iFund- Brexit, a never-ending cycle

2019-03-19 10:02
Share
  • Share

Even though the prospect of Brexit is unclear, the performance of financial markets and assets is stable, in which the UK stock market has increased by 0.4% in the past two days, and the pound has increased by 3.9% in 2019 and 1.9% in the past two days. It implies that the possibility of a no-deal Brexit is just 10% to 15% in the market’s point of view, while Goldman Sachs predicts that the chance of UK staying in EU is 35%.

featured

After the revised deal of Theresa May’s was rejected on Tuesday, MPs voted against a no-deal Brexit under any circumstances by margin of 312-308 last night. MPs will vote on whether Brexit should be extended tomorrow.

The amendment of rejecting no-deal Brexit was passed last night. However, the vote itself has no legal ramifications. If MPs veto the vote on delaying Brexit tomorrow, the UK still needs to reach an agreement before the deadline of March 29. Otherwise the risk of hard Brexit will continue. Moreover, despite of the vote being passed tomorrow, the UK still needs to propose a “credible reason” for delaying Brexit and 27 state members of the European Union needs to unanimously agreed.

Besides, delay of Brexit brings uncertainties. There are two main scenarios. The first one is to extend the Brexit deadline to 30 June as the one that proposed by the British government initially. However, this deadline may not be approved by the EU as it has been repeatedly claimed that the UK must leave the EU before the European Parliament elections, which will launch during 23 May to 26 May, avoiding role conflicts. Therefore, a deadline before 22 May should be a more acceptable date for the EU. Another possibility is to postpone the Brexit deadline by two to three years, allowing stakeholders to have more time to negotiate for a more viable agreement. This option allows the UK to retain its status and rights during the negotiations while the EU can also solve its financial budget problem in short term. However, no one can ensure the agreement can be reached after two to three years delay, and more problems may be arisen during the period. For example, the damage to the British economy may be even greater during the period, and the risk of Scotland independence may be arisen too.

We believe that some investors may be overly aggressive and underestimate the possibility of a no-deal Brexit and the impact of the UK recession on the global economy. Bank of England warned that if UK leaves the EU with no agreement, the UK’s inflation rate and unemployment rate will rise to 6.5% and 7.5% respectively, while the house prices and the pound may plummet by 30% and 25% respectively.

Another option for Brexit is to hold the UK general election earlier. As the 75 Conservative MPs and the 10 Democratic Unionist MPs opposed the Brexit agreement, an early election can likely change the current congressional power structure, so it can avoid the vote being impeded by the minority. Although some polls show that the popularity of Conservative Party is still ahead the one of other parties, the actual election results often differ from the polls. Therefore, whether to hold the UK election earlier is just depends on the decision of Theresa May. Besides, for the second referendum, it will be difficult to achieve in the short term because it has not been supported by major political parties.

Even though the prospect of Brexit is unclear, the performance of financial markets and assets is stable, in which the UK stock market has increased by 0.4% in the past two days, and the pound has increased by 3.9% in 2019 and 1.9% in the past two days. It implies that the possibility of a no-deal Brexit is just 10% to 15% in the market’s point of view, while Goldman Sachs predicts that the chance of UK staying in EU is 35%.

Funds related to UK

Aberdeen Standard SICAV I – UK Equity Fund A2 Acc GBP
BlackRock Global Funds – United Kingdom Fund A2 Acc GBP
BlackRock Global Funds – United Kingdom Fund A2 Acc USD
Fidelity Funds – United Kingdom Fund A Dis GBP
Invesco UK Investment Grade Bond Fund A Dis GBP
Threadneedle Investment Funds – UK Smaller Companies Fund Retail Dis GBP
Threadneedle UK Corporate Bond Fund Retail (Gross) Inc GBP
Threadneedle UK Corporate Bond Fund Retail (Net) Inc GBP
Threadneedle UK Growth and Income Fund Dis GBP
Threadneedle UK Select Fund Retail Inc GBP

Disclaimer:
Investment involves risk. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. Fund prices may move down or up, may fluctuate dramatically, and may become valueless. It is as likely that losses will be incurred rather than profit made as a result of buying and selling funds. Some funds are denominated in RMB which are currently not freely convertible, and are thus subject to risks associated with RMB including RMB foreign exchange risk, RMB hedging risk, offshore RMB (“CNH”) market risk and RMB trading and settlement of fund units risk. Funds which are invested in emerging markets and smaller companies may also involve a higher degree of risk and are usually more sensitive to price movements. Before making any investment decision, investors should carefully read the prospectus and the offering document for further details. Investors should undertake their own research and study before trade or invest. Investors should carefully consider whether trading or investments are suitable in light of their own financial positions and investment objectives, and understand that they shall be wholly responsible for their investments. Investors are advised to seek independent financial and professional advice before trade or invest. This document has been prepared by Noble Apex Advisors Ltd and unless the context requires otherwise is intended for information purpose only and does not constitute any offer, invitation, solicitation, advice or recommendation to any person to enter into any investment, nor does it constitute any prediction of likely future performance of an investment, and nor a distribution of information for any such purpose. The document contents are prepared and issued by Noble Apex Advisors Limited. Informational sources are considered reliable but you should conduct your own verification of information contained herein. This document and advertisements contained herein have not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

