Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 808- The Most Daunting Challenge for US-China Relationship

2019-05-14 06:13
Share
  • Share

14 May 2019 Issue 808

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The trade relationships between China and the US are tense. Following Trump’s order to impose tariffs on US$325 billion worth Chinese goods, the Customs Tariff Commission of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China decided to increase tariffs on certain imported goods produced in the United States since June 1. Over the week, the Dow fell by 2.12% to 25,942.37. The S&P 500 index fell by 2.18% to close at 2,881.40. The Nasdaq fell by 3.03% to 7,916.94.
  • Europe: Affected by the growing trade tension between China and the United States, the European stock markets dropped. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 2.40%, the German DAX index fell by 2.84%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 3.99%. The STOXX 600 index fell by 3.39% to 377.14 points.
  • Asia: The trade relationships between China and the US are tense. Following Trump’s order to impose tariffs on US$325 billion worth Chinese goods, the Customs Tariff Commission of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China decided to increase tariffs on certain imported goods produced in the United States since June 1. For the whole week, the Nikkei 225 index fell 4.11% to 21,344.92 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell 3.61% to 157.05 points.

Bonds

  • US: Affected by the trade tension between China and the US, funds flows to the risk-averse US bond market. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 6 basis points to 2.414%.
  • Europe: Affected by the trade tension between China and the US, funds flows to the bond market. Throughout the week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 7 basis points to 0.045%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Two Saudi oil tankers were being attacked near the Persian Gulf on Sunday, stimulating oil prices. However, oil prices fell later following the stock markets. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 0.45% to close at $61.66 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: After the United States imposed tariffs on China, the Dollar Index fell. For the entire week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.195% to 97.330.
  • China: Affected by the trade tension between China and the US, renminbi fell. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 1.197% against the US dollar at 6.816.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The US Trade Representative issued a detailed plan to impose a tariff of up to 25% on $300 billion worth Chinese goods, mentioning that a public hearing on these new tariffs will be held on June 17.
  • U.S: As the trade relationships between China and the US are tense, Trump plans to meet with Chinese President Xi Jinping at the G-20 summit next month. Trump said that the United States expects China to retaliate against US tariffs, but he believes that Beijing still wants to reach an agreement with the US.
  • U.S: Sino-US disputes affect the economic outlook. The market is expecting the Fed will cut the interest rate. The January Fed funds futures contract shows that the Fed’s benchmark interest rate will fall to 2.095% by the end of the year.
  • Euro-zone: The European Union is finalizing a list of US goods, and once Trump decides to impose tariffs on cars imported from Europe, the EU may impose retaliatory tariffs on these US goods. Trump is expected to make a decision by May 18.
  • Euro-zone: According to statistics from the British Bureau of Statistics, the UK’s first quarter Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth rate accelerated to 0.5% in the first quarter of this year, in line with market expectations. The annual growth rate has accelerated to 1.8%, which is also in line with market expectations.
  • Euro-zone: The survey of the Bank of France (BOF) showed that France’s manufacturing sentiment index unexpectedly fell to 99 in April, which is lower than the market expectations of 100. Besides, the sentiment index of service industry and the construction industry have also dropped from 101 and 106 to 100 and 105 respectively.
  • Japan: Japanese Cabinet Office’s data showed that after the seasonal adjustment, the final value of Japan’s Leading Indicator decreased from 97.1 in February to 96.3 in March, a new low since June 2016, but it is still in line with market expectations.
  • Japan: The Japanese Cabinet Office announced that after seasonal adjustment, Japan’s Household Consumer Confidence Index fell for seven consecutive months, from 40.5 in March to 40.4 in April, hitting a new low since February 2016, but still slightly higher than the market expectations of 40.3.
  • Australia: The National Australia Bank (NAB) survey showed that Australia’s NAB Business Confidence Index ended its two consecutive months fall, increased form -1 to 0, but it is still lower than the market expectations of 1.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• China announced that it will increase the tariff rate on $60 billion worth US goods on June 1. It will raise the tariff rate to 25% on 2,493 US goods, such as liquefied natural gas (LNG). And the additional tariff rate of the remaining goods is between 5% and 20%. It is noted that the crude oil, automobiles and some auto parts are still not subject to retaliatory tariffs.
• MSCI announced the results of the Semi-Annual Review of the stock market index. It is noted that there are 31 equities have been added into the MSCI China Index, and four equities have been removed.

