iFund- Time to revisit Germany equities in our Portfolio?

2019-03-19 10:03
Share
  • Share

Surprising many investors, German equites have been the worst performing major European market even behind the UK since January 2018. However, as some of reasons behind the bad performance are short-term issues only, it seems to be the right time for revisiting Germany equities as current valuation are undemanding relative to Europe.

featured

Surprising many investors, German equites have been the worst performing major European market even behind the UK since January 2018, which underperformed Europe by 7.2% in 2018 and another 2.3% YTD in 2019. The underperformance has been driven by weak corporate earnings, with its 20 months earnings momentum below the region. Investors key concerns on Germany are broadly related to trade weakness, the potential risks of US car tariffs as well as some temporary domestic issues from new worldwide harmonised light vehicles test procedure (WLTP) emissions standard and low Rhine river water levels to the auto and chemical sector. However, as some of these are short-term issues only, it seems to be the right time for revisiting Germany equities as current valuation are undemanding relative to Europe.

Global demand weakness and trade war outlook would remain the key uncertainties to equity markets at the moment. However, the two transitory factors that weighed on 2018 growth could have presented some upside risk for German equities as they unwind later this year. Firstly, German car production adjustment problem in 2018 due to new WLTP emission standard (0.5% of GDP impact) was almost resolved. Car production volume is picking up recently despite remained below its pre-WLTP level in June 2018. On the other hand, exceptionally low water level in the Rhine river since August 2018 has hindered transport capacity in some German industries and disrupted supply chains of the chemical sector, eventually impact Germany’s GDP growth by around 0.1-0.2% in each of Q3 and Q4 2018, respectively. With water level normalise, production and shipping activities on the Rhine has normalized too. The normalisation of the above two factors is expected to add 0.3-0.4% of Germany’s GDP growth in 2019 and to re-drive its earning momentum.

Besides, Germany is a cyclical play given the sector make-up of the index, which overweight Consumer Discretionary (18.0%), Information Technology (12.5%) and Materials (10.1%) sectors. Within Consumer Discretionary, auto is the key sub-sector, which BMW, Volkswagen, Daimler and the tyre manufacturer – Continental, combined make up 10.8% of the index weight. Indeed, cyclical sectors in Europe are trading at historically cheap valuations relatively to defensives. Its relatively PE is at the trough of the 2012 Euro crisis and broadly in-line with the lows of early 2016. With Eurozone PMIs picked up in February for the first time in six months, this could be an early sign of bottoming out and should bring outperformance for Cyclicals and Germany, given that Germany equities performance has loosely tracked the moves in the Eurozone composite PMI.

Figure 1. Germany sector weights relative to Europe

Source: Thomson Datastream, Noble Apex/iFund

Figure 2. Germany’s performance has loosely tracked with Eurozone composite PMI

Source: Bloomberg, Noble Apex/iFund

To conclude, although the trade risks with the US could weigh on stock prices further in short term, Germany equities are indeed attractively priced on both PB and PE basis. Therefore, adding some world-class German companies or market fund in the portfolio for long-term investment could be a wise decision for investors that can tolerate short-term volatility.

Figure 3. Germany trades at about 10% PE discount to Europe

Source: Bloomberg, Noble Apex/iFund

Funds related to Germany

Barings German Growth Trust Acc EUR
Barings German Growth Trust Acc GBP
Barings German Growth Trust Acc USD Hedged
Fidelity Funds – Germany Fund A EUR
Fidelity Funds – Germany Fund A Acc EUR
Fidelity Funds – Germany Fund A ACC USD (Hedged)

Disclaimer:
Investment involves risk. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. Fund prices may move down or up, may fluctuate dramatically, and may become valueless. It is as likely that losses will be incurred rather than profit made as a result of buying and selling funds. Some funds are denominated in RMB which are currently not freely convertible, and are thus subject to risks associated with RMB including RMB foreign exchange risk, RMB hedging risk, offshore RMB (“CNH”) market risk and RMB trading and settlement of fund units risk. Funds which are invested in emerging markets and smaller companies may also involve a higher degree of risk and are usually more sensitive to price movements. Before making any investment decision, investors should carefully read the prospectus and the offering document for further details. Investors should undertake their own research and study before trade or invest. Investors should carefully consider whether trading or investments are suitable in light of their own financial positions and investment objectives, and understand that they shall be wholly responsible for their investments. Investors are advised to seek independent financial and professional advice before trade or invest. This document has been prepared by Noble Apex Advisors Ltd and unless the context requires otherwise is intended for information purpose only and does not constitute any offer, invitation, solicitation, advice or recommendation to any person to enter into any investment, nor does it constitute any prediction of likely future performance of an investment, and nor a distribution of information for any such purpose. The document contents are prepared and issued by Noble Apex Advisors Limited. Informational sources are considered reliable but you should conduct your own verification of information contained herein. This document and advertisements contained herein have not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

iFund- 德国股市是否到了买入的时机?

