Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 800- A 10-year review for U.S. bull market

2019-03-19 10:34
Share
  • Share

18 March 2019 Issue 800

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: US President Trump and General Finance Minister Steven Mnunchin said that there is a “rapid progress” on the trade negotiation with China. Moreover,  Beijing also claimed that substantial progress has been made. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 1.57% to 25,848.87. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.89% to 2,822.48. The Nasdaq rose by 3.78% to 7,688.53 points.
  • Europe: It is reported that Deutsche Bank and Commerzbank are discussing to merger, which brings a good news to the European stock markets. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 1.74%, the German DAX index rose by 1.99%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 3.33%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 2.84% to 381.10 points.
  • Asia: Bank of Japan Governor Haruhiko Kuroda said that the Japanese economy still maintains a moderate expansion and it is believed that the 2% inflation target need not to be changed. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 2.02% to 21,450.85 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 1.83% to 158.95.

Bonds

  • US: The US economic data is not satisfactory, showing that the economy is slowing, the market is worried about the US economic prospect. Therefore, the price of US Treasury bonds rises, and the yield rate falls. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond fell by 4 basis points to 2.593%.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank (ECB) has announced that it will not raise interest rates until the end of 2020, and will also cut its forecast for the economic growth rate of the euro zone from 1.7% to 1.1% this year. This has caused market doubts towards the economic prospect, the bond yield decreased continuously, but slightly increase this week. Throughout the week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 2 basis points to 0.082%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Data from US Energy Information Administration showed that US crude oil inventories fell unexpectedly by 3.9 million barrels last week, and the US crude oil production fell to 12 million barrels per day. Moreover, a large-scale power outage in Venezuela has seriously affected the crude oil export. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 4.37% to close at $58.52 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: US manufacturing output fell for the second consecutive month in February, and manufacturing activity in New York State was weaker than expected, which further indicating that the US economy experiencing a slowdown at the beginning of the first quarter. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.731% to 96.595.
  • China: The US dollar is weak, and the substantial progress in the Sino-US consultation has helped stabilize market expectations. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.109% against the US dollar to 6.714.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Trump first exercised the president’s veto power on Friday, preventing the Congress from overthrowing the national emergency order. Building the US-Mexico border wall is the core content of Trump’s 2016 campaign.
  • U.S: According to The Wall Street Journal, the US Department of Transportation is investigating the Federal Aviation Administration’s approval of the Boeing 737 MAX jetliners.
  • U.S: The Fed has been reducing debt assets accumulated during the crisis, and it may announce the end of this operation during the policy meeting in this week.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May plans to have the third vote in the parliament towards the Brexit agreement this week. May warned that the Brexit process may need a long time unless some of the members in the Conservative Party promise to support her Brexit agreement this week.
  • Euro-zone: Deutsche Bank and Commerzbank agreed to begin a formal merger consultation . It is also reported that the German government may continue to hold shares after the merger of the two major banks.
  • Euro-zone: Eurozone’s harmonised consumer price index growth stayed at 1.5% year-on-year in February, same as the initial value and in-line with market estimate, Eurostat data revealed.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Finance of Japan announced that Japan had a trade surplus of 339 billion yen in February, exceeding market expectations of 350.1 billion yen.
  • Japan: The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry announced that Japan’s third-industry activity index increased from 0.5% drop of the initial value to 0.4% increase in November, better than the market expectation of a 0.3% drop.
  • Australia: According to data from Westpac Bank and the Melbourne Institute, Australia’s consumer inflation forecast was 4.1% in March, up from 3.7% in February.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The South China Morning Post reported that the date of the trade-war-ending summit between Trump and Xi Jinping may be postponed to June, as the two sides could not reach an agreement before April.
• After the Shanghai Stock Exchange issued a formal acceptance of the application for the issuance and listing of the high-tech stock board, the symposium held on Saturday emphasized that the risk of prevention and control is the key of the establishment of the board and the pilot registration system.