The most daunting challenge for US-China relationship

An immediate US-China trade war escalation

Whether the “sell in May” is a coincident again for 2019 or not, the return of US-China trade tensions obviously resulted in Chinese assets leading the broader Emerging Market assets lower with equities experiencing the most pain last week. The US administration decided to raise additional tariffs on $200bn of Chinese exports from 10% to 25% on May 10. In return on 13 May, China retaliated by announcing plans to impose 20-25% tariff (from 5-10% previously) on $60bn of +5,000 American imports starting June 1. The latest breakdown shows that there are still large discrepancies between the two countries and they still haven’t found the right formula to negotiate effectively. With rising pessimism, the MSCI China, MSCI Asia and MSCI EM index has tumbled by 3.9%, 4.1% and 4.3% respectively last week.

 

Both sides have worked hard to calm down the market since the end of discussion on Friday and emphasizes that negotiations will go on, but people close to the talks say has been a bigger erosion of trust and there are widening fundamental differences between the two sides. One of the key arguments between the two countries has been US plans to keep some tariff in place after the deal, which is unacceptable in China’s point of view. Another major area of conflict has been the long arguing intellectual property right, which are unlikely to find a common ground sooner or later.

What’s next and the economic effects?

However, the worst has not yet to come as the U.S. may backfire again by putting another 25% tariffs on $325 billion in Chinese goods that remain untaxed. On the other hand, China’s retaliation could also go beyond the goods trade and target services, especially in the finance, tourism and cultural sectors. According to UBS, the current trade war of 25% tariff on $200bn Chinese goods is likely to lower China’s real GDP growth by 30-50bps in the next 12 months and the growth could slow further by 120-150bps if a full-blown trade war happens. On the other side, UBS estimates that the negative impacts to U.S. GDP growth is about 20-35bps ($45-65bn) in the next two quarter and the impacts can be worsen to 75-100bp ($150 to $225bn) of GDP growth over the next four quarters if situation get worse.

The market impacts…

As we mentioned in early May, the extremely low market volatility YTD is unlikely to sustain especially during the late economic cycle. The VIX spiked up to 20.6 on May 13 from only 12.9 in just only one week. Asian equities including HK/China before were pricing in limited risk of the US/China talks breaking up. Therefore, we saw a big correction for Asian equities over the last few trading days, and there could be another 10-15% downside risk in the full-blown trade scenario as market is still pricing in a low-single digit and double-digit earnings growth for Asia and China for 2019, respectively. On the currency side, CNY has been weakening again since the news flow last week and it could break above 7.0 in the worst-case scenario. However, we believe the Chinese government will continue to refrain from allowing for a large CNY depreciation, e.g. to above 7.3, as a sharp depreciation could destabilize confidence and lead to more capital outflows. Nevertheless, a slump in China’s currency would be a negative to Asian currencies, in particular KRW, THB, MYR and SGD historically have had the highest sensitivity to RMB weakness (of ~0.6). On the other hand, a depreciating CNY also tends to weigh on Hong Kong’s equities as Hang Seng Index’s companies generate about 60% of their earning in CNY.

The key watching date

According to U.S. officials, the potential 25% tariffs on $325 billion Chinese goods would not take effect until late June at the earliest. The two countries still have another month to reach a deal, while the G20-meeting on June 28-29 in Osaka, Japan plays an ever-more important role as Chinese President Xi and U.S. president Trump are likely to meet and have a discussion on trade there. We expect market volatility to remain high before the G20 summit and suggest investors not to be too speculative, while it may be a good to rebalance your portfolio and reduce the weight of risky assets.

 

逃犯條例修訂 香港商界後知後覺

特區政府「暗渡陳倉」,借港人涉嫌在台灣殺害女友事件,強推《逃犯條例》修訂。商界後知後覺,到發現修訂後的法例是自己頭上的緊箍圈,提出異議,為時已晚…..

分析員怎評估企業價值?

