Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 806- China onshore bond market: An asset class not to be missed

2019-04-29 07:26
Share
  • Share

29 April 2019 Issue 806

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The United States’ annual GDP grew by 3.2% in the first quarter of 2019, far exceeding market expectations, making the market holds an optimistic view towards the US economic prospect. For the entire week, the Dow fell by 0.06% to 26,543.33. The S&P 500 index rose by 1.20% to 2,939.88. The Nasdaq rose by 1.85% to 8,146.40.
  • Europe: European stock markets have developed individually. Driven by technology stocks, the German stock market performed well in last week. However, both the UK and France stock markets have fallen. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.42%, the German DAX index rose by 0.76%, and the French CAC40 index fell by 0.20%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.14% for the week to 391.01 points.
  • Asia: South Korea’s real GDP in the first quarter of 2019 unexpectedly decreased by 0.3% from the previous quarter, which is the biggest decrease since the end of 2008, dragging down Asian stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 0.26% to 22,258.73 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index fell by 0.57% to 162.14 points.

Bonds

  • US: The US GDP growth in the first quarter of 2019 was 3.2%, which was much higher than market expectations. However, the sub-indices showed that the demand growth was weaker than the overall growth, causing the US 10-year bond yield fell. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 6 basis points to 2.498%.
  • Europe: The results of the German Ifo Business Climate Index were disappointing, causing the market to switch their investments to the risk-averse market. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 5 basis points to 0.023%.

Commodity

  • Oil: It is reported that Germany and Poland worried that Russian oil is being polluted and will stop importing Russian oil from the Druzhba pipeline. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 1.20% to close at $63.30 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The US annual GDP grew by 3.2% in the first quarter of 2019, far exceeding the market expectation of 2.3%. For the whole week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.645% to 98.006.
  • China: US GDP data is better than expected, making the dollar strong. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.468% against the US dollar at 6.736.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Chinese and US officials will continue economic and trade consultations in Beijing on April 30. The White House said the negotiations will involve trade issues such as intellectual property rights, compulsory technology transfer, non-tariff barriers, agriculture sector issues, services sector issues, procurement and enforcement issues.
  • U.S: The US annual GDP growth was 3.2% in the first quarter, far higher than the market expectation. The inventories and trade sectors gave the economy a strong boost, offsetting the slowdown in consumer spending. Trump said that if there is no interest rate hike, GDP growth will be higher.
  • U.S: Trump said that he has discussed with countries such as Saudi Arabia, to increase oil supply and claimed that everyone agreed on it. The oil price hit the biggest drop within these two months.
  • Euro-zone: The spokesperson for British Prime Minister Theresa May said that the British government and the opposition party, Labor Party, will continue to discuss on the Berxit issue this week to seek to break the deadlock.
  • Euro-zone: The French Statistical Office (INSEE) announced that the French consumer confidence index unexpectedly ended the upward trend, only stabilizing at 96, lower than the market expectation of 97.
  • Euro-zone: The German Institute for Economic Research announced that after the seasonal adjustment, the German Ifo Business Climate Index unexpectedly fell back to 99.2 in April, the market originally expected to be 99.9.
  • Japan: The Bank of Japan adjusted its monthly bond purchase plan for the second time this year, paving the way for a reduction in bond purchases in May as Japan’s benchmark yield remains below zero.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Tokyo’s Consumer Price Index (CPI) rose from a 0.9% increase to a 1.4% increase in April, far higher than the market expectation of a 1.1% increase.
  • Australia: The Australian Bureau of Statistics announced that the growth rate of the Australia’s Producer Price Index (PPI) in the first quarter of this year slowed down slightly to 1.9%, and the quarterly increase also slowed down slightly to 0.4%.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Xi Jinping, Chinese President, said at the One Belt, One Road Roundtable Summit on Saturday that the global economy is lacking of momentum and is facing downward pressure. Xi Jinping also said that during the “Belt and Road” forum, the project cooperation agreements that signed by parties were worth more than 64 billion USD.
• China’s total profit of industrial enterprises above designated size grew by 13.9% year-on-year in March, reversing the decline trend in January and February.

