Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 796- Is it a good timing to re-enter the India market now?

2019-02-18 04:37
Share
  • Share

18 February 2019 Issue 796

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: San Francisco Fed President Mary Daly told the Wall Street Journal in an interview that the Federal Reserve probably would not need to raise U.S. interest rates this year. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 3.09 % to 25,883.25. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.50 % to 2,775.60. The Nasdaq rose by 2.39 % to 7,472.41.
  • Europe: Theresa May urging all 317 Tory MPs to unite behind a Brexit deal. May would persuade the EU to agree changes to the “backstop” plan. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 2.34 %, the German DAX index rose by 3.60 %, and the French CAC40 index rose by 3.86 %. The STOXX 600 index rose by 3.04% to 368.94.
  • Asia: Asia The Japanese government announced that the fourth quarter of 2018 gross domestic product (GDP) rose by 1.4% year-on-year, in line with market expectations. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 2.79% to 20,900.63 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.46 % to 155.60.

Bonds

  • US: The University of Michigan on Friday reported that the Index of Consumer Sentiment in February improved to 95.5, surpassing the market expectation of 93. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to 2.663 %
  • Europe: The European Union’s trade surplus with the U.S. jumped 17 percent last year, hitting record high. The surplus is 139.7 billion euro.  For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 2 basis points to 0.101%.

Commodity

  • Oil: In 2019, OECD world oil demand growth was revised lower, as a result of downward revisions to the economic outlook for major economies. Over the week, New York oil futures rose by 5.44 % to close at $55.59 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: President Donald Trump signed a national emergency declaration in order to create a pool of $8 billion to use for barriers. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.276% to 96.904.
  • China: China inflation weakened in January, and the PPI slowed for seven consecutive months, aggravating the economic slowdown. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.397% against the US dollar at 6.772.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Presidents of China and the United States both indicated that trade negotiations have made progress, and Trump said it may postpone the deadline for raising tariffs on China.
  • U.S: Trump signed a spending bill on Friday to avoid government shutdown and announced state of emergency in order to gain more funds for border wall construction.
  • U.S: US Treasury data showed that the US Treasury that held by China reached US$1.12 trillion, decreased by 5.2% year-on-year.
  • U.S: According to Fed data, manufacturing output value fell by 0.9% in January, which is the biggest drop with the last eight months.
  • Euro-zone: Eurostat data shows that the EU’s trade surplus with the United States in 2018 was 139.7 billion euros, a 17% year-on-year increase. And the bilateral tariff negotiations may be at risk.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May issued an urgent pleading to the Conservative Party members, calling them to unite and support her Brexit agreement plan that EU leaders may accept.
  • Euro-zone: European Central Bank Executive Coeure believes that the euro has become more important in the world, and it  may help the European Central Bank to pass the monetary policy in the euro zone’s financial markets more efficiently.
  • Japan: The Cabinet Office of Japan announced that the cumulative annual growth of Japan’s real GDP has slowed down to 0.7% in 2018, which is much lower than the 1.9% growth in 2017.
  • Japan: According to data from the Bank of Japan, Japan’s domestic corporate commodity goods price index (CGPI) fell by 0.6% monthly in January 2019, which is higher than the market expectations of 0.2%.
  • India: According to the data from the Indian Ministry of Industry and Commerce, India’s trade deficit in January 2019 was narrowed by 6% to US$14.73 billion, but it was still higher than the market forecast of US$13.8 billion and the trade deficit level in December.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• In the China Economic 50 Forum, Liu Shijin, a member of the China Central Bank’s Monetary Policy Committee, said that China’s economic growth rate will be between 5% to 6% after 2020.
• The State Administration of Foreign Exchange announced that the China’s current account surplus was 377.6 billion yuan, and the capital and financial account deficit was 377.6 billion yuan in the fourth quarter of 2018.

Is it a good timing to re-enter the India market now?

As what we expected earlier, emerging markets (EMs) equities have bounced back strongly in 2019 on low valuations, increasingly dovish outlook from most of central banks as well as a weaker USD this year. However, India was an exception so far, which has underperformed considerably in the region with MSCI India dropped by 1.2% YTD vs. +7.x% for MSCI Asia during the same period.

In fact, such underperformance was not a surprise to us as we mentioned in early October last year that India has been facing multiple macro headwinds, including deteriorating current account deficit (CAD), weakening Indian Rupee (INR), higher crude oil price, higher central bank policy rate and tighter liquidity environment in India. For now, the big question for most investors is, whether if such underperformance will continue and when will be the good timing for foreign investors to re-enter the market?

Fundamentals have been slightly changed for India, in particular, a surprise interest-rate cut at the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) on Feb 7th has indicated the beginning of monetary policy shift into loosening. The action is braced by falling inflation pressure on favourable food prices together with a moderation in fuel and electricity prices in India. With benign inflation level that is expected to stay within the RBI’s inflation target band of 4% -/+ 2%, India still has ample room to lower the interest rate for supporting the country’s growth in the next 6-12 months if necessary. However, current consensus forecast looks a bit too cautious that expects no rate cut for the next three quarters. Besides, the tight liquidity environment in India has improved and turned into surplus in February, with the weighted average call rate trading below the policy rate. Another positive change for India is that with current crude oil price is much lower than in 2H18, a further deteriorating CAD risk is less of a concern this year.