A 10-year review for U.S. bull market

The unstoppable US bull market has just celebrated its tenth-year birthday last week, the longest equity bull market in U.S. history. Although this anniversary deserves a bit of an asterisk as the S&P 500 hasn’t closed above a record high since Sep 20, meaning that the bull could be already over last year. Nevertheless, general Wall Street believes that it might not be the time to exit the market altogether as recession risks remain low given the lack of significant inflationary pressures and financial imbalances. The US equities could still reach another record-high and expect to generate a mid-to-high-single digit annualized return over the next few years.

Looking back the last 10 years, despite the current bull market is not the strongest on record, the US equites has been by far the best performing asset in this cycle, significantly outperforming most other equity markets. The S&P 500 has more than quadrupled from the devil’s bottom of 666 (day-low) in March 9th 2009. The Dow has hyped by almost 300% and the Nasdaq has skyrocketed by nearly 5 times. The remarkable return reflects the slow-but-steady recovery in the economy as aided by the U.S. Federal Reserve’s extraordinary easing through asset purchases and rock-bottom interest rate. Besides, record corporate profits, tax reform and all-time high of stock buybacks activities have further drive up the US equities market.

Figure 1. US has been one of the best performing assets in current cycle

Source: Bloomberg, Noble Apex/iFund

Other interesting findings from the 10-year bull market in S&P 500:

    1. 1% annualized return for S&P 500 during the past decade, as S&P 500 has climbed by 306% in price. If including dividends, the annualized return would be 17.5% (i.e. 401% total return).
    2. Earnings growth was the key index driver. In contrast to previous cycles, where revenue growth was a key driver, earnings have driven about 73% of the 10-year gain in the S&P 500 index as trailing EPS jumped by 140% during the period. On the other hand, revenue increased by 43% and contributed 22% of the index gain, while margin expansion (by nearly 5%) contributed 28% of the rise. Only 19% of the index gain was led by forward P/E multiple expansion (10x to 16x).
    3. Technology sector has played a key role, which has a higher weight in the US market compared to other regions, contributed 22% of the index return during the last 10 years. Again, earnings growth accounting for 75% of the return, which have nearly tripled over the past decade. However, recent data shows that tech sector was not the most crowd sector anymore as fund manager positioning has gone back to May 2016 level.
    4. Financial sector is the second largest contributor, accounting for 15% of the index gain and earning growth was the key driver again.

     

    Figure 2. I.T sector is the key driver for S&P 500 in the last 10 years

    Source: FactSet, Noble Apex/iFund

    1. 10 stocks have accounted for almost 25% of the 10-year index return, namely Apple (5% of index return), Microsoft (4.2%), Amazon (2.2%), JPMorgan (1.7%), Johnson & Johnson (1.7%), Boeing Company (1.5%), Home Depot (1.5%), Intel (1.5%), UnitedHealth Group (1.2%) and Cisco System (1.2%).
    2. Yield gap is higher in current bull market, at 350 bp (6.1% S&P earnings yield vs. 2.6% 10- Year US Treasury yield) vs. 250 bp of the 40-year average.

     

    All in all, it has been hardly possible to know the beginning nor ending of a bull market. As we mentioned before, business and stock market cycles do not die from old age alone, but they have unravelled as a result of financial extremes, debt crises, war, economic shocks or even excessive monetary policy changes.

3月有中國特色的兩會效應

每年3月上旬,北京特別熱鬧,全國人民代表大會和中國人民政治協商會議(即是簡稱的兩會或全國兩會)同時在北京召開。兩會是一年一度集中討論和檢討中國重要政治經濟政策和更換領導的活動…..

