Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 797- New infrastructure investment will be the next theme of A shares market

2019-02-25 04:54
Share
  • Share

25 February 2019 Issue 797

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: China and the United States extended their trade consultations in Washington last week for two days. Both China and the United States claimed that the negotiations have made good progress. For the whole week, the Dow rose by 0.57% to 26,031.81 points. The S&P 500 index rose by 0.62% to 2,792.67. The Nasdaq rose by 0.74% to 7,527.55 points.
  • Europe: Lloyds Bank, Glencore and other European companies announced share repurchase, boosting the investment atmosphere. For the whole week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 0.80%, the German DAX index rose by 1.40%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.22%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.62% to 371.23 points.
  • Asia: Both China and the United States claimed that there has been good progress in trade negotiations last week, which boosted the Asian stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 2.51% to 21,425.51 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 2.54% to 159.56 points.

Bonds

  • US: Sino-US trade negotiations are progressing well, and the US Federal Reserve officials pointed out that inflation should be allowed to exceed the target of 2%, causing the bond yield rate fall. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 1 basis point to 2.659%.
  • Europe: Germany’s corporate sentiment judgment index fell to 98.5 in February, lower than market expectations of 99. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 1 basis point to 0.094%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Both China and the United States have indicated that there has been good progress in trade negotiations last week, stimulating oil prices. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 2.29% to close at $57.26 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The Fed released a dovish signal that it may stop shrinking the balance sheet this year. For the entire week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.410% to 96.507.
  • China: US President Trump said that he may postpone the deadline for increasing tariffs on Chinese goods on March 1. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.757% against the US dollar to 6.721.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The Sino-US trade consultation in Washington last week has extended to weekend, Trump claimed the negotiation was fruitful and would postpone the deadline for the trade truce.
  • U.S: Trump said he might use executive order to ban Huawei from selling 5G telecommunications equipment in the US. He also claimed it is a problem that whether should put the Haiwei issue into the trade agreement during the meeting with Liu He.
  • U.S: The semi-annual monetary policy report of Fed stated that the global economic slowdown and the market volatility bring potential risks to US economy, so it should be patient in adjusting interest rates in the future.
  • U.S: Philadelphia Federal Reserve President Harker said that the fed should stop shrinking the balance sheet while St. Louis Fed President Bullard said that the reduction in balance sheet will only have slight impacts on the economy.
  • Euro-zone: Theresa May, British Prime Minister, confirmed that she will not submit the new Brexit agreement to the House of Commons for final voting this week. She also asked parliamentarians to give her more time to renegotiate with EU and promised the vote will held before March 12.
  • Euro-zone: Nowotny, European Central Bank Management Committee,  believes it is not necessary to rush to launch a new bank loan project of 720 billion euros.
  • Euro-zone: The EU Trade Commissioner said it is expected to reach a trade agreement with the United States during this year. Besides, according to senior EU officials, they claims retaliatory tariffs would be put on US goods if the United States imposes tariffs on EU cars.
  • Japan: Bank of Japan Governor Haruhiko Kuroda said there are four easing measures can be implemented if Japan’s inflation does not meet the central bank’s target. The fours measures includes lowering current negative short-term interest rates, lowering long-term yield targets to a level below zero, purchasing more assets and accelerate the pace of monetary base expansion.
  • Japan: The data of Bank of Japan showed that Japan’s corporate service price index rose by 1.1% year-on-year in January 2019, which was similar with market expectations.
  • New Zealand: Statistics New Zealand announced that New Zealand’s retail sales in the fourth quarter of last year rose by 1.7% quarter-on-quarter, far exceeding market expectations of a 0.5% increase.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• According to the Xinhua News Agency, the Politburo of the Communist Party of China has a meeting on Friday, discussing the details of the draft of “Government Work Report”, and claiming that it is necessary to maintain the economic operation in a “reasonable range” and it should implement a active monetary policy and stable fiscal policy.
• Xi Jinping, Chinese President, emphasized that the anti-corruption efforts in the financial sector should be further strengthened in order to enhance the economic capabilities of financial services. He also claimed it should further improve the basic system of capital markets and strengthen the supervision over transactions.

New infrastructure investment will be the next theme of A shares market

From the beginning of the year, the CSI 300 Index has risen by 16.9%, and A shares have entered in the spring market. The reason for this round of market rally is the attractiveness of the undervaluation of A shares. The injected liquidity has made the market ushered in the support of money inflow, and with the support of a series of policies during the data vacuum period, the index has risen step by step. The Shanghai Composite Index finally stood above 2800 points on last Friday.

Liquidity creates the rally bellwether

Financial stocks are the main force of this round of stock market rebound, among which the stock brokers are the leaders of this round of rebound. The brokerage index is up 36% year-to-date. Especially after the release of China’s January financial data on Friday, the rally trend of stock brokers more certain. In January, total social financing increased by 4.64 trillion yuan, an increase of 1.56 trillion yuan year-on-year and a record high. On the other hand, the market sentiment also has the obvious recovery. In addition to a series of hot topics, margin trade balance in Shanghai and Shenzhen rose to 751.8 billion yuan, up 40.9 billion yuan compared to the level before the Spring Festival.