China onshore bond market: An asset class not to be missed

Following the introduction of China – Hong Kong Bond Connect in July 2017, we have recently witnessed another important milestone in the long-term liberalization of China onshore bond market, i.e., the inclusion of China’s sovereign and policy bank bonds into the widely tracked Bloomberg Barclays Global Aggregate Index. The inclusion will be implemented over a 20-month period starting April 2019, and the process is expected to be slow and gradual. Upon completion, 364 Chinese securities will account for 6.1% of the $54.9 trillion index and the yuen-denominated debts will then form the fourth-largest currency component behind the dollar, euro and yen in the index. Among the 364 bonds that will be included in the index, the mix will be as follows:

– Chinese government: 159

– China Development Bank: 102

– Agricultural Development Bank of China: 58

– Export-Import Bank of China: 45

 

The move is critical and meaningful to both China government and global investors as it would be an important step to integrate Chinese markets in the global financial system and help advancing RMB internationalization. Besides, it helps to diversify China’s sources of funding, and China needs foreign capital to finance its slowing economy in particular as the country’s current account is expected to swing into a deficit in the coming years. China is now gradually transforming into a more service-oriented economy, and would have a high tenancy for imports, putting additional pressure to its trade deficit onwards.

 

On the other hand, China onshore bonds market is a massive $13 trillion debt market, the world’s third-largest after the U.S. and Japan, and this’s a market that foreign investors should not be missed. In fact, China onshore bonds offer global investors a meaningfully higher yield than other major markets. For example, China’s 10-year government bond yielded at about 3.1%, compared with 2.4% on equivalent US, 1% on UK and 0.4% on France sovereign notes respectively. In addition, China onshore bonds, which has been dominated by domestic investors, could offer considerable diversification benefit to foreign investors and help them to reduce their portfolio volatility as the correlation between Chinese bond and US Treasury prices has been almost zero over the past few years. However, this benefit may gradually diminish as foreign investors participation in China’s bond market rises over time.

 

Meanwhile, foreigners’ share of China bond market is about 3.4% only, but it is growing exponentially from less than 2% last year ($248bn in 2018 and $183bn in 2017). In fact, the average daily trading volume on the China-HK Bond Connect increased to RMB5.9bn during 1Q19 compared to RMB3-4bn in 2017 and 2018, and is likely to exceed RMB7.5bn on April per our estimate. Another measure of foreign participation, i.e., the number of registered international institutional investors in Bond Connect Scheme, have increased to 711 at the end of March 2019 (vs. 500 at the end of December 2018), reflecting foreign interests in China bonds is rising drastically. With index inclusion starting April 2019, it could provide another boost to the transaction volume on Bond connect and may bring passive inflows of $120-$135bn to the China onshore bond market, according to Citi and Goldman Sachs forecast.

 

Figure 1.

Source: Bond Connect Company Limited, Noble Apex/iFund

 

In overall, we see China’s inclusion in global bond benchmarks is a key event to global investors, which is equally as important as the increase of inclusion factor of China A shares in the MSCI index. Looking forward, China still have to put much more efforts to further open up its debt market, such as the needs of developing more interest-rate derivatives that meet the hedging needs of foreign investors as well as the importance of having a more recognized and reliable credit ratings system as comparable to international standards. We believe China bonds would become a very important asset class for global investors in future, especially corporate bonds remains heavily under-penetrated, with international investors accounts for less than 1% of the total corporate bond at present.

 

印度股市值得長期關注

從4月11日到5月19日,是印度五年一度的大選,全國選民將選出第17屆人民院(Lok Sabha,即是下議院)543名議員,過半數議席的政黨可以執政…..