On the other hand, current underperformance of Indian stock market could be a mix of different reasons. First and the most likely concern from investors was the risks related to the upcoming general election that are due to be held between April and May this year. The battle for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s re-election bid is closer than anticipated, which could result to Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to fall short of a majority and the worst-case scenario may come if the government has to be formed from an alliance of many small and regional parties, meaning falling political stability and less investment-friendly business environment if compared to the current BJP-majority government. Secondly, a series of corporate governance issues (e.g., DHFL group, Essel Group and Vedanta) and a bankruptcy filing by Anil Ambani’s wireless carrier have soothed the market sentiment. Thirdly, the high real interest rate in India (almost 3%) relative to the rest of the world (negative or below 1% real rates) have dampened investment in India. Last but not least, the valuation gap between India and EM was still too large due to India’s outperformance in 2018, which has led to more flows into other markets.

Historical evidence has shown that stock markets generally perform well in election year, especially post-election irrespective of the disposition at the Centre (Figure 1), therefore it would not be a surprise to see a rally for India’s equities when we are approaching to the election or post-election. However, election itself generally only boost or hurt sentiment depending on the news flow, while it won’t necessary change the underlying earnings and growth of the country – the key determinants of the stock market over the long term. With current valuation of India’s stock market remain high on absolute and comparable basis, the country’s may need more evidences to reverse its underperformance.

Figure 1. Stock markets perform well around election date

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Bloomberg

Figure 2. India’s valuation remain unattractive

Source: iFund/Noble Apex, Bloomberg

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

孖展炒股需注意風險

在網上看到一篇文章,作者指某房托股表現亮麗,稱股民若果一早跑到證券做孖展,槓大三至四倍本金買貨,現時不只享受槓桿的樂趣,回報更勝樓市。誠然,以上說法只是選擇性地談到回報最佳的情景,忽略風險管理部份…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第791期)- 我们是否到了重新买进印度股市的时机?

2019-02-18 04:37
分享
  • 分享

2019年2月18日 第796期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:三瀋市聯儲行長Daly接受《華爾街日報》採訪時表示,今年較大機會維持利率不變。全週計,道指升3.09 %,報25,883.25點。標普500指數升2.50 %,報點2,775.60。納指升2.39 %,報7,472.41點。
  • 歐洲:英國首相特文翠珊呼籲保守黨黨內議員團結一致,支持她推動歐盟領袖接受的脫歐協議。全週計,英國富時100指數升2.34 %,德國DAX指數升3.60 %,法國CAC40指數升3.86 %。STOXX 600指數全週升3.04%,報368.94點。
  • 亞洲: 日本政府公布,2018年第4季國內生產總值(GDP)按年上升1.4%,符合市場預期。全週計,日經225指數升2.79 %,報20,900.63點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.46 %,報155.60點。

債券

  • 美國:密歇根大學2月美國消費者信心指數初值為95.5,高於預期的93。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升3個基點,報2.663 %。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局數據顯示,歐盟2018年對美國的商品貿易順差為1397億歐元,較去年上升擴大17%至紀錄新高。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升2個基點,報0.101%。

商品

  • 油價:鑒於環球經濟增長放緩,石油輸出國組織(OPEC)下調今年全球對原油需求預測。全週計,紐約期油升5.44 %,收報每桶55.59美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:特朗普簽署國家緊急狀態令,藉此繞過國會取得80億圍牆撥款。全週計,美匯指數升0.276%,報 96.904。
  • 中國:中國1月份通貨膨脹減弱,PPI亦連續七個月放緩,加劇經濟放緩的憂慮。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.397%,報6.772。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:中美兩國首腦均表示貿易談判取得進展,特朗普稱可能推遲3月1日提高對華關稅的最後期限。
  • 美國:特朗普上周五簽署旨在避免政府停擺的支出法案,並宣布國家緊急狀態,以期獲得更多建牆資金。
  • 美國:美國財政部數據顯示,截至去年底中國持有的美國國債總額為1.12萬億美元,同比減少5.2%。
  • 美國:聯儲會數據顯示,1月份製造業產值下降0.9%,創8個月最大降幅,因汽車行業疲軟;12月數據下修為成長0.8%。
  • 歐元區:歐盟統計局數據顯示,歐盟2018年對美國的商品貿易順差為1397億歐元,同比擴大17%至紀錄新高;雙方關稅談判或面臨風險。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅對保守黨黨內議員發出迫切的懇求,呼籲他們團結一致,支持她推動歐盟領袖可能接受的脫歐協議。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行執委Coeure認為,歐元在全球發揮更強大的作用,可能有助於歐洲央行在歐元區金融市場更好地傳遞貨幣政策。
  • 日本:日本內閣府公布,累計2018年全年,日本實際GDP初值年增放緩至0.7%,遠低於2017年的1.9%增長。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,經季節調整後,日本2019年1月國內企業商品物價指數(CGPI)連降第三個月,按月維持降0.6%(至少逾一年最傷),超出市場預期降0.2%。
  • 印度:印度工商部數據顯示,印度2019年1月貿易逆差按年續收窄6%至147.3億美元,但仍高於市場預期的貿赤138億美元及去年12月的最低貿赤130.8億美元。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國央行貨幣政策委員會委員劉世錦參加中國經濟50人論壇年會時稱,2020年以後中國經濟增速將在5%至6%之間。