Market sentiment determined by infrastructure investment

Lack of economic support the stock market is hard to sustain the rally. Money sloshing around the financial system is not what Chinese government’s final target. Excess liquidity will eventually flow into the real economy. Infrastructure investment led by the government and state-owned enterprises is an important channel. The expectation is that Beijing will begin a new round of infrastructure investment.

In fact, since the second half of 2018, a number of pro-infrastructure policies have been introduced. First, the planned investment in infrastructure projects approved by the NDRC has reached 1.34 trillion yuan, much faster than in the first half of 2018. Second, the overall PPP projects has bottomed out, which reflects that the process of deleverage is over. Most importantly, the project funds ensure the smooth implementation of the infrastructure investment plan. Insufficient cash flow from local governments is the reason for weak infrastructure investment in 2018. However, issuance of local government bonds has accelerated, replenishing capital sources for infrastructure investment. Growth in infrastructure investment rose to 7.8 percent year-on-year in December 2018, after a -5.9 percent dropped in August.

 New infrastructure is not the old “4 Trillion Plan”

The new infrastructure fund is different from the past. The new projects will not only stabilize economic growth, but also avoid going back to the old way and establish the foundation for economic transformation and industrial upgrade. In particular, the scale of infrastructure construction in China is already very large, and the growth rate of new infrastructure investment will be lower than the “4 Trillion plan” in 2009. According to CICC calculations, infrastructure investment growth is expected to peak at about 15 per cent in 2019. That means there is some room for infrastructure investment growth to accelerate in 2019.

In terms of sub-sectors, 5G-related industries are the most certain direction for new infrastructure investment. 5G is one of the important areas in China’s industry upgrade, with certainty in telecommunications equipment, semiconductors and other segments. In the railway sector, urban rail has replaced traditional railways as the segment with the most project funds approved by the NDRC. With the process of urbanization, sewage treatment and garbage treatment in municipal engineering is the shortcoming of current infrastructure investment, which will be the direction of accelerating infrastructure investment.

In summary, the current A share rebound has entered the late stage. If economic data do not confirm that China’s economy has stabilized, the rally will stall. It is too risky for investors to chase the leading stocks. The current new infrastructure valuation is attractive, and the government’s increased infrastructure investment will benefit the above-mentioned related industries.

強積金設計先天不足

金融發展局上周發表的「強制性公積金制度的未來路向」報告,分析現有制度的問題,指出供款不足、計劃選擇不多、投資限制過嚴過窄、行政架構失效、理財教育不足、退休產品欠奉、獨立監管不夠,以及有關條例過時…..

歐股估值吸引 資金入市謹慎

年初至今,歐洲股票反彈力度弱於美國股票,意味歐洲股市估值處於吸引的位置。不過,疲弱歐洲經濟數據、美歐汽車關稅談判、西班牙提前大選主宰新聞報導標題…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯 (第797期)- 新基建将是A股下一个投资主题

2019-02-25 04:54
分享
  • 分享

2019年2月25日 第797期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:中美上周在華盛頓的貿易磋商延長延長兩天,中美雙方均表示談判有良好進展,市場對美市回復信心。全週計,道指升0.57%,報26,031.81點。標普500指數升0.62%,報點2,792.67。納指升0.74%,報7,527.55點。
  • 歐洲:萊斯銀行及嘉能可等歐洲企業宣布股份回購,帶動投資氣氛。全週計,英國富時100指數跌0.80%,德國DAX指數升1.40%,法國CAC40指數升1.22%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.62%,報371.23點。
  • 亞洲: 中美雙方均表示上周的貿易談判有良好的進展,利好亞洲股市。全週計,日經225指數升2.51%,報21,425.51點。MSCI 亞太區指數升2.54%,報159.56點。

債券

  • 美國:中美貿易談判進展良好,加上美國聯儲局官員指應容許通脹高於當局2%之目標,孳息率下降。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌1個基點,報2.659%。
  • 歐元區:德國2月企業景氣判斷指數降至98.5,低於市場預期的99。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌1個基點,報0.094%。

