Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 811- A key factor of searching yield

2019-06-03 04:25
Share
  • Share

03 June 2019 Issue 811

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: US President Trump threatened to impose import tariffs on Mexican goods suddenly, aggravating the market’s worries about the trade wars may lead to economic recession. For the whole week, the Dow fell by 3.01% to 24,815.04. The S&P 500 index fell by 2.62% to 2,752.06. The Nasdaq fell by 2.41% to 7,453.15.
  • Europe: Italy may face EU fines for failing to control its debt level, dragging down the stock markets. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 1.59%, the German DAX index fell by 2.37%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 2.05%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 1.82% to 369.06 points.
  • Asia: The Chinese government claimed that the US should take the responsibility for the frustrated Sino-US trade consultation. It is expected that China is also preparing to take retaliatory action on the US due to the Huawei issue. There is no sign that the trade war between two sides will end in short term. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index fell by 2.44% to 20,601.19 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.55% to 152.36 points.

Bonds

  • US: The Sino-US trade war has become tense again, and the relationship between the United States and Mexico has also become tense, leading funds flow into the bond market. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 20 basis points to 2.126%.
  • Europe: The Sino-US trade war has become tense again, causing the market to worry about the economic prospect and funds flow into the bond market. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 9 basis points to -0.204%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The United States threatens to impose tariffs on Mexico, exacerbating market concerns about global economic prospect and oil demand. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 8.75% to close at $53.50 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The inverted yield curve of US bonds triggered market goes to the risk-averse market, which pushed up the exchange rate of US dollar. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.140% to 97.750.
  • China: Due to the tense relations between China and the United States on the trade and technology issues, the Renminbi is facing depreciation pressure. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.178% against the US dollar at 6.912.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Donald Trump terminates preferential trade status for India under GSP, eliminating duty-free treatment for nearly 2,000 items exported by India to the United States.
  • US: Trump said that Mexico might lose its status in auto industry if it does not take action on illegal immigration issues. The American automakers group said that the imposition of tariffs on Mexico would bring huge costs to the US auto industry.
  • U.S: US Secretary of State Pompeo urged Germany to take action against corruption, espionage and unfair trade practices in China, or intelligence sharing may stop between the US and Germany.
  • Euro-zone: ANSA reported that Italy will inform the European Commission that it will reduce the cost of welfare to avoid disciplinary action for failing to reduce the burden of public debt.
  • Euro-zone: According to data from the European Commission, the final value of the consumer confidence index for the Eurozone in May rebounded from a negative 7.3 in April to a negative 6.5, the highest level since November 2018.
  • Euro-zone: The French Statistical Office announced that the initial value of the growth rate of France’s consumer price index (CPI) slowed from 1.3% year-on-year in April to 1% year-on-year in May, slightly lower than the market expectation of 1.1%.
  • Japan: Nikkei/Markit data showed that the final value of Japan’s manufacturing purchasing managers’ index (PMI) fell to 49.8 in May from 50.2 in April, higher than the market expectations of 49.6.
  • Japan: The Cabinet Office of Japan announced that the final value of Japan’s household consumer confidence index fell to 39.4 in May from 40.4 in April, hitting the lowest level since January 2015. The market originally expected 40.7.
  • India: According to data from the Central Bureau of Statistics of India, India’s first-quarter GDP growth rate of 2019 slowed from the previous value of 6.6% to 5.8%, hitting the lowest growth rate since 2014, and less than the market expectations of 6.3%.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• China creates ‘Unreliable Entity List’ of Foreign Companies that hurt interests of Chinese firms. The relevant agencies have decided to investigate the FedEx’s alleged damage to the legitimate rights and interests of Chinese users.
• China’s tariff retaliatory action against the United States came into effect on Saturday (Jun 1) in Beijing. Subsequently, a white paper said that the US government should take the responsibility for the frustrated economic and trade consultations. It also claimed that China will not make concessions under extreme pressure. China does not want to have a trade conflict with the United States, but it does not mean China is afraid to have trade conflict with the US.

A key factor of searching yield

Within the latter part of the economic cycle, the default rate may increase. Among the many yield strategies, taking on additional credit risk is an important part of it. Historical experience has found that if investors are willing to give up some nominal “yield” in exchange for more protection from default scenarios. A secured high-yield bond deserves investor attention.