買樓收租的考慮因素

不少人希望買樓收租,製造穩定現金流。今天跟大家討論一下當中的危與機…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第800期)- 美股十年牛市回顾

2019-03-19 10:34
分享
  • 分享

2019年3月18日 第800期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普及財長姆欽(Steven Mnunchin)表示與中國的貿易談判「進展快速」; 另外,北京也表示在貿易協議文本上取得實質進展。全週計,道指升1.57%,報25,848.87點。標普500指數升2.89%,報點2,822.48。納指升3.78%,報7,688.53點。
  • 歐洲:報道指德意志銀行及德國商業銀行商討合併,利好歐洲股市。全週計,英國富時100指數升1.74%,德國DAX指數升1.99%,法國CAC40指數升3.33%。STOXX 600指數全週升2.84%,報381.10點。
  • 亞洲: 日本央行行長黑田東彥稱,日本經濟仍維持溫和擴張;不認為需改變2%通脹目標。全週計,日經225指數升2.02 %,報21,450.85點。MSCI 亞太區指數升1.83%,報158.95點。

債券

  • 美國:因美國數據顯示經濟有放緩情況,令市場憂慮經濟前景,美國國債價格上升,孳息率跌。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌4個基點,報2.593%。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行(ECB)日前宣布 2020 年底前都不會升息、還將今年歐元區的經濟成長率預估值從 1.7% 下修至 1.1%,引發市場疑慮,孳息率不斷下跌,但本週微升。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升2個基點,報0.082%。

商品

  • 油價:美國能源資料署的數據顯示,上周美國原油庫存出乎意料減少390萬桶,美國原油日產量亦跌至1200萬桶。另外,委內瑞拉大規模停電,嚴重影響原油出口。全週計,紐約期油升4.37%,收報每桶58.52美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美國2月製造業產出連續第2個月下滑,紐約州製造業活動弱於預期,進一步顯示美國第一季初經濟增長大幅放緩。全週計,美匯指數跌0.731%,報 96.595。
  • 中國:因美匯指數偏弱,而且中美磋商實質性進展有助穩定市場預期。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.109%,報6.714。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:特朗普上周五首次行使總統否決權,阻止國會推翻邊境緊急狀態令,建設美墨邊境牆是特朗普2016年競選活動的核心內容。
  • 美國:據《華爾街日報》報道,美國交通部對聯邦航空管理局批准波音737 MAX飛機展開調查。
  • 美國:聯儲會一直在削減危機時期積累起來的債務資產,本周政策會議或將公佈有關結束這項操作的計畫。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅計畫本周將脫歐協議交由議會第三次投票表決,梅警告稱脫歐進程很可能陷入久拖不決的困境,除非保守黨內的疑歐派做出讓步並承諾本周投票支持她的脫歐協議。
  • 歐元區:德意志銀行和德國商業銀行同意正式展開合併磋商。另據悉德國政府考慮在兩大銀行合併後繼續持有股份。
  • 歐元區:據歐洲統計局公布,歐元區2月調和消費物價指數終值按年升幅維持1.5%,與初值持平,並符市場預期。
  • 日本:日本財務省公布,未經季節調整,日本今年2月貿易環比終止連續四個月呈逆差,重現順差3,390億日圓,超出市場預期順差3,051億日圓。
  • 日本:日本經濟產業省公布,日本今年11月第三產業活動指數終止連跌兩個月,由前值的跌0.5%回升0.4%,報106.5,好於市場預期的跌0.3%。
  • 澳洲:西太平洋銀行(Westpac Bank)與墨爾本研究所(Melbourne Institute)調查數據顯示,澳洲今年3月消費者通脹預期為4.1%,高於2月的3.7%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 《南華早報》周日引述未具名知情人士報道稱,川普與習近平旨在結束兩國貿易戰的峰會日期可能推遲到6月份,因為雙方無法在4月份或之前達成協議。

