Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 803- Hong Kong’s De facto central bank is still not off the hook

2019-04-08 04:10
Share
  • Share

8 April 2019 Issue 803

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The progress of the Sino-US trade negotiations are good. Besides, the US employment data is better than expected. Over the week, the Dow rose by 1.91% to 26,424.99. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.06% to 2,892.74. The Nasdaq rose by 2.71% to 7,938.69 points.
  • Europe: Both German and US economic data are better than expected, supporting European stock markets. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 2.30%, the German DAX index rose by 4.20%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 2.35%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 2.41% to 388.23 points.
  • Asia: The progress of the Sino-US trade negotiations are good. Moreover, China’s manufacturing PMI is better than expected. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 2.84% to 21,807.50 points. MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 1.70% to 162.53 points

Bonds

  • US: The progress of the Sino-US trade negotiations are good. Moreover, the British parliament passed the bill of extending the deadline of Brexit, which help UK to avoid Hard Brexit. Throughout the week, the US 10-year bond yield rose by 9 basis points to 2.499%.
  • Europe: The progress of the Sino-US trade negotiations are good. Moreover, China’s manufacturing data is better than expected, the market switching their investment from risk-averse bond markets to stock markets. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 8 basis points to 0.004%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Market worries that the escalation of the Libyan conflict may tighten oil supplies. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 4.89% to close at $63.08 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: US non-agricultural employment increased by 196,000 in March, better than expected. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose by 0.114% to 97.395.
  • China: The US employment figures are better than expected, making the US dollar strong. For the whole week, the yuan fell by 0.089% against the US dollar at 6.719.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The White House chief economic adviser Kudlow said that China and US are closer to reach a trade agreement, and they will continue negotiations through lots of conference calls. Moreover, Trump is expected that the trade agreement can be announced in the coming four to six weeks.
  • U.S: Trump continues to put pressure on the Fed, calling for cutting interest rates and restart the quantitative easing.
  • U.S: David Marpas, a senior US Treasury official, was appointed to be the president of the World Bank. He has not only been critical of China, but has also called for a transformation of the global economic order.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May failed to break the deadlock of Brexit. The Labor Party said that Theresa May did not make a real change on her draft of Brexit. Besides, the British Chancellor of the Exchequer called for a second referendum.
  • Euro-zone: Deutsche Bank said that restructuring the US investment banking business is not part of the M&A negotiations with Commerzbank. Moreover, it is also reported that DWS Group, the asset management company of Deutsche Bank, laid off dozens of employees last week and will further reduce the number of employees in the future.
  • Euro-zone: According to IHS Markit data, the growth rate of German and Italian construction PMI accelerated, but the French PMI fell slightly. The Construction Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) of the Eurozone fell from 52.6 in February to 52.2 in March.
  • Japan: According to data from the Cabinet Office of Japan, after the seasonal adjustment, Japan’s Leading Index rose from 96.5 in January to 97.4 in February, slightly higher than market expectations of 97.3.
  • Japan: According to data from the Japanese Ministry of Finance, as of the end of March this year, Japan’s total foreign exchange reserves increased for the fifth month to $1.291813 trillion, an increase of $10.013 billion from the end of February at $1.2818 trillion.
  • Singapore: According to Nikkei/Markit data, Singapore’s Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) in February this year rose from 49.8 to 51.8.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• In March, Caixin China General Services Business Activity Index (Services PMI) came in at 54.4, logging a new high since January 2018, remarkably rebounding 3.3% from February’s trough. The reading also higher than the market expectations of 52.3.
• US Secretary of State Pompeo warned that US will limit to share intelligence with the NATO allies who are using Huawei technology. According to the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, the US government has not issued a request for banning on Huawei when building a 5G network in Germany.

Hong Kong De facto central bank is still not off the hook

The HKMA has been defending the currency peg to USD seven times this year, and total bought 22.1 billion HKD (equivalent to 2.8 billion USD). The aggregate balance dropped to 54.2 billion HKD, and the local currency remains stuck at the wend end of this trading band. Market has a negative view on HKD for at least Q2.