Senior secured bonds have capital structure advantages

Enterprises have different tiers for external financing. That is to say, if a company defaults and enters the bankruptcy process, the debt repayment will be based on the order of the capital structure. If the bond or loan has collateral, there is a corresponding asset as a guarantee. Senior bonds will be repaid in priority against sub-ordinate bonds.

Multiple assets can be used as collateral, including homes, machinery, automobiles or intangible assets. When a company defaults, the collateral can be sold and the debt of the company repaid. As senior secured bonds are prioritized in the capital structure, it is easier to recover the money sold.

Senior secured bond recovery rate is high

The recovery rate is the debt ratio that can be repaid or recovered once the company defaults. Its level will depend on a number of factors, including the nature of the collateral and the market conditions of the asset.

The characteristics of collateral for senior secured bonds make their recovery rate often higher than unsecured high-yield bonds. According to historical statistics, between 1987 and 2017, the average recovery rate of senior secured bonds was 62.3%, which was higher than unsecured and subordinated debt.

Recovery rate of different asset classes

Data Source: Barings; Moody’s

It is worth noting that Senior Secured high-yield bonds may not be able to provide volatility or provide risk protection for the down market. However, advanced mortgage high-yield bonds provide investors with more capital protection than traditional high-yield bonds.

Senior Secured bonds have market depth

Senior Secured bonds are not a new asset class. History dates back to the 1990s. Since the financial tsunami, Senior Secured bank loans have gradually been exchanged by Senior secured bonds, driving strong growth in this asset class. Currently, the total value of the market has exceeded $309 billion.

Secured is not a panacea. If investors do not have the appropriate knowledge and experience, they will not be able to distinguish between the pros and cons of collateral. More importantly, in the event of a default, experts are required to deal with litigation and other issues. Therefore, active management products with a long history can generate an extra return from selecting suitable items.

 

基金經理結婚 不利投資表現

基金經理甲君人到中年才小登科,送來紅色炸彈我恭喜他之餘,笑說我要贖回他管理的基金.A君以為我講笑,我收起笑容告訴他:「我是認真的,學術研究已經證明,基金經理新婚,投資成績會倒退,程度可能較離婚更差」…..

工字不出頭 靠錢搵錢爭上流

香港地不少上一輩人搭上時代的順風車,寫下無數獅子山精神故事,成就不少世界級富翁。然而,良辰美景已不復存在…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第811期)- 有抵押?一个左右收息回报的关键因素

2019-06-03 04:25
分享
  • 分享

2019年6月3日 第811期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普突然威脅對墨西哥商品徵收進口關稅,加劇市場對美國向多方開展貿易戰或令經濟陷入衰退的憂慮。全週計,道指跌3.01%,報24,815.04點。標普500指數跌2.62%,報點2,752.06。納指跌2.41%,報7,453.15點。
  • 歐洲:意大利因為未能控制債務可能面臨歐盟罰款,利淡市場的投資氣氛。全週計,英國富時100指數跌1.59%,德國DAX指數跌2.37%,法國CAC40指數跌2.05%。STOXX 600指數全週跌1.82%,報369.06點。
  • 亞洲: 中國政府宣稱美中貿易磋商受挫的責任完全在美國政府,跡象顯示中方也準備對華為遭到美國封殺展開反制,雙方貿易戰沒有停止跡象。全週計,日經225指數跌2.44%,報20,601.19點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.55%,報152.36點。

債券

  • 美國:中美貿易戰再次變得緊張,加上美墨關係漸趨緊張,資金流入債券市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌20個基點,報2.126%。
  • 歐元區:中美貿易戰再次變得緊張,令市場擔心經濟前景,資金流入債券市場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌9個基點,報-0.204%。

