Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 810- Our initial thoughts after India’s election

2019-05-27 11:19
分享
  • 分享

27 May 2019 Issue 810

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The Sino-US trade talks become tense again, and the United States further banned the products of Huawei. For the week, the Dow fell by 0.69% to 25,585.69. The S&P 500 index fell by 1.17% to 2,826.06. The Nasdaq fell by 2.29% to 7,637.01 points.
  • Europe: Since the tense relations between China and the US, and the resignation of British Prime Minister Theresa May, the market is worried about the economic prospects of the Eurozone. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.96%, the German DAX index fell by 1.86%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 2.24%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 1.47% for the week to 375.89 points.
  • Asia: The Sino-US trade talks become tense again, and the United States further banned the products of Huawei. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by -0.63 % to 21,117.22 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell 0.51% to 153.20 points.

Bonds

  • US: Due to the escalating conflict between China and the US, funds flows into the bond market. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 8 basis points to 2.320%.
  • Europe: Capital flows into the bond market as the market is worried about the economic prospect of the Eurozone and the Sino-US trade war situation. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 1 basis point to -0.118%.

Commodity

  • Oil: US’s crude oil inventories rose to its highest level since July 2017. Besides, it is worried that the crude oil demand will decrease due to the tense relations between China and the US on the trade issue. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 6.82% to close at $58.63 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The latest US economic data is poor, reflecting that the economy is slowing down. According to the JPMorgan economists, the US GDP’s growth rate in the second quarter of 2019 was reduced from the original estimation of 2.25% to only 1%. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.390% to 97.613.
  • China: The People’s Bank of China (PBOC) set the mid-point of the RMB exchange rate at a higher level than expected for three consecutive days in last week, helping to stop the decline of the yuan. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.210% against the US dollar to 6.900.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: US durable orders in April tumbled, indicating a bleak economic outlook. JPMorgan Chase lowered its second-quarter economic growth forecast from 2.25% to 1%.
  • US: Media reported that the US Securities and Exchange Commission investigated whether Boeing properly disclosed the problems associated with the grounded 737 Max jetliner.
  • U.S: Trump ordered an increase of 1,500 troops to the Middle East. Given the small size, the move may indicate that the United States wanted to avoid further escalation of tensions. Earlier, the Pentagon accused Iran of attacking on tankers and pipelines in the Middle East.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May decided to step down on June 7. Boris Johnson said he hoped to be pragmatically separated from the EU, but as a negotiating tactic, the UK must also prepare for a non-agreement to leave the EU.
  • Euro-zone: The British Bureau of Statistics announced that after seasonal adjustments, UK retail sales in April grew 0%, but still better than market expectations of a 0.3% decline.
  • Euro-zone: The Conference Board data showed that the UK’s March Conference Leadership Indicator (LEI) decreased to 93.6, falling eight consecutive months.
  • Japan: US President Trump, who was visiting Japan, said that the US-Japan trade negotiations have made significant progress, but the trade agreement may be reached after the Japanese election in July.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry announced that after seasonal adjustments, Japan’s industrial production index fell 0.6 points, leading to the combined index dropping by 0.4 points to 105.6, worse than market expectation.
  • Singapore: Singapore’s industry and trade department and Monetary Authority (MAS) jointly announced that Singapore’s April consumer price index (CPI) rose from a previous value of 0.6% to 0.8%, in line with market expectations.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Huawei’s president Ren Zhengfei said in an interview last week that Although Trump administration export curbs would cut into a two-year lead Huawei had painstakingly built over rivals like Ericsson and Nokia, Huawei would accelerate its development of its own chip supply or find alternative channels, so as to maintain the advantages of smart phones and 5G.
• Chinese Premier Li Keqiang said that the government will ensure that large-scale tax cuts could enhance corporate confidence and achieve sustained economic growth.

Our initial thoughts after India’s election

The long-awaited results for India’s Lower House (Lok Sabha) elections finally came out last Thursday with the Prime Minister Narendra Modi led his Bharatiay Janata Party (BJP) to a landslide victory for a second consecutive term in office, leaving the opposing Congress far behind.

The Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA, i.e., BJP+allies) won a total of 353 seats in the election (out of a total of 543) compared to 336 in the last parliament election held in 2014, while the BJP on its own won 303 seats this time, already exceeded the required majority of 272 seats, and also much better than the 282 seats last time. With a clear and decisive mandate for India’s ruling coalition, Modi promised to build a strong and inclusive nation and has assured investors of stability and policy continuity in Asia’s third-biggest economy.

What will PM Modi do?

Given Modi’s strong mandate, market expectation of big structural reforms has been increasing since the election results out. Labour is one of the key areas as unemployment rate in India has increased dramatically to over 6% last year from merely 2-3% in 2011. In fact, Modi’s government has been working on the new industrial policy 4.0 as to improve the competitiveness of manufacturing and services industries, especially he wants to take advantage from the long-term trend of a manufacturing shift away from China. The policy permits easy hire-and-fire policies and has proposed higher minimum wages and availability of medical facilities for workers. We can also expect the labour law and codes will be more simple and clearer in future.

Another major reform area should be on land as high acquisition cost and availability of land have always been the problem in India. We believe Modi will try to increase the transparency of land auctions and to introduce digitization of records to improve efficiency and fairness.

Privatization of SOEs will be another important reform that markets will hope for from the Modi government, in particular for the banking industry. India’s banking system has been undergoing a large cleansing exercise, with huge recapitalization of SOE banks, while there is protracted insolvency issue in the non-bank financial companies (NBFC), which in return crippling the flow of liquidity in the system. Moreover, despite India’s SOE banks hold large market share in deposits, they are unable to increase their lending given poor capital adequacy ratios. As a result, market generally believes India’s SOE banks have to restart lending and the Modi government should consider recapitalize SOE banks, which is still unclear at the moment.

A key hurdle for the major reforms mentioned above as it requires a majority vote in both houses of Parliament, in which NDA still remain in a minority in the Upper House and needs an additional 21 seats to gain majority. However, with 85 members of Upper House due to retire by end of 2020. The NDA could have a chance to gain majority in both houses by that time.

Will India stock market continue to outperform post-election?

Over the last three months, Indian equities have seen a pre-election rally with MSCI India outperforming the broader MXAPJ region by 15ppt or 3.5ppt YTD. The current outperformance was in-line with what we expected and may continue for the next few months as we suggested in our previous article in February – “Is it a good timing to re-enter the India market now?”.

In fact, India equities has experienced multiple re-rating over the last five years (from 14X to 18X P/E), despite muted earnings growth as investors have high expectation about India’s long-term growth potential. Meanwhile, markets have revised up Indian equities earning growth by around 1-2ppt to 19% and 18% for this year and next year (vs. 3% and 10% for MXAPJ for CY19/20), reflecting that PM Modi to roll-out more reforms after the election. However, with India equities are now trading at 18.0X forward P/E, which is at the higher end of the historical range and at 40% premium to the MXAPJ region, we see India’s market valuation is fair and expect the near-term upside is limited at around 10% only.

 

基金經理結婚 不利投資表現

基金經理甲君人到中年才小登科,送來紅色炸彈我恭喜他之餘,笑說我要贖回他管理的基金.A君以為我講笑,我收起笑容告訴他:「我是認真的,學術研究已經證明,基金經理新婚,投資成績會倒退,程度可能較離婚更差」…..

中美貿易戰前景不宜睇得太淡

中美貿易談判原先步入尾聲,卻在五月初急轉直下。在中美夾縫中的香港股市首當其衝,執筆時五月已下跌超二千點。有傳媒指是次的導火線,是因為中方刪除了協議內約三成條文,當中大部份與法律約束力有關…..