What moves the HKD these days?

Usually when local interest rate does not follow with the US, the investors will sell local dollars and buy higher-yielding US dollars. Although Hong Kong try to follow Fed rate hike every time, there is little effect of interest difference between US and Hong Kong. It is useless because the base rate is the one at which the authority offers overnight funds to banks. The banking system has been trimming with cash for years.

Hong Kong, as a financial center, drew mass inflows as the central bank printed money. Meanwhile, mainland China investors diversify their portfolios by transferring RMB to HKD. As a result, Hong Kong banks are little pressure to raise interbank interest rates significantly. Given the shrinking aggregate balance, Hong Kong interest rate should rise gradually. However, the Fed remains unchanged of the rate, the yield spread will stay longer.

Lack of market liquidity matters

Extreme moves seen in recent years in different currencies is also in this case. After New York traders have gone and before Asia is fully open, it is difficult for market to handle the large sell orders. HKMA need to make an action to defend peg. So many interventions happened at the morning of Hong Kong local time. It exists difference between US and Hong Kong time zone investor type. While investors during US hours are mostly interested in shorting the Hong Kong dollar, local banks sometimes buy it during the Asian workday for use in the city.

Should we be worried about the outflow

Despite all its intervention, Hong Kong still over 430 billion foreign reserves. The money outflow comes from the carry trade, which means market appetite is positive. Compared to the intervention in august last year, local stock market do not face an outflow in March. Mainland investors bought average 892 million of Hong Kong stock a day via the stock connects in March, on trach for the biggest month of inflows in more than a year.

 

扣稅三寶出台 保險公司最得益

昨天開始,香港納稅人在每個課稅年度多了三項薪俸稅/個人入息稅扣減:(1)繳付合資格延期年金保費、(2)作出可扣稅強積金自願性供款及(3)參與自願醫保計劃所繳保費…..

買個股衰過買國庫債券?

〈買股票衰過買國庫債券?〉這個標題直覺上有違「股票長遠跑贏債券」的投資常識。然而「股票」是投資指數,而非個股…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第803期)- 香港金管局仍未能摆脱困境

2019-04-08 04:10
分享
  • 分享

2019年4月8日 第803期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美貿易談判樂觀,加上美國就業數據優於預期。全週計,道指升1.91%,報26,424.99點。標普500指數升2.06%,報點2,892.74。納指升2.71%,報7,938.69點。
  • 歐洲:德國和美國經濟數據皆好於預期,帶動歐洲股市。全週計,英國富時100指數升2.30%,德國DAX指數升4.20%,法國CAC40指數升2.35%。STOXX 600指數全週升2.41%,報388.23點。
  • 亞洲: 中美貿易談判樂觀,加上中國製造業PMI回升。全週計,日經225指數升2.84%,報21,807.50點。MSCI 亞太區指數升1.70%,報162.53點。

債券

  • 美國:中美貿易談判樂觀,加上英國國會批准推遲脫歐,有助避免脫歐,令避險工具吸引力降低。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升9個基點,報2.499%。
  • 歐元區:中美貿易談判樂觀,且中國製造業數據意外反彈,令市場由避險債市轉向投資股市。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升8個基點,報0.004%。