今天跟大家談談估值比率EV/EBITDA,跟市盈率(P/E)一樣,其比率愈低,代表公司的估價愈低。事實上,根據二○一五年發表的Equity Valuation:A Survey of Professional Practice一文顯示,近八成的股票分析員皆使用該指標…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第808期)- 中美关系正面临最严峻挑战

2019-05-14 06:13
分享
  • 分享

2019年5月14日 第808期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美中貿易局勢再次升溫,繼特朗普下令對3250億美元進口中國商品徵收關稅,中國國務院關稅稅則委員會決定自6月1日起,向產於美國的部分進口商品提高加徵關稅。全週計,道指跌2.12%,報25,942.37點。標普500指數跌2.18%,報點2,881.40。納指跌3.03%,報7,916.94點。
  • 歐洲:受中美貿易緊張升溫影響。全週計,英國富時100指數跌2.40%,德國DAX指數跌2.84%,法國CAC40指數跌3.99%。STOXX 600指數全週跌3.39%,報377.14點。
  • 亞洲: 美中貿易局勢再次升溫,繼特朗普下令對3250億美元進口中國商品徵收關稅,中國國務院關稅稅則委員會決定自6月1日起,向產於美國的部分進口商品提高加徵關稅。全週計,日經225指數跌4.11%,報21,344.92點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌3.61%,報157.05點。

債券

  • 美國:中美貿易緊張升溫,觸發資金流向美債避險。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌6個基點,報2.414%。
  • 歐元區:受中美貿易緊張升溫影響,觸發資金流向債券市場避險。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌7個基點,報0.045%。

商品

  • 油價:沙地阿拉伯有兩艘油輪周日在波斯灣附近遇襲,刺激油價上升,但之後跟隨股市回落。全週計,紐約期油跌0.45%,收報每桶61.66美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國向中國加徵關稅後,美匯指數繼而下跌。全週計,美匯指數跌0.195%,報97.330。
  • 中國:美中貿易局勢再次升溫,另人民幣下滑。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌1.197%,報6.816。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國貿易代表發布對3,000億美元中國商品擬加征最高25%關稅的詳細計畫,其中提到將於6月17日就這些新關稅舉行公開聽證會。
  • 美國:貿易隔閡加深之際,川普計畫在下月的G-20峰會上與中國國家主席習近平會面。川普表示,美國料到中國會對美國的關稅進行報復,但他認為北京方面仍想要達成協議。
  • 美國:中美爭端為經濟前景蒙上陰影,市場對聯儲會降息的預期升溫,1月聯邦基金期貨合約顯示,市場預期聯儲會基準利率到今年年底將降至2.095%。
  • 歐元區:歐盟正在敲定一份美國商品清單,一旦川普決定對進口自歐洲的汽車加征關稅,歐盟便準備對這些美國商品加征報復性關稅。川普預計將在5月18日之前做出決定。
  • 歐元區:英國統計局數據顯示,英國今年第一季國內生產總值(GDP)初值環比增速加快至0.5%,符合市場預期。按年增長加快至1.8%,也符合市場預期。
  • 歐元區:法國央行(BOF)調查顯示,法國4月製造業景氣指數意外降至99,市場原先預期維持前值100。另外,服務業景氣及建築業景氣亦分別由由101及106回落至100及105。
  • 日本:日本內閣府數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本3月領先指標初值扭轉前值半年來首升,由2月97.1,回落至96.3,創2016年6月以來新低,但符合市場預期。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,經季節調整後,日本4月家庭消費者信心指數連降七個月,由3月40.5,續降至40.4,屢創2016年2月以來新低,但仍略高於市場預期40.3。
  • 澳洲:澳洲國民銀行(NAB)調查顯示,澳洲4月NAB商業信心指數終止連降兩個月,由前值下修後負1創2013年7月以來低位,回升至0,市場原先預期彈至1。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國宣布,自6月1日零時起,對已實施加征關稅的600億美元清單中的部分美國商品,提高加征關稅稅率,對液化天然氣(LNG)等2,493項美國商品實施加征25%的關稅,其余商品的加征關稅稅率在5%-20%之間。原油、汽車和一些汽車零件仍不在報復性關稅徵收之列。

