布推文,抨擊聯儲會利率過高,抱怨歐元和其他貨幣兌美元「貶
  • 歐元區:支持英國脫歐的鮑裡斯·約翰遜在英國保守黨黨首的首輪投票中大幅領先,其壓倒性優勢意味著,如果他能避免重大失誤,那麼幾乎肯定能成為進入最後決賽的兩位候選者之一
  • 歐元區:德國聯邦統計局數據顯示,德國5月消費者物價指數(CPI)確認急速降溫,由4月的升2%,急降至僅升1.4%,為去年2月以來最低。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行官員Kazimir稱,歐元區並不面臨經濟衰退或通貨緊縮。而英國央行重申,脫歐和全球貿易的緊張局勢對英國經濟構成下行風險。
  • 日本:日本首相安倍晉三稱,雖然未達到2%通膨目標,但「真正」目標已經實現。
  • 日本:經濟諮商會(Conference Board)數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本4月領先指標(LEI)按月續降0.8%(0.6%),報95.8
  • 印度:印度工商部數據顯示,印度5月貿易逆差按年擴大逾5%,報153.6億美元,創六個月高,但仍低於市場預期逆差158.4億美元。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
中國5月社會融資規模和新增人民幣貸款均低於預期。彭博經濟學家表示,信貸數據暗伏危機,企業中長期借貸活動有所放緩,6月降准窗口仍在。

• 如果中國將美國公司列入黑名單或禁止向美國出口稀土金屬,可能對美國科技行業以及一些中國產業造成破壞性影響。

黃金上漲的啟示

近期,全球避險情緒大幅上升,市場對央行放水的預期急劇升溫。避險資產價格大幅上升,黃金價格衝擊多年高位1350美元/盎司大關。正如上週本欄《減息是否萬試靈丹》提及,未來存在金融戰的風險。而結構性問題並非能夠通過放水根治。

放水並非萬能

央行放水是風險資產的蜜月期,避險資產表現疲弱。金融海嘯之後,全球就開始進行量化寬鬆計劃,直至2018年聯儲局開始縮表才有所緩和。在央行資產大幅擴張下,自2012年後,黃金價格跑輸其它資產,美股反而成為最受惠的資產之一。原因在於,全球經濟進入金發女郎時期,歐洲危機後世界再沒有面臨系統性風險,直至中美貿易戰升級。

大類資產價格對央行放水的反映出現了變化。其一,資產價格輪動越來越快,放水效應邊際遞減。其二,在過去兩次市場調整中,美國股市的跌幅高於大部分信息市場。這意味市場擔心的方向轉向美國。

美國經濟存在放緩風險

成熟經濟體增長放緩始於歐洲經濟。2018年初歐洲PMI見頂回落,至今歐洲以及出口導向型的企業仍然繼續下滑,其中德國IFO調查中的新訂單指數仍未見起色,亞洲日本出口增速仍處於負值。

經濟疲軟傳遞至美國製造業,美國工業產出較2018年底下滑1.25%。企業盈利亦在去年第四季度出現頂部。更嚴重的是,企業部門盈利放緩開始影響就業。5月美國非農就業人數不及預期。如果零售銷售數據表現不佳,美國經濟增長的蜜月期再一次受到考驗。

在這種情況下,即使央行和放水,美國經濟的比較優勢不再,市場反而憂慮美國經濟的系統性風險。一旦出現這種預期,股市將不再受到追捧。

央行已被綁架

央行放水更似被迫為之,而非情願。特朗普多次對美聯儲局施壓,亦反映央行面臨的壓力。首先,資產價格高企,多個類別資產處於歷史新高。市場無法承受價格波動的風險。其次,經濟疲軟,各國需要推出財政政策刺激經濟。政府債務率不斷上升,要求央行維持低利率水平,協助政府降低負債成本。最後,私人部門負債水平亦達到較高水平,要維持債務和槓桿率,亦要求央行維持低利率水平。

放水效用越來越低,結構性問題綁架央行行動。全球央行同步寬鬆,資產價格不能貨幣貶值抵消。資金流入避險資產,比特幣和黃金輪番上升反映市場對當前貨幣政策的擔憂。過去數個月,俄羅斯、中國甚至沙特都開始增持黃金作為儲備。一旦黃金突破過去5,6年大關,意味新一輪的系統性風險已經臨近。

太興派巨額股息的迷思?

今天是沉重的一天。30年前,德先生的幽靈在神州上空飄過,絕塵而去,留下血染的風采,歷史給我們重重一擊…..

投資不同股票市場仲可以分散風險?

美國經濟學家馬科維茨 (Harry Markowitz)於1952年發表了經典的代表作〈資產選擇〉(Portfolio Selection),提出了現代投資組合理論…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。