• 國家外管局公布,2018年四季度,中國經常賬戶順差3,776億元人民幣,資本和金融賬戶逆差3,776億元。

我們是否到了重新買進印度股市的時機?

正如我們早前預期,新興市場股票在2019年因估值偏低而大幅反彈,加上受惠於部份地區央行放寬貨幣政策及美元走軟。 然而,印度股票市場卻是一個例外,大幅跑輸區內並它地區, MSCI印度指數自年初至今下跌約1.6%, 相反MSCI亞洲同期則上升約8.0%。

事實上,我們對印度股市強差人意的表現並不感到意外,如我們去年10月初時指出,印度當時正面臨多重宏觀壓力,包括經常賬戶赤字(CAD)惡化,印度盧比走弱,原油價格走高,印度央行政策利率和流動性趨緊等。 目前,大多數投資者最關注的是: 近期落後的表現是否會持續?以及何時才是投資者重新進入市場的好時機?

最近,印度的基本面略有好轉,特別是在2月7日印度央行(RBI)意外降息表明貨幣政策正可能由緊轉寬。而當地通脹壓力最近受惠於食品價格及燃料和電力價格的下降亦有所放緩,將支持印度央行減息的舉動。目前良好的通脹水平預計將維持在央行目標通脹範圍的4% (- / + 2%)之內,故如果經濟持續放緩,我們相信印度將仍有足夠的空間降息以支持未來6-12個月的增長。然而,目前市場大多數都預測印度未來三個季度皆不會降息、甚至可能在2020年再度加息,我們相信這些預測都是有點過於謹慎的。此外,印度早前緊張的流動性環境亦得到改善,在2月轉為盈餘,並反映在最近的加權平均利率低於政策利率上。再者,由於目前的原油價格從18年下半年大幅回落,今年印度的經常賬戶赤字惡化的風險將有所減輕。

另一方面,我們認為目前印度股市表現不佳是受其它新的因素所影響。其中,投資者對即將於今年4至5月舉行的印度大選的政治風險有關。印度總理納倫德拉·莫迪(Narendra Modi)及其所屬政黨尋求競選連任,但競爭對手的支持度可能比預期的更為接近,這可能導致莫迪的印度人民黨(BJP)介時有機會未能獲得大多數議席,造成執政政府可能需要組建聯合政府,最壞的情況甚至可能是需要與許多小型和地區政黨建立聯盟,這意味著相比現時的人民黨多數政府,政治穩定性將可能有所下降,不利投資、商業環境及經濟發展。其次,最近發生的一系列公司管治問題(例如DHFL集團,Essel集團和Vedanta)以及Anil Ambani無線運營商的破產申請等亦打擊市場情緒,不利股市表現。第三,當前印度的實際利率(Real Rate)接近3%,與全球及其他地區的實際利率相比(大致為負值或低於1%),屬於很高的水平,這抑制了印度的長遠投資增長。最後,由於印度股市於2018年表現優異,印度和新興市場之間的估值差距仍然過大,因此在更吸引的估值下,導致更多資金流入其他市場。

歷史數據顯示,股票市場在選舉年往往通常表現良好,特別是在選舉結束後,只要最後結果並非是大幅超出市場預料,股市大多都出現一定上升(圖1)。因此如印度股市真的在臨近選舉或選舉結束後出現大漲,我們並不會感到意外。然而,選舉本身一般取決於新聞變化,繼而影響市場情緒,而整體上、至少短期內並不會改變國家的基本收益和增長 – 即股票市場長期估值變化的關鍵決定因素。雖然現在印度的基本面可能開始轉好,但由於目前印度股票市場估值無論在絕對和可比較的基礎上都並不特別吸引,故我們相信要重獲市場青睬,將可能需要更多證據及新經濟政策來支持其長遠的復蘇及增長。

圖一. 歷史顯示股市在選舉前後多有好表現

資料來源:iFund/御峰理財、彭博

圖二. 印度股市市值仍然缺乏吸引力

資料來源:iFund/御峰理財、彭博

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

孖展炒股需注意風險

在網上看到一篇文章,作者指某房托股表現亮麗,稱股民若果一早跑到證券做孖展,槓大三至四倍本金買貨,現時不只享受槓桿的樂趣,回報更勝樓市。誠然,以上說法只是選擇性地談到回報最佳的情景,忽略風險管理部份…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。