• MSCI宣布2019年5月股票市場指數半年度檢討結果,其中MSCI中國指數新加入31隻股份,同時剔出4隻股份。

中美關係正面臨最嚴峻挑戰

中美貿易戰正在升級

5月賣出” 魔咒再次重挫全球股市,中美貿易緊張局勢驟然升級導致中國有關資產價格下跌並拖累上週新興市場資產表現。特朗普政府決定在5月10日起對中國2000億美元出口商品關稅從10%加至25%。而中國於5月13日亦作出報復,宣布6月1日起對超過5000種價值600億美元的美國商品清單項目提高關稅稅率,分別實施10%、20%、25%關稅。上週中美談判失敗顯示兩國之間仍存在巨大分歧,市場早前實在過於樂觀。隨著避險情緒上升,MSCI中國指數、MSCI亞洲和MSCI新興市場指數於上周分別下挫3.9%、4.1%及4.3%。

自上周五談判不果後,中美雙方都努力安撫市場情緒,並強調談判將繼續進行,但接近消息人士表示,中美雙方信任及關係正跌至新低點,基本分歧正在擴大。 其中,關鍵之一是美國希望在達成協議後仍保留部份關稅,但不為中方所接受。 而另一個主要長期爭議點便是知識產權,雙方在此問題上更難達成共識。

下一步是什麼? 對經濟影響亦有多大?

然而,最糟糕的情況尚未出現。美國正考慮對中國餘下的3250億美元出口商品徵收25%關稅,影響將更廣泛及嚴重。 另一方面,中國對美國的報復亦可能不局限於貿易上,服務業,特別是金融、旅遊、文化領域等亦可能是戰場之一。據瑞銀估計,目前2000億美元中國商品及25%的關稅率將可能導致中國在未來12個月內實際GDP增長下跌0.3-0.5%,而如果貿易戰全面爆發,負面影響將增加至1.2-1.5%。 同樣,瑞銀亦估計貿易戰將影響美國下兩個季度的經濟增長約0.2-0.35% (450-650億美元),甚至在持續惡化下,影響將蔓延至四個季度,經濟增長亦將可能下挫約0.75-1.0%(1500-2250億美元)。

對市場影響

正如我們在5月初所述,市場自年初至今的低波幅情況實屬異常,特別是美國經濟已處於週期末段。 VIX指數在5月13日飆升至20.6,而在一周前僅為12.9。而由於亞洲股票,其中包括香港/中國在內,早前指數表現反映中美談判破裂的風險有限。因此,在過去幾個交易日內出現大幅調整。我們認為假如貿易戰全面爆發,亞洲整體股市在現水平上仍有再跌10-15%的風險;目前,市場對亞洲和中國於2019年的盈利增長大約分別為2%和13%,而2020年的盈利增長約11.5%及12.7%,並未反映貿易戰全面爆發的可能。在貨幣方面,自上週消息傳出以來人民幣再次走弱,我們相信在最壞情況下人民幣可能突破7.0,但相信並不會高於7.3。中國政府將避免人民幣大幅貶值,以避免可能會破壞投資者信心及資金大幅外流。然而,中國貨幣貶值六將對亞洲貨幣造成負面影響,特別是歷史上韓元、泰銖、馬來西亞元及新加坡元對人民幣貶值的敏感度最高(約為0.6)。另一方面,人民幣貶值預期對香港股市也會構成壓力,恆生指數成份股約60%的盈利與人民幣有關。

未來關鍵日期

根據美國官員的說法,對潛在3250億美元中國商品的25%關稅最早要到6月底才會生效, 兩國將仍有約一個月的時間達成協議。而6月28日至29日於日本大阪舉行的G20會議將扮演著越來越重要的角色,中國國家主席習近平和美國總統特朗普介時將會面並討論兩國貿易關係。在此之前市場預期將大幅波動,投資者不宜過份投機,應注意投資組合風險,並可考慮降低風險資產比例。

逃犯條例修訂 香港商界後知後覺

特區政府「暗渡陳倉」,借港人涉嫌在台灣殺害女友事件,強推《逃犯條例》修訂。商界後知後覺,到發現修訂後的法例是自己頭上的緊箍圈,提出異議,為時已晚…..

分析員怎評估企業價值?

今天跟大家談談估值比率EV/EBITDA,跟市盈率(P/E)一樣,其比率愈低,代表公司的估價愈低。事實上,根據二○一五年發表的Equity Valuation:A Survey of Professional Practice一文顯示,近八成的股票分析員皆使用該指標…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。