Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 801-Why should we care about inverted yield curve?

2019-03-25 08:34
Share
  • Share

25 March 2019 Issue 801

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: A new round of trade negotiations between China and the United States is about to start. US trade negotiator Wright Heze and Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin are scheduled to visit China from March 28 to 29, while Chinese Vice Premier Liu He will visit the United States on April 3. Over the week, the Dow fell 1.34% to 25,502.32 points. The S&P 500 index fell 0.77 percent to 2,800.71. The Nasdaq fell 0.60% to 7,642.67.
  • Europe: The EU agreed to postpone the Brexit date until April 12, but if the British House of Commons reach a Brexit deal this week, the Brexit date can be further delayed until May 22. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell 0.29%, the German DAX index fell 2.75%, and the French CAC40 index fell 2.50%. The STOXX 600 index fell 5.07% for the week to 376.03 points.
  • Asia: As the Bank of Japan starts reducing its bond purchases, the bank’s market share in the Japanese government bond market fell from 43% to 42.99%, the first decline since Haruhiko Kuroda becomes the Governor. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose 0.82% to 21,627.34. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose 1.52% to 161.36 points.

Bonds

  • US: The yield curve between the 3-month and 10-year Treasury yields became inverted, the first time since 2007. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell 15 basis points to 2.432%.
  • Europe: European Central Bank official Rehn said recent indicators showed a marked decline in economic activity. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell 10 basis points to -0.016%.

Commodity

  • Oil: The OPEC+ Committee reiterated its commitment to reduce production, but acknowledged that it would postpone until June to decide whether to extend the period of production cuts. Over the week, New York oil futures rose 0.37 percent to close at $59.04 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The Fed’s March meeting on interest rates showed a dovish signal that it would not raise interest rates this year and would stop shrinking in September. For the entire week, the Dollar Index rose 0.058% to 96.651.
  • China: Chinese President Xi Jinping and Italian Prime Minister Conte signed a “One Belt, One Road” memorandum in Rome. Italy is the first country to participate in the Belt and Road. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.010% against the US dollar to 6.713.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The number of initial jobless claims in US fell to a four-week low, which was more than expected, indicating that the job market has tightened further after the government’s lockout.
  • U.S: US President Trump said he will maintain tariffs on China until he confirms that China has complied with any agreement between the two countries.
  • U.S: Former New York Fed President Dudley expected that the US economy will be quite weak in the first quarter, but if the economy accelerates again and inflation starts to rise, it may re-tighten the policy later this year.
  • Euro-zone: The Bank of England kept interest rates unchanged and maintained a wait-and-see mode in terms of policy.
  • Euro-zone:EU officials said the EU is preparing to complete the EU-China investment agreement by 2020, and the EU hopes to cooperate with China to save the WTO.
  • Euro-zone: The Speaker of the House of Commons of the United Kingdom refused to re-elect a parliamentary vote on Teresa May’s Brexit agreement, which announced that unless May made a major amendment to the Brexit agreement, it would not conduct a third vote.
  • Japan: Japan Machine Tool Builder’s Association (JMTBA) announced that Japan’s final value of machinery tools in February this year confirmed that the year-on-year decline continued to expand to 29.3% (previous value fell 18.8%), and has recorded a year-on-year decline for the fifth consecutive month.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry announced that after seasonal adjustment, Japan’s industrial production index in January was increased by 0.3 percentage, fell by 3.4% month-on-month (previous value continued to drop by 0.1%), which is still the worst since January last year.
  • Japan: The Japanese financial market will be closed from April 27 to May 6. In the face of the longest holiday period for 70 years, the country’s major insurance companies are taking measures to prevent sudden changes in the yen during the holiday period.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• According to a quarterly survey by Bloomberg, the growth trend of A-share are expected to turn slower, and the second quarter’s gains may slow down. The median forecast for the Shanghai Composite Index at the end of the second quarter is 3,200 points.
• The State Council of China has clarified the supporting measures of VAT tax reduction , decided to extend some of the tax incentives that have expired, and granted tax incentives to third-party enterprises, which promote poverty alleviation and pollution prevention.

What should we care about inverted yield curve?

The spread between yields on Treasury bills and the 10-year note, a closely watched signal for the health of the economy, inverted for the first time since 2007 on Friday after US PMI manufacturing data missed estimates. What is there to say about the inverted yield curve?

Inverted yield curve is a reminder that cycles end

The world’s biggest bond market is calling for an economic downturn in US future. When this is the first time the curve has been inverted since 2007, during the last cycle, the spread first fell to below zero in January 2006, almost two year before the start of recession. If history repeats, that means economy will be slump for late 2020 or early 2021.