相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。

御峰通讯(第810期)- 印度大选后股市前景分析

2019-05-27 11:19
分享
  • 分享

2019年5月27日 第810期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易談判再次陷入緊張局勢,美國進一步封殺華為。全週計,道指跌0.69%,報25,585.69點。標普500指數跌1.17%,報點2,826.06。納指跌2.29%,報7,637.01點。
  • 歐洲:受中美貿易戰及英國首相文翠珊宣報即將下台影響,市場擔心歐元區經濟前景。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.96%,德國DAX指數跌1.86%,法國CAC40指數跌2.24%。STOXX 600指數全週跌1.47%,報375.89點。
  • 亞洲: 美中貿易談判再次陷入緊張局勢,美國進一步封殺華為。全週計,日經225指數升-0.63 %,報21,117.22點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.51 %,報153.20點。

債券

  • 美國:受中美貿易戰升溫影響,資金湧入債券市場。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌8個基點,報2.320%。
  • 歐元區:由於市場擔心歐元區經濟成長及中美貿易戰局勢,資金流入債券市場。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌1個基點,報-0.118%。

商品

  • 油價:美國原油庫存升至2017年7月以來最高,加上中美貿易緊張關係增添市場對全球經濟及原油需求的憂慮,拖累油價。全週計,紐約期油跌6.82 %,收報每桶58.63美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國最新經濟數據亦欠佳,反映經濟正在放緩。根據摩根大通經濟學家預測,2019年第二季美國GDP增速,由原先估計的2.25%,調降至只有1%。。全週計,美匯指數跌0.390%,報 97.613。
  • 中國:上週,中國人民銀行(央行)連續三天將人民幣匯率中間價訂在比預期強的水準,有助止住人民幣的貶勢。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.210%,報6.900。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國4月份商業設備訂單創下四個月來最大降幅,顯示經濟前景黯淡。摩根大通將美國第二季度經濟成長預測從2.25%下調至1%。
  • 美國:知情人士透露,美國證券交易委員會正在調查波音是否恰當地披露了與停飛的737 Max噴氣式客機相關的問題。
  • 美國:特朗普下令向中東地區增兵1500人,鑒於規模較小,此舉或表明美國希望避免緊張局勢進一步升級。此前,五角大樓指責伊朗是中東油輪和管道遭襲擊的幕後指使。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅決定於6月7日卸任。首相之位的最有力競爭者鮑里斯·約翰遜表示,希望務實地從歐盟脫離,但是作為談判戰術,英國也必須為無協議脫歐做好準備。
  • 歐元區:英國統計局公布,經季節調整後,英國4月零售銷售終止連升三個月,按月零增長,但仍優於市場預期轉降0.3%。
  • 歐元區:經濟諮商會(Conference Board)數據顯示,英國3月諮商會領先指標(LEI)連降八個月,且按月跌幅再度略擴至0.5%,報93.6,屢創新低。
  • 日本:正在日本訪問的美國總統川普表示,美國與日本的貿易談判取得顯著進展,不過貿易協議可能要在7月份日本大選後才能達成。
  • 日本:日本經濟產業省公布,經季節調整後,日本3月所有產業活動指數按月連跌兩個月,且按月意外跌幅擴至0.4%,報105.6,市場原先預期跌0.2%。
  • 新加坡:新加坡工貿部門與金管局(MAS)聯合公布,新加坡4月消費者物價指數(CPI)按年升幅由前值0.6%升至0.8%,符合市場預期。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 華為總裁任正非上周接受彭博電視採訪時表示,雖然美國實施的出口管制會縮小其相對易利信和諾基亞等競爭對手的領先優勢,但華為會通過加速發展自己的晶片供應或者找到替代渠道來保持在智慧手機和5G領域的優勢。

• 中國總理李克強表示,政府將確保更大規模減稅降費落實到位,增強企業信心,實現經濟持續成長。

印度大選後股市前景分析

期待已久的印度下議院(Lok Sabha)選舉於上週四公佈結果,總理納倫德拉·莫迪率領的印度人民黨(BJP)以壓倒性的勝利獲得連任。
莫迪領導的全國民主聯盟NDA (BJP +盟友)在選舉中贏得共353個席位,取得大多數議席(總共543個席位,272席為過半數),表現較上屆2014年選舉中的336席更好;而人民民主黨(BJP)在這次選舉中便已取得過半數達303席,亦大幅優於上次選舉的282席。在強大的執政聯盟的背景下,總理莫迪在勝選後承諾將建立一個強大且包容的印度,並向投資者保證這個亞洲第三大的經濟體將維持穩定和政策連續性。

總理莫迪將推行什麼改革?