盈利是美股牛市的指南針

貿易談判的樂觀情緒令股市觸及新高,但是今年企業盈利可能才是牛市能否進一步上升的決定性因素…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第806期)- 中国境内债潜力不容忽视

2019-04-29 07:26
分享
  • 分享

2019年4月29日 第806期

环球市场动态

股市

  • 美国:美国首季年率化国内生产总值(GDP)按季增长3.2%,远胜市场预期,市场对经济前景乐观。全周计,道指跌0.06%,报26,543.33点。标普500指数升1.20%,报点2,939.88。纳指升1.85%,报8,146.40点。
  • 欧洲:欧洲股市个别发展,受科技股带动,德国股市一枝独秀,然而英国与法国股市均下跌。全周计,英国富时100指数跌0.42%,德国DAX指数升0.76%,法国CAC40指数跌0.20%。 STOXX 600指数全周升0.14%,报391.01点。
  • 亚洲: 南韩首季实际GDP初值环比意外收缩0.3%,为08年末季以来最大跌幅,拖累亚洲区股市。全周计,日经225指数升0.26%,报22,258.73点。 MSCI 亚太区指数跌0.57%,报162.14点。

债券

  • 美国:美国首季GDP增长为3.2%,高于市场预期,但分项指标显示需求增长比整体增长为弱,令美国10年期国债孳息率不升反跌。全周计,美国10年期国债孳息率跌6个基点,报2.498%。
  • 欧元区:德国Ifo企业景气调查结果令人失望,令市场转向避险市场。全周计,德国10年期国债孳息率跌5个基点,报0.023%。

商品

  • 油价:外媒报道,德国和波兰等国担心俄罗斯石油遭到污染,停止从Druzhba管线进口俄罗斯石油。全周计,纽约期油跌1.20 %,收报每桶63.30美元。

货币

  • 美元:美国首季年率化国内生产总值(GDP)按季增长3.2%,远胜于市场预期的2.3%。全周计,美汇指数升0.645%,报 98.006。
  • 中国:美国GDP数据优于预期,令美元走强。全周计,人民币兑1美元跌0.468%,报6.736。

与经济相关新闻

  • 美国:中美官员4月30日将在北京继续经贸磋商。白宫表示,会谈将涉及智慧财产权、强制技术转让、非关税壁垒、农业、服务业、采购和执行等贸易问题。
  • 美国:美国第一季度经济折合年率成长3.2%,超过市场预期,库存和贸易给经济带来强力提振,抵消了消费者支出的放缓。特朗普表示,若是没有加息,GDP增速会更高。
  • 美国:特朗普称,他与沙乌地等国家谈及增加石油供应,并称「所有人都同意」。油价应声创出最两个月最大跌幅。
  • 欧元区:英国首相特里莎·梅的发言人表示,英国政府和反对党工党本周将继续会谈,寻求打破脱欧僵局。
  • 欧元区:法国统计局(INSEE)公布,法国4月消费者综合信心指数意外终止连升三个月,仅企稳96,市场原先预期续升至97。
  • 欧元区:德国慕尼黑经济研究所(Ifo)公布,经季节调整后,德国4月Ifo商业景气指数意外回落至99.2,市场原先预期为99.9。
  • 日本:日本央行今年第二次调整其月度债券购买计画,为5月份减少购债铺路,因日本基准殖利率继续保持在零以下。
  • 日本:日本总务省公布,东京4月消费物价指数(CPI)按年升幅由前值升0.9%加快至升1.4%,为去年10月以来最高,超出市场预期升1.1%。
  • 澳洲:澳洲统计局公布,澳洲今年第一季生产者物价指数(PPI)按年升幅略放缓至1.9%;按季升幅也略放缓至0.4%。
中国市场动态
经济相关新闻
• 中国国家主席习近平周六在「一带一路」国际合作高峰论坛圆桌峰会上表示,全球经济缺乏动能,面临下行压力。习近平还表示,「一带一路」论坛期间各方签署640多亿美元的项目合作协议。