However, it seems to a lot of time for risk asset to outperform or the economic outlook to improve. What’s more, the median projection of policy makers dropped to zero, compared to additional 4 times after first inversion in 2006. The Fed decision last week to call an end to interest rate increases suddenly can also stop economy hard landing.

Beware Misreading Inverting Yield Curve

Yield curve inversions are unusual because money lenders are willing to earn less interest income for longer. This typically happens when investors expect yields on shorter-term will fall because of Fed rate cut, and dragging down on long-term bonds. It is more likely that economy is slowing sharply and faces a recession risk.

But the pessimism about growth ignores the fact that strong labour market will continues to support consumption. It is true that government shutdown and trade war hurt economy sentiment in Q1 this year. But it is too early to draw a conclusion that US face a recession. Government investment, modest inflation, dovish Fed and tight corporate bond spread will support US economy.

Can Emerging Market benefit from that yield curve?

Inverted yield curve can be no big deal or even good news for Emerging Markets. It is a strong sign that Fed policy is too tight. It is no surprise that Emerging market favour that yield curve.

But the most important question why emerging market bonds have rallied so fast this year. The dovish Fed can be one important reason. But China policy has been another major catalyst. At the beginning of 2019, China central bank cut RRR ratio. Traders now bet that China is opening its liquidity taps again.

The question of the Emerging market future is credit cycle in China. The first month of total social finance is big enough, but Lunar New Year distort the first two months data. At this point, everyone is waiting for March data released in April. The data will show investors direction.

Last but not the least, investment sentiment is also important. The more people misread the yield-curve inversion as a signal of looming recession, the more stocks are likely to fall and volatility to rise, and the greater the risk of pockets of market illiquidity. All of these, if sustained, could dampen household and business confidence, postpone business investment decisions, and pull the rug out from under growth.

為何一隻波音 已拖住道指?

波音737 MAX8型號飛機在5個月內出現兩次嚴重空難,波音公司股價在上周逆市大跌43.55美元(10.3%),直接拖累道指蒸發了…..

別因MPF扣稅措施而忘記複利威力

執筆時,立法會剛通過了《2018 年稅務及強積金計劃法例(關於年金保費及強積金自願性供款的 稅務扣除)(修訂)條例草案》的三讀…..




Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯 (第801期)-为什么关注孳息曲线倒挂?

2019-03-25 08:34
分享
  • 分享

2019年3月25日 第801期

环球市场动态

股市

  • 美国:中美新一轮贸易谈判即将启动,美国贸易谈判代表莱特希泽和财长努钦定于3月28至29日到访中国,而中国副总理刘鹤将于4月3日访美。全周计,道指跌1.34 %,报25,502.32点。标普500指数跌0.77 %,报点2,800.71。纳指跌0.60 %,报7,642.67点。
  • 欧洲:欧盟同意将脱欧日期推迟至4月12日,但若英国下议院在下星期通过脱欧协议,则脱欧日期可延迟至5月22日。全周计,英国富时100指数跌0.29 %,德国DAX指数跌2.75 %,法国CAC40指数跌2.50 %。 STOXX 600指数全周跌5.07%,报376.03点。
  • 亚洲: 随着日本央行缩减购债规模,该行在日本国债市场市占率由43%下跌至42.99%,是自黑田东彦出任行长以来首次下滑。全周计,日经225指数升0.82 %,报21,627.34点。 MSCI 亚太区指数升1.52 %,报161.36点。

债券

  • 美国:3个月和10年期国债殖利率曲线扭转,是自2007年以来首次出现。全周计,美国10年期国债孳息率跌15个基点,报2.432 %。
  • 欧元区:欧洲央行官员Rehn称近期指标显示经济活动明显减弱。全周计,德国10年期国债孳息率跌10个基点,报-0.016%。

商品

  • 油价:OPEC+委员会重申坚持减产承诺,但承认推迟至6月份决定是否延长减产期限。全周计,纽约期油升0.37 %,收报每桶59.04美元。全周计,纽约期油升4.37%,收报每桶58.52美元。

货币

  • 美元:联储局3月议​​息会议发放出鸽派信号,指今年不会升息,并将于9月停止缩表。全周计,美汇指数升0.058%,报 96.651。
  • 中国:中国国家主席习近平与意大利总理孔特在罗马签署「一带一路」备忘录。意大利是首个参加一带一路的国家。全周计,人民币兑1美元升0.010%,报6.713。

 