商品

  • 油價:美國威脅對墨西哥加徵關稅,加劇市場對全球經濟及石油需求擔憂。全週計,紐約期油跌8.75%,收報每桶53.50美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美債孳息曲線倒掛觸發市場避險,推高美元匯價。全週計,美匯指數升0.140%,報97.750。
  • 中國:因中美貿易局勢緊張,人民幣面臨貶值壓力。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.178%,報6.912。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:特朗普終止印度的開發中國家普惠制待遇地位,對印度出口至美國的近2,000種商品取消免關稅待遇。
  • 美國:特朗普稱若不就非法移民問題採取行動,墨西哥可能會失去汽車產業。而美國汽車製造商團體稱,對墨西哥加征關稅將給美國汽車業帶來巨大成本。
  • 美國:美國國務卿蓬佩奧敦促德國對中國的腐敗、間諜和不公平貿易行為採取行動,否則可能停止情報分享。
  • 歐元區:安莎社報道稱,義大利將告訴歐盟委員會,將降低福利成本,以避免因未能減輕公共債務負擔而受到紀律處分。
  • 歐元區:歐盟委員會數據顯示,歐元區5月消費者信心指數終值由4月的負7.3反彈至負6.5,為去年11月以來最高。
  • 歐元區:法國統計局公布,法國5月消費物價指數(CPI)初值按年升幅由4月的1.3%放緩至1%,創逾一年低,略低於市場預期的升1.1%。
  • 日本:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,日本5月製造業採購經理人指數(PMI)終值由前值50.2降至49.8,市場原先預期為49.6。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,日本5月家庭消費者信心指數終值由4月的40.4,降至39.4,創2015年1月以來新低,市場原先預期為40.7。
  • 印度:印度中央統計局數據顯示,印度2019年第一季國內生產總值(GDP)按年增速由前值6.6%放緩至5.8%,為2014年以來最低增速,也不及市場預期的年增6.3%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國宣布將把嚴重損害中國企業正當權益的外國企業列入「不可靠實體清單」,相關機構已決定立案調查聯邦快遞涉嫌損害中國用戶合法權益。

• 中國對美國的關稅報復行動於北京時間周六正式生效,隨後發表白皮書稱,經貿磋商受挫的責任完全在美國政府,中國不會在極限施壓下屈服讓步;中國不想與美國打貿易戰,但也不怕打。

有抵押?一個左右收息回報的關鍵因素

伴隨經濟步入週期的後段,違約率可能增加。在眾多收息策略中,承擔額外的信貸風險是其中重要的一環。從歷史經驗發現,如果投資者願意放棄一些名義上的“收益率”,以換取違約情景時更多的保障。有抵押的高收益債券值得投資者關注。

高級抵押債券具有資本結構優勢

企業對外融資具有不同的梯次。也就是講,如果一間公司出現違約,進入破產程序,償還債務會根據資本結構的順序進行。如果債券或貸款具有抵押品,就有相應的資產作為保障。對比低級或次級債券,高級債券將優先得到償還。

多項資產可以作為抵押品,包括房屋、機械設備、汽車或者無形資產。當企業出現違約的時候,抵押品可供變賣,償還企業的債務。由於高級抵押債券在資本結構中處於優先的位置,更容易回收到變賣的資金。

高級抵押債券追償率高

追償率是指一旦企業發生違約,可以償還或者回收的債務比率。其高低將取決於多項因素,包括抵押品的性質、資產的市場狀況。
高級抵押債券有抵押品的特徵令其追償率往往高於無抵押的高收益債券。根據歷史統計,在1987年至2017年期間,高級抵押債券平均追償率為62.3%,高於無抵押和次級債務。

不同資產類別追償率

資料來源:霸菱;穆迪
值得留意,高級抵押高收益債券未必能夠提供減低波幅或者提供下行市場的風險保障。但是,和傳統高收益債券相比,高級抵押高收益債券能夠為投資者提供更多本金保障。

高級抵押債券具市場深度

高級抵押債券並非全新的資產類別。歷史可以追溯至20世紀90年代。自金融海嘯之後,高級抵押銀行貸款逐漸被高級抵押債券所提到,推動該資產類別強勁增長。目前,該市場的總值已經超過3090億美元。
有抵押亦並非萬能。如果投資者並不具備相應知識和經驗,將無法區分抵押品的優劣。更重要的是,一旦出現違約,需要專家去應對訴訟等追償的事宜。因此,具有較長歷史往績的主動管理產品更能創造超越市場的表現。

基金經理結婚 不利投資表現

基金經理甲君人到中年才小登科,送來紅色炸彈我恭喜他之餘,笑說我要贖回他管理的基金.A君以為我講笑,我收起笑容告訴他:「我是認真的,學術研究已經證明,基金經理新婚,投資成績會倒退,程度可能較離婚更差」…..

工字不出頭 靠錢搵錢爭上流

香港地不少上一輩人搭上時代的順風車,寫下無數獅子山精神故事,成就不少世界級富翁。然而,良辰美景已不復存在…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。