• 中国3月全国规模以上工业企业利润总额同比成长13.9%,扭转1—2月份同比下降14%的颓势。

中国境内债潜力不容忽视

继「中港债券通」于2017年7月推出后,中国境内债券市场最近步入另一个重要里程碑,为达成完全自由化目标打下良好基础。从4月1日起,人民币计价的364只中国国债和政策性银行债券,将被正式纳入彭博巴克莱全球综合指数,并预计将在20个月内以渐进方式分步完成。完成纳入后,364只中国债券在该指数54.9万亿美元市值中占比将达到6.1%,并成为继美元、欧元和日元之后的第四大计价货币债券。在纳入指数的364债券中,大致分布如下:– 中国政府:159

– 中国国家开发银行:102

– 中国农业发展银行:58

– 中国进出口银行:45

对中国政府和全球投资者而言,今次举动可谓至关重要且意义重大。因为这将是中国市场融入全球金融体系,推动人民币国际化进程的重要一步。此外,亦有助于中国资金来源更多元化;而中国在未来经济逐步放缓下,外资流入亦变得日益重要,特别是预计中国的经常账户在几年后将转为赤字,加上中国正在转形为服务型经济,未来进口产品的占比将会更高,贸易逆差将可能由正转负。

另一方面,中国境内债券市场是一个庞大的13万亿美元债券市场,仅次于美国和日本,位列全球第三,其重要性不言而谕。事实上,中国境内债券的收益率比其他主要市场更高。例如,中国的10年期国债收益率约为3.1%,较美国10年期国债的2.4%为高,更远高于英国和法国的1%及0.4%。此外,由于中国境内债券以内地投资者为主,过去几年中国债券和美国国债价格之间的相关性几乎为零,因此对外国投资者来说,投资中国境内债券可以有效分散风险,减少投资组合的波动性。然而,随着外国投资者对中国债券市场的参与度逐渐增加,预期中美国债价格之间的相关性将慢慢上升。

与此同时,外资在中国债券市场的占比仅为3.4%,但与去年不到2%相比(2018年为2480亿美元,2017年为1830亿美元),呈几何级数式增长。 「中港债券通」的每日平均成交量从2017年和2018年的35亿人民币,于今年第一季度已增至59亿人民币,而按我们预测,4月的每日平均成交量已可能增至超过75亿人民币。而另一个衡量外资参与的标准 –「中港债券通」的注册国际机构投资者亦从去年底的500家上升至2019年3月底的711家,反映外资对中国债券市场的兴趣明显增加。根据花旗和高盛的预测,是次纳入指数举动预计将带来另一波交易量的上升,并可能为中国境内债券市场带来约1200亿至1350亿美元的被动流入。

图一. 「中港债券通」平均每日交易量(人民币 十亿元)

资料来源: 债券通有限公司、iFund/御峰理财

总体而言,我们认为今次中国纳入全球债券指数基准对投资者来说是十分关键事件,与早前公布中国A股在MSCI指数中的纳入因素增加同样重要。展望未来,中国仍需加大力度进一步开放债券市场,例如需要开发更多符合外国投资者对冲需求的利率衍生产品,以及更为加可靠及被国际投资者认可的信用评级标准。我们认为中国债券将成为未来全球投资者非常重要的资产类别,特别是企业债券的前景及市场十分具大,目前国际投资者占企业债券总投资比例少于1%。随着近期宏观数据显示中国经济逐渐靠稳,调整显示外资对投资中国债券市场的信心正在增加。

印度股市值得长期关注

从4月11日到5月19日,是印度五年一度的大选,全国选民将选出第17届人民院(Lok Sabha,即是下议院)543名议员,过半数议席的政党可以执政…..

盈利是美股牛市的指南针

贸易谈判的乐观情绪令股市触及新高,但是今年企业盈利可能才是牛市能否进一步上升的决定性因素…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。