商品

  • 油價:中美雙方均表示上周的貿易談判有良好的進展,刺激期油價格。全週計,紐約期油升2.29%,收報每桶57.26美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:美聯儲釋出鴿派信號,表示或會在今年停止縮表。全週計,美匯指數跌0.410%,報 96.507。
  • 中國:美國總統特朗普表示,押後原定3月1日對中國商品加徵關稅的期限。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.757%,報6.721。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:中美上周在華盛頓的貿易磋商延長至周末,特朗普稱談判富有成效,將推遲原定3月1日的貿易休戰最後期限。
  • 美國:特朗普表示,他可能會使用行政命令來禁止華為在美國銷售5G電信設備,並在與中國副總理劉鶴在白宮會晤時表示,「關於是否要把此納入協議中,我想這是個問題」。
  • 美國:聯儲會在上周五提交國會的半年度貨幣政策報告中表示,強勁的美國經濟面臨包全球成長放緩和市場波動的潛在風險,未來調整利率時將保持耐心。
  • 美國:費城聯儲行長Harker表示應該今年停止縮表;聖路易斯聯儲行長Bullard稱,縮表只會對經濟產生輕微影響。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅確認本周不會將新的脫歐協議交給下議院進行最終投票,要求議員們給她更多時間重新談判,並承諾將於3月12日前進行表決。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行管委Nowotny認為沒必要急於推出7,200億歐元新銀行貸款項目。
  • 歐元區:歐盟貿易專員稱有望在年內與美國達成貿易協議;另據歐盟高級官員稱,如果美國對歐盟汽車加征關稅,那麼美國商品將面臨歐盟的報復性關稅。
  • 日本:日本央行行長黑田東彥接受《朝日新聞》採訪時稱,如果通脹無法達到央行目標,還有四種寬鬆選項,包括降低目前為負的短期利率、將長期殖利率目標降至零以下、購買更多資產或加快貨幣基礎擴張步伐。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,日本2019年1月企業服務價格指數按年維持升1.1%,符合市場預期。
  • 新西蘭:新西蘭統計局公布,新西蘭去年第四季零售銷量環比升1.7%,遠超市場預期的升0.5%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 據新華社報道,中共中央政治局周五開會討論了國務院《政府工作報告》稿,表示今年要保持經濟運行在「合理區間」,並重申要落實好「積極」的貨幣政策和「穩健」的財政政策。

• 中國國家主席習近平強調加強金融領域反腐敗力度,增強金融服務實體經濟能力;完善資本市場基礎性制度,加強對交易全程監管。

新基建將是A股下一個投資主題

年初至今,滬深300指數上升16.9%,A股迎來春季行情。本輪行情的原因在於A股低估值的吸引力。流動性寬裕令市場迎來資金面的支持,加上數據真空期一系列政策的支持,指數一步一步走高,上證指數終於在上周五站上2800點大關。

流動性過剩催生反彈領頭羊

金融股是本輪股市反彈的主力,其中券商股更是本輪反彈的領頭羊。年初至今,券商指數上升36%。特別在上周五中國公佈一月金融數據之後,券商股走勢更為確定。一月社會融資規模增量4.64萬億元,同比上升1.56萬億,創歷史新高。另一方面,市場情緒亦有明顯復蘇。除了一系列熱點之外,滬深兩市融資融券餘額上升至7518億,較春節前上升409億。

後市行情看基建投資

亦缺乏經濟支持的股市反彈并不持久。資金在金融系統裏空轉并非中國政府“放水”的目的。過剩資金最終都會被政策引導到實體經濟之中。由政府和國企主導的基建投資是重要一環。市場憧憬中國政府將推動新一輪的基建投資計劃。

其實,自2018年下半年以來,多項促基建政策已經出台。首先,發改委新審批通過的基建項目計劃投資額達到1.34萬億,審批速度遠遠快於2018年上半年。其次,PPP項目庫縂投資額也觸底回升,反映去庫進程已經結束。最重要的是,項目資金確保基建投資計劃順利執行。地方政府現金流不足是2018年基建投資不力的原因。但是,地方債發行加速,為基建投資補充資金來源。2018年8月,基建投資同比增速跌至-5.9%,而12月基建投資增速已經回升之7.7%。

新基建并非“四萬億計劃”

新基建與過往“鉄公基”有區別,新基金既能穩定經濟增長,又可以避免重走老路,為經濟轉型和產業升級提供基礎。特別中國當前基建規模已經非常龐大,新基建投資規模增速將低於2009年的四萬億計劃。根據中金公司的推算,預計2019年全年基建投資增速的高點約在15%左右。這意味2019年基建投資增速有加速空間。
細分領域方面,5G相關的產業是最爲確定的新基建投資方向。5G是中國實現產業彎道超車的重要領域之一,電訊設備、半導體等細分領域都具備確定性。在鐵路領域,城市軌道交通取代傳統鐵路成爲發改委審批通過項目資金最多的細分領域。伴隨城市化的進程,市政工程中的污水處理和垃圾處理是目前基建投資的短板,將是基建投資加速的方向。

總括來講,目前A股反彈已經進入中後期。如果未來數據不能印證中國經濟企穩,反彈行情將會中止。目前投資者追逐强勢股風險過高。當前新基建估值吸引,政府加大基建投資將令上述相關行業受惠。

強積金設計先天不足

金融發展局上周發表的「強制性公積金制度的未來路向」報告,分析現有制度的問題,指出供款不足、計劃選擇不多、投資限制過嚴過窄、行政架構失效、理財教育不足、退休產品欠奉、獨立監管不夠,以及有關條例過時…..

歐股估值吸引 資金入市謹慎

年初至今,歐洲股票反彈力度弱於美國股票,意味歐洲股市估值處於吸引的位置。不過,疲弱歐洲經濟數據、美歐汽車關稅談判、西班牙提前大選主宰新聞報導標題…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。