与经济相关新闻

  • 美国:美国首次申请失业救济人数降至四周低点,下降幅度超出预期,表明在政府停摆结束后,就业市场进一步收紧。
  • 美国:美国总统特朗普表示,他将维持对中国的关税,直到确认中国遵守了两国达成的任何协议为止。
  • 美国:前纽约联储行长Dudley预计美国第一季度经济表现将相当疲软,但是如果经济再次提速,并且通膨开始走高,可能今年晚些时候重新收紧政策。
  • 欧元区:英国央行维持利率不变,在政策方面保持观望模式。
  • 欧元区:欧盟官员称欧盟准备在2020年前完成欧盟-中国投资协定,欧盟希望与中国合作拯救世贸组织。
  • 欧元区:英国下议院议长拒绝就文翠珊的脱欧协议再次进行议会投票,其宣布除非文翠珊对脱欧协议做重大修正,否则将不进行第三次表决。
  • 日本:日本工作机械工业会(JMTBA)公布,日本今年2月机械工具订单终值确认按年跌幅继续扩至29.3%(前值跌18.8%),且已连续第五个月录得同比下跌。
  • 日本:日本经济产业省公布,经季节调整后,日本今年1月工业生产指数终值上修0.3个百分点按月仅续降3.4%(前值续降0.1%),仍为去年1月以来最伤。
  • 日本:日本金融市场将于4月27日至5月6日休市,面对七十年来最长休市期,该国大型保险公司正在采取措施防范休市期间日圆的突然变动。
中国市场动态
经济相关新闻
• 彭博季度调查显示,A股疯牛料转慢牛,二季度涨势或放缓,上证综指二季度末预测中值在3200点。

• 中国国务院明确增值税减税配套措施,决定延续部分已到期税收优惠政策,并对扶贫捐赠和污染防治的第三方企业给予税收优惠。

为什么关注孳息曲线倒挂

通常被解读为经济健康信号的美国10年期国债和3个月国库债券孳息曲线,自2007年首次倒挂。周五,美国制造业PMI数据低于预期,触发这一现象。目前倒挂孳息曲线有什么需要隐含的意义?

孳息曲线倒挂提醒经济周期终结

世界最大的债券市场暗示美国未来经济可能出现衰退。这个指标是自2007年首次出现倒挂。在上一轮经济周期,这个指标在2006年1月首次出现,经过两年之后,经济最终出现衰退。如果历史重演,意味经济将于2020年底或2021年初再度出现衰退。

不过,这段时间仍足以令风险资产和经济前景继续跑赢或改善。同时,美联储局2019年预期加息次数中位值已经跌至零,与2006年之后加息四次有所区别。上周美联储局议息会议决定暂停加息周期足以阻挡经济出现硬着陆。

当心误读孳息曲线倒挂

孳息曲线倒挂并不常见,原因在于借款人愿意给长年期产品赚取更少利息。这通常发生于投资者预期美联储局减息导致短期利率下跌,或长期利率被低估。这种情况通常出现在经济显著放缓或面临衰退风险的情景之中。

但是,对经济增长的忧虑显然忽视强劲的就业市场支持消费。政府关门和贸易战确实影响第一季度经济的气氛。不过,目前作出美国出现衰退的结论则言之尚早。政府开支、温和的通胀环境、美联储局鸽派取向和偏紧的企业孳息利差都将支持美国经济。

新兴市场能否受惠孳息倒挂

理论来讲,孳息倒挂对信息市场并不相关,甚至是好消息。这证明美联储局货币政策过紧。因此,新兴市场资产青睐这种孳息曲线。

不过更重要的问题在于新兴市场债券年初至今升幅背后的原因。美联储局转向毫无疑问是其中重要的一个原因。不过中国政策亦是其中一个催化剂。在2019年初,中国央行下调存款准备金率。交易员正在亚洲中国重新开启流动性的大门。

新兴市场未来取决于中国的信贷周期。 1月份社会融资规模总量出乎市场预期,但过去两个月经济数据则被农历新年所扭曲。目前,投资者都在关注四月份公布的三月份经济数据。数据将会决定投资者的取向。

最后,投资信心亦是重要的一环。如果越来越多投资者误读孳息曲线倒挂的信号,股票将会出现抛售,波动率将会上升。市场流动性不足将会带来新的市场风险。如果情况持续,家庭和商业信心将会受损,企业会延迟商业投资的决定,将会为经济带来负面影响。

为何一只波音 已拖住道指?

波音737 MAX8型号飞机在5个月内出现两次严重空难,波音公司股价在上周逆市大跌43.55美元(10.3%),直接拖累道指蒸发了…..

别因MPF扣税措施而忘记复利威力

执笔时,立法会刚通过了《2018 年税务及强积金计划法例(关于年金保费及强积金自愿性供款的税务扣除)(修订)条例草案》的三读…. .


相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。