商品

  • 油價:市場憂慮利比亞衝突升級可能收緊石油供應。全週計,紐約期油升4.89%,收報每桶63.08美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國3月份非農就業增加196,000,好於預期。全週計,美匯指數升0.114%,報97.395。
  • 中國:美國就業數字造好,令美元強。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.089%,報6.719。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:白宮首席經濟顧問庫德洛表示,美中「越來越接近」達成貿易協議,本周將通過「大量電話會議」繼續談判。另外,特朗普預計有望在未來四到六周宣布協議。
  • 美國:特朗普繼續就貨幣政策問題向聯儲會施壓,呼籲聯儲會應該降息並重啟量化寬鬆。
  • 美國:美國財政部高級官員戴維·馬爾帕斯被任命為世界銀行行長,他之前不僅一直對中國持批評態度,而且呼籲改造全球經濟秩序。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅打破脫歐僵局的努力再次遇阻,反對黨工黨表示她沒有對她的政策做出「真正改變」;英國財政大臣呼籲考慮二次公投。
  • 歐元區:德意志銀行稱,重組美國投銀業務不是與德國商業銀行併購談判的一部分。另據悉德銀旗下資產管理公司DWS Group上周裁員數十人,未來或進一步減員。
  • 歐元區:IHS Markit數據顯示,德國及意大利建築PMI增速加快,但法國PMI輕微下跌,歐元區3月建築業採購經理人指數(PMI)再度回落,由2月52.6,降至52.2。
  • 日本:日本內閣府數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本2月領先指標初值終止連跌五個月,由1月的96.5,回升至97.4,略高於市場預期的97.3。
  • 日本:日本財務省數據顯示,截至今年3月底止,日本外匯儲備總額連增第五個月至1.291813萬億美元,較2月底的1.2818萬億美元,增加100.13億美元。
  • 新加坡:Nikkei/Markit數據顯示,新加坡今年2月採購經理人指數(PMI)終止連跌四個月,由2月的49.8,回升至51.8。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 3月財新中國服務業經營活動指數(服務業PMI)錄得54.4,從2月低點大幅反彈3.3%,創2018年1月以來新高,優於市場預期的52.3。

• 美國國務卿蓬佩奧警告稱,對於使用華為技術的北約盟國將限制分享情報。另據《星期日法蘭克福匯報》報道,美國政府沒有再次發出對德國建設5G網絡時禁用華為的要求。

香港金管局仍未能擺脫困境

香港金管局年初至今七次捍衛聯繫匯率制度,合計購入221億港元(相當於28億美元)。香港銀行體系結餘跌至542億港元,而港匯仍貼近弱方兌換保證區間。市場預期港元至少在第二季度會保持疲軟。

近期港匯走勢由什麼驅動?

通常來講,當本地利率沒有跟隨美國的時候,投資者就會借入港匯購買高收益率的美元資產。儘管香港央行極力跟隨美聯儲局加息步伐,但是無礙港美利率存在差距。香港舉措之所以無效,原因在於基準利率指數銀行向央行的拆借隔夜利率。香港銀行體系多年來已經充滿足夠的現金。

香港作為金融中心,已經吸引不少因央行放水帶來的資金。同時,內地中國投資者為分散投資組合兌換人民幣至港元。因此,香港銀行並沒有太大壓力去顯著提高同業拆借利率。當銀行體系結餘下跌的時候,香港利率亦會逐步上升。不過,美聯儲局維持利率不變,港美利差亦會持續得越久。

缺乏市場流動性

近年來匯率劇烈波動亦與這件事相關。當紐約交易員落班之後,亞洲交易又未完全開市,市場難以接納大額賣單。香港金管局就需要出手捍衛聯繫匯率。多次干預亦都發生在香港本地時間清晨。兩地市場參與者存在差異。美國時段的投資者大多傾向賣出港元,而本地銀行則需要在亞洲時段買入港匯保證日常開支供應。

是否需要擔心資金外流

儘管多次出現干預,香港仍有用高達4300億美元外匯儲備。資金流出僅僅因為套息交易,意味市場氣氛仍然樂觀。對比去年8月份出現的資金外流,本地股票市場3月份並未出現資金流出。內地投資者3月份更透過互聯互通每日平均購入8.9億港股,是長達一年多以來資金流入金額最大的一個月份。

扣稅三寶出台 保險公司最得益

昨天開始,香港納稅人在每個課稅年度多了三項薪俸稅/個人入息稅扣減:(1)繳付合資格延期年金保費、(2)作出可扣稅強積金自願性供款及(3)參與自願醫保計劃所繳保費…..

買個股衰過買國庫債券?

〈買股票衰過買國庫債券?〉這個標題直覺上有違「股票長遠跑贏債券」的投資常識。然而「股票」是投資指數,而非個股…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。