在今次大勝後,市場對印度將推行大型結構改革的期望正在增加。勞動力改革是其中關鍵領域,過去多年印度失業率不斷上升,從2011年的2-3%大幅升至去年的6%以上。近年,莫迪政府致力於推行新產業政策4.0,以提高製造業和服務業的競爭力;特別是莫迪希望把握製造業從中國轉移到區內其他地區的長期趨勢。預期勞動政策改革將包括簡化僱傭及解僱程序,並改善最低工資和醫療幅利等等,相信未來印度的新勞動法將變得更加簡單易明。

另一個主要改革領域將與土地政策有關,土地短缺及收購成本高昂繁複一直是本地商人及外資所垢病的問題。我們相信莫迪將努力提高土地拍賣的透明度,並引入數字化,以提高效率和公平性。

國企私有化改革將是市場另一關注焦點,特別是在銀行業上。印度的銀行體系過往一直在進行大規模的重組清理工作,而非銀行金融公司(NBFC)普遍亦存在資金不足、破產危機等威脅,因而導致印度銀行體系經常出現流動性不足的問題。此外,儘管印度國有銀行在存款市場中佔有大份額,但由於資本充足率較低等原因,印度國有銀行過去苦於無法增加貸款,對印度整體經濟發展不利。因此,市場普遍認為印度的國有銀行必須盡快激活貸款,而方法之一是莫迪政府應該考慮對國有銀行進行資本重組及私有化,但目前有關細節及時間表不明。

然而,要推行上述各大重要改革,都必須先獲上下兩院通過,其中NDA在上議院仍是少數派,需要再嬴得21席才可過半數。而較為樂觀的是,上議院將有約85名議員於2020年底時退休。介時,NDA將可能有機會成為兩院的執政大黨,印度的改革將可能變得更具效率。

印度股市在大選後何去何從?

在過去三個月,印度股市受選舉效應所支持而表現亮麗,MSCI India的表現跑嬴MSCI Asia Pacific ex-Japan 達15%,年初至今亦跑嬴約3.5%,表現符合我們預期,可能會在接下來的2個月繼續,而正如我們在2月份文章“是否到了重新買進印度股市場時機?”所持的觀點一樣,印度股市在未來數月仍可能因選舉效應而跑嬴區內其他市場 。

儘管過去盈利增長呆滯並曾多次低於市場預期,但由於投資者對印度的長期增長潛力仍寄予厚望,印度股市在過去五年中的估值不跌反升,並經歷多次估值上調(市盈率從13年時的14倍擴張至現在約18倍)。今次大選後,保守估計市場大致將印度股市今年和明年的盈利增長預測上調約1-2個百分點至19%和18%(相對於MXAPJ於19及 20年的盈利增長分別為3%和10%),以反映出印度總理莫迪將於未來1-2年進行多項改革。然而,由於印度股市目前的預測市盈率為18.0倍,處於歷史區間的較高端,且比MXAPJ區域有近40%溢價,我們認為印度股市現在估值已反映大部份增長前景,並預計短期上行空間約10%左右。

基金經理結婚 不利投資表現

基金經理甲君人到中年才小登科,送來紅色炸彈我恭喜他之餘,笑說我要贖回他管理的基金.A君以為我講笑,我收起笑容告訴他:「我是認真的,學術研究已經證明,基金經理新婚,投資成績會倒退,程度可能較離婚更差」…..

中美貿易戰前景不宜睇得太淡

中美貿易談判原先步入尾聲,卻在五月初急轉直下。在中美夾縫中的香港股市首當其衝,執筆時五月已下跌超二千點。有傳媒指是次的導火線,是因為中方刪除了協議內約三成條文,當中大部份與法律約束力有關…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。