iFund- 英国脱欧闹戏没完没了

2019-03-19 10:02
分享
  • 分享

纵然英国脱欧前景未明朗,但金融市场及资产表现相对冷静,英国股市于过去两天不跌反升0.4%,而英镑自年初至今更是最强势的货币之一,升幅达3.9%,过去两天亦升近1.9%,反映市场认为英国无协议脱欧的风险仅有10%至15%,而高盛预测留欧的可能性为35%。

featured

继周二脱欧协议草案被否决后,昨晚英国下议员以4票之差(312票赞成及308票反对)通过修正案。该议案指在任何时间和任何情况下,英国均不能在无协议下脱欧,明日周四议员将会就延迟脱欧进行表决。

首先,昨晚下议院虽然通过反对无协议脱欧,但这一结果并不具备法律效力。若明天下议院否决延后脱欧,则英国仍需在3月29日限期前达成协议,否则硬脱欧风险仍会持续。再者,尽管议案擭得通过,英国亦需提出「可信的理由」延后脱欧,并获欧盟27个成员国一致同意。

脱欧日将推迟多久亦存在不确定性,初步估计有两个可能,其一是如早前英国政府提出将脱欧期限延至6月30日,但此举应未必获欧盟所同意,因欧盟多次强调英国必须在5月23日至26日举行欧洲议会选举之前脱离欧盟以避免角色冲突,故此5月22日应是一个欧盟较容易接受的一个期限。另一个较少人提出的方案是将期限延后2至3年,让各持份者有更多的时间谈判,以达成一个更可行的方案,而英国同时亦可于谈判期间保留原有地位及权利,欧盟亦可短暂解决财务预算问题。当然,延后脱欧2至3年可能只是将这出闹剧延长,最终能否达成协议成疑,而期间对英国经济的损害将会更大,甚至令苏格兰提出独立的风险再次上升。

我们认为部份投资者可能过份进取,并低估无协议脱欧的可能性及英国经济陷入衰退对全球经济的影响。英国央行英格兰银行警告,若无协议脱欧,英国通膨将飙高至 6.5%,失业率攀升至 7.5%,房价可能暴跌 30%,而英镑将崩跌 25%。

另一出路是英国提前大选。由于保守党内七十五名硬脱欧派成员及十名执政联盟盟友倒戈反对脱欧协议,提早大选将有可能改变现在国会权力结构,以避免小数派左右大局,提高协议获得通过的机会。虽然有民调显示,保守党的支持度仍然领先其他党派,但实际选举结果往往与民调有所出入,文翠珊是否有勇气承认失败及宣布提早大选将于近日有所分晓。对于二次公投,由于未获主要政党支持,短期内将很难实现。

纵然英国脱欧前景未明朗,但金融市场及资产表现相对冷静,英国股市于过去两天不跌反升0.4%,而英镑自年初至今更是最强势的货币之一,升幅达3.9%,过去两天亦升近1.9%,反映市场认为英国无协议脱欧的风险仅有10%至15%,而高盛预测留欧的可能性为35%。

与英国相关的基金

安本标准 – 英国股票基金 A2类 Acc 英镑
贝莱德全球基金 – 英国基金 A2类Acc英镑
贝莱德全球基金 – 英国基金 A2类Acc美元
富达基金 – 英国基金 A类 Dis 英镑
景顺英国高质债券基金 A类 Dis 英镑
天利投资基金 – 英国小型公司基金 Retail类 Dis 英镑
天利英国公司债券基金 Retail类 (Gross) Inc 英镑
天利英国公司债券基金 Retail类 (Net) Acc 英镑
天利英国增长与收入基金 Dis 英镑
天利英国选择基金 Retail类 Inc 英镑

免责条款
投资涉及风险,过往表现并非未来表现的指标。基金价格可跌可升,可能非常反覆,甚至变成毫无价值。一般情况下,买卖基金未必可赚取利润,反而会蒙受损失。某些基金须承受与人民币不可自由兑换的风险,包括人民币外汇风险、人民币对冲风险、境外人民币市场风险及人民币买卖及基金单位结算的风险。投资于新兴市场及小型企业之基金可能比一般已发展市场涉及较高风险,并通常对价格变动较敏感。投资者在作出任何投资决定前,应仔细阅读章程及发售文件。在进行交易或投资前,投资者应负责本身的资料搜集及研究。投资者必须自行决定交易是否适合自身财务状况及投资目标,并应明白对其投资必须承担全部责任。建议投资者在作出买卖或投资决定前寻求独立财务及专业意见。本文由御峰理财有限公司刊发,除非情况另有所指,否则仅供参考之用,并不构成对任何人进行任何投资的要约、邀请、征求、意见或建议,也不构成对投资未来表现的任何预测,及也不是分布讯息以达成任何这样的目的。本文内容由御峰理财有限公司编制及发出,资料均来自被认为可靠之来源,但你应该自行核实有关资料。本文内容及广告没有被香港证券及期货事务监察委员会审阅。

相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。