2019-03-19 10:03
分享
  • 分享

不说不知,自2018年初以来,德国在众多主要欧洲股票市场中是表现最差的股票市场,甚至落后于受脱欧方案困扰的英国,但其落后的大多因素只属短暂性,德国长期基本面仍然稳定,而目前德国股市估值相对欧洲而言并不昂贵,现在似乎是重新审视德国股票的好时机。

featured

不说不知,自2018年初以来,德国在众多主要欧洲股票市场中是表现最差的股票市场,甚至落后于受脱欧方案困扰的英国,MSCI 德国于2018年跑输MSCI欧洲约7.2%,2019年初至今亦落后约2.3%。主要是由于德国企业盈利受压被市场不断下调预测所致, 其过去20个月的盈利势头亦低于区内平均水平。投资者主要忧虑德国贸易疲软、美国对德国汽车关税的潜在风险、汽车行业受新执行的WLTP排放标准的影响、以及莱茵河低水位对化学品行业生产及海上运输所造成等问题。然而,由于其中一些问题只属短暂性,德国长期基本面仍然稳定,而目前德国股市估值相对欧洲而言并不昂贵,现在似乎是重新审视德国股票的好时机。

全球需求疲软及贸易战前景不明仍是目前股市的主要不确定因素。然而,曾于去年拖累德国企业增长的两个短暂因素将可能于年内回归正常,为德国股市重新注入增长动力。首先,由于WLTP排放标准的实施,德国汽车业于去年需因此而调整生产结构,降低产量,影响德国2018年GDP幅度约0.5%,但这问题已接近恢复正常;而最近一些数据显示德国汽车产量正在增加,虽然仍低于2018年6月WLTP执行前的水平,但估计与外围需求疲弱有关,预计今年下半年将恢复增长。另一方面,由于2018年8月以来莱茵河水位出现异常低的情况,对部份德国工业的运输能力及供应链造成影响,特别是化工行业,估计德国于去年第三季及第四季度GDP因此而分别受损约0.1-0.2%。随着水位回归正常,莱茵河上的生产和运输活动亦正在恢复。保守估计,上述两个因素于今年转好将可提升德国今年GDP增​​长约0.3-0.4%,有助重新推动德国企业盈利增长势头。

此外,德国股市其实十分受周期性行业股票所影响,其指数的行业组成,特别是必需消费品(18.0%),信息技术(12.5%)及原材料(10.1%)板块的占比相较于其它欧洲市场更高;而在必需消费品板块中,汽车业更尤其重耍。其中,宝马、大众、戴姆勒和轮胎制造商 – 大陆集团四家公司指数占比更达10.8%,其表现对德国股市举足轻重。在估值上,欧洲的周期性行业相对于防御性行业处于历史低位, 其相对市盈率更处于2012年欧元危机的低谷水平,大致与2016年初的低点一致,估值十分吸引。随着欧元区2月份PMI数据六个月以来首次回升,并可能是触底反弹的早期迹象,相信将可带动周期性股票及推升德国股市,而德国股市过往表现与欧元区PMI数据适适相关。

图一. 周期性行业于德国的权重较欧洲其它市场高

资料来源: Thomson Datastream、iFund/御峰理财

图二. 德国股市过往表现与欧元区PMI数据适适相关

资料来源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理财

尽管美国与德国的贸易风险将可能影响德国股市的短期表现,但鉴于无论在PB和PE等估值上德国股市都具有吸引力。投资者可根据其投资目的及风险承受能力,考虑在投资组合中增加一些德国股票或市场基金以进行长期投资步署。

图三. 德国股市市盈率较欧洲有10%折让

资料来源: 彭博、iFund/御峰理财

与德国相关的基金

霸菱德国增长基金 Acc 英镑
霸菱德国增长基金 Acc 欧元
霸菱德国增长基金 Acc 美元 (对冲)
富达基金 – 德国基金 A类 欧元
富达基金 – 德国基金 A类 Acc 欧元
富达基金 – 德国基金 A类 Acc 美元(对冲)

免责条款
投资涉及风险,过往表现并非未来表现的指标。基金价格可跌可升,可能非常反覆,甚至变成毫无价值。一般情况下,买卖基金未必可赚取利润,反而会蒙受损失。某些基金须承受与人民币不可自由兑换的风险,包括人民币外汇风险、人民币对冲风险、境外人民币市场风险及人民币买卖及基金单位结算的风险。投资于新兴市场及小型企业之基金可能比一般已发展市场涉及较高风险,并通常对价格变动较敏感。投资者在作出任何投资决定前,应仔细阅读章程及发售文件。在进行交易或投资前,投资者应负责本身的资料搜集及研究。投资者必须自行决定交易是否适合自身财务状况及投资目标,并应明白对其投资必须承担全部责任。建议投资者在作出买卖或投资决定前寻求独立财务及专业意见。本文由御峰理财有限公司刊发,除非情况另有所指,否则仅供参考之用,并不构成对任何人进行任何投资的要约、邀请、征求、意见或建议,也不构成对投资未来表现的任何预测,及也不是分布讯息以达成任何这样的目的。本文内容由御峰理财有限公司编制及发出,资料均来自被认为可靠之来源,但你应该自行核实有关资料。本文内容及广告没有被香港证券及期货事务监察委员会审阅。

相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。