• 上交所發文開始正式受理審核科創板股票發行上市申請後,上周六召開座談會強調防控風險是設立該板塊並試點註冊制的第一要旨。

美股十年牛市回顧

上星期3月9日是美股牛市十週年紀念日,是美國歷史上最長牛市。 雖然我們對於十週年這種說法仍存疑問,標普500指數牛市是否自9月20日以來創新高後已經結束,還是仍有力再闖高峰,將要留待日後才有分曉。華爾街一般相信在良好的通脹壓力及缺乏重大金融失衡的情況下,美國經濟衰退風險仍然偏低,而美股將再創歷史新高,並預計未來幾年能帶來中至高個位數的年度回報。
回顧過去10年,儘管目前牛市若以升幅計並非歷史之最,但美股是十年以來表現最佳的資產之一,並明顯優於其他股市。 標普500指數從09年3月9日的魔鬼底部666點(當日低位)至今翻約四倍多,道指亦升幅近300%,而納指更飆升近5倍。從美國量化寬鬆、低利率、企業利潤創新高,到後來的稅務改革、股票回購等利好因素進一步推升股市上漲。

圖一. 美股是十年以來表現最佳的資產之一

資料來源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理財

美股10年牛市的其他重要發現:

  1. 過去十年標準普爾500指數的年回報率為15.1,以價格計上漲幅度達306%。但若包括股息,年回報則更高達17.5%(即總回報為401%)。
  2. 盈利增長是驅動指數的關鍵因素。與過往牛市以營收增長為主要動力,本輪牛市73%的升幅則以盈利增長所帶動,期內標普500指數每股盈利增長約140%。另一方面,約22%及28%分局由營收增長(約43%) 及利潤率改善(增長近5%)所推動。相反只有19%的指數升幅是由於遠期市盈率 (Forward P/E) 擴張所致(從10倍至16倍)。反映此輪牛市整體受基本因素所支持,並未出現太多非理性的升幅。
  3. 資訊科技板塊是十年升市火車頭,而與其他地區相比,資訊科技板塊佔美股的權重亦更高。在過去10年中貢獻指數升幅達22%,並約75%的升幅是由盈利增長所推動(十年盈利增長兩倍多)。然而,最近的數據顯示,部份基金經理於科技股的倉位已回調至2016年5月的水平,反映現市場部署較為防守性。
  4. 金融業是第二大貢獻者,佔指數升幅的15%,盈利增長再次成為關鍵驅動因素。

圖二. 資訊科技板塊是十年升市火車頭

資料來源: Factset、iFund/御峰理財

  1. 約25%的指數升幅由10隻股票所推動,包括蘋果(貢獻指數升幅約5%),微軟(4.2%),亞馬遜(2.2%),摩根大通(1.7%),強生( 1.7%),波音公司(1.5%),Home Depot (1.5%),英特爾(1.5%),UnitedHealth Group(1.2%)和Cisco System(1.2%)。
  2. 當前牛市的 (Yield Gap) 差距較大,為350個基點(標普收益率earning yield為6.1%,10年期國債收益率為2.6%),而40年平均值為250個基點。反映美股與歷史比較並不昂貴。

 

要準確預測牛市開始或終結幾乎是一個不可能的任務。 正如我們過往所述,經濟及股市週期不會僅僅因為年老而死亡,而只會在金融風暴、債務危機、戰爭、或過緊的貨幣政策下所導致。投資者應經常保持理性分析,建立一個切合自己的長遠投資組合,因應變化而增減股票比例,但不宜完全套現,以避免因錯失入市時機而導致股票佔比長期偏低。

 

3月有中國特色的兩會效應

每年3月上旬,北京特別熱鬧,全國人民代表大會和中國人民政治協商會議(即是簡稱的兩會或全國兩會)同時在北京召開。兩會是一年一度集中討論和檢討中國重要政治經濟政策和更換領導的活動…..

買樓收租的考慮因素

不少人希望買樓收租,製造穩定現金流。今天跟大家討論一下當中的危與機…..






相關文章

隨時隨地配置全球資產

查詢電話

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101號15樓1501室

星期一至五(公眾假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版權所有 © 2019 御峰理財有限公司。保留所有權利。